We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hono Koa

3.0 of 5
3801 Lower Honoapiilani Road, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Hotel amenities
Hono Koa
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ranked #25 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Lahaina
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
Carolyn F
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    17
    10
    5
    2
See reviews for
41
14
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (61)
  • Mar-May only
    (18)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (11)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (19)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (13)
All months
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Nice view from 4th floor balcony. Very noisy with pool and spa underneath. Kids and late night talking. Two bedroom units are big....unit not particularly clean, old and worn. Good size kitchen and all utensils. Good size lanai. There is a washer/dryer which is great. Housekeeping is a joke. They never cleaned anything but the coffee pot... not the counters,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
drenzi, Manager at Hono Koa, responded to this review

Thank you for visiting Hona Koa and taking the time to share a few comments. We are pleased our spacious two-bedroom guest unit made a favorable impression. As you discovered, it comes with numerous convenient amenties that make your stay that much nicer. All of our suites have received numerous upgrades in the past two years, including new stainless steel... More 

Victoria, Canada
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We also arrived late at night but were given instructions to access the key to our 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom condo. It was clean and fully equipped! Travelling with a baby, it was great to have so much space and 2 full bathrooms with a large lanai to sit and watch the humpback whales just off the shore. The kitchen... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
drenzi, Manager at Hono Koa, responded to this review

Aloha! Thank you so much for your visit and generous comments. We are delighted our spacious accommodations had everything you needed for a satisfying stay. We appreciate your highest rating and are happy you got all the inside Maui info from our helpful concierge. Thank you once again for staying at Hono Koa. We hope you will consider us on... More 

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2015 via mobile

We arrived at the resort close to midnight after coming from the airport and stopping at the 24 hour Safeway Supermarket to get our necessities for next day. We really couldn't see the surroundings once inside the condo but we could hear the loud roar of the ocean. The next morning was like being transported to paradise overnight. The unit... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
drenzi, Manager at Hono Koa, responded to this review

Aloha, and thank you for visiting Hono Koa! We are delighted you had a satisfying visit and truly appreciate your highest rating. It is so gratifying to know you would stay with us again, and we look forward to serving you on your next visit to Maui. Mahalo! More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2015

I would recommend this property to anyone who is not high maintenance and doesn't need all the bells and whistles. The property is clean, it has a great view of the ocean, it has all the necessities you would need to live for a week or more. They provide laundry soap, dish soap, and dishwasher soap, which not all properties... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
drenzi, Manager at Hono Koa, responded to this review

Aloha! Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and truly appreciate your recommendation. We are so pleased we made a favorable impression for our cleanliness, amenities and wonderful ocean view. It is highly gratifying that we could earn your highest rating. We are thrilled you would plan a return visit and look... More 

1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2014

With mixed reviews, I decided to book this condo and see for myself. I am really glad I did. It was large updated and very convenient to locations. I especially appreciated the supplies in the kitchen, there were 12 sets. The staff were helpful, I would definitely go back. Great time.

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
drenzi, Manager at Hono Koa, responded to this review

Aloha, and thank you for your visit. We are happy we were able to exceed your expectations and provide you with comfortable, convenient accommodations. We pride ourselves on delivering plenty of Aloha spirit, so it is especially gratifying that our resort staff made a positive impression. We are delighted you would visit us again and hope to see you sometime... More 

Templeton, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

My family and friends have been staying at the Hono Koa for the last 10 years and never once been disappointed. The rooms and grounds are always clean and beautiful !! Just off the pool is the entrance to the beach that has great diving for all skill levels. This is not a laying around beach as most of the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
drenzi, Manager at Hono Koa, responded to this review

Aloha, and many mahalos for your generous review! We are pleased you enjoyed our accommodations and delighted your friends and family have had so many wonderful experiences with us over the years. It is truly gratifying we were able to make such a favorable impression in so many areas, and we are so happy we could earn your highest rating.... More 

Perth, Western Australia
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
31 hotel reviews
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2014

Exchanged through Interval to stay here and was not disappointed. The unit was spotless the appliances new, and everything was supplied to make your stay as pleasant as possible. There was a full tub of washing powder and dishwashing powder, enough for the whole week and then some not just one wash. There was even enough tea and coffee provided... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
drenzi, Manager at Hono Koa, responded to this review

Aloha! Thank you for your visit and wonderful review. We are delighted we could justify your exchange decision and to know that you would stay with us again. Mahalo! More 

Wilmington, Ohio, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014

This was our first time to vacation Maui so we had no idea what we would find upon arriving. However from arriving after hours until checkout we were so pleased! I can't say enough about how wonderful this unit was! It was so clean, close to everything, stocked with everything we needed, and having a washer and dryer was such... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
drenzi, Manager at Hono Koa, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. We are thrilled to hear that you were pleased with your accommodations and had some great interactions with our staff. Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We hope to have you back soon! More 

San Diego, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We didn't know what to expect and it turned out to be a real gem. First, this is a destination for the seasoned, Hawaiian traveler - for those of us who've done the lei greeting, swim up bar and had orchids strewn across our pillows. Now we just want to appreciate island living. Yes, this complex is situated among the,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 12
drenzi, Manager at Hono Koa, responded to this review

Aloha! We are delighted you had the perfect Hawaiian experience at Hono Koa. We are happy you found our property well maintained and our accommodations spacious, and that you enjoyed our proximity to the beach. Watching the sea turtles circle the waters must have been amazing! We appreciate the tips you have shared, along with the feedback you have provided.... More 

Calgary, Alberta
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We booked this place through Interval International and saw some less than glowing reviews and while the photos looked good, you never know until you arrive directions were excellent and our Tom-Tom found the place no problem, but its not in Lahaina town, which fooled me at first, but the place was/is easy to find. I can understand if you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
drenzi, Manager at Hono Koa, responded to this review

Thank you for exchanging into Hono Koa. We are happy our resort was easy to find. We are glad you were pleased with our condo-style accommodations, and that you enjoyed the pool and hot tub. It sounds like you had a great time exploring the beach and the surrounding area. We appreciate your compliments regarding our staff and hope to... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

50 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (45)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
View from room (9)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question