We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Fitzgerald Hotel Union Square

620 Post Street, San Francisco, CA 94109
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fitzgerald Hotel Union Square
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Fitzgerald Hotel Union Square
Add Photo Write a Review

271 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    47
    83
    54
    43
    44
See reviews for
22
100
44
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (271)
  • Mar-May only
    (69)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (70)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (75)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (57)
All months
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We read and reread reviews. If you're looking for a safe neighborhood and safe hotel, this is it. If YOU Want luxury...Go elsewhere. This elderly hotel is worn out but not dead. The beds were very comfortable. The TV is on antenna only but for the price...this is a great deal. The bfast snacks are plentiful...fresh fruit, bagels and cereal.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lafayette, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I found upon making my reservation that the staff was extremely friendly and helpful however; upon arrival I was told there was no wake up service although they advertise it on their website. No problem just set my phone alarm. The monetary price cannot be beat, however; with that said, there is a price of another sort to pay! I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
3 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

for a quick 2 day conference at Moscone... it's a clean and spacious room with two beds. My room faces Taylor street and it was nice to see a bit of the city view and there were plenty of food options within walking distance! The wine bar is vacant but the front desk says they are looking for a new... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

If you can choose I wouldn't take this hotel unless you have very low expectations ... Me and my friend stayed here for 2 nights. Ok the room was very small and the bed short but ok, we could survived yet. Since we came in the light in the room kept blinking and in the end electricity went off .... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1

Travelers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel and the rooms are clean but that's it. Bad neighborhood, very small room, old beds, no fridge, breakfast not even worth one of a hostel, awful staff at the reception ; so don't waste your money and go somewhere else

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Westerville, Ohio
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

"Petite" rooms are very small, but manageable. Room was cleaned daily, no complaints. Elevator is small but worked fine. Breakfast (included in price) was decent. Convenient location. Good value for the price.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Boston
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Let's get it out of the way right now: this is not a luxury hotel. If you're looking for a luxe place, keep moving. That said, the Fitz has a very good rate for the solo traveler and it's a 2 minute walk to Union Square. The staff was great. I started out with a noisy ground level room and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
lizlora, Public Relations Manager at Fitzgerald Hotel Union Square, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! We're so glad you were satisfied with the room you were moved to and that the staff were able to accommodate your needs. We're sorry about the lack of communication from housekeeping and will try to prevent that from happening in the future; thank you for your feedback in that matter! We definitely hope to... More 

Kuala Lumpur
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
31 hotel reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

It was an easy check-in. No hassle. My room is in the third floor. The room is quite small and I stayed with my spouse and two bags. Enough to place the bags. There is no clothes cabinet except that there is two hangers to hang the shirts. However, the room is comfy enough for four nights since most of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
boston, ma
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2015

If you want to stay near Union Square/Nob Hill, and you can't afford the crazy SF prices, this hotel is a good choice. The rooms are tiny and the elevator is small and old, but if you only need a clean and safe place to sleep, I highly recommend this spot. Very easy walk to downtown SF, surrounded by awesome... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
lizlora, Public Relations Manager at Fitzgerald Hotel Union Square, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! We're so glad you enjoyed your stay. We are happy to offer an optimal location for affordable prices with a friendly staff on hand. Please come back and see us the next time you are in San Francisco! More 

Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2015 via mobile

Prices for accomodations in downtown San Francisco are usually on the high side. The price shown for this hotel is relatively in my budget (~$130). I saw previous reviews about the tiny rooms, but I was not too concerned as long as it is clean. At arrival, the staff was polite but did not show much hospitality. Even though it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

84 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (64)
Viewed
Room/suite (24)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay