We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 10 Wailuku accommodations

Northshore Hostel Maui

2080 West Vineyard Street, Wailuku, Maui, HI 96793
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Northshore Hostel Maui to your Saves list
Northshore Hostel Maui
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
92%
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
teekay341 Perth, Australia
  • Reviews (312)
  • Photos (61)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (41)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

312 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    187
    96
    18
    7
    4
See reviews for
9
56
140
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed 8 nights in July and had a fabulous experience. The staff were very helpful and able to answer all your questions about the island - where to go, how to get there etc. I stayed in a 4 bed and an 8 bed dorm - both were fine and very clean. Bathrooms were also very clean and the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michael D, Manager at Northshore Hostel Maui, responded to this review

Dear Teekay thank you for your kind review, we pride ourselves on cleanliness and friendliness...thanks for staying with us, we're glad you enjoyed our hostel and Maui!...a hui hoa! More

Brussels
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I really enjoyed my stay here! The staff is so friendly, the place is really clean with 4 bathrooms, safety is great since you can only get in though a code, great breakfast, handy laundry system. And what I really loved was the great atmosphere in the living room, almost a homy feeling which makes it really easy to get... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michael D, Manager at Northshore Hostel Maui, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your visit and your great review...great guests make our job easy....aloha! More

Paris, France
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I was supposed to stay 2 months but finaly I spent almost 2 weeks at the hostel because I have had a medical issue that forced me to fly back to France (broken ankle). The staff was friendly (except one of them). The area is super clean (bathroom, dorms & living room) which is something very convenient. Rooms are cheap,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Michael D, Manager at Northshore Hostel Maui, responded to this review

Dear Kevin We're sorry for your misfortune during your visit and thank you for pointing out to us how we might improve our customer service. We wish you a speedy recovery....aloha! More

Mexico City, Mexico
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
32 hotel reviews
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Friendly place, safe, clean. Rooms have air conditioning which is nice. It has 5 shared bathrooms which fill always and have to wait your turn every morning and night. It has a kitchen and and a tv louge which is the common tiny area. This is not the place to party or meet people. Only basic accomodation and nothing else.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Michael D, Manager at Northshore Hostel Maui, responded to this review

Dear Barelle Mahalo for your kind words and thank you for staying with us. We try to provide the best atmosphere for all of our guests and make everyone feel welcome. Alas, were we 'right on the beach' our rates wouldn't be the lowest on Maui! Aloha and happy trails.... More

Tampa, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

The hostel had great hosts, Jen and Scot were very friendly and helpful. The travelers are mostly young international people with the exception of us (old Americans). The hostel is very safe and centrally located. There is a camera system set up inside, so even "stolen" beer is detected...lol The sheets and towels are clean, breezy rooms, paddle fans, no... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michael D, Manager at Northshore Hostel Maui, responded to this review

Dear Linda, mahalo for staying with us, we're happy you enjoyed our hostel...aloha More

Honolulu, Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

This is an excellent hostel to stay for $29 a night. Clean and upbeat environment. Quiet hours are between 10pm and 7am so there is time to sleep. The only reason I am not giving it 5 stars is because it is still a hostel and not a 5 star hotel. I enjoyed the low key location which had a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michael D, Manager at Northshore Hostel Maui, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us Susan. We know there are many choices about a hotel and we're happy you chose ours! Aloha... More

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Hello, we really liked this plce so we cam spontaneously back. At both visits we had different private rooms. Both were really clean, also each of the 4 bathrooms. Staff is really helpful and relaxed....2 thumbs up! Had a great time there and no need to complain. Of course it's a hostel and not a hotel. Keep that in mind... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michael D, Manager at Northshore Hostel Maui, responded to this review

Mahalo Christoph for your visits and the kind words, we're happy you enjoyed your stay....aloha. More

Mainz
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014 via mobile

The northshore hostel is nice. Everything is clean. You can choose between 4 bathrooms. The hostel is not to big and the stuff is really nice. But the location is not good. You need a car. The beach is far away. There is nothing to do around the hostel. And if you decide to rent a car, book it at... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michael D, Manager at Northshore Hostel Maui, responded to this review

Dear Mainz, we're happy that you liked our hostel, thank you for your visit. We do our best to help our guests enjoy Maui. We offer a free beach shuttle every day. Also, the bus system is quite good as well. Aloha.... More

Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

This place is awesome. Their staff is super friendly and go out of their way to make sure you are having a great stay. Full of useful information about not only the area, but all of Maui. Excellent security (while not being over-bearing), comfortable and relativity spacious dorm rooms. Four private washrooms, you can use the printer for free, and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michael D, Manager at Northshore Hostel Maui, responded to this review

Mahalo Madelaine for your very kind words, we're really happy that you enjoyed your visit and appreciated our hard work...we hope to see you again someday.... a hui hoa! More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay here. It's cheap, staff are friendly, kitchen was clean and with a lot of utensils. It is not a party hostel like banana bungalow, coming from there it was nice and quiet with a good atmosphere and nice people!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michael D, Manager at Northshore Hostel Maui, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. We're happy that you appreciate our hostel....mahalo! More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Northshore Hostel Maui, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Northshore Hostel Maui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northshore Hostel Maui

Address: 2080 West Vineyard Street, Wailuku, Maui, HI 96793
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailuku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Northshore Hostel Maui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northshore Maui Hotel Wailuku
Northshore Hostel Maui Wailuku

61 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Other (13)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Wailuku with
any amenities

Amenities

Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Aloha and E Komo Mai! The Northshore Hostel Maui is an ideal location to explore our tropical paradise. Spend your entire holiday with us or just one night! Our rates are the lowest on Maui and we strive to offer impeccable customer service to guests of all ages. We are located in downtown Wailuku, in the foothills of the West Maui Mountains, only 5 miles (10K) from the airport. We offer free airport transfers for our guests. Our facility is clean, safe, secure and friendly. A hostel is a great way to meet new people and save your hard earned money! You will find it easy to relax and feel comfortable and enjoy your stay with us. We hope to see you soon. A hui hoa! ... more   less 
Number of rooms
16

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Northshore Hostel Maui staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer