We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BEST WESTERN PLUS Americania

GreenLeadersSilver level
3.0 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
121 7th Street, San Francisco, CA 94103
Special Offer
Get up to 20% off
BEST WESTERN PLUS Americania
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Ranked #130 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersSilver level
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 5 weeks ago
Byron M Moncton, New Brunswick, Canada
Write a Review

592 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    218
    181
    76
    43
See reviews for
163
160
44
68
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (592)
  • Mar-May only
    (113)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (170)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (203)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (106)
All months
There are newer reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Americania
See the most recent reviews
Moncton, New Brunswick, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Had a great stay at this hotel. The only downside was the location. It was in the Tenderloin district of San Fran. We had to walk 2-3 blocks to get our tour bus; homeless people, smelled of urine." Don't go out at night" type of area.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Haiyi, Assistant Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Americania, responded to this review

Dear Byron M. Thank you for sharing your experience of the Best Western Plus Americania with the TripAdvisor community. We are happy you enjoyed your room and board at our hotel and we hope that you are able to visit again soon! Our neighborhood, SoMA (South of Market) is an eclectic and diverse area and contributes to the overall makeup... More 

Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2015 via mobile

We stayed for 4 nights in September 2014 at the start of our Californian roadtrip. As a family with young children (10,7 & 5) from the UK we wanted a hotel with good access to all the central attractions of San Francisco and the Best Western Plus Americania was ok for this. Off Mission and one block over from Market... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Haiyi, Assistant Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Americania, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write the detailed review of your most recent stay at Best Western Plus Americania. We are sorry that your experience with the neighborhood did not meet your expectations. The Soma neighborhood like most of San Francisco is in a large urban metropolis filled with many characters which provides the city its own unique... More 

Kirkland, Washington
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2015

I trust Best Western brand, and was not disappointed ever before. However, this hotel stands out in a negative way. And that is no surprise, as the only connection with Best Western is the name on the outside, on the room key, and on the paper cups. Everywhere else I saw HaiYi logo. The room was moderately shabby, medium wear... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Haiyi, Assistant Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Americania, responded to this review

Dear Vitaly K, On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations and that you received bedding in such poor condition. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future. Our... More 

Chicago, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2015

This is a very cute, retro style hotel. I enjoyed the decor .. the lobby and room were just right. However (and unfortunately) I could not recommend staying in this location if you are travelling with a child or are sensitive to areas with a lot of homeless, litter, drunks and pot smokers. We had our 11 year old daughter... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Haiyi, Assistant Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Americania, responded to this review

Dear Kim K, We would like to thank you for sharing with our friends in the Trip Advisor community your recent experience at the Best Western Plus Americania. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the unique décor and comfortable rooms. Our neighborhood, SoMA (South of Market) is an eclectic and diverse area and contributes to the overall makeup... More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2015

Booked my room thru Expedia. Hotel located in busy area near bars and clubs. Several homeless people can be seen on the streets on the same block. When I arrived to check in, my room that I had paid almost $300 for, had been rebooked to someone else. I had booked a room with 2 beds and 1 sofa bed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Haiyi, Assistant Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Americania, responded to this review

Dear Leoa710, On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future. I hope that you will consider staying with us again so... More 

San Francisco, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2015

Decor is so cute! Love that! I got a special on the Hotel Tonight app and paid $85 a night plus tax and got free internet! The only down side is this hotel in right in the city of San Fran and at night you can hear the fire trucks run by. Another down side is the room smelled heavily... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Haiyi, Assistant Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Americania, responded to this review

Dear Jennifer X, Thank you very much for staying with us at the Best Western Plus Americania, and for taking the time to share the details of your stay. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the hotel. On behalf of our entire staff, you have my apologies regarding the damp carpet. We understand the frustration you felt and have... More 

Santa Cruz, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2015

If you are looking for an awesome place to say in the heart of the City, this location was great choice, especially for the price. 60's art deco, roof-top heated pool, parking, a cute fitness center and a short walk or cab ride to local attractions. You won't be disappointed!

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Haiyi, Assistant Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Americania, responded to this review

Hello Shauntay L, Thank you for sharing your wonderful review of the Best Western Plus Americania with the TripAdvisor community. We enjoyed having you as our guest and hope you will visit again really soon! Sincerely, Christina Cosby More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2015

Went up with my mom and her friend to see my brother in a show. It was great coming back to the hotel from the show and not having to worry about parking. The room was very clean, and the beds were very comfortable! We will definitely pick the BW Americania again! Easy access from the freeway and to the... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Haiyi, Assistant Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Americania, responded to this review

Dear Nancy Barber, Thank you for posting your glowing thoughts on Tripadvisor about your recent stay with us. It was a pleasure meeting you and your wonderful family! We are delighted to hear that you really enjoyed your experience with our hotel and truly appreciate that you provided an honest and warm opinion. We aim to serve and provide all... More 

Stockton, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2015

We had a free night from the Best Western Summer promotion and used it for a night in San Francisco. The Hotel was easy to find , Valet did a good job . Parking was ok for San Francisco ( 35 Dollars plus tax a night ) Had breakfast the next morning at the Hotels Restaurant ( not included )... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Haiyi, Assistant Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Americania, responded to this review

Dear Bubbles123_12, We appreciate your glowing review of your stay with the Best Western Plus Americania. We are glad we could provide you with a comfortable and enjoyable stay while you explored our wonderful city of San Francisco. Thank you again for your time, and we hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back soon! Sincerely, Christina Cosby More 

Portland, Oregon
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2015

Location was okay, not what I had hoped for but this is minor and a selection I made. I have stayed at many Best Westerns throughout OR, WA and CA but this had zero similarity to those I have stayed at. It was very uncomfortable! The entrance (furnishings) was very cold and only warmed with a smile from the desk... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Haiyi, Assistant Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Americania, responded to this review

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for our guests in the... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

150 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (126)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (47)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Other (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (24)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Staying in SoMa

Neighborhood Profile
SoMa
South of Market (SoMa), has an urban and sophisticated vibe, but you're more likely to find big nightclubs and lots of industrial loft residences than you are to find boutique shopping. Although it’s the epicenter for tech startups in the city, visitors will be able to do more than just business - museums, top quality restaurants, and the San Francisco Giants now call this neighborhood home. Most of its freeway-sized streets may not capture the same character as other neighborhoods in the city, but pockets of charm, like South Park, can still be found throughout its side streets.
Explore this neighborhood

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question