We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Plantation Inn

Certificate of Excellence
174 Lahainaluna Rd., Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Plantation Inn
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

335 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

We spent two nights at the Inn. We enjoyed our spacious room with beautiful furniture and nice relaxing balcony with pool view. Walking distance to busy Main Street with lots of restaurants and shopping. Breakfast is amazing! Staff could be more friendly..overall great stay!

Helpful?
1 Thank Genevieve P
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level Contributor
58 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed for 2 nights in a groundfloor room. The room was spacious, nicely decorated and clean. You get what you see in the pictures. We expected much from the breakfast as the restaurant in the Plantation Inn is know for very good food. We went there one night and can confirm that Gerard’s is very good. Unfortunately, the breakfast... More 

Helpful?
Thank CarlosKorse
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights in December 2014 and we still think back as we enjoyed staying here very much. The rooms are big and we also had a balcony facing the pool. We can highly recommend to visit the restaurant 'Gerard's', that's were we spent Christmas eve. Everything was nicely decorated and the food was amazing! Try the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Fliegenpilzz
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
69 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

big resort where you pay for parking, a resort fee,concierge, golf course, poolside cocktails, hula shows and a ocean view... this is not the place for you to go. But you want a clean room at a fair price, a great breakfast that is included in the price, a nice small pool, and a block from downtown Lahaina this is... More 

Helpful?
Thank Brian H
KBH M, Manager at The Plantation Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience. It's great to hear you enjoyed your stay at our Inn and that the location was just what you were looking for. We pride ourselves on value and aim to make your vacation a lifelong memory full of Aloha. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Aloha. More 

Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had high hopes for this place after looking at the website and some other research in lonely planet. As far as room quality goes its great. Good size, nice fit out, clean and the guesthouse is in a really great location. We really loved the look and feel of the plantation style and it was a great unique experience... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqui T
KBH M, Manager at The Plantation Inn, responded to this review

Aloha, this is very valuable feedback! Thank you for writing this review and bringing your concerns to our attention. I can understand your frustration and I apologize for any inconvenience that was caused and will share your concerns with the team. We do hope to welcome you again in future. More 

Hana, Hawaii
Level Contributor
82 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

NICE Property! One would not necessarily expect such a nice property right in the middle of downtown Lahaina. GREAT location for nightlife of the little town without having to drive in from a resort, all of which are located away from Lahaina. Hawaiian plantation styling with nicely appointed large rooms, and even a couple of suites that separate the dining/living... More 

Helpful?
Thank MauiSteve96713
KBH M, Manager at The Plantation Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for the kind review and for choosing The Plantation Inn. We are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us. We will be sure to share your kind words with the entire team. We work hard to spread our Aloha to all of our guests and we appreciate the feedback. Warmest Aloha. More 

San Luis Obispo, California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

After having stayed at the Plantation Inn, several times in the past, I'd come to expect a restful, and attentive stay with them. Couldn't have been more wrong. (Maybe they changed owners?) The place was nice enough, but the food was mediocre at best, the pool dirty, and the rooms weren't as nice as I'd remembered. Staff wasn't very ingauged,... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank pdcirclem
KBH M, Manager at The Plantation Inn, responded to this review

Mahalo for your loyalty through the years and for sharing your feedback from your recent visit to our Inn. We regret to hear about the frustrations you experienced during your recent stay. Guest feedback is extremely important to our team and we will be sure to share your comments and concerns. We are constantly looking to improve our guest's experience... More 

Hurth, Germany
Level Contributor
255 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2016

Good but not perfect The Plantation Inn is rather small: the total number of bedrooms is less than 20. Rooms are rather small but cosy and provide most of the amenities that one would expect. Only a water cooker is missing. However, coffee is provided free of charge in the pool area throughout the day. Parking is free, which is... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank SimsalabimTim
KBH M, Manager at The Plantation Inn, responded to this review

Aloha, This is very valuable feedback! Thank you for writing this review and bringing your concerns to our attention. I can understand your frustration and I apologize for any inconvenience that was caused and will share your concerns with the team. We do hope to welcome you again in future. More 

St. John's, Newfoundland
Level Contributor
219 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2015

We've stayed here before, and were not disappointed on our return. The location is ideal (in the centre of the town, less than 2 blocks from the water) and the hotel itself perfect for what it is -- an older hotel that is very well-maintained and is a B&B catering to adults only. Rooms are reasonably priced (hey, this is... More 

Helpful?
Thank RAKlein
KBH M, Manager at The Plantation Inn, responded to this review

Mahalo for your feedback, and thank you for taking the time to write this review. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon! More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2015

We only stayed here one night on Thanksgiving. The place is very cute and the service good. If you want to spend time in Lahaina, this is a good option. We received an $50 voucher at the restaurant next door and there was breakfast in the morning. The room has AC, it was very clean and the bed is good.

Helpful?
1 Thank RinaSD
KBH M, Manager at The Plantation Inn, responded to this review

Mahalo for staying with us, we are delighted that you enjoyed your time here. We appreciate you taking the time to write your review. Aloha. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

373 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (166)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (30)
Viewed
Room/Suite (29)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (32)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Other (55)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (190)
Viewed
Pool (30)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (17)
Viewed
The Hotel (35)
Viewed
The Kilohana Suite (108)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
3.5 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#18 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 stars 3,145 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn
BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn
#14 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 stars 662 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lahaina Shores Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
8.7 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 31 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 stars 246 reviews
4.1 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
#