We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 47 San Francisco accommodations

Hostelling International- San Francisco/ Downtown

312 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Hostelling International- San Francisco/ Downtown
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hostelling International- San Francisco/ Downtown to your Saves list
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 5 days ago
lacouronne Melbourne, Australia
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    238
    87
    18
    17
See reviews for
21
128
116
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (469)
  • Mar-May only
    (89)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (137)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (148)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (95)
All months
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This hostel is so centrally located, it is about 2 blocks away from the Bart and Muni and pretty much in the centre of the shopping district (Macys, Sephora and major clothing companies) are all within a few blocks and a large CVS is also within a few blocks. Breakfast is included but it's nothing fancy, just bagels with cream... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Karlskrona, Sweden
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hostel is average.We got a private room, not on the streetside so not noisy at nights. The beds and the bathrom were okey although the air was humid and the towels smelled chlorine. Cleaning was good, new towels every second day. The whole hostel had a creepy smell that they tried to hide in the kitchen by opening the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

First the positive: great location and staff. Unfortunately the negatives outweigh the positives by far. As some other reviewers have mentioned street noise is an issue. Mason is a street with lots of activity. The noise is partly coming from the traffic and partly fron the people that live on the streets. Yep, there are lots of homeless people in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

On the Hostel website, they had stated a link with Lorries transport service at a rate of 14$ per person.Booked Lorrie's shuttle which was recommended by the hostel and had paid full but at 1am, Lorrie's shuttle failed to turn up at the airport. I made a call to the hostel lobby after waiting for 1.5 hours and spoke with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
HISFDowntown, Manager at Hostelling International- San Francisco/ Downtown, responded to this review

Hello Kiran, I am very disappointed to hear about the difficulties which you had in getting to our property and the poor reception and assistance you recieved at our facility. The described actions of the staff member you mentioned not only go against the training which our staff recieve, they also undermine the good work and positive spirit of our... More 

Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
34 hotel reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

+ The hotel is perfectly located(next to the union square). The room is simple but clean. There is a small hairdryer available. The wifi signal was pretty good in the room. The breakfast if too simple though: some confiture, any kind of white cheese, bagels, butter, coffee, tea, apples and oatmeal, that's it. You can also cook there yourself if... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Concord, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Clean atmosphere including rooms, warm staff, nice kitchen, decent breakfast, nice rooms (especially if you have a bathroom in your room), clean communal bathrooms, nice lounge areas, nice TV room, centrally located (near restaurants, shops, Metro, Muni, Starbucks, drug stores and more) and friendly guests.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tainan, Taiwan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is a huge and clean hostel. My friend and I stayed at a four-bed dorm for three nights and it was great. fast wifi access everywhere in the hostel and there's a charging outlet right beside the bed. The design is pretty user friendly and the breakfast is nice as well. the only bad thing is that the street... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2014

My first time staying at a hostel... This place is wicked! Very, very central to everything - cable cars, union square, restaurants, theatre, big bus pickup/drop off and shopping. I stayed in my own private room and shared the bathrooms with others on the same floor. No problems at all, were clean enough. Would definitely recommend and come back again!... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2014

I stayed here one night. I traveled solo and stayed in a four bed dorm room. I met two really nice guys that were staying in my room. The reception staff was very friendly. The rooms get hot at night, so you need to leave the window open to bring in cool air, which unfortunately allows you to hear the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mpls MN
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2014

A friend and I stayed at the hostel and found it to be clean and charming. The stay was great from check-in, to local eateries and check-out. We stayed in a private room and would stay at this location again. It is close to many things (food, shopping, transpiration, etc). The perk of having a breakfast in the morning and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Hostelling International- San Francisco/ Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostelling International- San Francisco/ Downtown

Address: 312 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Hostelling International- San Francisco/ Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostelling International- San Francisco/ Downtown Hotel San Francisco

119 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (107)
Viewed
Room/suite (37)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Family/play areas (4)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Staying in Union Square

Neighborhood Profile
Union Square
Originally home to rallies supporting the Union Army in the Civil War, this grand square has become the city's premier shopping and entertainment district containing the largest number of upscale department stores, chic boutiques, art galleries and theaters in the city. It's a large open area where tourists and locals gather, watch cable cars and crowds go by, enjoy a snack, or plan their day of shopping and sightseeing, If feeling the pulsating energy of the city is on your agenda, Union Square is the place to soak it in.
Explore this neighborhood