We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency

Hotel website
Hotel deals
123 Eden Street, Bar Harbor, ME 04609
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency
Add Photo

743 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    138
    253
    175
    97
    80
See reviews for
210
340
18
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (743)
  • Mar-May only
    (45)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (406)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (273)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (19)
All months
1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Bar Harbor Holiday Inn resort was the worst experience from all of the hotel experiences I have had in my lifetime. I was asked to upgrade the room when I walked in and I said okay fine I will pay extra money to upgrade the room. At the time the person atthe desk told me breakfast is available from 7... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Eben S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency, responded to this review

It took me a second but I can see how you mistook the time breakfast was "available" to mean it was also free. Clearly the front desk was informing you of the restaurant hours, not offering breakfast for six. Andrea is very kind and works very hard at making sure our guests are happy and our policies are enforced fairly.... More 

Somers, Connecticut
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I was worried a bit because of reviews, and I am so happy I didn't get scared off! We found all staff to be friendly and helpful. The room was comfortable, clean and fresh. The pool area was lovely, with the view of the ocean from the pool. This was a highlight for sure. One recommendation...I would be sure to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cranston, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stay there twice a year. Excellent view over looking the water, great atmosphere, rooms are beautiful, comfortable and spacious. They have excellent restaurants! they have a heated outdoor pool, fitness club, hot tub etc.A MAJOR THUMBS UP!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Eben S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency, responded to this review

Thanks for having a great time! We have made a lot of improvement s this season and they are getting rave reviews. I know the staff will get a copy of this as they all enjoy hearing from guests that had a great time. Hope to see you again. More 

Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We.decided against staying at this hotel after.we.had booked.it based on the poor reviews we read .and when we drove up and went in it looked run down and dirty We.cancelled.our reservation and we're assured we'd receive partial credit as we had met the requirement by cancelling on time We booked online so it was a third party booking When we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Eben S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency, responded to this review

It is unfortunate that you had difficulty with a third party booking site. It is sometimes difficult for the hotel to accept responsibility for policies they do not control. While we were able to confirm your agent had booked a room we could not cancel without their involvement per their rules. As to your run down comment our lobby is... More 

Travelers are raving about these Bar Harbor hotels

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We visited Bar Harbor and we stayed at the "renovated" Holiday Inn. Overall I was not impressed and I was most disappointed with Andrea - the front desk manager. The first room Andrea sent us to - she told us was an "upgrade". I walked in - there was no view period. Not even of the parking lot. It was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Eben S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency, responded to this review

I am sorry your stay with us was not satisfactory. Sometimes it's easy to become frustrated with a person that is enforcing a well known policy that is out of their control. As you know your Priority Club membership entitles you to upgrade one level if available. It does not provide a complimentary upgrade to our full oceanfront rooms as... More 

Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed here one night while visiting Bar Harbor and Acadia. I was nervous after reading some of the reviews but was very pleased by the hotel. Room was on the small side for a family of four but was clean and view of pool and water was very nice. The pool area is sensational. We had a beautiful day and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Eben S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency, responded to this review

I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and thanks for taking the time to post a positive review. We do put a lot of effort in our pool area, which is the centerpiece of this wonderful resort. Hope to see you again! More 

Petrolia, Canada
Level Contributor
97 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We spent a very relaxing couple of days at the hotel. The room was clean and comfortable with a super view overlooking the water and pool area (unfortunately we had to pay extra for the view). The pool area had lots of loungers, chairs and tables and was very clean. The flower beds were very attractive and well kept. We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Eben S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency, responded to this review

Once again our pool tops the charts! Our flower girls are the best and it shows. Thanks for having a great time! More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Spent one night here on our coastal Maine trip. View was wonderful from the pool area, hotel is situated on a spectacular area. However for the price the room was not that nice, wall near tub looked like it was mouldy and the tile around tub was cracked and the gout around the tub was miss coloured. It was however... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Eben S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency, responded to this review

We have the best pool in the State of Maine. Period. I'm glad you enjoyed it as so many others have! Please send me your room number and I will have maintenance check the grout. I'm glad you found the rest of the room very clean. Our HK department works very hard at cleanliness.. More 

indy
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

If your going to stay here, it's worth upgrading the room with an ocean view since they have been renovated. The walls are thin so you can hear everything especially thru bathroom. If you don't mind the walk, this hotel is located adjacent to a sidewalk that takes you to center of Bar Harbor (about a mile). New front desk... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Eben S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency, responded to this review

I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. We do have some new staff this season and they are very eager to contribute to a positive guest experience any way they can. You are correct in that the ocean view rooms are the way to go. Thanks again for your review. More 

Columbia, SC
Level Contributor
135 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We purchased a full ocean view unit. I was told that it had a large fridge and mini kitchen area. There is no microwave. We started out in a room with a large fridge and were downgrade to a room with one big enough to put some small drinks in it. Our original room was on the fourth floor. There... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Eben S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency, responded to this review

I am sorry to hear things did not go perfectly for you. As you can see from our official website we do offer refrigerators in all of the rooms. Sometimes the third party booking site are not quite accurate. Thank You for bringing this to our attention and we will work with your provider to correct their descriptions. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

228 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (204)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (62)
Viewed
Room/suite (31)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (24)
Viewed
View from room (23)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Other (52)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (24)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay