We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hostel City Maui 1

197 Market Street, Wailuku, Maui, HI 96793 (Formerly Hostel Market Street Inn)
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hostel City Maui 1
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hostel City Maui 1
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    0
    4
    2
    10
See reviews for
1
6
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (19)
  • Mar-May only
    (8)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (1)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (4)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (6)
All months
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2015

I wouldn't even rate this hostel one star... First of all, the bathrooms were awful. Plumbing doesn't work, no hot water...lost of bugs too. Ants all over the bed, Mosquitos..I woke up with a lot of bites on my legs. To end this review, the room next to us had a couple fighting all night, violence was involved. Policed showed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2015

I came to stay for a week or two in November and never left....the staff and owners have been very pleasant and helpful... The bed is comfortable... And hostel has a pay laundromat that is very convenient... They have snacks and soft drinks available for a reasonable price as well... I would recommend anyone to stay here... No reason to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Central Point, Oregon
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2015

My boyfriend and I stayed one night. We had stayed two other nights on the island, camping. We needed showers before our departing flights. As we have found often in Maui, there was no other place to stay for under $300, this place came available 3 days prior to our stay. Parking is free but very limited. The front, oh... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DELAMARIE B, Owner at Hostel City Maui 1, responded to this review

Who are you? God? For you to say that we are a struggling family is slander and tacky! You know nothing about me or my family! My son broke all rules by allowing you the use of our office computers and this is your response?! We rent this building and can only do so much and the rest is in... More 

Travelers are raving about these Wailuku hotels

Central Point, Oregon
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2015

Sometimes you see people reviewing a hostel as if they expect it to be a high end hotel. This is not one of those reviews. I've stayed in hostels on almost every continent. I've seen good and bad. This hostel takes the spot for worst hostel I've stayed at. The staff was practically absent. The breakfast was disappointing, hard pressed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DELAMARIE B, Manager at Hostel City Maui 1, responded to this review

sorry you felt like you would not be able to recommend our hostel. More 

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2014

This hostel is not clean the rooms are really small and one night we didn't have warm water so they just send us take a shower in an other room.Moreover, we didn't have door between the bathroom and the room just a curtain. And nobody was there for the checkout so this hostel is clearly not good. It's cheap but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2014 via mobile

This place is rank.... Unclean and infested with ants. Where you rest your head is practically on the toilet. The draws were full of somebodies clothes and there were dirty used tissues on the floor. Don't stay here.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2014

I've stayed here a couple nights now and it's a great place. The rooms are clean beds are comfortable. It's affordable unlike mostly everywhere else on the island. Continental breakfast is a good thing. The owners are very sweet and awesome. I would defiantly recommend this place to my friends and family.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2014

Although cheaper than some of the other accommodation in the area, I would not recommend that anyone stays here. The rooms are tiny boxes with nowhere to put your luggage, the bathrooms are miniature and not clean and the whole room (including the bed) is infested with ants. There was even a pubic hair in my bed! The bathroom is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Torrance, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

Hostel City Maui is an ideal spot for young people who just need a spot to sleep...It is definitely not recommended for a romantic getaway. Room was very small and the bath room was a little dirty... Bed was also small and sagged. This hostel provided some towels but no soap and shampoo. This hostel is very close to the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

Would never normally stay in a hostel but we were very last minute in booking our trip so no hotels were left, and these were private rooms so thought it could'nt be too bad right. WRONG. We booked 2 nights here but managed to wriggle out of the second as soon as we arrived as i didn't like the look... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
DELAMARIE B, Manager at Hostel City Maui 1, responded to this review

we are sorry you had such an experience with insects here at the hostel. We have had an exterminator over since your stay and he found only a few in that room so it must have came from a previous guest. but rest assured it was dealt with! thank you More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

33 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (24)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities