We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Royal Lahaina Resort

2780 Kekaa Drive, Kaanapali Beach, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Royal Lahaina Resort
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Royal Lahaina Resort
Write a Review

2,771 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,051
    998
    366
    202
    154
See reviews for
450
1,423
56
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (628)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (2771)
  • Mar-May only
    (743)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (727)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (662)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (639)
All months
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Our stay didn't start off with the best of experiences - we'd flown direct from Melbourne to Maui via Honolulu so arrived early afternoon. Warning to fellow Australian travellers - generally speaking check-in for hotels in Hawaii are strictly 3pm (some are 2pm) so plan your arrival carefully. We were given various times of when our cottage would be available... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this review

Aloha Sharon. Thank you for the 5-star review and positive feedback. Sorry about the delay at check-in, generally Maui hotels tend to run very high occupancies so that sometime limits our ability to provide early check-ins. Glad to read that you enjoyed your cottage room and that you were very pleased with the friendliness and service you experienced from our... More 

Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We had a brilliant time from start to finish - staff were wonderful, room was really lovely, location was great. We even got a complimentary photo shoot for our honeymoon! It was great how you could walk straight from the hotel out to the pool and beach, with the bar right there too! The restaurant was great as well -... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this review

Aloha Emma. Thank you for choosing to celebrate your honeymoon on Maui and at the Royal Lahaina. Very happy to know that you enjoyed the resort and would highly recommend us. We hope that we can welcome you back on a future visit to Maui. Mahalo. More 

Honolulu, Hawaii
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

So as a brief background, my wife and I had made this resort our destination for an anniversary trip in December 2014 and had a horrible experience. We reached out to management and wrote a review on this site. The manager contacted me and offered for us to do a return stay for 4 nights to amend what went wrong... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this review

Aloha Adam. Thank you very much for the follow up review. So glad that we were able to make amends on this second visit and better meet up with your expectations with one of our newly renovated cottage rooms. Mahalo. More 

Illinois
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This resort was AMAZING!!! The grounds are gorgeous and clean! The room was comfortable and view was amazing! Staff were ALL friendly and helpful. Loved the pineapple water at the entrance. The shops, restaurant, bars, and pools were so convenient. The best luau (I went twice)! Free wi-fi. Absolutely no complaints!! I was 100% satisfied!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this review

Aloha Vanessa. Thank you very much for the positive feedback on the resort, the service you received and the luau. So glad that you had an amazing time and we hope that we can welcome you back. Mahalo. More 

Georgia
Top Contributor
214 reviews 214 reviews
29 hotel reviews
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We went in to guest services to ask about things to do and it was like pulling teeth. We asked about the Luau and were provided prices. We made a reservation and paid. We were not provided times to arrive for best seats, only told we could pay a VIP price for front seats. When we asked about other events... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this review

Aloha. Thank you for the feedback. Very sorry to read that you were disappointed with the information provided by our Guest Services associates, as our staff generally receives high praise for their friendly service and assistance. With regard to the luau all seating is pre-assigned, and VIP seats can only be arranged in advance not by arrival time. I would... More 

Lahaina, Hawaii
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Old, dirty, noisy. Staff border on rude. Open your wallet and be prepared for a financial assault for trivial minutiae that is complimentary in the rest of the free world. Do your self a favour and book at the kanapali beach resort. We did after 4 terrible nightsand it saved our vacation. Royal Lahina is a solid zero out of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this review

Aloha Justan. I am sorry to learn that you were not pleased with your experience. The management and staff of the Royal Lahaina strive everyday to provide friendly service and assist our guests in making the most of their vacation. We will continue to monitor guest feedback and maintain our focus and efforts on enhanced guest satisfaction. Mahalo. More 

Gallatin, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I am a avid tripadvisor researcher, so since I use it so much... thought I would contribute. Amazing hotel, honestly cannot say we had a problem. Everything about here is amazing! The positives: Free beach towel rental Rooms cleaned daily Amazing beach Very friendly service Loved the live Hawaiian music every night Few people on the beach Umbrella rentals ($23)... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this review

Aloha Ryan. Thank you for the 5-star rating and for your review contribution. Glad that you found the resort to be excellent and were able to enjoy one of our oceanfront rooms (totally worth the upgrade). As you mention whale season is very special on Maui, with thousands of humpbacks frolicking very close to shore, a definite treat that everyone... More 

St. Clair
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This was my first trip to Maui and the Royal Lahaina Resort. I loved the island and the resort. We are hardcore tourists. We were up early and spend most of the day touring the island. We did not do a proper walk around the resort when we first got there, so each day we made a new discovery. If... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this review

Aloha. Thank you for the positive review. Great to read that you were pleased with the resort and your experience on Maui. As you mention, each evening at our oceanfront restaurant we have a complimentary torch-lighting ceremony performed by our luau dancers in addition to live music and traditional hula performed throughout the evening. We hope that you will plan... More 

Tucson
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I stayed 5 days at this property and were treated so well. Everyone was so friendly and helpful. We enjoyed the views and the food was excellent....We were told that their luau was the best and it certainly lived up to their reputation. Would recommend this resort to everyone. We also told our travel agent about our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this review

Aloha. Happy Anniversary. So glad that you were pleased with the resort and that we were able to assist you in celebrating this special occasion. Mahalo. More 

Wyoming
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Booked this resort for our spring break vacation to Maui March 30th thru April 4th. The four of us had requested adjoining rooms if possible, or at least rooms next to each other, and the resort put us in a cottage right next to each other which was very helpful. The cottage that we stayed in had not been updated,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this review

Aloha. Thank you very much for the positive review. Happy to hear that you were pleased with your cottage accommodations. Although we are currently in the midst of a renovation project for our cottages, bringing them to a 4-star accommodation similar to our renovated Tower rooms, most of the cottage rooms currently offer the moderate 3-star level accommodation that you... More 

Hotel Review Summarization

What travelers say

  • Breakfast buffet(23)
  • Very nice(20)
  • Black rock(18)
  • Whalers village(13)
  • Golf course(11)
  • Kaanapali beach(8)
  • Tower rooms(7)
  • Very friendly(6)
  • Very clean(4)
  • Hotel staff(4)
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

2,138 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1818)
Viewed
Bathroom (55)
Viewed
Dining (53)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (382)
Viewed
View from room (264)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (226)
Viewed
Room/suite (425)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (4)
Viewed
1:18
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (406)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (291)
Viewed
Amenities (32)
Viewed
Beach (26)
Viewed
Cottage Room (Pre-Renovations) (61)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (14)
Viewed
Oceanfront Room (9)
Viewed
One Bedroom Molokai Suite (13)
Viewed
Pool (23)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (46)
Viewed
The Hotel (67)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (9)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question