We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Blue Tile Beach House

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Hotel virtual tour
459 Hana Highway, Paia, Maui, HI 96779
Special Offer
10% off 5 nights or more
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blue Tile Beach House
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Blue Tile Beach House
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    26
    12
    13
    8
See reviews for
16
62
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (126)
  • Mar-May only
    (43)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (17)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (26)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (40)
All months
Fort Worth, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The B&B was located about 10 minutes from the airport right off Hana Highway and is directly on the beach. It was such an awesome experience for my family to share. We enjoyed mingling with the other guests at the facility getting to know them. David and his family were such great hosts and accommodated us by making us feel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The management here are shockingly bad- and David proved himself to be physically intimidating toward me. As you can see by past reviews he is never about and treats guests as a tiresome burden. I called about 30 times and emailed to get a confirmation after leaving credit card details with him (it was a friends card)- he refused to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
BluePaia, General Manager at Blue Tile Beach House, responded to this review

Thank you for the opportunity to explain how our B&B works. Please always have a form of payment when checking in if not already paid and have a conformation. We have had a three people now that try to check-in with no reservation or a credit card that does not work and or have no way of paying. We are... More 

Prescott Valley, Arizona
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I see this place getting mixed reviews. I'm one that experienced a David that wasn't around when we checked in at 4:00 even after both his wife and I tried calling. We helped ourselves to our room, which we were not pleased with (the waterfall room), waiting for David to arrive so we could possibly change rooms. At about 7:00... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
BluePaia, Manager at Blue Tile Beach House, responded to this review

Some things that need clarification on this review: You were greeted by Jency (David’s wife) almost immediately upon your arrival into the house. Although you were greeted with Aloha it was obvious that you were not in the spirit and both you and your husband appeared that way through your entire stay. You were advised that David wouldn’t be back... More 

Los Gatos, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2015

Stayed 3 nights and loved it. This is not the Sheraton - it's not fancy, there's no 5-star service. This is more like a shared house where you interact with both the owner and other guests. If you want guaranteed privacy, and to be waited on hand and foot in luxury, don't stay here! For us, the room and bathroom... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
California City, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2015

We stayed for 4 nights at the Blue Tile Inn at the beginning of March. It was the second, or middle part of our 15 night stay in Hawaii. The first stay was at the Hilton Hawaiian Village for 7 nights, Blue Tile Inn for four, and then the Marriott Waikiki for four nights. Our plan was to visit the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2015

Awesome bed and breakfast right on the ocean!! Balcony overlooking the beautiful property and the ocean. Separate but private bath. Full use of the house and kitchen; breakfast items included. Inn Keeper David arranged for private surf and paddle board lessons with Jedi from No Ka 'Oi Surf Lessons (nokaoisurflessons.com) 808-250-3495. Also awesome! Great snorkelling and lots of turtles to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Pocomoke City, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2015

We had a great stay in Maui at this property. We had the smallest room, but it was all we needed. The "Waterfall Room" has only one window, so no cross breezes. There is no A/C, but has a nice ceiling fan. There was some noise from the Hana Highway out front, but we were so exhausted, we were able... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Gormley
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2015

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, David and the turtles. David even had us over to the farm to see the garden and talapia pond. Cool stuff. Mama's Fish House is expensive but serves great food. The view there is second only to that of our room. The time here felt more like a visit to a friend's cottage. This is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2015 via mobile

Great common area shared bed and breakfast, perfect view, friendly host. Gave us great recommendations locally, don't stay here if you don't like to fall asleep hearing the ocean. We woke up to a rainbow and turtles everywhere, location is beach front.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2015

My wife, daughters(age 24 and 27), and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The location right on a beautiful sandy beach, 20 feet outside our bottom floor ocean front suite, with turtles and no condos in view was perfect for what we wanted. The house is kind of retro 70's but that added to the charm of the place. Large kitchen... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

94 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (77)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay