We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency

Hotel website
Hotel deals
123 Eden Street, Bar Harbor, ME 04609
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ranked #33 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
Guillaume S New York City, New York
Rate this Hotel

724 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    248
    172
    95
    75
See reviews for
199
332
18
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (724)
  • Mar-May only
    (38)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (394)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (273)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (19)
All months
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed at the holiday inn for 4 nights. Decent quality throughout, no pretensions of being what it's not (for whatever that means). We were pleased with our stay there even if we didn't like the Bar Harbor part of Mont Desert island. A bit too touristy for my taste. I'd recommend staying in the Southeast Harbor area or anywhere in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hickory, North Carolina, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

i have an up coming reservation 60429566. I booked it with my Platnum points. I called the hotel to ask what the Eden house was. When I discovered it wasn't an ocean view I ask to change my reservation. The woman I spoke to said there were ocean views available in the main building but she couldn't change my reservation... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Poughkeepsie, New York
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel is right by the Frenchman's Cove - over looking the sea. From the large pool one feels like you are almost at the ocean itself. The breakfast room is overlooking the ocean. It is treat to seat there and have your morning coffee. Very close to the Acadia National Park and the quaint Bar Harbor city.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cleveland, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2014

Nice older hotel beds comfortable nice linens great restaurant on site convenient to town ,Acadia national park Cadillac mountain would definitely recommend this hotel the only drawback to this place no elevators in the outside buildings.But beautiful grounds pool make up for elevators my suggestion try get room in main building.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Chico, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2014

First off, it's very confusing with the Regency and Holiday Inn combo. We weren't sure we were in the right place. Biggest complaint is the horrible smell in the halls. We stayed on the 3rd floor and it was old and mildewed smelling. Room was ok. There was a floor lamp that had no way to plug into an outlet... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency, responded to this review

Dear TheTravelingTwo_5, Thank you for your feedback and I appreciate the generous 4 star rating you have given the Service provided by our staff members and the Sleep Quality you have had during your stay. On the contrary, I offer my sincerest apologies if our property's cleanliness fell below your expectations. I assure you that this matter has been taken... More 

Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2014

My wife and I recently spent some time exploring the Arcadia National Park and the delightful town of Bar Harbour and had the good fortune of staying for a couple of nights at the Bar Harbour Regency. The friendly and efficient staff were helpful in suggesting places not to be missed during our visit. We had a fabulous room that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
DULUTH
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
29 hotel reviews
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2014

We were on a leaf tour and stayed at the Bar Harbor Regency. They have a shuttle bus that runs you into town and back so the location is good. We had a lobster dinner the night we arrived, it was the typical lobster bake with the whole lobster. I'm not a fan of the whole lobster, so I'd say... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2014

This place was so disappointing! It does NOT live up to its pictures/ advertising. Read through the negative barrage of TA and Yelp reviews on this place and pretty quickly you'll get the picture: Tired, dirty, horribly mismanaged hulk of a place. Attitude of the staff is just so unbelievable: "Take it or leave it, we could care less." It... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency, responded to this review

Dear PHFlorida, Thank you for your recent stay with us and for reviewing our property. I am glad that our location worked for your needs. However, I am disappointed that your stay was negatively affected by the condition of the hotel and rooms and the level of hospitality service you received. Please accept our sincerest apologies for any inconvenience these... More 

Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

The room itself wasn't outstanding, but the view was! Our room was spacious, but it was old and in need of some updates (carpet, furnishings). My family of 5 (including an infant sleeping in a pack n play) had plenty of space in the room. We splurged a bit and paid for an ocean-view room and that was definitely worth... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency, responded to this review

Dear 26lisar123, We truly appreciate you taking the time to post your review and all the nice comments about the room and pool. Your feedback with the condition of our hotel has been noted for review and future considerations. Please accept our apologies for any disappointment this has caused you. Once again, thank you for your thoughtful comments. We look... More 

Boca Raton, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2014

Originally booked for 4 nights, stayed for 2 nights. Booked through Reservation Counter (which I thought was the reservation system for the hotel). Booked a "upgraded ocean view room" in main hotel with "oceanfront balcony". I called the Reservation Counter and specifically asked to have one of the newer "Updated Rooms" after reading some of the reviews about the older... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency, responded to this review

Dear Trulucks_Fan, Thank you very much for your recent stay with us. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of product and for this reason your comments are very troubling and will certainly be looked into. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience it may have caused you. We’d like to obtain some... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

211 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (199)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (24)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (59)
Viewed
Room/suite (31)
Viewed
View from room (23)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Other (50)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question