We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Pontiac Hotel

509 Minna Street, San Francisco, San Francisco, CA 94103
Hotel amenities
Pontiac Hotel
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ranked #198 of 234 Hotels in San Francisco
Add Photo Write a Review

83 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    4
    13
    28
    17
    21
See reviews for
1
26
22
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (83)
  • Mar-May only
    (25)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (21)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (27)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (10)
All months
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here as the first stop in our 5 week holiday. Initially we found the area quite scary there are lots of homeless, gangs and also drug addled people. Just across the road is a Syringe Exchange Service, so go figure. The good part about the location is that you are so close to main area of down town... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed in this hotel 2weeks ago. Only for one day....we were shocked to see urine on the floor. Blood on the bathrooms, and coacroaches in the room. Complained to the manager but she was too busy talking with her friends on the phone. So I guess I'll call the local health and sanitary department.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1

Travelers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

Prince George, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The price you pay to stay there is not paid. The area is very bad, there were a lot of homeless people around, very scary, even though it is considered "close" to the Union Square is not worth it. The room was very small adn smelly kind of. The washroon was very poor too.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ManagerDM, Public Relations Manager at Pontiac Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Camila F, We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the area. As with many metropolitan areas you can not always predict hat you will find outside the front door. We are not sure what odor you are referring to.Our housekeeping regularly services every room to ensure cleanliness. We will pass along your feedback. Thank you for... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Cheapest hotel available to us. Good price and really close to main attractions. Breakfast was really decent. There are a few downsides however. The biggest downside is the bad neighborhood. Lots of shady people all around which made us feel unsafe. Felt forced to take a cab after dark because walking the last few blocks to the hotel just didn't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ManagerDM, Public Relations Manager at Pontiac Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Tjinn, We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the breakfast offering. We appreciate your feedback. Thank you for staying at the Pontiac. More 

Porto Alegre, RS
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The position is great and the bed surprisingly comfortable. The personnel is also very nice and kind. Unfortunately the hotel is not very clean, but the value of money is interestingly high for a city like San Francisco. Please mind that at night the street becomes full of homeless, but do not be scared, they are not dangerous

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ManagerDM, Public Relations Manager at Pontiac Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Frinhard, Thank you for staying at the Pontiac Hotel. We are glad to hear that you found the hotel to be a good value. Thank you for your positive review, we hope to see you again soon. More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2015

Got there after a flight from Dallas. Could not find any parking, so we decided to go have dinner. Came back and found a parking right in front went to check in, Lady at front desk acted as if she didn't care and was interrupted from something she felt was more important. Asked her what check out time was and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ManagerDM, Public Relations Manager at Pontiac Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Javier N, Thank you for choosing Pontiac Hotel. We are sorry for any inconveniences that you experienced during your stay. If you have any suggestions that would have made your trip better feel free to give us a call. Best, More 

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2015

Room was small, street we were on was very dodgy and dirty. During our five day stay no one came to clean room/ empty bin/ change pillows... Lift was broken, all in all wouldn't stay again. Staff were friendly enough.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ManagerDM, Public Relations Manager at Pontiac Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Leah P, Thank you for choosing Pontiac Hotel. We are sorry for any inconveniences that you experienced during your stay. If you have any suggestions that would have made your trip better feel free to give us a call. Best, More 

Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2015

Very smelly rooms. Very good wifi available in at least some rooms. Breakfast was Toast, cereal, a piece of fruit and coffee. The bathrooms were good but the staff weren't particularly friendly. All in all we were happy with our stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ManagerDM, Public Relations Manager at Pontiac Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mitch G, Thank you for choosing Pontiac Hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed our complimentary WiFi and breakfast. We are sorry if the staff was unprofessional, feel free to give us a call and tell us more about your experience. We appreciate the positive feedback and hope to see you in the near future. Best, More 

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2015

It's $35 a night, so we weren't expecting much. Frankly, I would not stay here again. We ended up spending one of our 4 nights booked at the Pontiac at the Super 8 up the road - much nicer rooms, own bathroom, better location but twice the price. But here are the pros and cons so you can make up... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ManagerDM, Public Relations Manager at Pontiac Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Lalagerose, Thank you for choosing Pontiac Hotel. The Hotel is a clean place, it is unacceptable that you experienced any of the cons listed. We will look into this asap. If you have any other feedback feel free to give us a call. Best, More 

Krakow, Poland
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2015

After an exhausting day we arrived around 7pm at the counter to learn that our reservation was canceled due to problems with my credit card. Of course I did not receive an email nor call that this happened. "Hotel" had only one free room but it was much more expensive and we were on a budget. Decent thing to do... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ManagerDM, Public Relations Manager at Pontiac Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Stanislaw J, Thank you for choosing Pontiac Hotel. We are sorry that you had that experience on ebooking.com. We will look into this asap. If there is anything else you feel we could have done better feel free to give us a call. Best, More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

5 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...

Staying in SoMa

Neighborhood Profile
SoMa
South of Market (SoMa), has an urban and sophisticated vibe, but you're more likely to find big nightclubs and lots of industrial loft residences than you are to find boutique shopping. Although it’s the epicenter for tech startups in the city, visitors will be able to do more than just business - museums, top quality restaurants, and the San Francisco Giants now call this neighborhood home. Most of its freeway-sized streets may not capture the same character as other neighborhoods in the city, but pockets of charm, like South Park, can still be found throughout its side streets.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay