We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cova Hotel

GreenLeadersBronze level
655 Ellis Street, San Francisco, CA 94109
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cova Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Cova Hotel
Rate this Hotel

690 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    308
    124
    47
    33
See reviews for
131
238
48
59
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (690)
  • Mar-May only
    (152)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (203)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (192)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (143)
All months
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

My sister and I stayed at Cova for our getaway trip to San Francisco and we enjoyed our hotel overall. Cons: Poverty in the area. There are a lot of homeless individuals around the hotel. It's really sad because you can see that many of these individuals are not mentally healthy. I didn't feel scared at all, however. Most individuals... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Clean, well run hotel. Front desk staff very helpful, especially Lawrence. I had misread the hotel shuttle information and without making any reservations, arrived at Union Square around 3 pm and called the hotel. Lawrence explained to me that the shuttle only picks up when reservations had been made in advance. He then contacted the shuttle van, found out that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel was extremely helpful throughout our stay. Mark, Christian, Lawrence, Glenn, and Latoya were very helpful providing information and accommodating to our needs.Breakfast was great and rooftop view was good at all times. I would definitely stay here again. Tom Dallas, TX

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel is terrible. The rooms do not have air conditioning and there is nothing on the website stating this. There was only a fan to cool the room but the windows were locked up with a sign stating due to safety reasons the windows can not be opened. The room had the sun on it all day. There were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Pensacola, Florida
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I can't say enough how awesome the Cova hotel front desk staff were during our stay. They are so helpful for everything from navigating the city to restaurant recommendations and definitely make this hotel worth it. The location is not the greatest, but the free shuttle was a great perk and very efficient. There is a schedule for time &... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Matthew_Salvan, Manager at Cova Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for recently staying with us and for allowing us to accommodate you during your San Francisco trip. We appreciate your recent review and thank you for sharing your experience with us. I'm very happy to hear that you enjoyed your overall stay with us. Thank you for giving us an in depth overview of your entire... More 

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We arrived on our honeymoon following a nightmarish couple of days courtesy of United Airlines. The warm welcome from the hotel staff who gave us a room upgrade, booked us onto tours and were just generally awesome went a long way to restoring our faith in humanity. The hotel is billed as 3 star but is better than a lot... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Matthew_Salvan, Manager at Cova Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for recently staying with us and for allowing us to accommodate you during your San Francisco trip. We appreciate your recent review and thank you for sharing your experience with us. Thank you so much for allowing us to be a part of the beginning of you new life together as a married couple. I just... More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The Tenderloin has a reputation for being really rough and, once the sheer numbers of homeless sinks in, you can appreciate the hotel. We arrived a day late for our honeymoon due to internal flights being cancelled but the staff immediately upgraded us to a suite, which was lovely. They were knowledgeable about the hotel and public transport and everyone... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Matthew_Salvan, Manager at Cova Hotel, responded to this review

Good day to the happy couple! Thank you so much for allowing us to be a part of your special occasion! We appreciate all your kind words about the hotel. The observations and suggestions that you had provided will surely help future guests understand the uniqueness of our location and how not to feel discouraged about staying at the Cova... More 

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Internet connection is too bad. I asked the front desk couple times but they didn't solve the problem yet. Bad internet connection in San Francisco is unacceptable. Other than that the rooms are very good and clean. The staff is very friendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Matthew_Salvan, Manager at Cova Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for recently staying with us and for allowing us to accommodate you during your San Francisco trip. We appreciate your recent review and thank you for sharing your experience with us. First off, we deeply apologize that we were experiencing difficulty with the WiFi while you were staying with us. We would like to inform you... More 

northumberland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Just stayed in this hotel for one night . The rooms are lovely but the location of the hotel is horrible . Right in the middle of crack head . Tramps . Who urinate in the street in front of you , watch ware you walk as they all lie in the streets . Dog muck every whare . There... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Matthew_Salvan, Manager at Cova Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for recently staying with us and for allowing us to accommodate you during your San Francisco trip. We appreciate your recent review and thank you for sharing your experience with us. We do apologize that you found our location to be in the rough part of San Francisco but happy to know that you enjoyed the... More 

2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at Cova Hotel from Feb 13th till Feb 20th. The hotel is very clean and well-maintained, safe once you are within the premises and most importantly, well staffed! We have stayed at several hotels in the country and their team consists of some the most caring, professional and kind folks we have ever met. We had an issue... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Matthew_Salvan, Manager at Cova Hotel, responded to this review

Hi there! It was so great receiving an e-mail from you. I'm glad to know that we were able to meet your needs while you were with us. We surely consider you a part of our Cova Family and we do hope to see you in the near future. We all appreciate your kind words and even your messages have... More 

Hotel Review Summarization

What travelers say

  • Union square(21)
  • Homeless people(10)
  • Free shuttle(10)
  • Very nice(4)
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

325 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (124)
Viewed
Bathroom (21)
Viewed
Room/suite (41)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from room (15)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (32)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (175)
Viewed
Amenities (31)
Viewed
Deluxe King Room (23)
Viewed
Double Superior Room (26)
Viewed
King Superior Room (19)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (13)
Viewed
Suite (31)
Viewed
The Hotel (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (26)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question