We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sadie's by the Sea

Utulei Beach, Pago Pago, Tutuila 96799, American Samoa
Hotel amenities
Sadie's by the Sea
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Pago Pago
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
BeautifulSamoa Apia
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    41
    20
    12
    6
See reviews for
15
22
13
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (112)
  • Mar-May only
    (17)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (33)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (36)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (26)
All months
Apia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Central if you are in American Samoa for business or even a holiday, as aside from great rooms and great food, the hotel has a private beach for hotel guests. I usually ask for a room in the new wing close to the restaurant on the ground floor or any of the rooms on the second floor from 203 to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gold Coast
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I have now been to American Samoa on two visits for business. I write this as I sit in a room in desperate need of a refurbishment with an unmade single bed next to the queen, non functioning air conditioning, no replenishment of Tea and Coffee from the last visitors (or maybe the ones before them) and generally unclean bathroom.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tom-Sadies, Owner at Sadie's by the Sea, responded to this review

OMG! Please accept our most sincere apologies for sending you to an unserviced room. Houskeeping Supervisor checks all rooms after servicing and activates air-conditioning etc...obviously there was a mis-communication between Reception and Housekeeping. It is very puzzling that we have no record of this situation...neither with Housekeeping nor Reception. And equally puzzling as to why Management was not contacted immediately,... More 

Yarragon, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband and I stayed at Sadies By the Sea in late February, 2015. The staff were welcoming and after a short walk up the stairs we came to our room. We were thankful the air conditioning was on as the level of humidity made us really uncomfortable, not being quite acclimatized to living in a tropical environment.(Phew!) The room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Honolulu
Top Contributor
304 reviews 304 reviews
49 hotel reviews
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Have stayed here before, but this trip taken March 2015. Location is great with proximity to the government complexes, National Park and the Hospital. It is also rather central if sightseeing and exploring the different choices for eateries is what you want to do on this trip. All the rooms are different as far as the number and configuration of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Tom-Sadies, Owner at Sadie's by the Sea, responded to this review

Hello Cardiotron, It's always good to have frequent contributors to TripAdvisor such as yourself, send in a review. Thanks. In response to your comments regarding in-room problems, our Housekeeping Manager is tasked with reviewing all rooms before a new guest arrives. Obviously we did not score well on that point! We have in-house AC servicing and, should problems arise, they... More 

Region of Waterloo, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2015

A great place to stay if you are on the island. Nice beach area very friendly staff. Good kitchen and breakfeast, lunch and dinner selection is good. The rooms are older but in good shape and functional.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tom-Sadies, Owner at Sadie's by the Sea, responded to this review

Thanks dieter1951, Your candid comments are sincerely appreciated. I must say that our hotel was totally renovated and rebuilt about 7 years ago. I now realize that I should not have furnished with solid wood "period" furniture.as it makes the hotel appear older than it really is. I chose turn-of-the-century "Mission" style thinking that it suited the period when Sadie... More 

Honolulu
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2015

This property is well-appointed, attractive. Great WiFi. FREE airport transfers. Mini-fridge and desk in the room. Comfortable bed. Reliable A/C. Great HOT water with strong pressure for showering. A hotpot and microwave in the room. Located centrally, within walking distance of an shopping malls, several good restaurants/bars. One very fine, cozy, friendly restaurant/bar on-site. Modern, safe supermarkets close by for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Tom-Sadies, Owner at Sadie's by the Sea, responded to this review

Thank you so much for this review Douglas. We certainly appreciate that and also the wonderful work that you and your team are doing for our people. I look forward to having the pleasure of meeting you in person on your next visit. --Tom Owner More 

Eagle Mountain, Utah
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2015

This is by far the worst hotel I've ever stay. We got to our hotel around 11 ish cause the flt frm Hawaii gets in late only to find out front desk is close, agent woke up to ck us in but couldn't computer was up dating so we were sent to Sadie Thompson or something like that up the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Tom-Sadies, Owner at Sadie's by the Sea, responded to this review

This guest stayed a total of 4 nights. On arrival night the flight arrived on time (9:25pm) The office is open until midnite on flight nights. On this particular night the office closed at 12:30pm having waited an additional half hour, for this last guest. At that time the record was marked as a "No Show" which is the reason... More 

Travelers are raving about these Pago Pago hotels

Timaru, New Zealand
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
29 hotel reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2014

We stayed at Sadies by the Sea to attend a conference. It was just a great place to stay. The rooms were good, we had wifi, the staff were helpful and friendly and it is well located with great views across the harbour. The breakfasts and dinners at the bar/restaurant were also good. A very enjoyable week.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Oahu, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2014

Sadly, Sadie's by the Sea is getting old and rundown. I stayed at the hotel twice within a 2 week period and the sliding door locks for both rooms did not work. Luckily Pago Pago is a safe place, but I still put my chair in front of the door. The first room I had was decent but the hotel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Clearwater, Florida
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
25 hotel reviews
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2014

November 1, 2014 aboard Crown Princess we arrived in Pago, Pago. We had arranged with Amouli Beach Fales to be picked up at the cruise dock six weeks in advance cost $25. pp at 10:30 am; however Princess changed their arrival time to 7am and the email from Amouli Beach Fales did not arrive until after 8am the rescheduled time... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

89 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (87)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from room (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question