We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BEST WESTERN PLUS Americania

GreenLeadersSilver level
3.0 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
121 7th Street, San Francisco, CA 94103
4 people have started booking this hotel
BEST WESTERN PLUS Americania
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ranked #137 of 234 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersSilver level
A recent review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012
John M Glendale, California, United States
Write a Review

636 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    231
    192
    83
    49
See reviews for
175
166
48
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (636)
  • Mar-May only
    (156)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (170)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (203)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (107)
All months
There are newer reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Americania
See the most recent reviews
Glendale, California, United States
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Positives first . The Americania is centrally located near the Muni Station and close to Market St so public transportation was ++++. This is a 70's hotel that has been redone in a cool hipster motif. The staff was very helpful with any issues my party had. Custom Burger which is attached to hotel was very good for a burger... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
HaiyiHotels D, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Americania, responded to this review

Dear John M, We certainly appreciate that you took the time to share your review about your recent stay with us and the Trip Advisor community. IWe are pleased that you enjoyed our accommodations as well as the offerings at our Custom Burger! Thank you for your candid feedback about the first room that you were checked into, but am... More 

Gloucester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stayed here on 3,4,5th September for the first stage of our honeymoon, it was pre-booked for us by a travel agent. On first arrival it seemed a nice place, nice big reception with 2 computer workstations with internet and a printer that was free to use. The guy on reception was very helpful and friendly and gave us some... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
HaiyiHotels D, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Americania, responded to this review

Dear James R, First and foremost, congratulations to you and yours in tying the knot, we wish you both an amazing future ahead together! We certainly appreciate that you took the time to share your review about your recent stay with us and the Trip Advisor community. I am pleased that you enjoyed our accommodations and service during your three-night... More 

Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

I normally don't leave reviews but didnt want anyone to be as disappointed as we were. This hotel was a horrible experience. I would like to say there was one redeeming quality in this hotel but cannot. In the hotel room the heat didn't work and the maintenance person that came to check on the room was drunk. There was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Haiyi, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Americania, responded to this review

Helg0040, Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor about your recent stay with us. On behalf of our entire staff, you have my apologies for the situations you encountered during your stay and that our services did not meet your expectations. We understand the frustration you felt and have contacted each department to address the comments you have provided. We... More 

Travelers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

Chico, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012 via mobile

Room size was bigger than some of the other hotels I have stayed at in the City. $25 to park a small car. $20 charge for each adult in a room, beyond two. They don't allow partying or loud noise, they make you aware of this andthey will have you removed. Wifi worked well. Main issue is the late night... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
HaiyiHotels D, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Americania, responded to this review

Dear ganderson, Your comments about your stay with us are much appreciated and we thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and the Trip Advisor community! I am delighted to hear that you overall enjoyed our accommodations during your visit. As you mentioned, we do not allow parties in our hotel guest rooms simply to... More 

Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

I travel to SF often and unfortunately the whole downtown core is very expensive.Unless you want to stay at a Motel from the likes of CSI, this is one of the cheapest hotels. However, in the whole scheme of things it is expensive, and paying over $160 a night you expect better place than this. I have stayed on three... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HaiyiHotels D, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Americania, responded to this review

Dear mr_and_mrs_nibbles, We certainly appreciate that you took the time to share your review about your recent stay with us and the Trip Advisor community. I am sorry to hear that our accommodations fell short of your expectations but I am pleased that the service provided by our staff was well received. Although our little neighborhood of SoMA (South of... More 

San Francisco, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

This is a strange property, with a stupid theme that makes the rooms rather uncomfortable (there is a reason why manufacturers stopped making molded plastic furniture). The beds are small (full size) and hard. The courtyard is nice, but noise tends to be a problem as people cross the courtyard or as housekeeping roll the carts across the tiles. We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HaiyiHotels D, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Americania, responded to this review

Dear atbaritone, I am glad that you found our accommodations satisfactory however, I do apologize that we fell short of your overall expectations of our amenities. Parking is certainly a challenge in San Francisco and we are delighted to offer parking at a reasonable nightly rate compared to hotels located in Union Square, Financial District or Fisherman's Wharf; some hotels... More 

Henderson, Nevada
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

I've stayed at a Best Western when I was a kid but never as an adult so this was a first for me and I must say that I was uber surprised. I was hesitant after reading the reviews of this place and but after staying a few nights, people are really overreacting. First thing's first, this is far from... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HaiyiHotels D, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Americania, responded to this review

Dear YOLOjimmy, Your comments about your stay with us are much appreciated and we thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and the Trip Advisor community! I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed the accommodations, the service of our staff, your dining experience at our Custom Burger and appreciate your candid insight about our... More 

Meridian, Idaho
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

I came to San Francisco as a Bone Marrow Donor so I didn't have the choice of where to stay. The NMDP put me up and paid for it. The front desk staff was clueless about the situation & the process & put a hold on my personal account. It took two days to get everything figured out and was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Haiyi, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Americania, responded to this review

HonestinIdaho, Thank you for providing such a detailed response. We applaud the fact that you are a Bone Marrow Donor as we were honored to have you. On behalf of our staff we do apologize that we were not as friendly and helpful as we should have been. Our aim is to provide a warm welcoming environment to our guests.... More 

Ontario
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
30 hotel reviews
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012 via mobile

Staying at this hotel now. I took a chance and tried Priceline.com. At $160/night, this is what I got which was much cheaper than hotels at the wharf or Pier 39. Pros: The hotel rooms are clean and the decor is funky. The beds are comfortable and overall our room was quiet. The outdoor pool is heated and it's fine.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HaiyiHotels D, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Americania, responded to this review

Dear mortyatport, Thank you for your review about your recent stay with us. Glad that you enjoyed our accommodations; although indeed quite "funky," gotta love the mid-century theme referencing to classic American pastimes! I'm also delighted that you enjoyed our Custom Burger restaurant; my favorite topping is the Applewood Smoked Bacon! We appreciate your candid explanation about the streets of... More 

1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

This hotel is one of the worst hotels i have stayed at. There were no cups for the coffee maker. I called down to the front desk, they said they do not provide cups, but they could bring me a plastic cup. I said ok. The cups never came. Extremely loud at night. The cement halls tend to echo and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Haiyi, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Americania, responded to this review

Dear Washingtonwineboy, Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor about your recent stay with us. On behalf of our entire staff, you have my apologies for the situations you encountered during your stay and that our services did not meet your expectations. San Francisco along with many other urban metropolis attract a diverse group of charming individuals of all ages.... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

152 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (128)
Viewed
Room/suite (49)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Other (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (24)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...

Staying in SoMa

Neighborhood Profile
SoMa
South of Market (SoMa), has an urban and sophisticated vibe, but you're more likely to find big nightclubs and lots of industrial loft residences than you are to find boutique shopping. Although it’s the epicenter for tech startups in the city, visitors will be able to do more than just business - museums, top quality restaurants, and the San Francisco Giants now call this neighborhood home. Most of its freeway-sized streets may not capture the same character as other neighborhoods in the city, but pockets of charm, like South Park, can still be found throughout its side streets.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay