We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Kimpton Buchanan

GreenLeadersGold level
1800 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94115 (Formerly The Buchanan)
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Kimpton Buchanan
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

1,103 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

I had a lovely stay for two nights in February. The concierges were friendly and accommodating. They gave good advice of where to go for drinks and offered nice amenities. The room was very clean and spacious with a balcony and great city view!

Helpful?
Thank Betsybluestar
Monroe, New York, United States
Level Contributor
90 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed here during Super Bowl 50. A convenient location in SanFrancisco. Parking lot attached and very convenient. Walking distance to some restaraunts . Clean room. Friendly staff. Happy Hour in the Lobby!! nice views of the city from our balcony.

Helpful?
Thank James R
Emily G, General Manager at The Kimpton Buchanan, responded to this review

Thanks, James R! I am glad that you enjoyed the hotel so well, even with prices sky high in town over that Super Bowl weekend. I'll thank those housekeeping ladies for your room being so clean, and the whole crew here for their friendliness. Hope you'll have occasion to come back again! More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We booked over 30 rooms at the hotel based on the Kimpton name. What a bad mistake. First the room smells really bag like someone used a wet old rag to wipe the walls. While checking in a guy asked where the business center was, the clerk said, send me what you need printed to my email and I will... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Chad P
Emily G, General Manager at The Kimpton Buchanan, responded to this review

Hi, Chad P, Oh, dear. On the plus side, I am glad you liked the bed. I know you mention it could be updated, though all of our mattresses are the brand new Kimpton pillowtop spec from our recent renovation. The rooms no longer have that "new carpet smell," so I am at a loss regarding the fragrance you found... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
191 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I've always been a fan of Kimpton but this place really dropped the mark, Stayed here Sat Sep 5 for an overnight stay in between flights. I had got the room on an expedia deal and I was put into one of the first floor rooms (106 I think?) TO be fair the room itself was great, Nice bed, Decent... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Harvsman
Emily G, General Manager at The Kimpton Buchanan, responded to this review

Hi, Harvsman, and thanks for staying with us. I'm glad that you loved the room overall, and that you'll probably come back and see us again. Do drop me a line and we can make sure you receive a room that is on a higher floor. The neighborhood is usually quiet as you mention, though we'll make sure your room... More 

Mercer Island, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Well this was more than a bit disappointing. Kimpton has really oversold this property. I've stayed at many Kimptons over the years and have always enjoyed their properties and restaurants, however, this property is a huge exception. To be blunt, it is a dump. Their web-page portrays an elegant hotel but this is not an elegant hotel by any means.... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank LRJ2014
Emily G, General Manager at The Kimpton Buchanan, responded to this review

LRJ2014, thank you for your kind comments about me. I'm sorry we had to meet during the water outage incident. I'm glad that's behind us! Though I realize I can't turn back the time, I'm happy to say we have already been able to improve some things since you left. The emergency valve replacement brought our hot water to that... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The staff at the Kimpton were very helpful and accommodating. We got to our hotel early and they got us a room early. It ended up not being the room we exactly wanted so they gave us a better room no extra charge. They have a tasty restaurant down stairs as well as complimentary wine. Overall great experience

Helpful?
Thank Alyssa P
Emily G, General Manager at The Kimpton Buchanan, responded to this review

Thank you so much, Alyssa P, I'm glad you had such a fantastic time, and I'll be sure to thank the staff as well. We appreciate the five stars and will look forward to your return! More 

Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
80 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I'm not sure when Kimpton bought this dud but they've had more than enough time to get it right, especially since they lost most of their others in SF and I'd love to know if the CEO or Maggie Lang and others have spent a night here? Doubt it. This used to be home to a sleep clinic and me... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank herculepoirot
Emily G, General Manager at The Kimpton Buchanan, responded to this review

herculepoirot, I am sorry, fullstop. So many of our guests are not impacted by the minibars and fitness center, and I had thought the free replacements we had come up with were working. We are also beginning chair upgrades this week, though I know that is too late to impact your stay. No excuses, as I said, and I'm definitely... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

If you have stayed at a Kimpton anywhere else (Boston, Chicago, Dallas, New York, DC), you will find this place a dump. Décor is dated. Amenities lacking. No water or snacks in the rooms. A crap hole. I came for one night and immediately cancelled a group booking planned for the next month. Apparently it was another hotel brand until... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank alswharton
Emily G, General Manager at The Kimpton Buchanan, responded to this review

Hello, alswharton, I am betting that you are a member of Kimpton Karma Rewards? We usually make sure that all of our members receive a treat tote at check-in as our own little "Raid the Bar" while we work on the minibar situation, and I hope we didn't miss you! I know decor is a matter of personal taste, though... More 

San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
89 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel does some things really well; the staff is super nice, they provide really good amenities. The furniture is quite nice. Other things just don't make sense. For example, there were no glasses or cups in my room. Also, many lights did not appear to turn on or off - perhaps I could not find the correct switch. Some... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank CaWineGuy
Emily G, General Manager at The Kimpton Buchanan, responded to this review

Hi, CaWineGuy, and thanks so much for coming to visit us! The light switch snafu is a bit of a mystery to me so please feel free to drop me a line with your room number. Also, each room should have four cups at the coffee station, where you can brew your own in-room Keurig coffee or green tea, so... More 

Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

What a sad state of affairs for Kimpton in San Francisco. First IHG takes them over, and then they lose seven great properties over a labor dispute. Bill Kimpton would be turning in his grave if he were witnessing the decline. The Buchanan is in a great location, straddling quiet residential neighborhoods and bustling Fillmore Street and JapanTown. The city... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank noneemac
Emily G, General Manager at The Kimpton Buchanan, responded to this review

Hello, noneemac. We are so thrilled to be in this neighborhood with all the quiet and charm that you mention. I'm glad you enjoyed great convenience and sleep, though I'm sorry that some of the look let you down. The overall hotel and lobby design concept came from NICOLEHOLLIS, with custom wood work, art, and chandelier to bring in the... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

516 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (319)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (79)
Viewed
Room/suite (108)
Viewed
View from room (32)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (78)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (169)
Viewed
Amenities (27)
Viewed
Pacific View Room (28)
Viewed
Patio View Room (23)
Viewed
Patio View Room with Accessible Bathroom (27)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (9)
Viewed
The Hotel (55)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (28)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Japantown
Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#12 of 234 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 4,463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#2 of 234 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 3,868 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel
Argonaut Hotel
#6 of 234 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 4,517 reviews
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#102 of 234 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 1,938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay