We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Royal Kahana

3.0 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
4365 Lower Honoapiilani Road, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Special Offer
Use Promo Code & Save Now
Royal Kahana
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ranked #23 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Lahaina
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
Albuquerque74 Albuquerque, New Mexico
Write a Review

716 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    301
    112
    52
    28
See reviews for
168
337
15
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (716)
  • Mar-May only
    (226)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (154)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (157)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (179)
All months
There are newer reviews for Royal Kahana
See the most recent reviews
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We go to Maui every year. Lots of the condos have just priced themselves out of our budget. The Royal Kahana continues to be a good deal both pricewise and in terms of accommodations and views. Unlike many of their competitors, they do not charge for parking or "activities". Several of the other condos have an "activity" fee whether you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bill R, General Manager at Royal Kahana, responded to this review

Aloha Albuquerque74: We appreciate your returning to stay with us; thank you! We are pleased to read that you find the Royal Kahana Maui by Outrigger to continue to be a good value for your Maui vacation. You are right - we have no fee for parking, nor do we have a resort fee. Thank you for adding your review.... More 

Santa Clara, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We got an ocean view, 1 bed room suit with kitchen, it has cooking pots (2 very small, 1 big), kitchen utensils, coffee maker, toaster. They don't change your towels, but there is a washer and dryer inside the suite. They don't re-stock anything, so you probably need to buy more detergent, shampoo and conditioner if you have a whole... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bill R, General Manager at Royal Kahana, responded to this review

Aloha KathyReview2014: Thank you for staying with us. The Royal Kahana Maui by Outrigger condos are really best suited for guests who are self directed - we provide a great value in that you have a fully equipped condo for your home while you're here on Maui. We are in a quiet, more residential section of Maui, north of Lahaina... More 

Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
39 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was the 3rd time in five years that we have stayed at the Royal Kahana and the 2nd time in three years that we have stayed in the same condo. The Royal Kahana is in a Great Location, half way between Kaanapali Beach and Kapalua, right on the beach, close to restaurants and shopping, yet far enough away from... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bill R, General Manager at Royal Kahana, responded to this review

Aloha Charlie S: Thank you for returning to stay with us at the Royal Kahana Maui by Outrigger. We are happy to read that you enjoy our quiet neighborhood and our spectacular views. Thank you, too, for your kind words about my staff's Aloha. Since each unit here is individually owned, I will be sure to pass along your comments... More 

Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Staff were nice, upgrated us which was awesome to have a washer and dryer but the bed was the worst i have ever slept one. Unfortunately there was nothing they could do to make it better. Didnt sleep well the 6 days i was there and need to see a Chiropractor now. That is the only negative i have but.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bill R, General Manager at Royal Kahana, responded to this review

Aloha Kylie H: Thank you for posting a review of your stay. I apologize that you were not happy with the mattress in your condo. SInce all of our units are individually owned, the bed is different in every condo - I hope we offered to find another unit for you. Thank you for staying with us and for your... More 

Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We booked a one bedroom unit through Expedia. We only needed a room for a couple of nights as our condo through RCI started on a Sunday and we had arrived on a Friday. So when we checked in the lady at the front desk gave us a free upgrade to a 2 bedroom unit on the top floor. It... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bill R, General Manager at Royal Kahana, responded to this review

Aloha PilgrimFred: Thank you for taking the time to post a review and photos of your stay with us at the Royal Kahana Maui by Outrigger. We're pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay in 1211, even if it was just for a short time. Next time you're here, reserve the two bedroom ocean front condo for your entire... More 

Vancouver Island BC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

When we first came the room we were given (on 5th floor) was filthy and all worn out (kitchen cabinets peeling, top of fridge filthy, bathroom sink had hair). The second option ( after a bunch of key tapping from the person at the front desk) was at least clean but very tired worn out and in desperate need of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bill R, General Manager at Royal Kahana, responded to this review

Aloha cjvoz: Thank you for staying with us. I apologize that you were not happy with your stay. For the record, you are always welcome to check out other available units; I have already shared your comments with my staff. I did just take a look at this condo and will be sharing your comments with the unit owner. We... More 

Bellingham
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have been coming to the RK for 17 years. Over the years we have stayed in a variety of rooms. Our last visit didn't start out great when we found out (at check-in) that the owners were coming to town and we were going to have to move after only 2 days. We were given a new room and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bill R, General Manager at Royal Kahana, responded to this review

Aloha Ali22jas: Thank you for coming back to see us at the Royal Kahana Maui by Outrigger for so many years! Thank you, too, for your kind words about Alofa and Angie and my staff. I apologize that your stay with us started off on the wrong foot and am happy that you were ultimately able to enjoy your stay.... More 

Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We rented this condo through Epic Realty...individually owned. Firstly, the photos on their web are an underestimation of how beautiful this condo actually is. We were genuinely amazed at the set up, decor and above all, the amazing ocean view. The views are amazing, the sound of the ocean calming. We saw lots of turtles swimming in the ocean from... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Bill R, General Manager at Royal Kahana, responded to this review

Aloha Debra C: Thank you for staying with us at the Royal Kahana Maui by Outrigger. We're happy that you were able to enjoy the views and the local wildlife. Me Ke Aloha, Bill Rees General Manager More 

Torinto
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Maui...where do I even begin. This review will be more for the island than the hotel but I'll try to talk a bit about the hotel. We visited Maui for the 1st time on January 17-27, 2015. It was a surprise birthday trip from my fiance. We rented a car for the duration of our stay (which I highly highly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bill R, General Manager at Royal Kahana, responded to this review

Aloha Silver_se: Thank you for staying with us at the Royal Kahana Maui by Outrigger and for taking the time to write and post a review of your visit to Maui. You were here during winter, so the air temperature can be a bit cooler. No matter when you come, it's always a good idea to bring a sweater or... More 

Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed in an ocean view studio room. You can swim in the ocean right in front of the hotel and walk along the beach. The room was not well maintained. One of the cupboard doors was sagging so much that it was difficult to open the microwave door. There are no restaurants in the hotel. You can find good... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bill R, General Manager at Royal Kahana, responded to this review

Aloha McGuireR: Thank you for staying with us and for posting a review of your stay. We do have a small snack near the pool and there are a number of restaurants within a short walk of the property. Thank you for letting us know about the cabinet door - I've asked our maintenance department to get that fixed. Thank... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

1,171 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (546)
Viewed
View from room (95)
Viewed
Room/suite (178)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (59)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (71)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (115)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (617)
Viewed
Amenities (55)
Viewed
Beach (7)
Viewed
Ocean View Studio (73)
Viewed
One Bedroom Ocean View Apartment (99)
Viewed
Pool (36)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (12)
Viewed
The Hotel (89)
Viewed
Two Bedroom Oceanfront Apartment (126)
Viewed
Two Bedroom Ocean View Apartment (120)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities