We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

da Vinci Villa

2550 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
da Vinci Villa
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

672 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    223
    244
    103
    65
    37
See reviews for
196
197
32
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (672)
  • Mar-May only
    (164)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (223)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (173)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (112)
All months
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Visited here at the end of a two week tour of the West Coast. Good location for visiting San Fransisco and close enough to Alamo Park, Cable Car stops and Fisherman's Wharf. Nice reception area and helpful staff all round. Family room perfectly serviceable, breakfast OK - continental style, lots of bread/cereal/waffles available. Fruit a bit tired. Hotel in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Room was tiny and not as shown on the photos. It wasn't cleaned on the second night either. Our room was also facing out onto a parking lot when everyone else faced the pool. The lifts were really slow, as were the staff during checkin. Nothing was explained to us when we arrived, so we missed the fact we had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DaVinciSF, Front Office Manager at da Vinci Villa, responded to this review

Greetings Matt, I'm sorry to hear about your experiences while staying with us. We do try our best to cater to each guest's needs, tastes and preferences and sometimes, we fall short of expectations. In your case, it seems like we just couldn't get anything right to appeal to you. We will take each instance seriously and improvise in all... More 

Williamsville, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We had a pleasant arrival and stay! Stacey at the front desk was friendly and helpful. Upon leaving and checking my credit card, there was a charge of $500 additional. I called and Kunal told me I damaged the room. I am appalled!! We are the Newsoms, leave rooms in good order and tips for cleaning staff. We stayed one... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DaVinciSF, Front Office Manager at da Vinci Villa, responded to this review

Greetings Ms Newsom, I'm glad to know that you had a pleasant time during your stay with us and that Stacey was able to leave a good impression about our service. The damaged bathroom door was reported to us by our maintenance and housekeeping staff and as per hotel policy, for the security of our property, we had to authorize... More 

Salt Lake City, Utah, United States
Level Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The staff is friendly, hotel is walking distance to Fisherman's Wharf. One of the few pools in the city. Rooms are clean. Close to many good restaurants. Parking is $30 with in and out privileges. There is a Chinese restaurant next to the hotel where the continental breakfast is served. Breakfast isn't bad but the restaurant is worth a visit... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DaVinciSF, Front Office Manager at da Vinci Villa, responded to this review

Greetings Ray, At Da Vinci Villa we take pride in our friendly service to make you feel at home. Our convenient location lets you explore this part of the city easily and I'm glad that our amenities stood out with the overall value that you experienced. We hope to see you again in the future. Until then, Happy travels! Kunal... More 

Derby
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Arrived at the hotel and was greeted by two members of staff who were very friendly. The rooms were very nice and came with full air con which was nice. We got free continental breakfast everyday which could of been better and have more variety so only ended up going there twice for breakfast out of the five nights we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DaVinciSF, Front Office Manager at da Vinci Villa, responded to this review

Greetings Lauren! We truly appreciate you staying with us and sharing your experience for other guests. It's great for us to know that you were happy with the hotel and hope you had a great time in the city! Until we see you again, happy travels! Sincerely, Kunal Khandwala Front Office Manager Da Vinci Villa More 

Woodend, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The location was near the fisherman's wharf area of San Francisco, an easy walking distance. Rooms clean & comfortable, staff very friendly & helpful. Beds comfortable. Breakfast in the attached Chinese restaurant an interesting experience. I will think of San Francisco any time I have a cold boiled egg on bagel for breakfast.

Was this review helpful? Yes
DaVinciSF, Front Office Manager at da Vinci Villa, responded to this review

Greetings Vicki, I hope you were able to take advantage of our proximity to the wharf and other attractions. Great to know that you enjoyed the comforts of our room and our service. We did enjoy reading about your interesting experience with the modified egg sandwich! Wishing you Happy Travels, Kunal Khandwala Front Office Manager Da Vinci Villa More 

Waterloo, Belgium
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

we had 2 nights at this hotel after a long flught. Glad we chose this area and not union square with all its building work on going. Room was bit tired and dark, but nice pool and people at reception very helpful. Breakfast was ok, but very busy.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DaVinciSF, Front Office Manager at da Vinci Villa, responded to this review

Greetings Mette, There is always something going on at and around Union Square and our location offers you the convenience of being close to many other attractions so I am glad you chose to stay with us instead. Thank you for sharing your feedback as it will help us focus on areas that will enhance guest experience. We wish you... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Nice enough hotel in an ok location with easy access to various sights - we walked to crooked street and fishermans wharf without any grumbles from our kids! Staff were helpful too and accommodated slightly early check in and very early check out. Major problem though is that it is like sleeping above a motorway - very noisy particularly if... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DaVinciSF, Front Office Manager at da Vinci Villa, responded to this review

Greetings! Thank you so much for appreciating the convenience of our location and we are glad to know that even the kids enjoyed the short walk to nearby attractions. We do understand that the city noise can be bothersome for some of our guests and it is difficult to be completely sealed off from the city and yet be in... More 

Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Spent two nights at this hotel. Very pleasant staff. Couldn't check in early. Looks like this was an older hotel that has been updated. Beds and linens were quality but it was still an old room. The layout of the hotel was awkward. Only certain rooms have A/C...mine didn't. You have to ask for it. Walking distance from Fort Mason... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DaVinciSF, Front Office Manager at da Vinci Villa, responded to this review

Greetings Paul, We hope you had a great but brief time in the city to explore the neighborhoods around our Hotel. I appreciate you sharing your experience with us and am happy to inform you that we are scheduled to complete the installation of air-conditioners in all our rooms shortly. I wish you happy travels for the future and once... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Good location at top of hill near Fisherman's Wharf. Breakfast good enough, in the next door Dim Sum restaurant, but very busy. As it was included in the reasonable room rate, it suited us. Room was clean, but extremely poor lighting. There were no lights near the wardrobe & we ended up using torches. ( We did, in fact, leave... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DaVinciSF, Front Office Manager at da Vinci Villa, responded to this review

Greetings Elizabeth! We appreciate your honest feedback about your stay and do take safety and security as our top priority. We are in the process of updating the lighting in some of our rooms, we are also monitoring the entry ways during the peak hours to ensure that trespassers are kept away and our guests feel secure. I hope you... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

123 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (92)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (27)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (7)
Viewed
View from room (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (31)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Marina District
Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre h...
#59 of 235 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 783 reviews
Marina District
Comfort Inn by the Bay
Comfort Inn by the Bay
#115 of 235 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 stars 842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan
#17 of 235 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 3,188 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fisher...
#103 of 235 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 stars 2,723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Russian Hill

Neighborhood Profile
Russian Hill
Russian Hill has evolved into a chic residential neighborhood with outstanding views from every corner. Combined with several great cafes, restaurants, antique shops and boutiques, it’s easy to see why any visitor would gladly leave their heart in San Francisco. Cars line up day after day to drive down Lombard Street, the “crookedest” street in the world, and make the slow creep downhill past charming period homes. Polk Street is the main drag in this neighborhood, where you will find trendy bars, cafes and shops populated with locals, but for one of the most charming rides in the city, grab a cable car heading up and down Hyde Street.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay