We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kihei Akahi

2.5 of 5 2531 S Kihei Rd, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kihei Akahi
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Kihei Akahi
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    61
    28
    21
    22
See reviews for
49
76
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (203)
  • Mar-May only
    (48)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (60)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (53)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (42)
All months
Victoria, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Although we requested ground floor, view and king bed; when we arrived we were give a tiny apt. on the second floor with a queen bed.and "garden view". No one was available to assist with our bags, nor were there any carts to transport our luggage and groceries. The property is far from pristine - quite dirty! We returned to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The location was ideal and the view every morning was so pretty. A person could get used to that for sure. Walking distance to everything including a excellent beach that was only about 4 minutes away. The down side was that the condo was dirty and the smell was nauseating. We were charged a large cleaning fee at the end... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CondoRentalsHI, Condo Rental Agecny at Kihei Akahi, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the Kihei Akahi and a vacation rental that our condo rental company manages. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the views, location, and well-equipped furnishings. We apologize that the cleanliness of the condo did not meet your standards. We take this very seriously and will promptly send professional cleaners back to any... More

Louisville, Kentucky
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2014

don't think of a 3 star review as bad please. This is not a bad place at all, but it is not the Ritz and so you should not expect the Ritz with the afforadable rates we get. We arrived late on 10/6. and we called the number we were told to and we were advised that we were in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CondoRentalsHI, Condo Rental Agency at Kihei Akahi, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the Kihei Akahi and studio unit D116, which our vacation rental company manages. I am sorry for the inconvenience of first seeing the one bedroom unit and then correctly placing you in your studio unit. I will investigate what may have happened there. The studio units are 480 square feet, while the one-bedrooms are... More

Lk Stevens Wa
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
13 hotel reviews
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2014

All the comforts of home. Tons of items on hand in the condo you won't need to rent....coolers, chairs, snorkle gear, etc. The location was excellent, near good beaches, restaurants and activities. Super clean and modern. Condos are individually owned and managed so they may vary. Our only knock was the AC was not good in our unit C617. It... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
KiheiAkahiOfficial, Public Relations Manager at Kihei Akahi, responded to this review

Aloha! Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your experience at the Kihei Akahi. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed the area and that your condo came equipped with all the added amenities you were hoping for. Many of our owners take great pride - and have a lot of fun - stocking the condo... More

1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2014 via mobile

Awful customer care we arrived here after a long flight from sacramento, ca only to find a very dirty room that was stinky and dusty that I had to start cleaning even the comforter had stains really bad

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
MauiCondoMarina, Property Rental Manager, Maui Condo at Kihei Akahi, responded to this review

Aloha and thank you for your feedback. I would like to extend our sincerest apology for the condition in which you found the condo. We are the managing agent for this unit and take all cleanliness issues very seriously. We do contract licensed and experienced cleaners who do a great job for us. Our notes show that you did call... More

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2014

Condo in D building #511 was equipped with everything you could need.Fantastic views,better than the pictures. Upgrades : In every room except shower room.The closets were so packed with owners storage and beach stuff we had little space to hang our own clothing.Washer and dryer very old but worked. We had a mattress cover that had urine stains that had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
KiheiAkahiOfficial, Public Relations Manager at Kihei Akahi, responded to this review

Aloha and thank you for taking the time to write your review. As you know, each unit at the Kihei Akahi is individually owned and managed. Some are managed by the owner and others by professional property management companies. How the owner decorates and who they chose to manage their property is up to the individual owner. That said, I... More

San Diego, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2014

We were staying here for 5 days, We loved the amenities that condo offered. We were in C502 unit, you get a nice view of the beach from Patio, you even get a glimpse of Molokini Island from Patio!! Condo is well equipped with kitchen, bed/bath stuff. There were Water sport gears like snorkel gear, beach sports, etc. It also... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
KiheiAkahiOfficial, Public Relations Manager at Kihei Akahi, responded to this review

Aloha! Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Kihei Akahi and in the Kihei and Maui areas. I have shared your comments with the owner of the unit you stayed in and he was delighted to read your positive comments. We hope to see you back... More

San Diego, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

I've been to Maui before and stayed in Kapalua, this time around I stayed in Kihei and what a wonderful difference. Kapalua is very resort-oriented and it provided a good tourist experience however staying at the Kihei Akahi gave me more of a local feeling which I really appreciate. There are several delicious restaurants and shopping within walking distance. You... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
KiheiAkahiOfficial, Public Relations Manager at Kihei Akahi, responded to this review

Aloha - and thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay in the Kihei area and at the Kihei Akahi in particular. I have passed your comments on to the owner of A104 who was delighted to read your comments. We look forward to seeing you again at the Kihei... More

Maui, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

I recently stayed at the Kihei Akahi, Unit 101 in Bldg. D. What you will love about this studio unit is that it is set off South Kihei Road close to some good walking distance restaurants but also it's directly across for a wonderful swimming beach on Maui that has Life Guards! The unit I stayed in is the furtherest... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
KiheiAkahiOfficial, Public Relations Manager at Kihei Akahi, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay on Maui and at the Kihei Akahi. I have passed your comments along to the owners of the condo you stayed in - I am sure they will be delighted to read them. We look forward to seeing you... More

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

This unit in the complex was just updated and it's great. It's on the ground floor in a nook behind trees that makes it about as private as it gets. It's close to the BBQ and pool, but more importantly it's literally 2.5 minutes to the beach and the main strip. I had a rental car, but barely used it.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CondoRentalsHI, Condo Rental Agency at Kihei Akahi, responded to this review

Mahalo for your review of Kihei Akahi and unit C211, which our vacation rental company manages. We are happy to hear you found the unit updated and had everything you needed for your vacation. We stock all our vacation rentals with over 100+ items we know will make visitors feel right at home. We hope to see you again at... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Kihei Akahi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kihei Akahi

Address: 2531 S Kihei Rd, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kihei Akahi 2.5*
Number of rooms: 220
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Kihei Akahi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kihei Akahi Hotel Kihei
Kihei Akahi Maui

172 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (153)
Viewed
View from room (22)
Viewed
Room/suite (35)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (15)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (58)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay