We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 2 Hauula accommodations

Hale Ko'olau

Save Saved
You added Hale Ko'olau to your Saves list
54-223 Kamehameha Highway, PO Box 223, Hauula, Oahu, HI 96717
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Hale Ko'olau
Certificate of Excellence 2014
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hauula
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    27
    7
    3
    4
See reviews for
42
29
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (103)
  • Mar-May only
    (16)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (31)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (26)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (30)
All months
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

We rented one of the apartments in the back row on the upper floor. From the Lanai we had a gorgeous view to the ocean. The several hot tubs that are all available for all guests are very nice, especially the one just at the ocean front. The apartment was well equipped, clean and spacious, everything as advertised.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hale K, Owner at Hale Ko'olau, responded to this review

Aloha & mahalo for your kind review. We're glad that you found everything to be as advertised and enjoyed your stay with us. More

Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We stayed in Nani Kai Hale for 10 days in February. The house is just as pictured, well equipped, and the staff is very friendly. Unfortunately while we were staying here, someone attempted to break into the house while we were sleeping (waking up a couple in our party), and managed to steal snorkeling gear from one of our locked... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Hale K, Owner at Hale Ko'olau, responded to this review

Aloha & mahalo for your review. We are disappointed that you took an infrequent incident of crime and used it as justification to rate our property 3 stars overall while giving 4 or 5 stars to the individual categories set by Trip Advisor to rate our property. Unfortunately, crime is a reality everywhere in the world including here in paradise.... More

San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

As soon as we arrived there, we were greeted by Oti with outstanding customer service. She was very nice and showed us around the house. The house that we stayed at was very clean and better than what we expected. Lots of space and it had everything that we needed. A/C was really cold if you ever want to get... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hale K, Owner at Hale Ko'olau, responded to this review

Aloha and thank you for your kind review of our property and staff. We're happy that we were able to meet and exceed your expectations so that you could have a truly memorable Hawaii experience. More

Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

We were so delighted to see that our sight unseen beach house property was exactly what we had hoped for! It was cozy and quiet (except when we were lounge chair surfing in the deck above the sea wall in front of Pukana La where we stayed. The roars of laughter were heard and shared by other renters who watched... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Hale K, Owner at Hale Ko'olau, responded to this review

Mahalo for your review. We're happy that you and your family found our property to be everything you had expected and as advertised. Also thank you for sharing your photo of the "lounge chair surfing" with us on Facebook. More

Wichita, Kansas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Location is great if you want to get away from it all, if you want closer to big city life you will have to drive 40 minutes or so depending on traffic, there is plenty of places to go on the north shore to keep you busy and happy! Great place great price great people!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hale K, Owner at Hale Ko'olau, responded to this review

Mahalo for your review. You're 100% correct that we are not a big-city/resort area. Hauula is in the heart of North Shore country and we love it that way. We're happy to hear that you found our rentals to be a great price and our staff to be great people...that is what we strive for. More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014 via mobile

We chose Hale Koolau because if it's location and high ratings on Trip Advisor. The first part of our trip we stayed in the Hilton on Waikiki to experience the resort life. The second part we stayed at Hale Koolau so that we could enjoy the quiet and slower pace of the North Shore. These two places were quite different... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Hale K, Owner at Hale Ko'olau, responded to this review

Mahalo for your review and particularly your understanding that Hale Koolau offers beachfront houses - not hotel rooms. You're absolutely correct that we are not the location for those who want to be pampered and/or get caught up in the night life. Our entire goal is to provide a safe, clean, comfortable, and affordable beachfront experience for other beach bums... More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014 via mobile

Great north shore location on a quiet beach front property! Staff are friendly and helpful. We will be booking our next visit here. This place is close to Polynesian cultural center. Steps to the ocean from the room. Loved having cooking facilities!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hale K, Owner at Hale Ko'olau, responded to this review

Mahalo for your review. We're happy to hear you would consider a return visit and looking forward to welcoming you back to North Shore Oahu. More

Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

We loved everything about our stay here. The last place we wanted to stay was in the Honolulu area. We did our research. This place was perfect for us. Our family of 5 loved all the beaches in the North shore area, the small local restaurants (all good), shrimp trucks, fresh fish vendors on the side of the road (... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hale K, Owner at Hale Ko'olau, responded to this review

Aloha & Mahalo for your review, especially pointing out that Hale Koolau is a particular type of destination property for specific types of travelers who are looking for an alternative to the traditional resort scene. We're so happy that you enjoyed your stay and are considering a return but please be aware that our Christmas/New Years vacancies usually fill up... More

Montesano, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

We came in February with 2 other couples and rented the beautiful beach house. We had a wonderful time. We loved the location, the staff was extremely friendly and accommodating to our needs. Giovanni's shrimp truck along with Papa Olea's has wonderful authentic hawaian food. Halewia Joes was very good for fine dining. Pounders beach was our favorite for boogie... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hale K, Owner at Hale Ko'olau, responded to this review

Aloha and mahalo for your review. We're happy to hear that your group enjoyed our country atmosphere and found what you were looking for. We recognize that different travelers, especially depending on their expectations and desires, will prefer entirely different lodging when visiting our islands. The beauty of a Hawaii vacation is that you can have a night-club, high-end shopping,... More

Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

We stayed in two different properties over a period of almost a week, and highly recommend any visitors who are looking for a little piece of heaven to try this place. You can wake up in the morning to the sound of the surf, mosey down to the edge of the sea to wake up with your tea or coffee,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hale K, Owner at Hale Ko'olau, responded to this review

Mahalo for your kind review and for pointing out what we make as obvious as possible on our website and online marketing: the beaches around our property are the best on the island. We know and openly admit that the beach directly in front of our properties is not a good swimming beach, but there is good swimming just a... More

Do you own or manage Hale Ko'olau?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Hale Ko'olau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hale Ko'olau

Address: 54-223 Kamehameha Highway, PO Box 223, Hauula, Oahu, HI 96717
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Hauula
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 34
Also Known As:
Hale Ko`Olau Hotel Hauula
Hale Ko'Olau Hauula, Hawaii - Oahu

107 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (77)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
View from room (12)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (31)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near Hale Ko'olau

Enlarge Map