We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Gardens at West Maui Hotel

5500 Lower Honoapiilani Highway, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Hotel amenities
The Gardens at West Maui Hotel
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ranked #35 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Lahaina
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
Err0neous NORTHRIDGE, CALIFORNIA
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    24
    8
    9
    2
See reviews for
13
28
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (52)
  • Mar-May only
    (15)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (7)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (17)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (13)
All months
NORTHRIDGE, CALIFORNIA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We found this hotel purely by accident. It is really located in Napili. Beach is across the street. Many trails to keep you active. There are roosters next door that make noise, but we did not mind them at all. Market is down the street. Front desk staff is very friendly. Anything that you need...just ask! Their sister hotel is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I am currently here at this place right now staying and I needed to review asap. First lets go with the positives- -Close to two really nice beaches, about a 7 minute walk. -Free wifi -it is a place with a TV and couch and table and kitchen so there that! I'm struggling for more... My issues- -there is no... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
drenzi, Manager at The Gardens at West Maui Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your visit and feedback. We are disappointed we did not meet your expectations. Please accept our apology for the disturbance caused by our fowl neighbors. It is not illegal for the property bordering ours to keep roosters, and the issue, well-documented on TripAdvisor, is unfortunately beyond our control. We are also sorry your children were unable to... More 

Travelers are raving about these Lahaina hotels

San Diego
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2015

What we loved: - Great location - easy access to our favorite family friendly beaches, Napili and Kapalua - Great price through our Vacation Plan (aka timeshare) - Full kitchen and appliances - Free Wi-fi, A/C, Washer and Dryer - Beach chairs, sand toys, boogie board available to borrow (if you get there early) - Free and ample parking What... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
drenzi, Manager at The Gardens at West Maui Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We appreciate your informative review and are happy you found more to love! As you mentioned, our location is convenient to beautiful beaches and our spacious guest units come with numerous convenient amenities, making us an ideal choice for an extended stay. We are sorry our mattresses did not pass... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2015 via mobile

Great place to stay, the rooms were spacious, we had space for our baby pack and play for our 6 month old baby. We liked that kitchen had everything we needed. Great location and short walking distance from the beach. Will return again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
drenzi, Manager at The Gardens at West Maui Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha! We are delighted we could provide you and your family with satisfying accommodations. We truly appreciate your highest rating and are happy you would stay with us again. Mahalo! More 

Port Perry, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2015

It was a pleasant surprise compared to other places on the islands. No grounds to speak of. Just a clean comfortable place to stay with a pool and hot tub.. kitchen is fully equipped. Spacious livingroom.. has a studio, so bed lifted into the wall. Nice beach across the road with snorkelling and excellent boogie boarding. This isnt the only... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
drenzi, Manager at The Gardens at West Maui Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha! We are pleased that we exceeded your expectations and that we could provide you with satisfying accommodations. As a timeshare resort, we do not follow the daily housekeeping model of traditional hotels. Instead, we offer a free midweek cleaning to visitors staying seven days or more. Daily housekeeping is available for a nominal fee. The resort fee covers the... More 

Pendleton, Oregon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2015

Beware of the added daily $11.34 'resort fee' - god forbid that the total daily charge would be posted when you book the trip. It also implies this is a 'resort' which it is not. The grounds are a parking lot & a small area of vegetation by the pool...it's more a motel setting. The chickens next door are a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
drenzi, Manager at The Gardens at West Maui Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your visit and feedback. We regret we did not meet your expectations and wish you a wonderful next visit to Maui wherever you should stay. More 

Victoria, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2015

Just spent 11 nights at this hotel. Had read about the roosters and after the first night requested a plug in fan for the bedroom. The white noise plus ear plugs = peaceful sleep. Simple solution. No need to lie awake and then complain . The roosters are what they are so be proactive. The location across from 2 of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
drenzi, Manager at The Gardens at West Maui Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha, and thank you for your visit. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and that we met your expectations for value, location and customer service. We are also pleased you found our accommodations clean and satisfying. Our spacious guest units are the ideal choice for an extended stay and come with numerous convenient amenities that make your visit that... More 

Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2015

We wanted to spend more time on Maui and moved here after 7 nights at Kahana Villas. We had come from a two level two bedroom two bath spacious condo at Kahana Villas to spend 4 nights at the Gardens of West Maui. -thank goodness we have a sense of humour since as soon as we parked the car and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
drenzi, Manager at The Gardens at West Maui Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for visiting The Gardens at West Maui and taking the time to share your experience. We certainly wish the roosters came with a volume control we could lower whenever they acted up. Unlike the birds, cleanliness is something that falls within our direct control, and we are disappointed to read about the housekeeping issues that are certainly well... More 

Williamsburg, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2015

The resort has a great location and is clean, well equipped, and the staff were helpful. However it is the noisiest resort we've ever experienced. The neighboring property raises roosters that start crowing around 3:30 am and don't stop until late afternoon. We were in unit 300 that backs up to a golf course. Between security patrolling the course all... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
drenzi, Manager at The Gardens at West Maui Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your visit and feedback. We are pleased we met your expectations for cleanliness and courteous customer service. Please accept our apology for the roosters. They are as annoying to us as they are to you, but the issue unfortunately is beyond our control. As we mentioned in our response to the review below yours, the residents bordering... More 

Oregon
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2014

After staying here for a week, I can confirm that they don't. From 4:00 AM until sometime mid-day, those stupid birds crow and crow and crow and crow. If I were the owner of this place, I'd pay off the neighbors any way possible to get rid of those stupid birds. But maybe it's not possible. Which is unfortunate for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
drenzi, Manager at The Gardens at West Maui Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent visit to The Gardens at West Maui. We are sorry the roosters interfered with your enjoyment of our resort. The noise they create is unfortunately beyond our control. The residents bordering our property have kept roosters for years and are not breaking any county laws by having them on property. Again, we apologize for the... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

13 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (13)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities