We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 62 Kihei accommodations

Kauhale Makai (Village by the Sea)

2.5 of 5 Condominium   |   938 South Kihei Road, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Kauhale Makai (Village by the Sea) to your Saves list
Kauhale Makai (Village by the Sea)
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
71%
Ranked #50 of 62 Specialty lodging in Kihei
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
DRRVentura Ventura, California
  • Overview
  • Reviews (178)
  • Photos (168)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (9)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

178 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    58
    64
    17
    26
    13
See reviews for
28
66
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ventura, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

What a great set up at the condo with perfect location and views as well as appointments necessary to enjoy our week - the fact that this was a penthouse unit closest to the water only enhanced the experience. This is a two-bedroom, two bath unit nicely laid out. Easy access from and to airport - maybe 15 minutes. Everything... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cherokee, North Carolina
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We rented directly through the owners for this unit and have loved it! We only have a couple days left of our 10 day Maui vacation and we are so sad to leave. The condo is well stocked with everything you will need. We bought groceries but will have to leave quite a bit for the next guests. The condo... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
San Tan Valley, Arizona
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Room was clean and acceptable. Paid 1215$ for 10 days. Great value , saved money with kitchen. Older dated furnishings but well worth it for families on a budget.Fully stocked kitchen for cooking. Without doubt we will go again, centrally located. Lot of couples we met were spending 4 to 5 bens a night. Unnecessary just need a place to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

We were able to get a great deal on our condo room #222 through orbitz which was awesome being a young couple on a budget. Even though the views from the lanai wern't spectacular being on the second floor, we spent most of our time doing outside activities and by the beach. The value of the condo was amazing for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

Dear future guest, I am sharing my experience with this owner. This was the reply I received, after inquiring about a quote for my trip with my 14 year old son. Not booking for a teenager group vacation, just a father son trip (returning travelers in this complex). Here it is the reply: "Dear XXXXXX, My condo is not child... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

If you are looking for a budget friendly location, Kihei is it. We stayed at Kauhale Makai, a well kept condo complex. It has all the basic amenities (beach for walking, not swimming though). Definitely do your research on units, as there is a wide variety of quality here. Pictures on rental site (Maui Condo and Home) were very helpful.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MauiCondoMarina, Rental Manager, Maui Condo and Home, LLC. at Kauhale Makai (Village by the Sea), responded to this review

Thank you for your review of Kauhale Makai unit #433. We are happy to offer photos and information for all of our units on our websites so guests can book a specific unit. The owners of this unit have provided the snorkel equipment, boogie boards, beach chairs, and beach towels. These items do not come standard with all units as... More

Neville Saskatchewan Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

We were there for 16 days, and are so glad we found Court's Condo to stay in. Way more bang for your buck than a hotel room. Like described there is everything you need in there. Decorated so nice, loved all the beautiful mirrors, Comfy bed, loved the shower, great kitchen, great view, BBQ area was always spotless, which my... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
MauiCondoMarina, Rental Manager, Maui Condo and Home, LLC. at Kauhale Makai (Village by the Sea), responded to this review

Thank you for your review of Kauhale Makai. Though you did not book directly with our company, we do manage many of the condos at Kauhale Makai. You certainly made the most of your trip and I hope many people read your review because you gave a lot of great recommendations!! You named many of my favorite places to eat... More

Yakima, Washington
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014 via mobile

The view wasn't that good. Out our unit the view of the ocean is obstructed by an ugly hill of hideous "grass". The rules for the pool are ridiculous. No toys no fins no splashing. The "putting green" is a small and a waste of space. The grassy areas have a lot of "potholes" I have personally have sprained my... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
MauiCondoMarina, Rental Management, Maui Condo and Home, LLC. at Kauhale Makai (Village by the Sea), responded to this review

Thank you for your review of Kauhale Makai. It is unfortunate to hear that your stay was unsatisfactory. You did not specify your unit number and therefore it can’t be determined who you booked through. We manage condos at 18 different properties on Maui and all of the properties have similar rules and regulations. Though the rules and regulations may... More

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

This was our first time to Maui and did enjoy our time there. I'm sorry to say our condo did not meet my expectations. Please understand that I'm very fussy about a clean room. This condo was not clean. The plastic plants should be thrown out, there's coating of dust on them. There was a smell that came from the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

This condo was comfortable and was a good price. It is a older building but was very clean. I had no issues with the condo and the property was great. The pool was cold so I never used it much besides to cool off a bit and the hot tub was good for the evenings. It was a quiet relaxing... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
MauiCondoMarina, Property Management Company, Maui Condo and Home, LLC. at Kauhale Makai (Village by the Sea), responded to this review

Aloha and thank you for your review. Having a comfortable and clean place to rest and relax is on the top of the priority list when it comes to choosing vacation accommodations. It is great to hear that you had a relaxing vacation at the Kauhale Makai, Village by the Sea and condo 331 was clean and inviting. When planning... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Kauhale Makai (Village by the Sea), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Kauhale Makai (Village by the Sea)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kauhale Makai (Village by the Sea)

Address: 938 South Kihei Road, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kauhale Makai (Village by the Sea) 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Kauhale Makai (Village by the Sea) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kauhale Makai (Village By The Sea) Hotel Kihei
Maui Village By The Sea
Maui Kauhale Makai
Kauhale Makai Condo
Kauhale Makai (Village By The Sea) Maui/Kihei

168 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (151)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (29)
Viewed
View from room (25)
Viewed
Room/suite (34)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (48)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (18)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (4)

Amenities

Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
100

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer