We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 233 San Francisco hotels

Buena Vista Motor Inn

2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1599 Lombard St, San Francisco, CA 94123 (Marina District)
Hotel amenities
Buena Vista Motor Inn
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Buena Vista Motor Inn to your Saves list
Ranked #112 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
Fergmom Hot Springs,Ar
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    258
    156
    33
    16
See reviews for
134
245
14
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (544)
  • Mar-May only
    (124)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (154)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (152)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (114)
All months
Hot Springs,Ar
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars NEW

Even though we chose this as a result of reading good reviews, we were a bit nervous, considering the price in expensive San Francisco. No, it is not elegant by any stretch of the imagination, but it IS clean, comfortable, convenient, and includes parking, which is a big plus. Rooms are large, beds are comfortable. We paid extra to get... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cairns, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Myself and my partner stayed 4 nights in this hotel. Each day we either hopped on the hop on hop bus which you can at the front door, fantastic, or we walked down to our destination. The rooms are large and have whatever you need for your stay. Our room was on 3rd floor next to the lift and near... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Frankfurt, Germany
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here one night when my flight out of SF got cancelled. Can't complain at all. Rooms are spacious enough and clean. Staff was courteous. Free parking and good neighborhood. Not a bad choice for a trip to San Fran.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew A, General Manager at Buena Vista Motor Inn, responded to this review

Dear Hansi74, We are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us. The value that we give is of great pride to us and our service strives to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Our location in one of the best neighborhoods is the city doesn't hurt either. We have a great boutique shopping district with many fine restaurants... More 

Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here for 9 nights in February 2015. Very spacious rooms two queen comfortable beds in each of our two rooms ,clean though a bit tired. Coffee making facilities but no kettle which is a bit of a pain if you like tea. Staff on reception very helpful and kind. This hotel includes a great continental breakfast - cereal, pastries,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Andrew A, General Manager at Buena Vista Motor Inn, responded to this review

Dear Lynn C, Thank you for your kind review of our property. Because you stayed for an extended stay we were happy to make sure that you received a very special rate. Please come and visit again in the future, when we think you will be pleasantly surprised at our efforts to give you an even better value. Best Regards.... More 

Washington DC
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Ok this is not a luxury hotel, nor does it claim to be. It's a basic but clean and safe motor inn on the main drag to the Golden Gate Bridge. I stayed there three nights on business when the city had so many visiting conventioneers that it was very hard to find a room. Everything worked; the shower, heat... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Andrew A, General Manager at Buena Vista Motor Inn, responded to this review

Dear nip77, We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and found us a great value in San Francisco. The staff thanks you for your kind recognition of their service. We hope we can serve you again in the future with an even greater value once we have finished our renovations of the guest rooms. Yours Truly.... More 

Chehalis, WA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

No one advised us that the entire hotel is under construction and wrapped in scaffolding. Noises, and rooms have broken TVs they've not fixed and broken lamps. Already moved to another room, and that one has the windows blocked with the scaffolding. UNACCEPTABLE!!! And trapped here for another night!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Andrew A, General Manager at Buena Vista Motor Inn, responded to this review

Dear SasySue1977, I regret that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Unfortunately we had already finished painting the building but the scaffolding company was delayed in breaking down. It should have been down but its has taken until today to finish. We are in the next phase of remodeling our rooms which do need to be redone. I... More 

Arlington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2015

If you want something under $250/night, I don't think you can do much better. It's a great home base from which to sightsee — near the crooked street, waterfront, and lots of cool neighborhoods with good restaurants. The staff is very sweet; the continental breakfast perfectly adequate. And FREE parking and wifi! But this hotel will not put you in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew A, General Manager at Buena Vista Motor Inn, responded to this review

Dear Jessicajds, We are making every effort with our renovations to improve the quality of our hotel. The entire building has been repainted and the smell in the halls is from the fresh paint which was just finished. The rooms have already been painted and the next phase it to remodel. We are working with a designer to make the... More 

Chicago, IL
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
3 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2015

I stayed for two nights. Your standard hotel properties (marriott, sheraton, holiday, etc) were going 400-700 this past weekend so i had to dig in and do some serious research. After reading lots of reviews for several 2 star properties, i picked this one. First, the manager of the property responded to almost all reviews (good and bad) so that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Andrew A, General Manager at Buena Vista Motor Inn, responded to this review

Dear IslandLifeNeeded, I really appreciated the comment regarding my pride in our property. When I started here in July of 2013 everything and I mean everything needed updating. It has been a long and costly renovation but there are still a few things that need to be done. The final phase of the renovation will be the remodeling of our... More 

Kutztown, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2015

Great location, staff friendly and helpful. The double decker bus stop was right out front for sightseeing tours, we also used it for transportation to the Wharf. Parked the car and didn't use it for the entire time we were there! The rooms were clean, the breakfast was good and the Wi-Fi was free! Would definitely stay here again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew A, General Manager at Buena Vista Motor Inn, responded to this review

Dear KlFree, It makes me and my staff very happy to have made your stay such a pleasurable experience. I agree that we have the perfect location and services right at our doorstep. We are also diligently working on improving the quality of our property to make sure you have the best value in town. The staff wishes you the... More 

Hamburg, Germany
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2015

pro: beds are good, rooms are clean, perfect access to public transport, friendly service, fishermans wharf within walking distance and all together for a reasonable price contra: it's not the ritz ;-)

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Andrew A, General Manager at Buena Vista Motor Inn, responded to this review

Dear Tom H., We are happy that our location was a great help with your stay. Being away from the crowded tourist areas but still within walking distance from Fisherman's Wharf and public transportation makes it an idea base from which to explore our wonderful city. I hope the next time you return you will find us an even better... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Buena Vista Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buena Vista Motor Inn

Address: 1599 Lombard St, San Francisco, CA 94123
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina District
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Buena Vista Motor Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Buena Vista Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buena Vista Motor Hotel San Francisco
Buena Vista Hotel
Buena Vista Motel

113 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (106)
Viewed
Room/suite (23)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
View from room (18)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Staying in Marina District

Neighborhood Profile
Marina District
Beautiful homes, beautiful people, and a beautiful backdrop of the Golden Gate Bridge welcome visitors to the Marina. Originally the location for the Panama-Pacific International Exposition in 1915 (whose remnants can be seen at the Palace of Fine Arts), much of the land was filled and flattened to accommodate a world’s fair. That ample space has given way to a jogger’s paradise at the northern edge of the city. With the picturesque bay setting as its backdrop, it’s no surprise that the area has hosted numerous movie productions. Daytime activities focus on café culture and boutique shopping, while the evenings turn this neighborhood into a party-going hotspot.
Explore this neighborhood