We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 10 Haiku B&Bs / inns

Maui Retreat

Save
You added Maui Retreat to your Saves list
610 Huelo Road, Haiku, Maui, HI 96708
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Maui Retreat
Ranked #9 of 10 Haiku B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Haiku
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    4
    3
    2
    3
See reviews for
7
33
7
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (51)
  • Mar-May only
    (14)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (10)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (11)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (16)
All months
Los Gatos, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

To start with the positives: The grounds are beautiful and our room was very nice as well. We stayed in the lotus room and really enjoyed the pond outside. Although it was raining while we were there, we enjoyed hiking around the grounds. The girl that took my reservation was so sweet and helped with some great ideas , as... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MauiRetreat, Owner at Maui Retreat, responded to this review

We are sad to read this comment as we made an exception to accept your booking for only one night. We normally have a three night minimum stay to allow you to explore our vast beautiful land safely with ease and no stress. Unfortunately you arrived on the day we had an official Hurricane Warning. Our office explained that this... More

Santa Cruz, California
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed one night. The grounds are amazing and the rooms nice. We were in the lotus room which had great views of the pond. There was definitely a feel of this being a shared house with several other semi-permanent residents. After we had sorted ourselves out, one of the owners wanted to check if we had paid our rent... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MauiRetreat, Owner at Maui Retreat, responded to this review

We are sad to read this comment as we made an exception to accept your booking for only one night. We normally have a three night minimum stay to allow you to explore our vast beautiful land safely with ease and no stress. Unfortunately you arrived on the day we had an official Hurricane Warning. We were very concerned for... More

Denmark
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2014

We spent 6 days at the lotus room. It was magnificent. We had a little pond right outside of our place. When waking up first thing we saw was the ocean - just beautiful! On top of all that there is a big and fully equiped kitchen (dishwasher, nespresso machine, fridge, stove, toaster aso). On the Maui Retreat owned ground... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2014

The views and comforts offered at The Bamboo Temple are second to none on Maui. If tranquility and being close to nature are your thing, if being bathed by moonlight reflecting off the ocean as you sleep and having the company of hummingbirds at breakfast appeal, then look no further. Don't be put off by it's out of the way... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Byron Bay
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2014

Maui retreat is the perfect place to forget about the busy world out there, relax, go inside, meditate or go swimming in the natural pool above the water fall or in the ocean, sit under the bamboo for breakfast, get your own coconut, watch the stunning sunsets.... The views are breath taking .... Watch, enjoy and breathe health and well-being... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bern
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

The Eco Thai Hale Cottage is a dream. The mixture between nature, remote location and the privacy of your own cottage is true luxury. It is impossible to compare this dream location to anything.... We were amazed by the friendliness of the staff. Wondering arround and exploring surroundings of the retreat was most interesting and relaxing.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Sao Paulo, SP
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

we went to this place to spend our honeymoon but unfortunately we not had good times, the site was without any kind of hygiene, gilette with another host in the bathroom and used and older soap mor that my grandmother. Unfortunately in my opinion there was no kind of concern with hygiene and comfort for guests, is a place I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MauiRetreat, Owner at Maui Retreat, responded to this review

We are sad to read this comment, as we always hope when something is needed our guests will let us know right away so we can help. We strive to provide for each traveler a place of comfort and beauty. All of our rooms are thoroughly cleaned before each guest arrives. If you found your shower to be dirty upon... More

Alexandria, Virginia
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

My husband and I spent several sweet days here for our honeymoon in early April. Upon arrival we were greeted warmly and escorted to our cottage. We were immediately enthralled with the gorgeous property and looked forward to settling in and preparing our first meal in the well-equipped kitchen. We enjoyed a deeply relaxing evening and slept more soundly than... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

My husband and I spent our honeymoon here last week. It was the most special memorable trip we've ever been on. We try so hard to live an Eco Friendly lifestyle at home, but our crazy lives and housing situation make it hard. Being able to be 100% sustainable is one of the many reasons we fell in love with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

We stayed in the Bamboo Temple and it was a great place. Unfortunately we arrived after dark and in the middle of a thunderstorm which made the place a challenge to find. The road is a little bumpy and off the beaten trap and gets a little slick in areas when it rains. We found the place and upon entering... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Maui Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Retreat

Address: 610 Huelo Road, Haiku, Maui, HI 96708
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Haiku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Maui Retreat Hotel Haiku
Maui Retreat Haiku

25 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay