We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Super 8 San Francisco/Union Square Area

2.0 of 5 415 O'Farrell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Super 8 San Francisco/Union Square Area
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Super 8 San Francisco/Union Square Area
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    76
    105
    36
    29
See reviews for
33
93
27
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (267)
  • Mar-May only
    (55)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (78)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (91)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (43)
All months
There are newer reviews for Super 8 San Francisco/Union Square Area
See the most recent reviews
CA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Check in time is 3pm. We got to our room at 5pm only to find that it was in the process of being cleaned. Obviously the cleaning staff and the front desk we'rent communicating because they sent myself, my wife and daughter up to room without telling us that it wasn't ready. So we waited. And waited. I don't mind... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PatelVik16, Public Relations Manager at Super 8 San Francisco/Union Square Area, responded to this review

We truly are sorry for your inconvenience. We always have our rooms ready by 3. Next time, we might be able to adjust your price because of this. Again, we apologize because you have had to wait until your room was ready. More 

Warsaw, Poland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

The location is excellent. Disadvantages: -poor breakfast, but not the worst -not enough space in breakfast room - you have to wait to seat -old furnishings -additional fee for parking - 20$ per night -too expensive for what you get

Was this review helpful? Yes
PatelVik16, Public Relations Manager at Super 8 San Francisco/Union Square Area, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. We are sorry that you did not feel our hotel was convenient for you. We do the best we can to make our guests feel welcomed. Our breakfast is continental and it is what we have to serve. Our hotel is small but it is just built that way so we cannot make any... More 

Calgary,AB
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

I spent last 4 of July in that Hotel and frankly- was not impressed at all. The location is close to a Hilton and Merriott but and absolute ugly, dirt and a real no-no to walk after the sundown, Lots of bums, pushing carts, drug addicts almost in front of hotel and other worse things in the neighborhood. The hotel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PatelVik16, Owner at Super 8 San Francisco/Union Square Area, responded to this review

Dear Sir, I apologize for your unsatisfactory stay with us. The subject of being in the "bad" area of San Francisco is a fair question. Unfortunately, I cannot control the entire surroundings and nearby streets and keep away pan-handlers or homeless. This is a city wide problem that occurs all over town. This happens in the financial district, union square,... More 

Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
40 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

So, attending a meeting in the Hilton Hotel, just half a block away, and running my personal vendetta against Hilton atmosphere, plus the fact that the Starbucks *in* the hilton is 25 or 50% more expensive than the starbucks one block down... I am still convinced that this super 8 is a mistake of society. Making a quick calculation, counting... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PatelVik16, Owner at Super 8 San Francisco/Union Square Area, responded to this review

Dear Sir, I apologize for your unsatisfactory stay. I would like to inform you that starting July, we have upgraded our breakfast drastically including: oatmeal, yogurt, and waffles. In addition to that we also offer free WIFI (other hotels charge for) and 32" LED TVs. I hope you will give us another change to change your perception. Thank You. More 

Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012 via mobile

This location was at least clean, but the service was not up to snuff. And do not stay here with a family. It is on the very edge of Union Square and is VERY near a part of the city you do not want to walk around at night (or in the day for that matter). I would pay a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
PatelVik16, Public Relations Manager at Super 8 San Francisco/Union Square Area, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. We are sorry that you did not feel that our location was good, but we are in a safe environment. nothing bad happens in our streets or area. We make sure our guests belongings are safe in their rooms and if they ask to keep their bags with us after checking out, we make... More 

Washington DC
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
10 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

This is not a fancy hotel by any standard, but it was clean and comfortable. The location was in the Union Square area (be with someone after dark), but it is centrally located and a reasonable price for the area. The only thing we could find comparable was near the airport which is a 45 minute train ride to all... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PatelVik16, Public Relations Manager at Super 8 San Francisco/Union Square Area, responded to this review

Thank you for booking with us! We do not have any smoking floors or rooms. Our whole hotel is non-smoking. More 

Columbus, Ohio
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

I ended up here after my hostel was booked solid, and I couldn't get a room. I walked in, and judging by other reviews on here, I got gouged big time. But whatever, it was way better than the hostel. This was just an average Super 8, nothing outstanding. The only thing which I want to comment on is the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
PatelVik16, Public Relations Manager at Super 8 San Francisco/Union Square Area, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us! We are really glad that you liked the breakfast! We try to provide the best for our guests. More 

Newport Pagnell, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

Close to shops, Union square and all transport , but the area is not so good after dark. Place is tired and poorly maintained which detracts from pretty good basics. However sheets were clean and bathroom good. Breakfast OK , bagels, cereal, juice and pastries. The price justifies the stay. Some rooms appear to be better than others. Maybe some... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
PatelVik16, Public Relations Manager at Super 8 San Francisco/Union Square Area, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. We are glad you enjoyed our complimentary breakfast. Our hotel is built small from the beginning and we cannot make it bigger because we do not have any more space. Most of the hotels like ours are very old, no one has enough room. We apologize for this. More 

Fremont, Washington, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

Stayed here for a night and my boyfriend came home with 22 red splotchy bites on his arms and torso. I didn't have any but maybe I wasn't showing signs. After researching on the internet back home, we suspect bedbugs due to the tell-tale bite pattern as well as the size and color of the bites. I had to wash... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
PatelVik16, Public Relations Manager at Super 8 San Francisco/Union Square Area, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. Your boyfriend might have gotten those spots from somewhere else because we make sure our beds do not have any bed bugs. Our maids make sure of it. If there were bed bugs in our beds, you would have gotten those bites as well. We keep everything 100% clean. More 

uk
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

In a good location for shopping. Hotel is basic .theres a free continental breakfast ,you can make toast or bagels and there's cereal and fruit and cakes.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
PatelVik16, Public Relations Manager at Super 8 San Francisco/Union Square Area, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us! We are glad you enjoyed our breakfast:) see you soon! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Super 8 San Francisco/Union Square Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 San Francisco/Union Square Area

Address: 415 O'Farrell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 San Francisco/Union Square Area 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Super 8 San Francisco/Union Square Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 San Francisco/Union Square Area Hotel San Francisco
Alexander Hotel San Francisco

37 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay