We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sands of Kahana

4299 Lower Honoapiilani Hwy, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Sands of Kahana
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

506 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    180
    202
    56
    34
    34
See reviews for
235
126
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (506)
  • Mar-May only
    (114)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (144)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (125)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (123)
All months
Vancouver
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Returned to the Sands of Kahana after a long absence and was somewhat disappointed at the changes, not for the good. This resort has become a bit worn and dated. Our individual condo was not up to others we have stayed at in recent years (Napili, Kaanapali). Hello owners, shag carpet is done. Rust on the showers, patched walls from... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
drenzi, Manager at Sands of Kahana, responded to this review

Thank you for your visit and feedback. We are disappointed you will not be returning and wish you a wonderful next visit to Maui wherever you should stay. More 

Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This review is strictly for Unit 255 at the Sands of Kahana. We rented this unit through Sullivan Properties and NOT through the Sands itself -- it's a condo that's being rented out as a vacation rental. We found out the unit was NEWLY renovated just a few months ago, and the kitchen and bathrooms are amazing! It's beautifully done,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Morgan Hill, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I's first trip to the islands and probably not our last. We came with my wifes family and stayed in a three bedroom unit. Plenty of rooms with a great view of the ocean, my only wish would have been some AC to make sleeping a little more confortable.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
drenzi, Manager at Sands of Kahana, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing Sands of Kahana. We are delighted we could help make your first trip to the Islands a memorable one. Mahalo! More 

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
298 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have owned here for 15 years coming every other year. We visited again in July. The front staff were welcoming and friendly as usual. Had a 2 bedroom oceanfront condo. Yes there is no air conditioning but its not unbearable. By 2am it's cooled down where you need a cover to sleep.If you need A/C so badly stay at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
drenzi, Manager at Sands of Kahana, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent visit. We truly value your ownership and are pleased you have been satisfied Sands of Kahana vacation club owners for so many years. It is truly gratifying to read your generous comments, and we hope to help you make wonderful vacation memories for many more years to come. Mahalo! More 

Chicago
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I am shocked that there are any - much less a high number - of positive reviews. At best, this is an average beachfront condo with no A/C and poorly laid out rooms. During the summer in heat 85 degrees, the upper units where we stayed are simply not humanly bearable. I suppose during the winter, this might be an... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Juneau, Alaska
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The size of the condo itself is huge. It does not have air conditioning but my family was never uncomfortable. The kitchen was enormous and the unit (362) was large enough for a family of six to never feel cramped. The pool was very nice and the service at the desk was great. My only two complaints were the beach,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
drenzi, Manager at Sands of Kahana, responded to this review

Thank you for visiting Sands of Kahana. We are pleased you found condo-style accommodations satisfying and comfortable. As you discovered, our spacious guest units with their plentiful amenities make us a great choice for large traveling parties. We are also happy our resort staff displayed plenty of Aloha spirit during your time with us. Thank you once again for choosing... More 

Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Located in a quite corner of the island. Although this place does not have AC do not let that turn you off. The building is designed to optimally allow airflow through the suites with the windows open and as someone who can't sleep when it is hot, I have never had a problem. The pool, hot tub, and of course... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
drenzi, Manager at Sands of Kahana, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are delighted to read your comments and appreciate your informed airflow explanation. It is great to know you've found our accommodations comfortable and satisfying, and we look forward to having the opportunity to serve you again soon. Mahalo! More 

Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We joined our friends at their timeshare and aside from no A/C the condo and trip were just fine. Until the last night when we booked a Luau through the front desk and had our unit broken into! We do not think it was a coincidence and neither do the police. The thief even left his maintenance-worker looking clothes and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
drenzi, Manager at Sands of Kahana, responded to this review

Please see our response to your traveling party’s companion review below. To that we would add your inference that a Sands of Kahana front desk agent committed a crime of opportunity while you were away is incorrect. The responsibility of booking activities for guests falls to the concierge, who is contracted through Expedia. Likewise your photographic evidence purporting to show... More 

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

If you're an owner at the resort, I suppose the location of our unit (Bldg #1) would have been different, and since we weren't, we were 'privy' to the street and its noise. We had a three bedroom corner unit which was spacious and nicely appointed although BEWARE...there is no A/C. The master BR has sliding doors to the patio... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
drenzi, Manager at Sands of Kahana, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We are disappointed we did not fully meet your expectations. We do our best to fulfill specific room requests, but do not guarantee their availability even to our vacation club owners. We are sorry your guest unit was not what you’d hoped for and hope you will accept our apology... More 

Bend, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our Condo was broken into and our stuff stolen. Our Children were so traumatized that they couldn't sleep in their room. The staff was terrible to deal with. The manager from the condo stated she couldn't do anything but pass the information on and that upper management would contact us. When I called after we got home I called the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
drenzi, Manager at Sands of Kahana, responded to this review

We are terribly disappointed to learn of your experience. Please accept our sincere apology for the loss of your belongings and trauma to your children. Theft is a rare occurrence at Sands of Kahana. In your particular case, there is a question as to whether the incident was a break in or the result of the guest unit door not... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

861 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (303)
Viewed
View from room (48)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (55)
Viewed
Room/suite (50)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (66)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
Other (66)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (552)
Viewed
Amenities (66)
Viewed
Beach (13)
Viewed
One Bedroom Apartment (81)
Viewed
Pool (16)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (29)
Viewed
The Hotel (104)
Viewed
Three Bedroom Apartment (122)
Viewed
Two Bedroom Apartment (121)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
0.1 mi away
Kahana Beach Resort
Kahana Beach Resort
#19 of 40 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 stars 238 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kahana Villa Resort
Kahana Villa Resort
#30 of 40 in Lahaina
3.5 of 5 stars 100 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hono Koa
Hono Koa
#27 of 40 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 stars 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Gardens at West Maui Hotel
19.8 mi away
Maui Beach Vacation Club
0.1 mi away
Royal Kahana
Royal Kahana
#21 of 40 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 stars 760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay