We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   3801 Lower Honoapiilani Road, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Hotel amenities
Hono Koa
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hono Koa to your Saves list
Ranked #28 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Lahaina
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014
Stony H Templeton, California, United States
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    16
    9
    5
    2
See reviews for
37
13
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (56)
  • Mar-May only
    (15)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (11)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (19)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (11)
All months
Templeton, California, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

My family and friends have been staying at the Hono Koa for the last 10 years and never once been disappointed. The rooms and grounds are always clean and beautiful !! Just off the pool is the entrance to the beach that has great diving for all skill levels. This is not a laying around beach as most of the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
drenzi, Manager at Hono Koa, responded to this review

Aloha, and many mahalos for your generous review! We are pleased you enjoyed our accommodations and delighted your friends and family have had so many wonderful experiences with us over the years. It is truly gratifying we were able to make such a favorable impression in so many areas, and we are so happy we could earn your highest rating.... More 

Perth, Western Australia
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
31 hotel reviews
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2014

Exchanged through Interval to stay here and was not disappointed. The unit was spotless the appliances new, and everything was supplied to make your stay as pleasant as possible. There was a full tub of washing powder and dishwashing powder, enough for the whole week and then some not just one wash. There was even enough tea and coffee provided... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
drenzi, Manager at Hono Koa, responded to this review

Aloha! Thank you for your visit and wonderful review. We are delighted we could justify your exchange decision and to know that you would stay with us again. Mahalo! More 

Wilmington, Ohio, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014

This was our first time to vacation Maui so we had no idea what we would find upon arriving. However from arriving after hours until checkout we were so pleased! I can't say enough about how wonderful this unit was! It was so clean, close to everything, stocked with everything we needed, and having a washer and dryer was such... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
drenzi, Manager at Hono Koa, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. We are thrilled to hear that you were pleased with your accommodations and had some great interactions with our staff. Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We hope to have you back soon! More 

San Diego, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We didn't know what to expect and it turned out to be a real gem. First, this is a destination for the seasoned, Hawaiian traveler - for those of us who've done the lei greeting, swim up bar and had orchids strewn across our pillows. Now we just want to appreciate island living. Yes, this complex is situated among the,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 10
drenzi, Manager at Hono Koa, responded to this review

Aloha! We are delighted you had the perfect Hawaiian experience at Hono Koa. We are happy you found our property well maintained and our accommodations spacious, and that you enjoyed our proximity to the beach. Watching the sea turtles circle the waters must have been amazing! We appreciate the tips you have shared, along with the feedback you have provided.... More 

Calgary, Alberta
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We booked this place through Interval International and saw some less than glowing reviews and while the photos looked good, you never know until you arrive directions were excellent and our Tom-Tom found the place no problem, but its not in Lahaina town, which fooled me at first, but the place was/is easy to find. I can understand if you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
drenzi, Manager at Hono Koa, responded to this review

Thank you for exchanging into Hono Koa. We are happy our resort was easy to find. We are glad you were pleased with our condo-style accommodations, and that you enjoyed the pool and hot tub. It sounds like you had a great time exploring the beach and the surrounding area. We appreciate your compliments regarding our staff and hope to... More 

Keystone Heights, Florida
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

I have owned my unit at the Hono Koa since 1989. The condo has about 30 units total on three floors and is older, but well kept. The units are large and comfortable for my family (three kids plus my wife and I). The staff is very helpful and the pool is never crowded. This is a very good choice... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
drenzi, Manager at Hono Koa, responded to this review

Aloha! Thank you for continuing to spend your valuable vacation time with us here at Hono Koa. We truly value your ownership. We also greatly appreciate your taking the time to provide feedback. We are happy you find our accommodations large and comfortable, and our staff very helpful. Your comments about the surrounding area will be helpful for those planning... More 

Vernon, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

We stayed at the Hono Koa for two weeks in April, 2014. The resort was older (as most are in this area) however our unit had been updated with granite countertops and nice appliances. The room was super clean, and the office staff were very friendly and accommodating. The grounds and pool were kept in excellent condition, thanks to a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
drenzi, Manager at Hono Koa, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at Hono Koa Resort. We are happy you were impressed with our newly renovated accommodations, and that our staff was friendly and helpful. We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you soon! More 

Highland, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

My family absolutely loved this resort! Its not a huge fancy hotel but it has everything you need. The condo had updated granite tops and appliances and was very large inside. The pool is right outside your back door. Almost everything you need is supplied, from coffee (which was delicious) to soap, dishes, utensils etc. We saved a lot of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
drenzi, Manager at Hono Koa, responded to this review

We are thrilled your family loved Hono Koa. We are happy you had everything you needed during your stay, and that our location and condo-style accommodations were a convenience. We hope you will consider returning soon! More 

Seattle, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

nice place, great location. only complaint was the landscaping crew that would run the leafblower for what seemed like hours in the middle of the day. we have a 2 year old who desperately needs naps in the middle of the day and we like to nap ourselves while on vacation. well not a chance with the guy running the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
drenzi, Manager at Hono Koa, responded to this review

Please accept our apology for the disturbance. We know how important it is for the little ones to get their afternoon nap. We schedule this particular landscaping task for midday ironically because it would interrupt the sleep of too many people in the morning. Brooms unfortunately are not a viable option. Once again, we apologize for the disturbance. More 

Raleigh, NC
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Loved our stay in this resort. We have two kids-11 and 7. They both enjoyed swimming in the pool and the ocean front location. We enjoyed viewing whales from the balcony! The resort is well stocked with everything you need to enjoy your vacation. it is close to everything - Lahiana, Kapalua, Kaanapali, supermarket. JHM airport and car rentals! Highly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
drenzi, Manager at Hono Koa, responded to this review

We are thrilled you loved your stay at Hono Koa. We are happy you and your family enjoyed our pool area and ocean front location. Watching the whales right from your balcony sounds like an amazing experience. We love knowing our guests have everything they need while staying with us. We hope you will consider returning soon! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Hono Koa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hono Koa

Address: 3801 Lower Honoapiilani Road, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hono Koa 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hono Koa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hono Koa Hotel Lahaina
Hono Koa Maui/Lahaina

46 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (42)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
View from room (9)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay