We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Gardens at West Maui Hotel

5500 Lower Honoapiilani Highway, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Hotel amenities
The Gardens at West Maui Hotel
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ranked #34 of 40 Specialty Lodging in Lahaina
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
808_Ross_B Waianae, Hawaii
Add Photo Write a Review

55 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    9
    25
    9
    9
    3
See reviews for
15
28
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (55)
  • Mar-May only
    (15)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (10)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (17)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (13)
All months
Waianae, Hawaii
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I've read many reviews of the noisy chicken but I haven't had that problem. Our room was on the second floor in the back of the property. Neighbors were noisy but I couldn't hear the chickens. We had a 1 bedroom 2 bath apartment. It was perfect for the four of us. The bed and the sofa bed had memory... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sonoma, CA
Level Contributor
131 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The room itself was fine. Just fine. It was nice to have a full kitchen and a washer & dryer. The place looked like apartments. We were upstairs and there is no elevator. It's not that we can't handle a flight of stairs but "moving" in and out was a hassle. Beach across the street was great! My issue...the roosters!!!... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
drenzi, Manager at The Gardens at West Maui Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for visiting The Gardens at West Maui. We appreciate your feedback and regret our fowl neighbors diminished your enjoyment. The existence of nearby roosters has been well-documented on TripAdvisor and by now should come as no surprise. If it were up to us our neighbor would keep koi fish. Unfortunately he is within his rights to herd the... More 

Travelers are raving about these Lahaina hotels

So. Ca.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I enjoyed my stay at the Gardens because it was nice and easy. I checked in after hours (on a Sunday that means after 5 p.m.) and just used the red phone by the office to get my keys. That was very convenient. The envelope my room keys were in were just taped up. I would recommend something that would... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
drenzi, Manager at The Gardens at West Maui Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your visit and helpful suggestions. We are pleased we could provide you with satisfying accommodations and hope to have the opportunity to serve you again. More 

NORTHRIDGE, CALIFORNIA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2015

We found this hotel purely by accident. It is really located in Napili. Beach is across the street. Many trails to keep you active. There are roosters next door that make noise, but we did not mind them at all. Market is down the street. Front desk staff is very friendly. Anything that you need...just ask! Their sister hotel is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
drenzi, Manager at The Gardens at West Maui Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for visiting The Gardens at West Maui even if your discovery was purely unintentional. It is great to know we made a favorable impression, and we are delighted you would stay with us again. Mahalo! More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2015 via mobile

I am currently here at this place right now staying and I needed to review asap. First lets go with the positives- -Close to two really nice beaches, about a 7 minute walk. -Free wifi -it is a place with a TV and couch and table and kitchen so there that! I'm struggling for more... My issues- -there is no... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
drenzi, Manager at The Gardens at West Maui Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your visit and feedback. We are disappointed we did not meet your expectations. Please accept our apology for the disturbance caused by our fowl neighbors. It is not illegal for the property bordering ours to keep roosters, and the issue, well-documented on TripAdvisor, is unfortunately beyond our control. We are also sorry your children were unable to... More 

San Diego
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2015

What we loved: - Great location - easy access to our favorite family friendly beaches, Napili and Kapalua - Great price through our Vacation Plan (aka timeshare) - Full kitchen and appliances - Free Wi-fi, A/C, Washer and Dryer - Beach chairs, sand toys, boogie board available to borrow (if you get there early) - Free and ample parking What... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
drenzi, Manager at The Gardens at West Maui Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We appreciate your informative review and are happy you found more to love! As you mentioned, our location is convenient to beautiful beaches and our spacious guest units come with numerous convenient amenities, making us an ideal choice for an extended stay. We are sorry our mattresses did not pass... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2015 via mobile

Great place to stay, the rooms were spacious, we had space for our baby pack and play for our 6 month old baby. We liked that kitchen had everything we needed. Great location and short walking distance from the beach. Will return again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
drenzi, Manager at The Gardens at West Maui Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha! We are delighted we could provide you and your family with satisfying accommodations. We truly appreciate your highest rating and are happy you would stay with us again. Mahalo! More 

Port Perry, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2015

It was a pleasant surprise compared to other places on the islands. No grounds to speak of. Just a clean comfortable place to stay with a pool and hot tub.. kitchen is fully equipped. Spacious livingroom.. has a studio, so bed lifted into the wall. Nice beach across the road with snorkelling and excellent boogie boarding. This isnt the only... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
drenzi, Manager at The Gardens at West Maui Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha! We are pleased that we exceeded your expectations and that we could provide you with satisfying accommodations. As a timeshare resort, we do not follow the daily housekeeping model of traditional hotels. Instead, we offer a free midweek cleaning to visitors staying seven days or more. Daily housekeeping is available for a nominal fee. The resort fee covers the... More 

Pendleton, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2015

Beware of the added daily $11.34 'resort fee' - god forbid that the total daily charge would be posted when you book the trip. It also implies this is a 'resort' which it is not. The grounds are a parking lot & a small area of vegetation by the pool...it's more a motel setting. The chickens next door are a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
drenzi, Manager at The Gardens at West Maui Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your visit and feedback. We regret we did not meet your expectations and wish you a wonderful next visit to Maui wherever you should stay. More 

Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2015

Just spent 11 nights at this hotel. Had read about the roosters and after the first night requested a plug in fan for the bedroom. The white noise plus ear plugs = peaceful sleep. Simple solution. No need to lie awake and then complain . The roosters are what they are so be proactive. The location across from 2 of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
drenzi, Manager at The Gardens at West Maui Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha, and thank you for your visit. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and that we met your expectations for value, location and customer service. We are also pleased you found our accommodations clean and satisfying. Our spacious guest units are the ideal choice for an extended stay and come with numerous convenient amenities that make your visit that... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

13 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (13)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
5.4 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#20 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 stars 2,872 reviews
0.3 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 31 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 stars 175 reviews
2.1 mi away
Kahana Beach Resort
Kahana Beach Resort
#21 of 40 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 stars 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Kahana Villa Resort
Kahana Villa Resort
#30 of 40 in Lahaina
3.5 of 5 stars 97 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sands of Kahana
Sands of Kahana
#24 of 40 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 stars 495 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hono Koa
Hono Koa
#27 of 40 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 stars 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay