We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hale Ko'olau

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
54-223 Kamehameha Highway, PO Box 223, Hauula, Oahu, HI 96717
Offers & Announcements
20% off room rate
Hale Ko'olau
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    28
    9
    6
    8
See reviews for
54
45
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (139)
  • Mar-May only
    (38)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (31)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (33)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (37)
All months
Saint Cloud, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I spent 7 months on O'ahu and stayed at Hale Ko'olau during my last month. I wish I would have found this gem sooner. If you're looking for real Hawaii, this is the place to be. I had the pleasure of staying on three of the properties and I must say, Kuai Kai's one bed one/bath was my favorite. At... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

I am a returning visitor to hale koolau. My first experience was so wonderful we came back and brought my family for my mothers birthday. I will spare the details, but the man Dave has no customer service skills. He moved all of our belongings while we were gone without our permission into a different room. He was so angry... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hale K, Manager at Hale Ko'olau, responded to this review

I'm not at all surprised by this 1 star review. The facts are really quite different than they've stated. These guests originally booked a small non-oceanfront 2 bedroom, 1 bathroom rental but on their day of arrival we discovered that the kitchen sink was backed up. Because of this we offered them a complimentary 4 day upgrade to a larger... More 

Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here with a large group in about 9 different cottages. I stayed in the Nani Kai Beachfront 3bd/3bath cottage. This was defiantly one of the more updated cottages of the bunch, great kitchen with all the dishes and supplies you need (no spices or condiments supplied). The beds were very comfortable and bathrooms were updated and large. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hale K, Manager at Hale Ko'olau, responded to this review

Aloha & mahalo for your review. We do appreciate your feedback but are a bit puzzled by what you've written for the title that our beach is not swimmable. This is absolutely not the case and, as I'm sure you noticed, people from our area come and bring their small children to the beach right on the other side of... More 

Boise, Idaho, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Great house to rent on the North Shore of Oahu! David and his staff had the house in great shape for our week long visit. Plenty of towels (beach towels included) and a well stocked kitchen for fixing our own meals (great way to save money feeding a family). The location is so close to the Polynesian Cultural Center, and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hale K, Manager at Hale Ko'olau, responded to this review

Aloha & mahalo for your review. We're happy that you found our beachfront rentals to be convenient and affordable for your family to use as a home away from home. It isn't easy to try and keep up with direct beachfront houses in Hawaii but we do our best and work hard each day to provide our guests with truly... More 

Orem, Utah
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We got a perfect little beach house right by the beach. We can enjoy the ocean right from our window. We have been going for walks right on the beach finding shells and sea glass. We have been keeping so busy on the north shore. This has been a good location not to far from good places to eat and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hale K, Manager at Hale Ko'olau, responded to this review

Aloha and mahalo for your review. We're happy you enjoyed your honeymoon at Hale Koolau and are humbled by your words. We do work hard every day to provide affordable beachfront rentals with convenient access to all that the North Shore has to offer. All our guests receive an automated survey after each departure and we do read through and... More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

If you want to experience real Hawaii, this is the place to be! When we planned our trip, we wanted to be away from the hustle and bustle of Honolulu. We wanted an atmosphere geared toward the local flair, without the crowded beach area of Waikiki. Our cottage was so nice! We stayed in Pukana La, 2 br, 1 bath,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hale K, Manager at Hale Ko'olau, responded to this review

Aloha and mahalo for your review. We're happy that you enjoyed your stay at Pukana La (Sunrise) and found us to be a good value/location for the price. We do work very hard every day to provide affordable beachfront in a welcoming, family-friendly atmosphere. These days there are more lodging options than ever online and we thank you for your... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Right on the beach. So nice to listen to the waves as you fall to sleep. And so nice to be so far away from all the noise of the big city. Right on the north shore and close plenty of other attractions.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hale K, Manager at Hale Ko'olau, responded to this review

Aloha & mahalo nui loa for your kind review. We're happy you enjoyed your stay and found Hale Koolau to be what you expected. More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is a can't miss opportunity! You simply cannot find a better combination of proximity to the Ocean, clean comfy lodging, kind prompt customer service and cost. The pictures on the site are not misleading at all. The waves are literally lapping up against your deck. The sunrises are breathtaking and the staff led by David are dutiful and friendly.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hale K, Manager at Hale Ko'olau, responded to this review

Aloha and mahalo for your wonderful review. We're so happy that we met and exceeded your expectations and humbled by your kind remarks about how hard we work to provide our affordable beachfront properties. This business is truly a labor of love for us and we try to respond as quickly and thoroughly as possible to all reasonable requests. Its... More 

Seattle
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great place to stay while on the north shore. We loved our little cottage on the beach. Stayed at the Chief's house and this was perfect for two couples sharing the cottage, we each had our own bedroom and bathroom. We would go back. This is not a 5 star resort but that was not what we had expected, we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hale K, Manager at Hale Ko'olau, responded to this review

Aloha & mahalo for your kind review and, especially, pointing out to other travelers that we are not a 5-start accommodations provider. We market ourselves as affordable beachfront...which for a direct oceanfront home of 2bd/2bath with A/C and hot tub for our price point we certainly are. Unfortunately we have attracted some guests in the past who may not have... More 

Los Angeles, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2015

Honestly, the experience out here was unreal, I am dreading going back to work after such nice experience. The house was beautiful and the staff was very kind. We rented snorkel gear and got to swim with Turtles on the North Shore! Definitely a trip I will remember

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Hale K, Manager at Hale Ko'olau, responded to this review

Aloha & mahalo for your kind review. We're happy that you were satisfied with Hale Koolau and got to swim with the Honu. We've gotten some bad reviews in the past because we charge a nominal fee for our beach equipment so we're glad to see that you saw value in it and appreciated it. Mahalo nui loa. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

129 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (98)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
View from room (15)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
Other (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (31)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities