We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 10 Wailuku accommodations

Northshore Hostel Maui

2080 West Vineyard Street, Wailuku, Maui, HI 96793
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Northshore Hostel Maui to your Saves list
Northshore Hostel Maui
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
92%
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 6 days ago
Juan C La Plata, Argentina
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    97
    18
    7
    4
See reviews for
9
56
141
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (315)
  • Mar-May only
    (92)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (73)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (69)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (81)
All months
La Plata, Argentina
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I've been there on March. it's a very nice place with people from everywhere,it's located on Wailuku town very easy to access. if you call them after your arrival the will pick you up on the airport! prices are nice, and the place is very clean and quiet. there's no noise after 10 PM and ligths are out.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michael D, Manager at Northshore Hostel Maui, responded to this review

Mahalo Juan, we're happy that you enjoyed your visit to our hostel...happy trails! More

West Hollywood, CA
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed at Northshore Hostel a very long time ago and only recently talking about it realized I never left a review. So here it is! I was stranded on Maui after an issue with my flight and could not afford the big hotels--or small ones. Finding this hostel and its reasonably priced private room for one was heaven sent.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michael D, Manager at Northshore Hostel Maui, responded to this review

Mahalo Kath....better late than never. We hope to see you again soon! More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Go there! It's so much fun with these guys and it is one of the cleanest and most familiar hostels I've ever been to! So worth to stay there while you enjoying this beautiful island. I would choose it again :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michael D, Manager at Northshore Hostel Maui, responded to this review

Mahalo for your kind words, we hope you stay with us again....aloha More

Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

I stayed 8 nights in July and had a fabulous experience. The staff were very helpful and able to answer all your questions about the island - where to go, how to get there etc. I stayed in a 4 bed and an 8 bed dorm - both were fine and very clean. Bathrooms were also very clean and the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michael D, Manager at Northshore Hostel Maui, responded to this review

Dear Teekay thank you for your kind review, we pride ourselves on cleanliness and friendliness...thanks for staying with us, we're glad you enjoyed our hostel and Maui!...a hui hoa! More

Brussels
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

I really enjoyed my stay here! The staff is so friendly, the place is really clean with 4 bathrooms, safety is great since you can only get in though a code, great breakfast, handy laundry system. And what I really loved was the great atmosphere in the living room, almost a homy feeling which makes it really easy to get... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michael D, Manager at Northshore Hostel Maui, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your visit and your great review...great guests make our job easy....aloha! More

Paris, France
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

I was supposed to stay 2 months but finaly I spent almost 2 weeks at the hostel because I have had a medical issue that forced me to fly back to France (broken ankle). The staff was friendly (except one of them). The area is super clean (bathroom, dorms & living room) which is something very convenient. Rooms are cheap,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Michael D, Manager at Northshore Hostel Maui, responded to this review

Dear Kevin We're sorry for your misfortune during your visit and thank you for pointing out to us how we might improve our customer service. We wish you a speedy recovery....aloha! More

Mexico City, Mexico
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
32 hotel reviews
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Friendly place, safe, clean. Rooms have air conditioning which is nice. It has 5 shared bathrooms which fill always and have to wait your turn every morning and night. It has a kitchen and and a tv louge which is the common tiny area. This is not the place to party or meet people. Only basic accomodation and nothing else.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Michael D, Manager at Northshore Hostel Maui, responded to this review

Dear Barelle Mahalo for your kind words and thank you for staying with us. We try to provide the best atmosphere for all of our guests and make everyone feel welcome. Alas, were we 'right on the beach' our rates wouldn't be the lowest on Maui! Aloha and happy trails.... More

Tampa, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

The hostel had great hosts, Jen and Scot were very friendly and helpful. The travelers are mostly young international people with the exception of us (old Americans). The hostel is very safe and centrally located. There is a camera system set up inside, so even "stolen" beer is detected...lol The sheets and towels are clean, breezy rooms, paddle fans, no... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michael D, Manager at Northshore Hostel Maui, responded to this review

Dear Linda, mahalo for staying with us, we're happy you enjoyed our hostel...aloha More

Honolulu, Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

This is an excellent hostel to stay for $29 a night. Clean and upbeat environment. Quiet hours are between 10pm and 7am so there is time to sleep. The only reason I am not giving it 5 stars is because it is still a hostel and not a 5 star hotel. I enjoyed the low key location which had a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michael D, Manager at Northshore Hostel Maui, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us Susan. We know there are many choices about a hotel and we're happy you chose ours! Aloha... More

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Hello, we really liked this plce so we cam spontaneously back. At both visits we had different private rooms. Both were really clean, also each of the 4 bathrooms. Staff is really helpful and relaxed....2 thumbs up! Had a great time there and no need to complain. Of course it's a hostel and not a hotel. Keep that in mind... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michael D, Manager at Northshore Hostel Maui, responded to this review

Mahalo Christoph for your visits and the kind words, we're happy you enjoyed your stay....aloha. More

Do you own or manage Northshore Hostel Maui?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Northshore Hostel Maui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northshore Hostel Maui

Address: 2080 West Vineyard Street, Wailuku, Maui, HI 96793
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailuku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Northshore Hostel Maui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northshore Maui Hotel Wailuku
Northshore Hostel Maui Wailuku

61 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Other (13)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near Northshore Hostel Maui