We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sugar Beach Resort

Hotel website
145 North Kihei Road, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Sugar Beach Resort
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

482 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Alexandria
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Had a nice, enjoyable stay at Maui's Sugar Beach #228 over Christmas. The positives: EXCELLENT, timely communication with and customer service from Karen, the condo owner - she is just fabulous!; outstanding, beach/ocean-front view with gorgeous sunsets every night and whale sightings (bring your binoculars!); lovely balcony on 2nd floor of the building - close enough to hear the sounds... More 

Helpful?
Thank Christi S
Cochrane, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Just spent a week in Unit 321. Was certainly satisfactory, bed was great, room was clean ( except the bathroom could use a major scrub ), ocean view was perfect. Unit was well appointed ...to a point. Had to supply things like salt & pepper, coffee filters...I wonder if every guest replaces these basics and the cleaning staff takes them... More 

Helpful?
Thank Darcy50_13
CondoRentalsHI, Condo Rental Agency at Sugar Beach Resort, responded to this review

Mahalo for your review of the Sugar Beach Resort and condo #321, which our vacation rental agency manages. We are pleased to hear that you found everything clean and well appointed. Regarding the salt and pepper, we recently were advised by AAA travel inspectors to remove any food items that are not permanently sealed. This is a hospitality standard to... More 

2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We just returned from a 2wk trip to Maui where we stayed in a 1-bedroom condo (#328) in the Plantation Bldg of the Sugar Beach complex. At first blush the buildings could use some cleaning up as the curb appeal wasn't there--older structure, dirty walls, dimly lit entryways. But that aspect is quickly put to rest once in the unit... More 

Helpful?
Thank wetlandsrock
CondoRentalsHI, Condo Rental Agency at Sugar Beach Resort, responded to this review

Mahalo for your review of the Sugar Beach resort. Our vacation rental agency manages many condos at the Sugar Beach Resort, but we do not manage condo #328. As you mention, each condo is managed differently, and thus the pricing can be different. We encourage all guests to compare pricing and condos online to see which one best fits your... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This was our second vacation to Maui. Last time we stayed at the Mana Kai hotel. I can honestly say this one bedroom condo was fantastic. Spacious clean and a view to die for. The sound of the ocean hitting the sand all night was superb. The furniture was a little dated and the wall was a little yellow due... More 

Helpful?
Thank Andrew F
CondoRentalsHI, Condo Rental Agency at Sugar Beach Resort, responded to this review

Mahalo for your review of the Sugar Beach Resort. Our condo rental agency does not manage the specific condo you stayed in, but we appreciate your kind review of the property. We agree the sound of waves crashing on the shore is hard to beat! Keith Condominium Rentals Hawaii More 

Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
75 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We booked a penthouse 1 bedroom oceanfront through Maui Condo and Home. It was recently updated and nicely decorated. The living area was small but roomy enough for two adults. Couch makes out into a double sleeper which we did not use. There is no dining table but bar stools and bar seating for four. Might be tight for four... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank BryansBabe
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2015

Stayed in a one bedroom condo on the first floor with a walk out straight to the beach. Just 50 ft to sandy paradise! The room had a cooler, beach chairs, etc. The complex has a small pool and jacuzzi but it was never busy. Met people from all over the world here. The Sandwitch restaurant on site is pretty... More 

Helpful?
Thank bcholly
CondoRentalsHI, Condo Rental Agency at Sugar Beach Resort, responded to this review

Mahalo for your review of the Sugar Beach Resort. I am not sure if you stayed in one of the condos our vacation rental agency manages, but glad to hear you had a great vacation. The ground floor condos are really convenient for walking right out the the beach in front (or pool) in seconds! We hope to see you... More 

Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2015

Excellent amenities commensurate to costs - value for money. Gorgeous view, good location, well catered including own washing machine and dryer. Self managed with plenty of spare linen. Beach towels, vacuum, dishwasher, large fridge, oven, large microwave, dining table, separate shower (no bath). Quiet and private with great pool area. Onsite tourist shopping and small sandwich bar. Recommend bringing bottled... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nicolette P
CondoRentalsHI, Condo Rental Agency at Sugar Beach Resort, responded to this review

Mahalo for your review of the Sugar Beach Resort. I am not sure if you stayed in one of the condos our vacation rental agency manages but agree the value of the Sugar Beach Resort is hard to top! Great ocean views, private lanai steps from the beach, oceanfront pool/hot tub, on-site bar/deli, and even a massage therapist on site... More 

british columbia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2015 via mobile

We stayed in Unit 305, a 1 bedroom.The unit was updated and very very clean. Nice decor, and totally equipped with anything you need in the kitchen for your stay. Beautiful view from lanai. Check in, went well.Customer service good.Pool was nice and temperature was just right. Didnt use the hot tub but lots of people enjoyed it everyday. At... More 

Helpful?
Thank binnie649
CondoRentalsHI, Condo Rental Agency at Sugar Beach Resort, responded to this review

Mahalo for your review of the Sugar Beach Resort and condo #305, which our vacation rental agency manages. We are glad to hear you found the condo very clean and the ocean views beautiful. We hope to see you back at the Sugar Beach Resort again soon! Keith Condominium Rentals Hawaii More 

Redmond, Washington
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2015

This resort is perfect for traveling around the Island. A beautiful oceanfront view with 50 feet to the ocean. A little deli with a bar was adjacent to the resort that had phenomenal food. Ask for the salad with big shrimp, avocado. Delish. Mai Ti's are yummy. A store with Hawaiian clothing is right there. We would go there again.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Shariannie
Level Contributor
66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2015

We stayed at Sugar Beach Condo's, Unit 131... It needs some updating for sure... but overall it was clean and a great place to stay. Everything worked great and we didn't spend a lot of time there as we were off site seeing. It is perfectly located on the beach and it is very close to town and to Lahina.

Helpful?
Thank Lisa N
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

425 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (290)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (36)
Viewed
View from room (44)
Viewed
Room/suite (75)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (37)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
0:58
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (71)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (133)
Viewed
Amenities (16)
Viewed
Beach (5)
Viewed
One Bedroom Apartment (49)
Viewed
Pool (15)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (9)
Viewed
The Hotel (39)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kihei hotels
4.5 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kihei
4.5 of 5 stars 1,766 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kihei Kai Oceanfront Condos
2.1 mi away
Maui Sunset Condos
Maui Sunset Condos
#17 of 63 in Kihei
4.0 of 5 stars 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Mana Kai Maui
Mana Kai Maui
#14 of 63 in Kihei
4.5 of 5 stars 436 reviews
5.5 mi away
Maui Kamaole
Maui Kamaole
#10 of 63 in Kihei
4.5 of 5 stars 583 reviews
0.2 mi away
Maalaea Surf Resort
Maalaea Surf Resort
#6 of 63 in Kihei
4.5 of 5 stars 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay