We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Northshore Hostel Maui

2080 West Vineyard Street, Wailuku, Maui, HI 96793
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Northshore Hostel Maui
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Northshore Hostel Maui
Northshore Hostel Maui
Northshore Hostel Maui
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    100
    20
    8
    4
See reviews for
9
57
147
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (325)
  • Mar-May only
    (92)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (73)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (76)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (84)
All months
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This place has it all figured out: great facilities, rooms and kitchen, good location and a relaxed athmosphere. The staff is helpful and friendly and actually cares about you being there (which is rarely the case in many other places). You'll be provided with lots of information about the island and it's activities. Hands down one of the best hostels... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Pros: 1. Friendly staff 2. Clean rooms/restrooms. 3. Safe place (they got cctvs for security). 4. Quite hours that are actually obeyed. 5. Ideal location to get around important destinations. (Good bus access etc.) 6. Air conditioned rooms. (Maui needs one even during winter). Cons: Not a party place. Definitely would recommend this place and will be my choice for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Helsinki, Finland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed for three nights in the end of November, and would not stay again. This is why: - They have cockroaches in the rooms and in the bathrooms, and don't take enough care of the problem. They said they would spray the room, but the cockroaches were still there. They basicly say "It's Hawaii". - I also needed to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
hawaii
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great place to stay when on a budget on Maui. Very organized and a great resource for all to do on Maui. Very clean and quiet with access to full kitchen. Coffee and pancakes are complimentary on a daily basis.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michael D, Manager at Northshore Hostel Maui, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind words...and thanks for your appreciation. It's great to have great guests...aloha! More 

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Eh. I wouldn't stay again. But it's ok if you are comfortable with cockroaches. I'm not, so it was a challenge. I slept in my car one night because I couldn't quite handle the roaches in the room. Really nice clientele and really nice employees. Clean bathrooms.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michael D, Manager at Northshore Hostel Maui, responded to this review

Dear Amanda, we're sorry to hear about your experience and that you chose to sleep in your car. Upon investigation of the room together, we were unable to see 'lots of cockroaches'. We spray our dorms regularly and ask guests to keep food and drinks in the kitchen. It is our intention to have a safe and clean facility and... More 

Woodinville, Washington
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2014

We stayed here because of a recommendation from my brother. We booked a private room that had A/C and I'm really glad we did. The hostel is very warm with a few fans. I would have to say that hostel life isn't for us. You had to really time your showers for early in the morning or very late because... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michael D, Manager at Northshore Hostel Maui, responded to this review

Dear Zeppelin We regret that you had an unpleasant experience with the pillows, we'll get on that. As far as smoking goes, it's a law in Maui that smokers must be at least 20 feet away from business entrances...we are trying to comply with the law and keep all our guests comfortable. Thanks for your review....happy trails! More 

Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
5 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2014

This was a good hostel They catered for mainly German tourists, and the manager was German. A very clean hostel. The location was ok, but too far from any beach. There was a close-by bus line which took you around pretty well. But fromhere, I could not make it to HAna. Hiring a scooter to take you around the whole... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michael D, Manager at Northshore Hostel Maui, responded to this review

Dear PalJoey, thanks for your visit. I'm not sure what you mean about hiring a scooter to see Maui...many guests do. We also provide guests with information about car rentals and tour companies if they request. We don't have the room to have endless racks of tour literature, but we do have free wifi and a free internet computer easily... More 

Manila, Philippines
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2014

Yes Perfect is the only word I can say about Northshore Hostel Maui. Situated close to everything that you want from a vacation--airport, bus stop, restaurants, beach, mountains. The best of all is the service that far exceeds the very reasonable price--pick-up from and to the airport, respect of all guests but welcome you as friend, 10pm quite time, clean... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Michael D, Manager at Northshore Hostel Maui, responded to this review

Dear Ramil Mahalo for your kind (and accurate) words, we appreciate our guests and work hard to be the best hostel in Hawaii and beyond...aloha! More 

Indiana
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2014

I had never stayed in a hostel before on my travels but this has set me in motion. The place was clean the staff was awesome and the other guests were friendly and respectable 10 out of 10.. awesome place would recommend to anyone

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Michael D, Manager at Northshore Hostel Maui, responded to this review

Mahalo Charlie, we're happy you chose us as your first ever hostel....we pride ourselves on professional service and high standards...thanks for staying with us! More 

La Plata, Argentina
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014

I've been there on March. it's a very nice place with people from everywhere,it's located on Wailuku town very easy to access. if you call them after your arrival the will pick you up on the airport! prices are nice, and the place is very clean and quiet. there's no noise after 10 PM and ligths are out.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michael D, Manager at Northshore Hostel Maui, responded to this review

Mahalo Juan, we're happy that you enjoyed your visit to our hostel...happy trails! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Northshore Hostel Maui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northshore Hostel Maui

Address: 2080 West Vineyard Street, Wailuku, Maui, HI 96793
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailuku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Northshore Hostel Maui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northshore Maui Hotel Wailuku
Northshore Hostel Maui Wailuku

66 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (37)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Other (13)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay