We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Royal Kahana

3.0 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
4365 Lower Honoapiilani Road, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Special Offer
Use Promo Code & Save Now
Royal Kahana
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ranked #24 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Lahaina
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
Steve M
Write a Review

691 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    291
    108
    51
    28
See reviews for
163
324
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (691)
  • Mar-May only
    (201)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (154)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (157)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (179)
All months
There are newer reviews for Royal Kahana
See the most recent reviews
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
12 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We booked this condo through Air Canada vacations as part of a flight and hotel deal so we could pay the biggest chunk in Canadian dollars. We stayed here for two weeks mid March. The first couple days were wet and cool and the the next couple were very windy. Luckily every other day was Maui marvellous. Now about the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Bill R, General Manager at Royal Kahana, responded to this review

Aloha Steve M: Mahalo for staying with us at the Royal Kahana Maui by Outrigger. We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you fournd our locaton and amenities to be a good value for your Maui holiday. Since all of our units are different, we are always happy to help you find a different... More 

Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had no troubles at all with the hotel. It could use some new curtains but the beds were fine. It wasn't dirty like some have claimed. Staff was nice. If you are looking for an ocean view and are on a budget this is the place!

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Bill R, General Manager at Royal Kahana, responded to this review

Aloha Leslie R: Thank you for staying with us and for your kind words about your visit. We are pleased to read the you enjoyed your stay with us at the Royal Kahana Maui by Outrigger. We hope to see you again soon. A Hui Hou, Bill Rees General Manager More 

St. Catharines, Canada
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed in unit 509 and it was awesome! beautiful condo with fabulous ocean view. We saw turtles and whales every day from the great lanai. Pool was heated, beach was great. Will definitely return! Staff were super!

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Bill R, General Manager at Royal Kahana, responded to this review

Aloha vegas1212: Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to post your kind words about your stay and my staff. We're happy that you were able to see the sea life right from your balcony! We're looking forward to seeing you again soon. A Hui Hou, Bill Rees General Manager More 

Calgary
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great location and beach. We stayed in room 816, an ocean view studio. We had an excellent view of the ocean and could see lots of whales from our lanai. The beach is good with lots of sea turtles in the area. The condo provided a well stocked kitchen in the way of appliances and cookware, etc. Salt and pepper... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bill R, General Manager at Royal Kahana, responded to this review

Aloha havefuninthesun33: Thank you for staying with us and for your review. We're happy to read that you were able to see whales and turtles from your lanai. We are always happy to show you alternate condos if you are not happy with some aspect of your stay. Please inquire at the front desk as to what other options may... More 

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great place to stay at for a good price. It is condo living not hotel living so no daily housekeeping or on site restaurant and spas which was fine with us. We stayed in a room with a partial view(which was still a great view!) The studio room is equipped with a kitchen and washer and dryer. I just wish... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bill R, General Manager at Royal Kahana, responded to this review

Aloha rla87: Thank you for staying with us at the Royal Kahana Maui by Outrigger. We're happy to read that we were able to be a positive part of your first Maui visit. We look forward to seeing you again soon. A Hui Hou, Bill Rees General Manager More 

Chester, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2015

Very nice condos but we were only on the fourth floor at the back so not a great view of the ocean although we did have somewhat of a view. They'd washed the carpet and not warned us or it was wet and I almost slipped twice before I figured out why I was slipping on the tile. The beds... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bill R, General Manager at Royal Kahana, responded to this review

Aloha Damselfly63: Thank you for staying with us and for posting a review. Though Maui is paradise to many guests, sadly there is always the need for food for some of our less fortunate residents. We're happy to donate any unopened food to worthy causes on Maui - just let us know when you check out. I apologize for the... More 

Sacramento, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2015

Just returned from a week at the Royal Kahana Outrigger in Kahana, and very pleased. Staff was great, views were perfect, rooms clean and comfortable. We had a gardenview studio, however we could see the ocean from our lania. The pool was great for both families and couples. All I can say, is we booked for next year before we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bill R, General Manager at Royal Kahana, responded to this review

Aloha paulbets: Mahalo for staying with us and for your kind review of the Royal Kahana Maui by Outrigger. We do provide salt and pepper in single serving packaging. Unfortunately, though I have looked for other types of spices in similar packaging, I've not been able to find anything suitable. We're glad you were able to book using our promotional... More 

Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2015

We loved our room, had an ocean view and saw whales from the balcony daily. It is located right on the beach and just a short drive to anything you want to do on the west side of the island. Close to great snorkeling, dining, shopping, surfing, or just chillin'. We will be back

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Bill R, General Manager at Royal Kahana, responded to this review

Aloha Gary B: Thank you for staying with us at the Royal Kahana Maui by Outrigger! We're happy to read that you enjoyed your stay, our location and, of course, the whales! We look forward to seeing you again soon. A Hui Hou, Bill Rees General Manager More 

West of Mpls., MN
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2015

The building has twelve floors, and the higher up the room, the better the view. We have watched whales every day from our balacony, and it's been so much fun to see them breaching and slapping their tails. The pool area is furnished with plenty of chairs, tables, and lounge chairs. There are clean gas grills to cook meals, and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Bill R, General Manager at Royal Kahana, responded to this review

Aloha RLandDL: Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to post a review. It's great to read that you were able to watch the whales right from your lanai! We're pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again soon. A Hui Hou, Bill Rees General Manager More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2015

This hotel is located on the most beautiful beaches in Maui. Meters from the ocean. The rooms are a little dated however who goes to Maui and spends much time in their hotel rooms. It was handy to have a kitchenette however to save money and eat breakfast in our rooms. Close by there are general stores and restaurants and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Bill R, General Manager at Royal Kahana, responded to this review

Aloha Slare22: Mahalo for staying with us at the Royal Kahana Maui by Outrigger; we're pleased that you enjoyed your stay! Eating breakfast in your condo can easily save you more than $25 a day for two people and there's nothing like enjoying your first meal of the day on your lanai with an ocean view to get your day... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

1,164 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (539)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (73)
Viewed
Room/suite (177)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (59)
Viewed
View from room (92)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (110)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (617)
Viewed
Amenities (55)
Viewed
Beach (7)
Viewed
Ocean View Studio (73)
Viewed
One Bedroom Ocean View Apartment (99)
Viewed
Pool (36)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (12)
Viewed
The Hotel (89)
Viewed
Two Bedroom Oceanfront Apartment (126)
Viewed
Two Bedroom Ocean View Apartment (120)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question