We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 40 Bar Harbor hotels

Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   119 Eden Street, Bar Harbor, ME 04609
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center to your Saves list
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
79%
Ranked #25 of 40 hotels in Bar Harbor
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
Ittybittyboarder Queensbury, New York
  • Overview
  • Reviews (584)
  • Photos (219)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A (1)
  • Room tips (200)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

584 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    249
    215
    63
    36
    21
See reviews for
200
230
9
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Do not go by the description of this hotel online or the high ratings given by others who all seemed to have stayed at the new buildings. When you book you do not know where your room is going to be. We booked through expedia. Just checked in to the old building where the office is located as we were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Queensbury, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We loved the Atlantic Oceanside! Our first impression was the grounds, which were immaculate and beautifully landscaped. The main lobby area is clean and appears to be newly renovated! Staff is friendly and helpful. Our room was immaculate and newly updated as well. The view from our balcony was beautiful. Housekeeping did a wonderful job and were very friendly. We... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Leominster, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We've been going to a Bar Harbor for a few years now and we stay here every year. We love the newer building. You can't beat the view. Other than the old ferry station, every room has a beautiful view on the water. This visit we noticed the beds were uncomfortable. Perhaps the new building could use some sprucing up.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tony B, General Manager at Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center, responded to this review

Dear Lisa N, Thank you for staying with us at the Atlantic Oceanside hotel and for the review on TA. I just moved up here this season and lived in the Atlantic View building for over a month and must say that I really enjoyed the views also. Each year we reinvest in our property and right now I am... More

Northampton, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We really enjoyed our stay for a long weekend family vacation. Our room had amazing ocean views enjoyed from our balcony. The room was large enough and included a small sitting room, decent sized fridge and microwave. Kids enjoyed the pools esp. the outdoor pool which had complimentary drinks. The continental breakfast was extensive with lots of choices. We did... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tony B, General Manager at Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center, responded to this review

Greetings Twin pines, I appreciate you taking the time to write this nice review and I do hope that you will return again. Because this property is very special to the Witham family, each Winter we do extensive maintenance projects and renovations. So again thank you for your suggestions. All my best, Tony More

Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here for only one night and wish we could've stayed longer! First off, Brittany at the front desk was amazingly professional, friendly and very helpful with finding us a beautiful room. We stayed in a newly renovated room on the 4th floor and it was clean, modern and had a nice oceanfront balcony to comfortably sit two or... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tony B, General Manager at Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center, responded to this review

Dear Baileylv, Thank you very much for this terrific review of our hotel! I have only been here at the GM for a few months and I really appreciate you taking the time to note all the nice things that the Atlantic Oceanside has to offer. I hope you will come back and visit us again in the future. Best... More

Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I need to be honest in saying that I was disappointed with this motel during our recent stay. We arrived at check in time and were told that our room was not ready, but would be in 20 minutes. Thirty minutes later I finally asked what was happening as our room still was not ready and asked if there was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Tony B, General Manager at Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center, responded to this review

Dear Linda C, I am sorry that your room was not ready for you when you arrived. So far this season our housekeeping staff has done a great job with cleaning and getting rooms ready for our guests to check in to and often many times they are ready early. In your case I do believe that our front desk... More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I just came back from a weekend stay at Atlantic Oceanside and we were very pleased with our room. The view was just spectacular and so serene that you were left to your thoughts. Breakfast was good. I would go back. I wasn't aware about the shuttle into town until I read someone else's review, I would... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tony B, General Manager at Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center, responded to this review

Dear Matia26, Thank you for staying with us at the Atlantic Oceanside hotel and for you comments on TripAdvisor. We will work harder to make sure that all of our front desk agents point out the benefits of using the Island shuttle as it is a great service to our guests. Again thanks for your kind review and we hope... More

Clarksville, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We bought a balcony ocean view but we had a patio ocean view which wasn't satisfying.The Oceanside was beautiful and we loved the nature cruise but the privacy,bedding,wifi and pool were awful but the bathroom was clean.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tony B, General Manager at Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center, responded to this review

Dear Iris Z, I am sorry that you were not happy with your accommodations and that this was not resolved while you were here. I would be more than happy to speak with you if you would not mind contacting me directly at 207-288-5801 x1311. We have 2 pool both indoor and outdoor and 2 hot tubs and I have... More

Edina, Minnesota
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
31 hotel reviews
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Our daughter arrived at this hotel a day prior to my wife and me. When I asked her what the hotel was like, she replied that it was "okay" and that pretty much sums up my thoughts. The rooms are fine (we had 4209 & 4210) -- they were clean and comfortable, but were a bit worn. The property is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
New York City, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I'm staying here right now and I must say that this hotel has been awful from the point we made our reservation. I booked a pet friendly specific room in the hotel for 3 nights, but when I called a month later, I found out they gave away my room and didn't have any pet friendly rooms left. They didn't... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Tony B, General Manager at Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center, responded to this review

Dear Afluffylam, I am very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I wanted you to know that I have tried to contact you to offer my apologies and to make amends for your dissatisfaction. I have looked through all the notes in your reservation and feel I need to point out a few things. Your stay... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Hotel Summarization (Beta)

What travelers say

  • Very nice(8)
  • Continental breakfast(7)
  • Main building(7)
  • Indoor pool(4)

Additional Information about Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center

Address: 119 Eden Street, Bar Harbor, ME 04609
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel Bar Harbor
Atlantic Oakes Resort
Atlantic Oakes Hotel
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel And Event Center Bar Harbor, Maine

219 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (195)
Viewed
View from room (41)
Viewed
Room/suite (43)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (42)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
0:20
Videos (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Other (54)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Bar Harbor with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#1 Green Hotel in Bar Harbor #4 On the Beach Hotel in Bar Harbor #5 Business Hotel in Bar Harbor #15 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor #18 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located on 12 beautiful acres just one mile from downtown Bar Harbor and the main entrance to Acadia National Park, the Atlantic Oceanside Hotel offers an ocean view from every room. Our brand new Atlantic View building offers everything you would expect from a modern hotel with fantastic views. Close enough to all the action of town, but just far enough away so you can relax. Our new rooms, friendly staff, and seasonal packages are the perfect combination of quality and value. Let us show you how beautiful the Maine coast can be.the AO is proud to announce the Grand Opening of its all new Bistro on Eden, a full service restaurant and bar.And with a great location comes great responsibility. The Bistro on Eden is a warm, lively restaurant and bar where people can be themselves and meet others in a friendly, comfortable setting. Overlooking Frenchman’s Bay it offers smashing views and intimate outdoor seating, where every seat faces the Atlantic Ocean. We feature great tasting fresh, seasonal comfort cooking with ingredients that are primarily sourced from local, small scale vendors. Above all you can expect warm, genuine service. That is something upon which we pride ourselves.We are located inside the lobby of the Atlantic Oceanside Hotel, 119 Eden St. Bar Harbor, and Maine 04609. Open Tues. ~ Sat. 3pm ~ 10pm ... more   less 
Number of rooms
153

Questions & Answers

Here’s what questions travelers have asked, with answers from representatives of Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question
A TripAdvisor Member

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer