We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Gardens at West Maui Hotel

5500 Lower Honoapiilani Highway, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
The Gardens at West Maui Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

56 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    9
    26
    9
    9
    3
See reviews for
15
29
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (56)
  • Mar-May only
    (15)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (11)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (17)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (13)
All months
Langley, British Columbia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We spent a week at the Gardens from August 6-13, 2015. Overall, our experience was a positive one. The room, a studio, was clean and we felt safe. The location was great -- less than a three minute walk to Napili beach but beware it's not close enough to anywhere (including Lahaina) to walk. We had a rental car and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Waianae, Hawaii
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I've read many reviews of the noisy chicken but I haven't had that problem. Our room was on the second floor in the back of the property. Neighbors were noisy but I couldn't hear the chickens. We had a 1 bedroom 2 bath apartment. It was perfect for the four of us. The bed and the sofa bed had memory... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
drenzi, Manager at The Gardens at West Maui Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for visiting the Gardens at West Maui. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and are delighted the roosters did not diminish your enjoyment. We are also happy we could provide you with clean and comfortable accommodations and that our resort staff displayed plenty of Aloha spirit. It is gratifying to know you would plan a return visit,... More 

Sonoma, CA
Level Contributor
141 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2015

The room itself was fine. Just fine. It was nice to have a full kitchen and a washer & dryer. The place looked like apartments. We were upstairs and there is no elevator. It's not that we can't handle a flight of stairs but "moving" in and out was a hassle. Beach across the street was great! My issue...the roosters!!!... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
drenzi, Manager at The Gardens at West Maui Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for visiting The Gardens at West Maui. We appreciate your feedback and regret our fowl neighbors diminished your enjoyment. The existence of nearby roosters has been well-documented on TripAdvisor and by now should come as no surprise. If it were up to us our neighbor would keep koi fish. Unfortunately he is within his rights to herd the... More 

Travelers are raving about these Lahaina hotels

So. Ca.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2015

I enjoyed my stay at the Gardens because it was nice and easy. I checked in after hours (on a Sunday that means after 5 p.m.) and just used the red phone by the office to get my keys. That was very convenient. The envelope my room keys were in were just taped up. I would recommend something that would... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
drenzi, Manager at The Gardens at West Maui Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your visit and helpful suggestions. We are pleased we could provide you with satisfying accommodations and hope to have the opportunity to serve you again. More 

NORTHRIDGE, CALIFORNIA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2015

We found this hotel purely by accident. It is really located in Napili. Beach is across the street. Many trails to keep you active. There are roosters next door that make noise, but we did not mind them at all. Market is down the street. Front desk staff is very friendly. Anything that you need...just ask! Their sister hotel is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
drenzi, Manager at The Gardens at West Maui Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for visiting The Gardens at West Maui even if your discovery was purely unintentional. It is great to know we made a favorable impression, and we are delighted you would stay with us again. Mahalo! More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2015 via mobile

I am currently here at this place right now staying and I needed to review asap. First lets go with the positives- -Close to two really nice beaches, about a 7 minute walk. -Free wifi -it is a place with a TV and couch and table and kitchen so there that! I'm struggling for more... My issues- -there is no... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
drenzi, Manager at The Gardens at West Maui Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your visit and feedback. We are disappointed we did not meet your expectations. Please accept our apology for the disturbance caused by our fowl neighbors. It is not illegal for the property bordering ours to keep roosters, and the issue, well-documented on TripAdvisor, is unfortunately beyond our control. We are also sorry your children were unable to... More 

San Diego
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2015

What we loved: - Great location - easy access to our favorite family friendly beaches, Napili and Kapalua - Great price through our Vacation Plan (aka timeshare) - Full kitchen and appliances - Free Wi-fi, A/C, Washer and Dryer - Beach chairs, sand toys, boogie board available to borrow (if you get there early) - Free and ample parking What... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
drenzi, Manager at The Gardens at West Maui Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We appreciate your informative review and are happy you found more to love! As you mentioned, our location is convenient to beautiful beaches and our spacious guest units come with numerous convenient amenities, making us an ideal choice for an extended stay. We are sorry our mattresses did not pass... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2015 via mobile

Great place to stay, the rooms were spacious, we had space for our baby pack and play for our 6 month old baby. We liked that kitchen had everything we needed. Great location and short walking distance from the beach. Will return again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
drenzi, Manager at The Gardens at West Maui Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha! We are delighted we could provide you and your family with satisfying accommodations. We truly appreciate your highest rating and are happy you would stay with us again. Mahalo! More 

Port Perry, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2015

It was a pleasant surprise compared to other places on the islands. No grounds to speak of. Just a clean comfortable place to stay with a pool and hot tub.. kitchen is fully equipped. Spacious livingroom.. has a studio, so bed lifted into the wall. Nice beach across the road with snorkelling and excellent boogie boarding. This isnt the only... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
drenzi, Manager at The Gardens at West Maui Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha! We are pleased that we exceeded your expectations and that we could provide you with satisfying accommodations. As a timeshare resort, we do not follow the daily housekeeping model of traditional hotels. Instead, we offer a free midweek cleaning to visitors staying seven days or more. Daily housekeeping is available for a nominal fee. The resort fee covers the... More 

Pendleton, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2015

Beware of the added daily $11.34 'resort fee' - god forbid that the total daily charge would be posted when you book the trip. It also implies this is a 'resort' which it is not. The grounds are a parking lot & a small area of vegetation by the pool...it's more a motel setting. The chickens next door are a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
drenzi, Manager at The Gardens at West Maui Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your visit and feedback. We regret we did not meet your expectations and wish you a wonderful next visit to Maui wherever you should stay. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

13 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (13)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
0.3 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 31 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 stars 186 reviews
5.4 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#19 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 stars 2,938 reviews
0.3 mi away
Napili Shores
Napili Shores
#21 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 stars 533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Kahana Beach Resort
Kahana Beach Resort
#19 of 40 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 stars 238 reviews
2.2 mi away
Kahana Villa Resort
Kahana Villa Resort
#30 of 40 in Lahaina
3.5 of 5 stars 100 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sands of Kahana
Sands of Kahana
#25 of 40 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 stars 505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay