We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sands of Kahana

Hotel website
4299 Lower Honoapiilani Hwy, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Sands of Kahana
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

546 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Prince George, Canada
Level Contributor
114 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

We come to Maui every year, and the restaurant at the Sands of Kahana has always been a favourite place for a casual lunch. This time, however, it was a major disappointment. Under new management, it has gone down hill. The uncomfortable picnic type benches were whose brilliant idea??? If I want a picnic it isn't going to be in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Scotia-7
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

good for families, close to beach, good grounds including, good but expensive restaurant, nice barbecues, children's pool, and regular pool. Beach is steep with ok swimming and snorkeling. Nice exercise room.

Helpful?
Thank Matt G
Soleil M, Manager at Sands of Kahana, responded to this review

Aloha! Thank you for choosing Sands of Kahana. We are happy we were able to meet your requirements for a family-friendly resort just yards from a beautiful beach. We appreciate your kind remarks and hope you will consider us again. Mahalo! More 

Evanston IL
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Spend four nights here, mainly due to the fact that we had friends staying at Kahana Beach next door. The grounds are really nice, and well-kept. Every morning when I went out for my run I saw staff cleaning the grills in the common area. Our 1 bedroom condo was spacious, with an in-unit washer and dryer...which most rental condos... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Frank N
Soleil M, Manager at Sands of Kahana, responded to this review

Thank you for visiting Sands of Kahana. We are happy our resort grounds and spacious accommodations, as well as our attention to cleanliness, made a positive impression. It is also gratifying to hear that our concierge staff was helpful and willing to freely share their knowledge with you. Thanks again for choosing Sands of Kahana. We hope you will consider... More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Not a luxury destination, but great for families. Well equipped and roomy. Close to shops and restaurants and beaches. Could use some updating, but if you spend that much time inside you are missing out on the beautiful scenery and fun on the island.

Helpful?
1 Thank be212
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Have visited the Sands on and off over 15 years. The place is conveniently located to Lahaina and restaurants on property and across the street. The beach is steps out the door and the views are gorgeous. The family atmosphere makes you feel right at home upon arrival.

Helpful?
1 Thank CJ S
Soleil M, Manager at Sands of Kahana, responded to this review

Aloha! Thank you for returning to Sands of Kahana. We truly value your loyalty and are pleased we make you feel at home. Your kind words are much appreciated, and we look forward to seeing you again. Mahalo! More 

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Horrible hotel/resort, I booked through booking.com and the room is definitely not a 4 star resort. Booking.com has it listed as 8.2/10 but it is in really bad condition. My family arrived Christmas eve, pulled out the sofa bed and found a literally rotting bed. smelled and there was still food on the mattress. Heres what follows: 10pm - we... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Jenniferv1992
Soleil M, Manager at Sands of Kahana, responded to this review

We are terribly disappointed to read your review and extend our sincere apologies for the challenges you experienced. The issues you reference fall well below our expectations and are not indicative of the high standards we typically maintain. It goes without saying your first room should not have been released to you in such condition and obviously was neither thoroughly... More 

Auburn, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is on of our most favorite places in Maui, great service and very roomy accommodations, they are starting a complete update starting in April 2016 and when that is done I will give it 5 stars. The pools are great and they have a very large shallow children's pool. The large gas BBQs that are located throughout the beautiful... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Beverly W
Soleil M, Manager at Sands of Kahana, responded to this review

Aloha! Thank you so much for sharing your kind words. We are pleased we are one of your favorite places on Maui and are eager to hear your comments once we have completed our comprehensive room renovation. We think you'll be very impressed. Mahalo! More 

Albany, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Right on the oceanfront. Adult and kids pool. Hot tub. Watched the whales swim by from our lanai. Warm tropical breezes all day every day. If you go , you must take the "Road to Hana " tour. Really a MUST do. Great shopping and a gorgeous Banyan tree in the park in the center of the town of Lahaina.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank upstatenyerpg
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2016 via mobile

First let me say we are RCI members. We are here at the Sands of Kahana for a total of 4 weeks. The first week we were in room 223 a direct ocean front 2 bedroom. Now we are in a 3 bedroom 3 bath penthouse. To the RCI nay sayers it seems SOK is treating us as well as... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank donald s
Soleil M, Manager at Sands of Kahana, responded to this review

Aloha! Thank you for choosing Sands of Kahana. We are happy we could justify your exchange decision and delighted you have received a warm reception from our hotel staff. We'll be sure to pass along your compliments to Gremmy, our resort general manager. She will be delighted you singled her out for praise. Your informative review will certainly be a... More 

Orange County
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2016

We've owned a two bedroom timeshare at this property for 10 years now and it's my favorite vacation spot. Most timeshares in Maui are converted hotel rooms, but this property was build for permanent residents. The two bedroom unit is 1500 sq ft with two full baths, a full sized kitchen, washer/dryer, a huge living/dinning room and a balcony (lani).... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank David F
Soleil M, Manager at Sands of Kahana, responded to this review

Aloha! Thank you so much for sharing your generous comments. We truly value your ownership and are delighted we are your favorite vacation spot. It is great to know our condo-style accommodations meet your expectations for spacious comfort and convenient amenities, and we are pleased our resort staff is helpful and friendly. We hope you are having another wonderful stay... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

919 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (361)
Viewed
View from room (53)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (68)
Viewed
Room/suite (63)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (73)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
Other (84)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (552)
Viewed
Amenities (66)
Viewed
Beach (13)
Viewed
One Bedroom Apartment (81)
Viewed
Pool (16)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (29)
Viewed
The Hotel (104)
Viewed
Three Bedroom Apartment (122)
Viewed
Two Bedroom Apartment (121)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
1.8 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
1.5 mi away
Aston at Papakea Resort
Aston at Papakea Resort
#27 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 stars 902 reviews
1.6 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#19 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 stars 2,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
0.1 mi away
Kahana Beach Resort
Kahana Beach Resort
#18 of 41 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 stars 264 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kahana Villa Resort
Kahana Villa Resort
#29 of 41 in Lahaina
3.5 of 5 stars 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay