We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 11 Hana accommodations

Joe's Place

4870 Ua'Kea Road, Hana, Maui, HI 96713
Hotel amenities
Joe's Place
Ranked #11 of 11 Specialty lodging in Hana
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hana
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Write a Review

78 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    13
    14
    14
    29
See reviews for
11
29
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bakersfield, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

We heard about Joe's on our first trip to Hana. We stayed there on our second, and we loved it. Yes, it's not spotless, it's got peeling wood and old motel furniture and no, you don't actually get served any food in the morning, but @ $50 a night for 2 of us, bath across the hall, who cares? You... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

All the traveler's books I read must have been really out of date. Described as 'nothing fancy", but "very clean". Didn't meet my standard. Bed was sinking in the middle. Our son's bed was more like a hammock not a mattress. Both my kids wanted to sleep in our rental car. Needs serious updating and definately some new furniture.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Amherst, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Great value, wonderful friendly hostel-like atmosphere, super hosts. You feel like you are a local after spending a few days (and you get to meet some cool locals and travellers, too!). If you just want to zip up the highway, do the obnoxious tourist visit and then high-tail it back to your timeshare for the night---all the better for those... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
San Diego, California
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Called to ask if they had any room for Friday night on Wednesday. They said , "it's virtually impossible to get a place on friday night". We gave our info over the phone for a Friday night. Friday morning we called to cancel. The person on the phone was very rude from the beginning and we couldn't even ask our... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paris, France
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

I wanted to stay in Joe's place for a night on September 2013. At first sight it was not the cleanest room and bathroom I have ever seen (even with a huge cockroach on the bathroom wall, it can happens), but it seemed OK. There were suspect brown stuff behind the bed but we didn't know what it was. Anyway,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Healdsburg, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

This place is full of mold and most of the screens have holes in them so the mosquitos get into your room and have a hey day. The beds are horribly saggy, the sheets feel like sand paper, it is dirty, the fans squeak, the pillows are like hard pancakes, both refrigerators are covered with mold. Oh and there are... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
joesplacehana, General Manager at Joe's Place, responded to this review

The person submitted the complaint is not qualified to state that "all the screens have holes . . " - she only occupied one room. The "mold" she referred to was cleaned immediately. Most of what she saw was rust on the exterior of the refrigerator - given the fact that we are so close to the ocean. What she... More

Southwest Harbor
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Two friends and i took the Road to Hana, and wanted to take our time, seeing the sights along the way. We rented a room for 3 with bathroom down the hall for the pittance of $60+ for the night. This is a clean but funky place, quite adequate for our needs. We chose to eat out, however, for the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
kahalu'u hawaii
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We stayed at Joe's place for one Saturday night in April and felt very welcomed. We were suppose to stay at the wainanapanapa cabins so this place fit the bill. Nothing fancy but with the basics - clean, tidy and simple. The other guests were considerate and quiet. This place is cheap and pleasant, very central. We did not have... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Very nice on the phone and left keys in an envelope as I arrived late but this place is infested with bed bugs. I was very suspicious when I looked at the sheets and saw the tell-tale signs but the horrible part was the large mature female I killed in front of the owner the next day. I would not... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
joesplacehana, General Manager at Joe's Place, responded to this review

The writer says the "place was infested" when in fact she occupied just one room. For the record, the exterminators were here within two days and completely treated the room satisfactorily. Close inspection revealed that only one room - the one the complainant occupied - was affected, and there have been no further problems. We do not raise bed bugs... More

Lausanne, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

Hana is a Nice little Town but it s no use to stay there more than one night.joes place is really dirty and stinky.the sheets were not clean,we slept under our towel because of that.everything you tuch sticks.the restroom smells urin all the time,you really wonder if someone clean them sometimes....the walls are really thin,we were able to ear every... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1

Been to Joe's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Joe's Place

Also Known As:
Joe`s Place Hotel
Joe`s Place Hotel Hana
Joe's Place Hana, Maui
Address: 4870 Ua'Kea Road, Hana, Maui, HI 96713
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Hana
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 11 Specialty lodging in Hana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Joe's Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Joe's Place to your Saves list