We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Northshore Hostel Maui

2080 West Vineyard Street, Wailuku, Maui, HI 96793
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Northshore Hostel Maui
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Northshore Hostel Maui
Northshore Hostel Maui
Northshore Hostel Maui
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    99
    20
    7
    4
See reviews for
9
56
145
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (322)
  • Mar-May only
    (92)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (73)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (76)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (81)
All months
There are newer reviews for Northshore Hostel Maui
See the most recent reviews
Brussels
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

I really enjoyed my stay here! The staff is so friendly, the place is really clean with 4 bathrooms, safety is great since you can only get in though a code, great breakfast, handy laundry system. And what I really loved was the great atmosphere in the living room, almost a homy feeling which makes it really easy to get... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michael D, Manager at Northshore Hostel Maui, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your visit and your great review...great guests make our job easy....aloha! More

Paris, France
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

I was supposed to stay 2 months but finaly I spent almost 2 weeks at the hostel because I have had a medical issue that forced me to fly back to France (broken ankle). The staff was friendly (except one of them). The area is super clean (bathroom, dorms & living room) which is something very convenient. Rooms are cheap,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Michael D, Manager at Northshore Hostel Maui, responded to this review

Dear Kevin We're sorry for your misfortune during your visit and thank you for pointing out to us how we might improve our customer service. We wish you a speedy recovery....aloha! More

Mexico City, Mexico
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
35 hotel reviews
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Friendly place, safe, clean. Rooms have air conditioning which is nice. It has 5 shared bathrooms which fill always and have to wait your turn every morning and night. It has a kitchen and and a tv louge which is the common tiny area. This is not the place to party or meet people. Only basic accomodation and nothing else.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Michael D, Manager at Northshore Hostel Maui, responded to this review

Dear Barelle Mahalo for your kind words and thank you for staying with us. We try to provide the best atmosphere for all of our guests and make everyone feel welcome. Alas, were we 'right on the beach' our rates wouldn't be the lowest on Maui! Aloha and happy trails.... More

Tampa, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

The hostel had great hosts, Jen and Scot were very friendly and helpful. The travelers are mostly young international people with the exception of us (old Americans). The hostel is very safe and centrally located. There is a camera system set up inside, so even "stolen" beer is detected...lol The sheets and towels are clean, breezy rooms, paddle fans, no... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michael D, Manager at Northshore Hostel Maui, responded to this review

Dear Linda, mahalo for staying with us, we're happy you enjoyed our hostel...aloha More

Honolulu, Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

This is an excellent hostel to stay for $29 a night. Clean and upbeat environment. Quiet hours are between 10pm and 7am so there is time to sleep. The only reason I am not giving it 5 stars is because it is still a hostel and not a 5 star hotel. I enjoyed the low key location which had a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michael D, Manager at Northshore Hostel Maui, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us Susan. We know there are many choices about a hotel and we're happy you chose ours! Aloha... More

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Hello, we really liked this plce so we cam spontaneously back. At both visits we had different private rooms. Both were really clean, also each of the 4 bathrooms. Staff is really helpful and relaxed....2 thumbs up! Had a great time there and no need to complain. Of course it's a hostel and not a hotel. Keep that in mind... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michael D, Manager at Northshore Hostel Maui, responded to this review

Mahalo Christoph for your visits and the kind words, we're happy you enjoyed your stay....aloha. More

Mainz
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014 via mobile

The northshore hostel is nice. Everything is clean. You can choose between 4 bathrooms. The hostel is not to big and the stuff is really nice. But the location is not good. You need a car. The beach is far away. There is nothing to do around the hostel. And if you decide to rent a car, book it at... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michael D, Manager at Northshore Hostel Maui, responded to this review

Dear Mainz, we're happy that you liked our hostel, thank you for your visit. We do our best to help our guests enjoy Maui. We offer a free beach shuttle every day. Also, the bus system is quite good as well. Aloha.... More

Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

This place is awesome. Their staff is super friendly and go out of their way to make sure you are having a great stay. Full of useful information about not only the area, but all of Maui. Excellent security (while not being over-bearing), comfortable and relativity spacious dorm rooms. Four private washrooms, you can use the printer for free, and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michael D, Manager at Northshore Hostel Maui, responded to this review

Mahalo Madelaine for your very kind words, we're really happy that you enjoyed your visit and appreciated our hard work...we hope to see you again someday.... a hui hoa! More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay here. It's cheap, staff are friendly, kitchen was clean and with a lot of utensils. It is not a party hostel like banana bungalow, coming from there it was nice and quiet with a good atmosphere and nice people!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michael D, Manager at Northshore Hostel Maui, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. We're happy that you appreciate our hostel....mahalo! More

Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

This hostel is a choice I do not regret. Located in Wailuku, it is a central area to all other cities you want to explore. It's a 10-15 minutes car ride from the airport, and 30-40 minutes to Lahaina or Kihei. The room and dorm prices are very reasonable letting you place money elsewhere (like a car rental to explore... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michael D, Manager at Northshore Hostel Maui, responded to this review

Dear Arxxra Thank you very much for staying with us, we're very happy you enjoyed our hostel and that you would choose to stay with us again. We work hard to provide our guests the best service at great prices (the lowest on Maui). Mahalo nui loa ... a hui hoa! More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Northshore Hostel Maui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northshore Hostel Maui

Address: 2080 West Vineyard Street, Wailuku, Maui, HI 96793
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailuku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Northshore Hostel Maui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northshore Maui Hotel Wailuku
Northshore Hostel Maui Wailuku

66 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (37)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Other (13)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay