We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kahana Villa Resort

4242 Lower Honoapiilani Highway, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kahana Villa Resort
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Kahana Villa Resort
Kahana Villa Resort
Kahana Villa Resort
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    39
    20
    6
    10
See reviews for
32
39
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (92)
  • Mar-May only
    (18)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (29)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (21)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (24)
All months
Gilbert, Arizona
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed here for a week with my family (husband, 5 year old, and 20 month old) and we have nothing but good things to say! This place was clean, spacious, updated and had everything we needed from washer and dryer to Ice cream scoop to a broom so that we could sweep the sand asap instead of having to wait... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
drenzi, Manager at Kahana Villa Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your visit and wonderful review. We are delighted we could provide you, your husband and little one with accommodations that met all your requirements. We truly appreciate your recommendation and highest rating and hope you will consider us again when you’re planning your next visit to Maui. Mahalo! More 

McLeansville, North Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was our second time staying here (first time was 15 years ago!). We did a timeshare exchange which seems to be popular among many of the guests. Ours was a one bedroom unit and we were very satisfied. It is not a five star resort but is very comfortable and met our needs nicely. Well equipped kitchen and bathroom... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
drenzi, Manager at Kahana Villa Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for returning to Kahana Villa after all these years. We hope we were everything you remembered and more! It is great to know we met your expectations for attentive service, value and location. We are also happy you would consider another visit, and we hope to have the opportunity to serve you again sometime soon – certainly sooner... More 

Canton
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2015

Just returned from two weeks at this resort with my husband. While I don't have anything awful to say about this resort, I don't have anything terribly exciting to say about it either. It may be partly due to the fact we seemed to have been there during repair season. The pool was closed for a 4-6 week repair project.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
drenzi, Manager at Kahana Villa Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your visit and feedback. We wish we had made a more favorable impression. Please accept our sincere apology for the renovation- and noise-related issues that interfered with your enjoyment. We are pleased our front desk staff displayed plenty of Aloha spirit, however, and wish you a wonderful next visit to Maui wherever you should stay. More 

Roseville, California
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2015

I will confirm based on previous comments this place is not a resort, but a hotel and that its not even in the top 3 star evaluation categories. I also confirmed that you need to be several rooms away from the highway above as you can clearly hear the traffic at night. I realized opinions can vary as everyone has... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
drenzi, Manager at Kahana Villa Resort, responded to this review

We regret we did not meet your expectations and are sorry you feel that you did not receive an equal exchange. Please accept our sincere apology for the condition of the carpet in your guest unit. We appreciate your pointing it out so we can address the issue, but are disappointed it fell far below our standards for cleanliness upon... More 

Travelers are raving about these Lahaina hotels

Nanaimo, BC
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
30 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2015

Stayed here two week in two different units - 405E and 210D. First week in 405E - renovated, clean, nice, tons of room. Updown - stairs setup. No bath down, beds up. No view other than garden style. private. Noisy in back bdrm due to hwy fairly close by. Kitchen was very new with SS appliances....granite counters. we did a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
drenzi, Manager at Kahana Villa Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for visiting Kahana Villa. We appreciate your informative review and are pleased we met your expectations for value, location and especially helpful customer service. It was our pleasure to serve you, and we hope you will consider us again on your next visit to Maui. Mahalo! More 

Bellingham, Washington
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2015

I stayed here with my fiancee and her family on a recent trip to Maui. We were given a suite on the 6th floor near the lobby which featured a great view and everything we needed for our week-long stay. Overall, the "resort" and accommodations are pretty basic. The room was spacious and many aspects had clearly been recently renovated... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
drenzi, Manager at Kahana Villa Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are pleased you enjoyed the great view and that your guest unit contained everything you needed for a satisfying stay. We also appreciate your complimentary remarks as well as your suggestions on ways we can improve. Thank you for staying at Kahana Villa. We hope you will consider us... More 

Buffalo, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2015

Kahana Villa Resort was in a great location and convenient to several popular areas like Lahaina Old Town, popular beaches (Napili, Kapalua and Ka'anapali to name a few) and Times supermarket to stock the fridge. We arrived late (midnight) and had to use the phone to get access to the "key box" for our room keys. A full check in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
drenzi, Manager at Kahana Villa Resort, responded to this review

Aloha! Thank you so much for your complimentary and informative review. We are delighted we could provide you with satisfying accommodations and a convenient location to all the wonderful beaches in the area. It is great to know you would consider another visit with us – we only wish it were sooner. Mahalo! More 

Minneapolis
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2015

We stayed at the location for 1 week. We were very pleased with the Kahana Villas. The room suite they placed us in had been updated and looked very nice. The bathroom could be updated as well but being in the hospitality industry I understand the budget restraints on updating rooms. What had been updating the kitchen, living area, and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
drenzi, Manager at Kahana Villa Resort, responded to this review

Aloha! We are delighted you found our renovated accommodations to your liking and that we could earn your highest rating. As you discovered, our spacious guest units are ideal for an extended stay and come with numerous convenient amenities. We truly appreciate your thoughtful comments and are pleased you would consider a future visit with us. Mahalo! More 

Richland, Washington
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2015

We had unit E606 which was very nice and recently renovated with a distant ocean view. The major problem was road noise from Honopiilani Highway and the barking of 2 dogs that were possibly at the resort or in the adjacent neighborhood. The resort itself was well maintained.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
drenzi, Manager at Kahana Villa Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for visiting Kahana Villa. We are happy our resort and newly-renovated guest units made a favorable impression. Please accept our apology if the noise from the highway and the dogs, which are not permitted on property, interferred with your complete enjoyment. Thank you once again for staying with us. We hope you will consider us on your next... More 

Boston
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
19 hotel reviews
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2015

I arrived at the Kahana Villa resort, which I got on exchange through II and to be honest I wasn't sure what to expect since the reviews went either way, and I have to say I was pleasantly surprised! The unit was newly renovated and was really nice and spacious. We were in unit E303. Check in was a little... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
drenzi, Manager at Kahana Villa Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at Kahana Villa. We are delighted we exceeded your expectations and could provide you with satisfying, comfortable accommodations. It is highly gratifying to know you would stay with us again, and we look forward to serving you on your next visit to Maui. Mahalo! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

44 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (34)
Viewed
View from room (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay