We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Pickwick Hotel San Francisco

Hotel website
Hotel deals
85 5th Street, San Francisco, CA 94103
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Pickwick Hotel San Francisco
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Pickwick Hotel San Francisco
Write a Review

644 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    266
    172
    77
    47
See reviews for
75
219
51
153
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (644)
  • Mar-May only
    (142)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (179)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (211)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (112)
All months
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

A couple of Hotels into my vacation, I finally found everything I wanted. The Pickwick Hotel was perfectly placed right in Union Square, and I finally found a great price , nice room, and air conditioning and a refrigerator! Triple plus!! Wish I'd found this place earlier! Front desk was really nice and my fave restaurant only three doors away,,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A 5 night stay at this hotel and the only fault I can come up with is the amount of fire engines with sirens going nearby, which isn't the hotel's fault! Close to the cable car stop on Powell, Westfield Shopping Centre, and a good base. Hotel clean, staff friendly, and the food good at the SOMA Restaurant attached. I'd... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed in room 303 which faces the junction of 5th Street and Mission Street. The window was not double-glazed and it was so noisy that I couldn't sleep at all. Also, the bed was old and screeched whenever I tossed from side to side.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1

Travelers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I needed a hotel to stay for business. Since I am traveling for work I look for three things. Cleanliness, Comfortable bed & Shower. Good strong internet connection. This hotel was clean, but that was about it. Our first room you could feel the spring popping through the bed. They were kind enough to move us up to the eight... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Binningen, Switzerland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Good hotel to stay in. Really convenient location close to one of the cable cars (Powell street) and not far from the piers to stroll and shopping destination. Infrastructure is pretty old and rooms did not have any controls for aircondition (not sure if there was any to be precise). Closet smelled strange and the fridge is pretty loud which... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sunnyvale, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here about 2 weeks ago for one night because of location. Near shops, restaurants, and only 1 mile from At&t park. We arrived a earlier than check in and were able to get a room since it was available. It was a corner room which was a plus. This is a much older hotel and you can tell when... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PickwickManagement, Front Office Manager at The Pickwick Hotel San Francisco, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words and we just completed an upgrade of our room furniture to a new Contemporary style!” Check it out on or Facebook page! https://www.facebook.com/PickwickHotel More 

White Rock, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Paper thin walls that let you hear people coughing in the next room. Next to a loud busy street. Cracked walls. Very creaky bed. Reception wasn't very helpful in helping us get around the city. Terrible internet connection. I will be surprised if this review even goes through. Good location though

Was this review helpful? Yes
PickwickManagement, Front Office Manager at The Pickwick Hotel San Francisco, responded to this review

Thank you for your input. We understand that the WiFi has issues, mainly due to being a vintage property built with sold concrete walls. However the good news is that Today at the Pickwick Hotel, we are announcing that we will completely upgrade our Wi-Fi system in the month of June! We will be installing one of the industry’s Highest... More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

First of all, location is pretty good - close to shops, transport links and restaurants. I had a room on the 8th floor at the back of the hotel, which, as a relatively light sleeper, I had hoped was far enough removed from the noise of the city to allow for an undisturbed sleep. Fortunately, I was unable to hear... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Other than the location, nothing else recommends this hotel. Everything is old, cracked and dirty. The room seemed clean, but the ornamental pillows were dirty and had some dubious stains on them (wink, wink). After this i decided not to look for signs of cleanliness anymore. The carped had seen better days and the AC had a industrial switch hidden... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Las Vegas, Nevada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Checked in the hotel mid afternoon and all seemed okay. Typical 3 star though the a/c was working fine. During the night the a/c started blowing out warm air. My sense is that they turned the chillers off to save $ though the next morning the manager Allen admitted the problem and stated it was due to 'renovation'. At the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

173 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (154)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (60)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Other (64)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...

Staying in SoMa

Neighborhood Profile
SoMa
South of Market (SoMa), has an urban and sophisticated vibe, but you're more likely to find big nightclubs and lots of industrial loft residences than you are to find boutique shopping. Although it’s the epicenter for tech startups in the city, visitors will be able to do more than just business - museums, top quality restaurants, and the San Francisco Giants now call this neighborhood home. Most of its freeway-sized streets may not capture the same character as other neighborhoods in the city, but pockets of charm, like South Park, can still be found throughout its side streets.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities