We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Pontiac Hotel

509 Minna Street, San Francisco, San Francisco, CA 94103
Hotel amenities
Pontiac Hotel
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ranked #188 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    13
    26
    16
    17
See reviews for
Families
0
23
21
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (76)
  • Mar-May only
    (18)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (21)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (27)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (10)
All months
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Room was small, street we were on was very dodgy and dirty. During our five day stay no one came to clean room/ empty bin/ change pillows... Lift was broken, all in all wouldn't stay again. Staff were friendly enough.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ManagerDM, Public Relations Manager at Pontiac Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Leah P, Thank you for choosing Pontiac Hotel. We are sorry for any inconveniences that you experienced during your stay. If you have any suggestions that would have made your trip better feel free to give us a call. Best, More 

Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very smelly rooms. Very good wifi available in at least some rooms. Breakfast was Toast, cereal, a piece of fruit and coffee. The bathrooms were good but the staff weren't particularly friendly. All in all we were happy with our stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ManagerDM, Public Relations Manager at Pontiac Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mitch G, Thank you for choosing Pontiac Hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed our complimentary WiFi and breakfast. We are sorry if the staff was unprofessional, feel free to give us a call and tell us more about your experience. We appreciate the positive feedback and hope to see you in the near future. Best, More 

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

It's $35 a night, so we weren't expecting much. Frankly, I would not stay here again. We ended up spending one of our 4 nights booked at the Pontiac at the Super 8 up the road - much nicer rooms, own bathroom, better location but twice the price. But here are the pros and cons so you can make up... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ManagerDM, Public Relations Manager at Pontiac Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Lalagerose, Thank you for choosing Pontiac Hotel. The Hotel is a clean place, it is unacceptable that you experienced any of the cons listed. We will look into this asap. If you have any other feedback feel free to give us a call. Best, More 

Travelers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

Krakow, Poland
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2015

After an exhausting day we arrived around 7pm at the counter to learn that our reservation was canceled due to problems with my credit card. Of course I did not receive an email nor call that this happened. "Hotel" had only one free room but it was much more expensive and we were on a budget. Decent thing to do... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ManagerDM, Public Relations Manager at Pontiac Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Stanislaw J, Thank you for choosing Pontiac Hotel. We are sorry that you had that experience on ebooking.com. We will look into this asap. If there is anything else you feel we could have done better feel free to give us a call. Best, More 

malta
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
34 hotel reviews
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2015

First of all I want to say, you can't believe always what travellers write. Seems too bad image on this hotel. It's true that the place is not nice but not a big deal. If you don't have balls just take a taxi from union square. When me & wife went in the room. Was cleaned,good wifi + good breakfast.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ManagerDM, Public Relations Manager at Pontiac Hotel, responded to this review

Dear alanMalta, Thank you for choosing Pontiac Hotel. Thank you for the positive review. We are glad that you enjoyed the clean rooms, WiFi, and breakfast. The Big Bus tours are a lot of fun, we are glad you took advantage of them! We hope to welcome you back in the near future. Best, More 

Islamabad, Pakistan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2015

I was indeed double minded when I read few negative reviews of people about Pontiac and its neighborhood. Luckily I was in San Francisco ahead of my booking and so I visited the hotel ahead of my check in day. I was satisfied and realized that I won't find a better option keeping in view the rent range. Their rooms... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ManagerDM, Public Relations Manager at Pontiac Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mujtaba H, Thank you for choosing Pontiac Hotel. We are glad that you noticed how friendly our team is. We appreciate your positive review and hope to welcome you back in the near future. Best, More 

Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2015

Reading other people's comments makes me laugh. Life is all about perspective. How do I see this hotel? It's a place to sleep for a night or two. That's all. But everyone bashing it for the quality begs me to ask the question. What do you expect when you pay $65 bucks a night in San Fransisco?? You pay for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
ManagerDM, Public Relations Manager at Pontiac Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Tyler D, Thank you for choosing Pontiac Hotel. We appreciate you positive review and your feedback. We hope to welcome you back. Best, More 

MACEDONIA
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
33 hotel reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2014

- Dirty, bad smell, no service (we stayed there and nobody came to clean the room), many homeless people in the area, 1 toilet (and not so good) in every floor, room and bed too small, + cheap, free internet, basic breakfast, near the center. In SF is difficult to find a good+cheap hotel but there should be some basic... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

Good hotel/hostel for people with low cash or low expectations. It's very close to Civic Center and everything, but 6th St. is rather sketchy so avoid walking at night by yourself. Other than that, it's a clean hotel, the rooms are small and quiet and the shared bathrooms are nice. One great thing is that they offer free breakfast with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Berlin, Germany
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2014

Came here with a friend during pride and all hotels where expensive. This one has shared bathrooms and unlike other comments they where very clean and nearly never we had to wait - altough only a few bathrooms available for many guests. The rooms will be not cleaned during your stay but you can ask for a new toilet. There... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

2 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Staying in SoMa

Neighborhood Profile
SoMa
South of Market (SoMa), has an urban and sophisticated vibe, but you're more likely to find big nightclubs and lots of industrial loft residences than you are to find boutique shopping. Although it’s the epicenter for tech startups in the city, visitors will be able to do more than just business - museums, top quality restaurants, and the San Francisco Giants now call this neighborhood home. Most of its freeway-sized streets may not capture the same character as other neighborhoods in the city, but pockets of charm, like South Park, can still be found throughout its side streets.
Explore this neighborhood

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question