We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sadie's by the Sea

Utulei Beach, Pago Pago, Tutuila 96799, American Samoa
Hotel amenities
Sadie's by the Sea
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Pago Pago
A recent review
Add Photo Write a Review

114 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    35
    41
    20
    12
    6
See reviews for
15
23
13
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (114)
  • Mar-May only
    (18)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (34)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (36)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (26)
All months
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed at Sadie's for a week in late May, June 2015. I cant tell you enough about how wonderful this place is. There are not big resorts on the island but this is tops considering the ocean environment. The staff is kind, caring and bend over backward to assist the traveler. There are no worries, the beach and grounds... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2015

Considering its Pago Pago, this place is terrific. Very central and easy to find... great outlook onto the wettest harbour in the world and a good little pool and beach. The restaurant is terrific but the highlight is the staff. I was about to waste half a day trying to find a rental car on a sleepy Sunday and the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Apia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2015

Central if you are in American Samoa for business or even a holiday, as aside from great rooms and great food, the hotel has a private beach for hotel guests. I usually ask for a room in the new wing close to the restaurant on the ground floor or any of the rooms on the second floor from 203 to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2015

I have now been to American Samoa on two visits for business. I write this as I sit in a room in desperate need of a refurbishment with an unmade single bed next to the queen, non functioning air conditioning, no replenishment of Tea and Coffee from the last visitors (or maybe the ones before them) and generally unclean bathroom.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tom-Sadies, Owner at Sadie's by the Sea, responded to this review

OMG! Please accept our most sincere apologies for sending you to an unserviced room. Houskeeping Supervisor checks all rooms after servicing and activates air-conditioning etc...obviously there was a mis-communication between Reception and Housekeeping. It is very puzzling that we have no record of this situation...neither with Housekeeping nor Reception. And equally puzzling as to why Management was not contacted immediately,... More 

Yarragon, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2015

My husband and I stayed at Sadies By the Sea in late February, 2015. The staff were welcoming and after a short walk up the stairs we came to our room. We were thankful the air conditioning was on as the level of humidity made us really uncomfortable, not being quite acclimatized to living in a tropical environment.(Phew!) The room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Honolulu
Level Contributor
343 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2015

Have stayed here before, but this trip taken March 2015. Location is great with proximity to the government complexes, National Park and the Hospital. It is also rather central if sightseeing and exploring the different choices for eateries is what you want to do on this trip. All the rooms are different as far as the number and configuration of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Tom-Sadies, Owner at Sadie's by the Sea, responded to this review

Hello Cardiotron, It's always good to have frequent contributors to TripAdvisor such as yourself, send in a review. Thanks. In response to your comments regarding in-room problems, our Housekeeping Manager is tasked with reviewing all rooms before a new guest arrives. Obviously we did not score well on that point! We have in-house AC servicing and, should problems arise, they... More 

Region of Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2015

A great place to stay if you are on the island. Nice beach area very friendly staff. Good kitchen and breakfeast, lunch and dinner selection is good. The rooms are older but in good shape and functional.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tom-Sadies, Owner at Sadie's by the Sea, responded to this review

Thanks dieter1951, Your candid comments are sincerely appreciated. I must say that our hotel was totally renovated and rebuilt about 7 years ago. I now realize that I should not have furnished with solid wood "period" furniture.as it makes the hotel appear older than it really is. I chose turn-of-the-century "Mission" style thinking that it suited the period when Sadie... More 

Honolulu
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2015

This property is well-appointed, attractive. Great WiFi. FREE airport transfers. Mini-fridge and desk in the room. Comfortable bed. Reliable A/C. Great HOT water with strong pressure for showering. A hotpot and microwave in the room. Located centrally, within walking distance of an shopping malls, several good restaurants/bars. One very fine, cozy, friendly restaurant/bar on-site. Modern, safe supermarkets close by for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Tom-Sadies, Owner at Sadie's by the Sea, responded to this review

Thank you so much for this review Douglas. We certainly appreciate that and also the wonderful work that you and your team are doing for our people. I look forward to having the pleasure of meeting you in person on your next visit. --Tom Owner More 

Eagle Mountain, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2015

This is by far the worst hotel I've ever stay. We got to our hotel around 11 ish cause the flt frm Hawaii gets in late only to find out front desk is close, agent woke up to ck us in but couldn't computer was up dating so we were sent to Sadie Thompson or something like that up the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Tom-Sadies, Owner at Sadie's by the Sea, responded to this review

This guest stayed a total of 4 nights. On arrival night the flight arrived on time (9:25pm) The office is open until midnite on flight nights. On this particular night the office closed at 12:30pm having waited an additional half hour, for this last guest. At that time the record was marked as a "No Show" which is the reason... More 

Timaru, New Zealand
Level Contributor
99 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2014

We stayed at Sadies by the Sea to attend a conference. It was just a great place to stay. The rooms were good, we had wifi, the staff were helpful and friendly and it is well located with great views across the harbour. The breakfasts and dinners at the bar/restaurant were also good. A very enjoyable week.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

94 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (89)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (13)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from room (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay