We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Americas Best Value Inn

246 McAllister Street, San Francisco, CA 94102 (Formerly Abigail Hotel San Francisco)
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Americas Best Value Inn
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

36 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    0
    7
    6
    6
    17
See reviews for
6
12
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (36)
  • Mar-May only
    (8)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (8)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (11)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (9)
All months
There are newer reviews for Americas Best Value Inn
See the most recent reviews
Santiago, Region Metropolitana, Chile
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Despite its fine location, this hotel is terrible: infrastructure is awful (no phone in rooms!!!, among others), service is poor as in no other (say, we asked for extra blankets and got no blankets; we needed an extra night but staff did NOT book it although they said it was done, and we asked for it several times. We were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
satish p, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review

I hope you can accept my sincerest apologies for your experience with the Americas Best Value Inn Civic Center. I will look into the non communication issue you claim for the shuttle and the blankets with my front desk staff and will address it accordingly. We have just upgraded our breakfast to have Oatmeal, two blends of coffee, cranberry, orange,... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Where do I start? What an absolute joke. I wouldn't even consider allowing my dog to stay here. I didn't take any of the other bad reviews seriously... & paid the price! 1. My wife & 3 year old arrived late after 2 flights to be greeted by a drunk homeless bum at the the reception area. I think he... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
satish p, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to write a response for our hotel. I am concerned that you had a experience of stepping over bums and drunks during your visit to ABVI Civic Center. Im not sure what area you were in, but I assure you we do not have drunks or bums laying out in front of our hotel. San... More 

Travelers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

Austin, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

This is a disgusting hotel, with broken furniture in the rooms, filthy carpets, extension cords arond the floor. It is NOT at Fisherman's Wharf, it is in the Tenderloin District. When you walk the street you have to step over vomit piles and drunks and drug addicts. This place is so disgusting, I washed my luggage when retruning.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Santiago, Region Metropolitana, Chile
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Despite its fine location, this hotel is terrible: infrastructure is not sufficient (no phone in rooms, among others), service is poor as in no other (say, we asked for extra blankets and got no blankets; or we needed an extra night but staff did NOT book it. We were almost left out... and we're not sure if we paid proper... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Washington, Pennsylvania
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

My family and I had a pleasant stay here, a very vintage looking feel to the place as well as a perfect walking distance to everywhere we wanted to go. The ambiance to this hotel is soothing with friendly tourists and a cheerful adorable front desk receptionist who was very helpful to our needs. We are happy to see many... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
oakland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

If you want to save a little money, then this may be the place to stay but be prepared for a rather drab,ultra-basic stay in a smallish room to be your sacrifice for savings. For a $20-$30 more, you may find a better deal in a better location then this lodging choice. Nestled in the tenderloin section of SF, but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Fresno, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

I stayed 1 night in this hell hole and it stunk, floor was filthy, customer service was non-existant, no phone in the room (safety issue), forced "valet" parking haha $27 extra, it smelled, bed was filthy, staff didn't even know who the manager was. I could go on forever but STAY AWAY!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
satish p, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review

I apologize for any inconvenience you had during your stay with us. The hotel is under new ownership and we are trying to better the hotel through constant upgrades. Due to us being in San Francisco, not all hotels have their own parking lot and majority of the hotels have to pay for valet service. We do not make money... More 

Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

This hotel advertises itself as America's Best Value Inn, but the sign outside says Abigail Hotel. We reserved a king suite in July through Booking.com. When we arrived, the lobby smelled of dust and paint. The elevator in this historic building can only accomodate two people at a time, and it was riddled with paint chips on the floor. They... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
chengdu, china
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

The Abigail is now an America's Best Value Inn. Stayed there in July for five nights on family vacation. The deal is this: the price is very low, about $100 per night, for a location within walking distance of Union Square, and about two blocks from the "F" trolly that takes you to many other tourist sites in the city.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

I booked this hotel via Booking.com. it was clean, room was large, bed as well, bathroom was super nice and clean with hairdryer and great shower. We were able to park on the street right in front of the hotel for free, because there was no garbage pick up or street cleaning on Monday morning; this was advised to us... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

63 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (51)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (25)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (19)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco)
Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Fr...
#136 of 235 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 stars 873 reviews
SoMa
Hotel Whitcomb
Hotel Whitcomb
#146 of 235 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 stars 2,038 reviews
Encore Express Hotel
#157 of 235 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 stars 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#87 of 235 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 1,785 reviews
Hayes Valley
Inn at the Opera
Inn at the Opera
#48 of 235 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 619 reviews
Chinatown
Hotel North Beach
Hotel North Beach
#190 of 235 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 stars 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Civic Center

Neighborhood Profile
Civic Center
Civic Center is the seat of power for all things government and performance-related in the city. Although its streets are best walked during daytime, numerous cultural gems are within close proximity to one another. The symphony, opera, ballet, and jazz center offer year round entertainment within the shadow of the city’s Beaux-Arts crown jewel: the gold tipped dome of City Hall.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay