We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 2 Hauula accommodations

Hale Ko'olau

Save
You added Hale Ko'olau to your Saves list
54-223 Kamehameha Highway, PO Box 223, Hauula, Oahu, HI 96717
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off room rate
Hale Ko'olau
Certificate of Excellence 2014
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hauula
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    27
    7
    3
    4
See reviews for
44
32
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (109)
  • Mar-May only
    (16)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (31)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (32)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (30)
All months
San Diego, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We are vacationing with 2 boys (9&5 years), and this is best place that we chose. We are having great fun in peaceful north shores, close to great beaches. Even though beach in Huala is rocky, the one right in front of us, we are 5 mins away from some of the great private beaches with literally no crowd.. Property... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
toronto
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We have a bunch of family that stayed at Hale Ko'olau and rented 9 units in total. It is the perfect place for large family or groups of friends that want their own space but still want to be together. Each unit has everything you need to feel at home -coffee maker, blender, toaster etc. The location is right on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hale K, Owner at Hale Ko'olau, responded to this review

Aloha and mahalo for your review. We're happy that you found what you were looking for on your vacation. As for the sand on the beach, it was affected recently by the hurricanes which passed close to the islands. This type of erosion is not unusual in the islands and has affected many other beaches. Luckily with some time the... More

Smithfield, Utah
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stay here at Hale Ko'olau on the North Shore, you won't regret it! The location is absolutely stunning and the price is great. Our room was literally steps away from the ocean, so, so beautiful. This is such a great location, only 45 minutes away from Waikiki and minutes away from the three beaches that make up the infamous 7... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hale K, Owner at Hale Ko'olau, responded to this review

Aloha and mahalo for your enthusiastic review. We're happy that your side of the island was what you were looking for and that you enjoyed our pristine beaches and nature-based communities. Getting away from the resorts and the crowds is truly what Hale Koolau is all about. More

Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Amazing place. A short drive from Honolulu airport (45 mins), yet secluded. Right by the beach, allowing for great sunrises. The room was great (Molokai), with a kitchen and bath. The jacuzzi is perfect for the coming out of the ocean at night, and very convenient with a personal parking space. Loved it and would go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hale K, Owner at Hale Ko'olau, responded to this review

Aloha and mahalo for your review. We're happy you enjoyed your stay at Hale Koolau. More

Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Near the ocean with an amazing sunrise in the morning. The apartment is great, clean and it is easy to use the kitchen. The service is very welcoming and friendly and we enjoyed the hot tub with a nice ocean view.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hale K, Owner at Hale Ko'olau, responded to this review

Aloha and mahalo for your review. We're happy you enjoyed your stay at Hale Koolau. More

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2014

The Nani house provides a perfect place to stay as a family. The cost was awesome for 8 of us staying there. It was spacious and with the 3 bathrooms makes that part easy as well. The location of being on the end of a row of houses give the ultimate privacy and ease of walking on the beach or... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Hale K, Owner at Hale Ko'olau, responded to this review

Aloha and mahalo for your kind review. We're happy you enjoyed your stay with us and that our lovely Nani Kai Hale exceeded your expectations. More

Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

We rented one of the apartments in the back row on the upper floor. From the Lanai we had a gorgeous view to the ocean. The several hot tubs that are all available for all guests are very nice, especially the one just at the ocean front. The apartment was well equipped, clean and spacious, everything as advertised.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Hale K, Owner at Hale Ko'olau, responded to this review

Aloha & mahalo for your kind review. We're glad that you found everything to be as advertised and enjoyed your stay with us. More

Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We stayed in Nani Kai Hale for 10 days in February. The house is just as pictured, well equipped, and the staff is very friendly. Unfortunately while we were staying here, someone attempted to break into the house while we were sleeping (waking up a couple in our party), and managed to steal snorkeling gear from one of our locked... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Hale K, Owner at Hale Ko'olau, responded to this review

Aloha & mahalo for your review. We are disappointed that you took an infrequent incident of crime and used it as justification to rate our property 3 stars overall while giving 4 or 5 stars to the individual categories set by Trip Advisor to rate our property. Unfortunately, crime is a reality everywhere in the world including here in paradise.... More

San Francisco, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

As soon as we arrived there, we were greeted by Oti with outstanding customer service. She was very nice and showed us around the house. The house that we stayed at was very clean and better than what we expected. Lots of space and it had everything that we needed. A/C was really cold if you ever want to get... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hale K, Owner at Hale Ko'olau, responded to this review

Aloha and thank you for your kind review of our property and staff. We're happy that we were able to meet and exceed your expectations so that you could have a truly memorable Hawaii experience. More

Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

We were so delighted to see that our sight unseen beach house property was exactly what we had hoped for! It was cozy and quiet (except when we were lounge chair surfing in the deck above the sea wall in front of Pukana La where we stayed. The roars of laughter were heard and shared by other renters who watched... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Hale K, Owner at Hale Ko'olau, responded to this review

Mahalo for your review. We're happy that you and your family found our property to be everything you had expected and as advertised. Also thank you for sharing your photo of the "lounge chair surfing" with us on Facebook. More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Hale Ko'olau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hale Ko'olau

Address: 54-223 Kamehameha Highway, PO Box 223, Hauula, Oahu, HI 96717
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Hauula
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 34
Also Known As:
Hale Ko`Olau Hotel Hauula
Hale Ko'Olau Hauula, Hawaii - Oahu

107 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (77)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
View from room (12)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (31)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay