We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hawaii's Hidden Hideaway

1369 Mokolea Drive, Kailua, Oahu, HI 96734
Hawaii's Hidden Hideaway
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    5
    5
    8
    13
See reviews for
10
29
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (53)
  • Mar-May only
    (12)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (12)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (11)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (18)
All months
Hove
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2015

Hawaii's Hidden Hideaway is run by the most wonderful, welcoming and helpful hotelier I have ever come across, and we've done an awful lot of travelling all over the world! Janice's little piece of paradise is tucked away just a few minute's walk from the beach in the most beautiful and tranquil residential area just outside Kailua in a place... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Torrington, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2015

This is my second stay at Hidden Hideaway. The first time I took one of the studios, and this time I took the suite, which I prefer. The suite is one large room with a sleeping area and a sitting area, a separate kitchen and bathroom. The owner is a delightful woman who fills the kitchen with pastries, drinks, coffee... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Arlington, Virginia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2014

Lots of privacy and quiet! If you are looking for a peaceful, relaxing location within a 5 minute walk to calm Lanikai Beach, this is a wonderful choice. My husband and I are not particular fans of standard bed and breakfasts, where you must awkwardly interact with the owners every day, (we prefer to keep to ourselves) so the fact... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Munich, Germany
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2014

This was our first accommodation on our round-trip. We really enjoyed the place. It is only a short 5 min walk away from Lanikai Beach, one of our favorite beach parks in the whole state. It is well-located to discover the island and especially the North Shore and Honolulu. The breakfast was not our main focus but to be honest... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hanalei
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

I had high expectations of this place that were shattered by multiple factors. The owner had to be tracked down whenever I had a question or a need. Her responses ranged from curt to downright annoyance and meaness. She never offered us anything , such as, fresh towels ( towels sour in the tropics) or a tour of amenitities of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Alaska
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2014

Our little retreat in Lanikai was a refreshing change from the usual hustle and bustle of Oahu. There are three units in a lovely home in the upscale neighborhood of Lanikai, just a few short blocks from an amazing beach. The B&B is nestled in very lush vegetation. Everything we needed for breakfast and refreshments was provided. Janice was a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
West Jordan, Utah
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

As others stated, I was completely disappointed in the breakfast. The problem is Janice charges a substantial amount of money for a barely edible continental breakfast. We had to go to breakfast every morning, because the food she stocked on Wednesday, was moldy by Thursday. She also came into our room and snooped around, but didn't bother to restock our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Benz500sl, Owner at Hawaii's Hidden Hideaway, responded to this review

We always welcome our guests to ask us for anything that they need. Telling us after the fact, we cannot meet all of their requests in a timely manner. We also respect everyone’s privacy and are there if you need us. We need to clarify that no one goes into the units when guests are there without them present. We... More 

Roseville, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Janice is a wonderful and helpful hostess. We arrived to Welcome signs leading us to our room. We had a lovely basket of fruit, flowers and chocolates by our bed. Janice has maps and a very helpful notebook for shopping, exploring and getting to the beaches. We had a lovely time there. Mahalo Janice!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

My husband thought this B&B would be a perfect location for part of our honeymoon and our first time time visit to Hawaii. Although the location was beautiful and the room nice, first of all, there were gnats. We expected a hot breakfast, instead there was bread and some muffins in the microwave, which got moldy after 2 days. We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Benz500sl, Owner at Hawaii's Hidden Hideaway, responded to this review

We love to have honeymooners stay with us, and because they are on their honeymoon we do not disturbed them. We want to make sure they have their privacy. In reference to the gnats. We do realize that during some of the year we have gnats that come in at night when the lights are on. So we ask (... More 

Rotorua, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Like other reviewers we arrived to the absence of the proprietor and made our way to our "studio suite". On entering we were aware of a stale, musty smell which we later identified as coming from the books which appeared to have been in the bookcase, untouched since the 1970's. The bed linen and furniture also appeared to be of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Benz500sl, Owner at Hawaii's Hidden Hideaway, responded to this review

We are sorry that the guest did not say something to us while they were here. We are glad to address their concerns. The furniture in that particular unit is rattan in style (came from Bail) and was purchased three years ago. The paperback books are left from many of the guests and some of them are older. People are... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

2 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question