We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency

3.0 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
123 Eden Street, Bar Harbor, ME 04609
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ranked #33 of 42 Hotels in Bar Harbor
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 6 days ago
Colleen P Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Write a Review

725 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    248
    173
    95
    75
See reviews for
199
332
18
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (725)
  • Mar-May only
    (39)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (394)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (273)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (19)
All months
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I think this hotel is a 3.5. I struggled to decide if it was a 3 or a 4. Here's the deal: make sure to stay in the main hotel with a beach view. It is worth it. The annex is a bit cheaper but there is no charm to it and it is separate from the amenities. The rooms... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed at the holiday inn for 4 nights. Decent quality throughout, no pretensions of being what it's not (for whatever that means). We were pleased with our stay there even if we didn't like the Bar Harbor part of Mont Desert island. A bit too touristy for my taste. I'd recommend staying in the Southeast Harbor area or anywhere in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency, responded to this review

Dear Guillaume S, Thank you for your candid review. We strive to provide our guests with an extraordinary experience and we are pleased to have the opportunity to do that for you during your visit with us. Your positive feedback makes it all worth our efforts. Thank you for sharing your thoughts and we hope that you would consider us... More 

Hickory, North Carolina, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2015 via mobile

i have an up coming reservation 60429566. I booked it with my Platnum points. I called the hotel to ask what the Eden house was. When I discovered it wasn't an ocean view I ask to change my reservation. The woman I spoke to said there were ocean views available in the main building but she couldn't change my reservation... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency, responded to this review

Dear Sheryl D, Your taking some time out of your busy day to bring this matter to our attention is much appreciated. On the other hand, it is regretful to see that the quality of service you experienced when requesting for additional information may have fallen below your expectations. In our effort to attain 100% guest satisfaction, we would love... More 

Poughkeepsie, New York
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2015

The hotel is right by the Frenchman's Cove - over looking the sea. From the large pool one feels like you are almost at the ocean itself. The breakfast room is overlooking the ocean. It is treat to seat there and have your morning coffee. Very close to the Acadia National Park and the quaint Bar Harbor city.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cleveland, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2014

Nice older hotel beds comfortable nice linens great restaurant on site convenient to town ,Acadia national park Cadillac mountain would definitely recommend this hotel the only drawback to this place no elevators in the outside buildings.But beautiful grounds pool make up for elevators my suggestion try get room in main building.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Chico, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2014

First off, it's very confusing with the Regency and Holiday Inn combo. We weren't sure we were in the right place. Biggest complaint is the horrible smell in the halls. We stayed on the 3rd floor and it was old and mildewed smelling. Room was ok. There was a floor lamp that had no way to plug into an outlet... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency, responded to this review

Dear TheTravelingTwo_5, Thank you for your feedback and I appreciate the generous 4 star rating you have given the Service provided by our staff members and the Sleep Quality you have had during your stay. On the contrary, I offer my sincerest apologies if our property's cleanliness fell below your expectations. I assure you that this matter has been taken... More 

Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2014

My wife and I recently spent some time exploring the Arcadia National Park and the delightful town of Bar Harbour and had the good fortune of staying for a couple of nights at the Bar Harbour Regency. The friendly and efficient staff were helpful in suggesting places not to be missed during our visit. We had a fabulous room that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
DULUTH
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
29 hotel reviews
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2014

We were on a leaf tour and stayed at the Bar Harbor Regency. They have a shuttle bus that runs you into town and back so the location is good. We had a lobster dinner the night we arrived, it was the typical lobster bake with the whole lobster. I'm not a fan of the whole lobster, so I'd say... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2014

This place was so disappointing! It does NOT live up to its pictures/ advertising. Read through the negative barrage of TA and Yelp reviews on this place and pretty quickly you'll get the picture: Tired, dirty, horribly mismanaged hulk of a place. Attitude of the staff is just so unbelievable: "Take it or leave it, we could care less." It... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency, responded to this review

Dear PHFlorida, Thank you for your recent stay with us and for reviewing our property. I am glad that our location worked for your needs. However, I am disappointed that your stay was negatively affected by the condition of the hotel and rooms and the level of hospitality service you received. Please accept our sincerest apologies for any inconvenience these... More 

Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

The room itself wasn't outstanding, but the view was! Our room was spacious, but it was old and in need of some updates (carpet, furnishings). My family of 5 (including an infant sleeping in a pack n play) had plenty of space in the room. We splurged a bit and paid for an ocean-view room and that was definitely worth... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency, responded to this review

Dear 26lisar123, We truly appreciate you taking the time to post your review and all the nice comments about the room and pool. Your feedback with the condition of our hotel has been noted for review and future considerations. Please accept our apologies for any disappointment this has caused you. Once again, thank you for your thoughtful comments. We look... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

211 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (199)
Viewed
Room/suite (31)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (24)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (59)
Viewed
View from room (23)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Other (50)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question