We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Northshore Hostel Maui

2080 West Vineyard Street, Wailuku, Maui, HI 96793
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Northshore Hostel Maui
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Northshore Hostel Maui
Northshore Hostel Maui
Northshore Hostel Maui
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    102
    20
    8
    4
See reviews for
10
57
150
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (330)
  • Mar-May only
    (92)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (73)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (76)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (89)
All months
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

if you're looking for a budget friendly hostel - this is it; the beds are comfy, bathrooms are rarely occupied, and the common area always has someone to share stories with. the hostel attracts the sociable adventurous travelers, so it's pretty easy to find someone to explore maui with. the staff was always friendly and helpful and hopefully you'll get... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I was in Maui for a week and the first part of the week I split a condo with some friends in Lahaina. After they left I thought it would be easy to find an affordable hotel room, oh boy was I ever so wrong. After two nights in an completely overpriced room in Kiehi I moved to this hostel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Barrington, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

One of the nicest and cleanest hostels we have stayed in. We have a kid and felt very safe with all guests mindful of the quiet hours. Our room was clean and spacious with big enough closet. All bathrooms were clean and well maintained. Parking was easy and plenty available right across the street. They have a well stocked kitchen... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michael D, Manager at Northshore Hostel Maui, responded to this review

Dear Ramya, thank you very much. We're happy you enjoyed our hostel and your visit to Maui. The feeling is mutual...if you come back to Maui we would definitely like to host you! Mahalo and Aloha! More 

Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
35 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Really nice hostel with central location to explore the island. Supermarket and restaurants are close by. Big (free) parking area across the hostel. Clean, enough bathrooms and space in the kitchen and fridge, very nice staff which helps organising trips. Free breakfast with pancakes and coffee! Definetely recommended!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Michael D, Manager at Northshore Hostel Maui, responded to this review

Mahalo Nene, thanks for your visit and your great review. We work hard to provide our guests the best experience at the lowest rates in Maui...a hui hou and happy trails! More 

New Brunswick, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Clean rooms - very clean and spacious restrooms - quiet hours which are respected- - helpful staff - comfortable 'congenial' lounge - clean but small kitchen - comfortable balcony - what else can I say? - it's a hostel! - you can't ask for much more and the price is right!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Michael D, Manager at Northshore Hostel Maui, responded to this review

Mahalo Kdanac...we appreciate your continued patronage and your kind words and look forward to hosting you again soon....mahalo and aloha nui loa! More 

Cologne, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2014

This place has it all figured out: great facilities, rooms and kitchen, good location and a relaxed athmosphere. The staff is helpful and friendly and actually cares about you being there (which is rarely the case in many other places). You'll be provided with lots of information about the island and it's activities. Hands down one of the best hostels... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michael D, Manager at Northshore Hostel Maui, responded to this review

Mahalo Tom...we're very happy you enjoyed your visit. Thank you for recognizing that we really do care about our guests and try to be the best! Aloha! More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2014

Pros: 1. Friendly staff 2. Clean rooms/restrooms. 3. Safe place (they got cctvs for security). 4. Quite hours that are actually obeyed. 5. Ideal location to get around important destinations. (Good bus access etc.) 6. Air conditioned rooms. (Maui needs one even during winter). Cons: Not a party place. Definitely would recommend this place and will be my choice for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Michael D, Manager at Northshore Hostel Maui, responded to this review

Dear Ashwath, thank you for staying with us and your kind review. We really appreciate good guests and you were one of the best...we hope you enjoyed it here even though we aren't " a party place". Mahalo and aloha! More 

Helsinki, Finland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2014

I stayed for three nights in the end of November, and would not stay again. This is why: - They have cockroaches in the rooms and in the bathrooms, and don't take enough care of the problem. They said they would spray the room, but the cockroaches were still there. They basicly say "It's Hawaii". - I also needed to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
hawaii
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2014

Great place to stay when on a budget on Maui. Very organized and a great resource for all to do on Maui. Very clean and quiet with access to full kitchen. Coffee and pancakes are complimentary on a daily basis.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michael D, Manager at Northshore Hostel Maui, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind words...and thanks for your appreciation. It's great to have great guests...aloha! More 

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2014

Eh. I wouldn't stay again. But it's ok if you are comfortable with cockroaches. I'm not, so it was a challenge. I slept in my car one night because I couldn't quite handle the roaches in the room. Really nice clientele and really nice employees. Clean bathrooms.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Michael D, Manager at Northshore Hostel Maui, responded to this review

Dear Amanda, we're sorry to hear about your experience and that you chose to sleep in your car. Upon investigation of the room together, we were unable to see 'lots of cockroaches'. We spray our dorms regularly and ask guests to keep food and drinks in the kitchen. It is our intention to have a safe and clean facility and... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Northshore Hostel Maui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northshore Hostel Maui

Address: 2080 West Vineyard Street, Wailuku, Maui, HI 96793
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailuku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Northshore Hostel Maui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northshore Maui Hotel Wailuku
Northshore Hostel Maui Wailuku

68 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (38)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Other (13)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay