We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Makai Club

GreenLeadersBronze level
3.5 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel packages
4180 Lei O Papa Road, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722 (Formerly Wyndham Makai Club)
Special Price
10% Off Entire Stay!
Makai Club
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ranked #1 of 2 Princeville B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersBronze level
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
Nana_N2623 Calgary, Canada
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    37
    14
    5
    4
See reviews for
35
59
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (115)
  • Mar-May only
    (28)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (21)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (31)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (35)
All months
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Makai Club is located in north Kauai in Princeville - rainy, cloudy side of the island. The area has a number of beaches and hiking trails, a camp ground or two and, of course, some amazing scenery. The resort is small and quiet which suited us perfectly. Quiet is a relative term, one the chickens don't understand as they begin... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

As a family of 6 we had one of the two bedroom cottages. It was very spacious and had all the amenities you would need to cook, sleep and stay for an extended time. The beds were comfortable and the kids loved all of the deck space to hang outside. The only complaint would be how tiny their pool is.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Julesbybeach, General Manager at Makai Club, responded to this review

GJL 1993, We are so glad that you had a great stay at the Makai Club. We agree that our pool is small, but we do help our guests find all the gorgeous beaches on Kauai! We also have an incredible concierge who will line up boat, helicopter and all the fun activities on island. We hope to see you... More 

Whitefish, Montana
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

Check in was a breeze and the staff pleasant. Our unit was much more private than I would have expected. Clean and airy with a well furnished kitchen and a large screen TV. We spent time on the balcony and enjoyed the varied bird calls and tropical foilage. It would be nice if the unit had an Ipod player but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
jdaronco, General Manager at Makai Club, responded to this review

atrippin 101, We are so glad you had an enjoyable and relaxing stay with us. We also appreciate your suggestions on how to make Makai Club even better! We are in the process of purchasing a product for your smartphone to use as a radio. And the toaster oven is a great idea! The WiFi is in the process of... More 

Kauai, Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

Our check -in took a whole 4 minutes and we were in our room 4 minutes later. We opened the doors and went wow. We live here and never been to this propoerty before and booked it just by chance and we were so happy we did. I love the open feeling you get when walking in and the cleanliness... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
jdaronco, General Manager at Makai Club, responded to this review

Kawika 2015, Thank you so much for the kind words! Our Front Desk Team works hard to balance giving you just enough information without delaying the start of your vacation. Please come back for another staycation. We look forward to seeing you soon! More 

Suisun City
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2015 via mobile

Overall beautiful place, very scenic and quiet. The Makai Club offers two types of units, detached single unit cottages or condo style apartments. We stayed in the condos which are ideal for couples but there is a pullout queen size sleeper couch in the living room for an extra person or two. The condos are in 8 separate 5-plex buildings... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 13
jdaronco, General Manager at Makai Club, responded to this review

Greg S, Wow, what a complete and helpful review of our resort! We appreciate you taking the time to give great details to future guests of the Makai Club. We hope that we see you again soon! Happy Vacationing, Julie DaRonco More 

Boise, Idaho
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2015

Our first visit to the cottages was just two of us in 2012. We were stunned on how large the 'cottage' is. Planning for the next trip made is simple; no where else would we want to go. Invited our son, his wife and their three small children for two weeks in January 2015. Ample room for all! King beds... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
jdaronco, General Manager at Makai Club, responded to this review

GrandmaNae, We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Makai Club Cottages! We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and we look forward to having you come back for another vacation! Safe Travels, Julie DaRonco More 

Hereford, Arizona
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2015

I would highly recommend this resort to anyone who is looking for a place that truly cares about their guests. My husband was hospitalized during our stay and the staff was so caring an made certain that all my needs were met and then some. I was alone but I never felt that I had a worry in the world.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
jdaronco, General Manager at Makai Club, responded to this review

Joanne B, We are so grateful for your kind words about our resort. We know when something unplanned happens when you are away from home it can be a scary time. When you (or any of our guests) stay at the Makai Club, you are our family and are therefore treated that like family. We hope you come back for... More 

california
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2015

We decided to go back to this property July, 2012. Very nice property after the renovations. The rooms are clean, the kitchens are fantastic. I highly recommend trying this property. Don't waste your time with the timeshare presentation, its a big waste of time on your vacation. Excellent location for rest and relaxation!

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
jdaronco, General Manager at Makai Club, responded to this review

pestlie, We are so glad that you decided to give us a second chance! We are have worked hard to create a wonderful vacation experience for our guests. We don't have a timeshare presentation on site, which has been a welcome change for our guests. We look forward to your next visit! More 

Milwaukee, WI
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
14 hotel reviews
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2015

First of all, the Makai Club is different from Makai Club Cottages; however, when I try to review Makai Club Cottages, Trip Advisor brings up this screen. This review is for the Makai Club Cottages...both trade as timeshares or can be rented outside of a timeshare trade. We've stayed several times at the Makai Club Cottages (most recently this January)... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
jdaronco, General Manager at Makai Club, responded to this review

Whinny2, We appreciate your review and taking the time to share your experience. We apologize for the cool weather, such a rarity here! We actually have 5 heaters that we have for guests who may be cold on some of our cooler nights. We are reevaluating the number we have, to ensure no one else has your experience. We are... More 

Jacksonville, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2015

The location is amazing, but what makes this resort so special are the people who work there. They were gracious, available and extraordinarily helpful. Every question we ever had was answered with great kindness. We have stayed at resorts with higher ratings before, but this resort under promises and over delivers. The 2 bedroom stand alone unit we stayed in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
jdaronco, General Manager at Makai Club, responded to this review

middB, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience at The Makai Club. We do sincerely care about your vacation experience, and we love what we do! Please come back and we promise that you will have an even better experience! We are also glad that you enjoyed the puried water. We are passionate about ensuring... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

81 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (71)
Viewed
Room/suite (26)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question