We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kihei Akahi

2.5 of 5 2531 S Kihei Rd, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kihei Akahi
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Kihei Akahi
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    62
    28
    21
    22
See reviews for
50
76
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (205)
  • Mar-May only
    (48)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (60)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (53)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (44)
All months
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

For the reasonable rate we were expecting average .We were suprised at the cleanliness of the lovely accomidation. This was a perfect honeymoon retreat before we went back to our blended fanily! The view was awesome. We loved being able to walk to three beaches and more. We cooked together everyday and appreciated how well equiped the kitchen was..We felt... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
KiheiAkahiOfficial, Public Relations Manager at Kihei Akahi, responded to this review

Aloha and thank you for taking the time to write a review. Congratulations on your wedding! I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that the condo you chose met all of your needs. We hope to see you back for your anniversaries! Mahalo More 

Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We took our 18 year old daughter to Kihei, thinking it may be the last family vacation for quite a while. Knowing S. Kihei, we happened to find a condo at the Akahi, very reasonable. For the price we paid, we have absolutely no complaints. Our unit was at the back of the complex, GD06, as I recall. Very quiet,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
KiheiAkahiOfficial, Public Relations Manager at Kihei Akahi, responded to this review

Aloha and thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Kihei Akahi. I am glad you mentioned the gardens with the labels on or near some of the trees and the landscaping as we are particularly proud of our botanical walk. I hope we will see... More 

Victoria, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Although we requested ground floor, view and king bed; when we arrived we were give a tiny apt. on the second floor with a queen bed.and "garden view". No one was available to assist with our bags, nor were there any carts to transport our luggage and groceries. The property is far from pristine - quite dirty! We returned to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
KiheiAkahiOfficial, Public Relations Manager at Kihei Akahi, responded to this review

Aloha and thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am sorry to hear that your experience was not what you were expecting. I have passed along your comments to Maui Condo and Home for their consideration. I would like to take this opportunity to address certain comments you made as I think they will help clarify... More 

Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2014

The location was ideal and the view every morning was so pretty. A person could get used to that for sure. Walking distance to everything including a excellent beach that was only about 4 minutes away. The down side was that the condo was dirty and the smell was nauseating. We were charged a large cleaning fee at the end... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CondoRentalsHI, Condo Rental Agecny at Kihei Akahi, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the Kihei Akahi and a vacation rental that our condo rental company manages. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the views, location, and well-equipped furnishings. We apologize that the cleanliness of the condo did not meet your standards. We take this very seriously and will promptly send professional cleaners back to any... More 

Louisville, Kentucky
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2014

don't think of a 3 star review as bad please. This is not a bad place at all, but it is not the Ritz and so you should not expect the Ritz with the afforadable rates we get. We arrived late on 10/6. and we called the number we were told to and we were advised that we were in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CondoRentalsHI, Condo Rental Agency at Kihei Akahi, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the Kihei Akahi and studio unit D116, which our vacation rental company manages. I am sorry for the inconvenience of first seeing the one bedroom unit and then correctly placing you in your studio unit. I will investigate what may have happened there. The studio units are 480 square feet, while the one-bedrooms are... More 

Lk Stevens Wa
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
13 hotel reviews
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2014

All the comforts of home. Tons of items on hand in the condo you won't need to rent....coolers, chairs, snorkle gear, etc. The location was excellent, near good beaches, restaurants and activities. Super clean and modern. Condos are individually owned and managed so they may vary. Our only knock was the AC was not good in our unit C617. It... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
KiheiAkahiOfficial, Public Relations Manager at Kihei Akahi, responded to this review

Aloha! Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your experience at the Kihei Akahi. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed the area and that your condo came equipped with all the added amenities you were hoping for. Many of our owners take great pride - and have a lot of fun - stocking the condo... More 

1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2014 via mobile

Awful customer care we arrived here after a long flight from sacramento, ca only to find a very dirty room that was stinky and dusty that I had to start cleaning even the comforter had stains really bad

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
MauiCondoMarina, Property Rental Manager, Maui Condo at Kihei Akahi, responded to this review

Aloha and thank you for your feedback. I would like to extend our sincerest apology for the condition in which you found the condo. We are the managing agent for this unit and take all cleanliness issues very seriously. We do contract licensed and experienced cleaners who do a great job for us. Our notes show that you did call... More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2014

Condo in D building #511 was equipped with everything you could need.Fantastic views,better than the pictures. Upgrades : In every room except shower room.The closets were so packed with owners storage and beach stuff we had little space to hang our own clothing.Washer and dryer very old but worked. We had a mattress cover that had urine stains that had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
KiheiAkahiOfficial, Public Relations Manager at Kihei Akahi, responded to this review

Aloha and thank you for taking the time to write your review. As you know, each unit at the Kihei Akahi is individually owned and managed. Some are managed by the owner and others by professional property management companies. How the owner decorates and who they chose to manage their property is up to the individual owner. That said, I... More 

San Diego, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2014

We were staying here for 5 days, We loved the amenities that condo offered. We were in C502 unit, you get a nice view of the beach from Patio, you even get a glimpse of Molokini Island from Patio!! Condo is well equipped with kitchen, bed/bath stuff. There were Water sport gears like snorkel gear, beach sports, etc. It also... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
KiheiAkahiOfficial, Public Relations Manager at Kihei Akahi, responded to this review

Aloha! Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Kihei Akahi and in the Kihei and Maui areas. I have shared your comments with the owner of the unit you stayed in and he was delighted to read your positive comments. We hope to see you back... More 

San Diego, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

I've been to Maui before and stayed in Kapalua, this time around I stayed in Kihei and what a wonderful difference. Kapalua is very resort-oriented and it provided a good tourist experience however staying at the Kihei Akahi gave me more of a local feeling which I really appreciate. There are several delicious restaurants and shopping within walking distance. You... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
KiheiAkahiOfficial, Public Relations Manager at Kihei Akahi, responded to this review

Aloha - and thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay in the Kihei area and at the Kihei Akahi in particular. I have passed your comments on to the owner of A104 who was delighted to read your comments. We look forward to seeing you again at the Kihei... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Kihei Akahi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kihei Akahi

Address: 2531 S Kihei Rd, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kihei Akahi 2.5*
Number of rooms: 220
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Kihei Akahi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kihei Akahi Hotel Kihei
Kihei Akahi Maui

176 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (157)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from room (22)
Viewed
Room/suite (35)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (17)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (18)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (59)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay