We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Makai Club

Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
3.5 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel packages
4180 Lei O Papa Road, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722 (Formerly Wyndham Makai Club)
Special Price
10% Off Entire Stay!
Makai Club
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ranked #1 of 2 Princeville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    41
    14
    5
    4
See reviews for
39
64
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (124)
  • Mar-May only
    (37)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (21)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (31)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (35)
All months
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Staff was honest on the price and services. It exceeded our expectation and made our stay very enjoyable. The rooms include big tv with lots of local channels. The kitchen was very clean and had all the pots, pans, plates and glasses one could use. The bedroom was very comfortable with a nice tv there as well. Easy place to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ponchatoula, Louisiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I own at 2 different timeshares on this Island .... I decided to exchange instead of staying at my reorts .... best decision ever! I loved the location (I love the Northsore) The place doesn't have all the "Bells and Whistles" but I go to see Kauai so I just need a nice place to stay. I am not concerned... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Salt Lake City, Utah
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were gifted timeshare points from a family member and Makai Club had the availability we were looking for. Overall, our stay there was enjoyable. We were on the ground floor in 701 with a lanai that looked out into the jungle. The view was breathtaking! The condo itself was well stocked with everything we needed as we made breakfast... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kennesaw, GA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2015

We've been owners at this property for almost 20 years. The first impression of entering the resort was how great the grounds had been kept. The staff was extremely helpful in coordinating our activities with 4 family groups and several different activities on the same day. The was a huge effort and made our stay that much easier. The units... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Julie D, General Manager at Makai Club, responded to this review

ljcarrll, Thank you for being an Owner with us for 20 years! It is our pleasure to ensure you have a wonderful vacation memory and we are looking forward to doing it for the next 20 years! We look forward to seeing you again! More 

Pasadena, California
Top Contributor
236 reviews 236 reviews
47 hotel reviews
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2015

The pros: great location, affordable, kitchen, laundry, and comfortable settings. Cons: the resort conducts routine spraying on its grounds. The very large roaches run indoors during these sprayings. Understandably, these critters are part of Hawaii, and they are slow enough to easily capture. However, I would avoid ground level condos if at all possible. Despite the roaches we still enjoyed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Julie D, General Manager at Makai Club, responded to this review

Jack and Resh, Thank you for sharing your experience at The Makai Club! We aplogize that you had unwelcomed visitors. We do spary inside and outside of the units. You probably noticed that beautiful green belt of jungle that is next to our resort. To ensure that all the bugs do not come in from that area, we must spray... More 

Manteca, California
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2015

We had the best view of the mountains from our lanai The only disappointment we had is the water was too cold. Not freezing but we like it a but warmer. The weather was perfect. Between 75-82 degrees and great trade winds. Aloha!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Julie D, General Manager at Makai Club, responded to this review

TDog 638, So glad you enjoyed the views from your lanai! We hope that you will visit us again soon and thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The Makai Club! More 

Grand Ledge, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2015

We have stayed at the Makai cottages twice now and love it. It is a great north shore location in a quiet part of princeville. The cottage is huge a great space for two couples. Very clean, great layout.Check in staff is super nice and worked hard to help us with an early check in. If you can get this... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Julie D, General Manager at Makai Club, responded to this review

Katofawn, So glad to hear that you had a great stay in our Cottages. Most of our guests do like the chickens, and we are glad you were one of them. We do have ear plugs for those who don't want to listen to the chickens. We look forward to seeing you again! More 

Johnson City, Tennessee
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2015

We were close to everything and traveled most of the island. The rooms are not very sound proof but that would be my only complaint. Great suite with beautiful view. Staff was amazing and very accommodating!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Julie D, General Manager at Makai Club, responded to this review

carrie m, Aloha! We always appreciate our guests taking the time to share their experience. Our staff is our secret, each of us are here to ensure you have the best vacation! We apologize for the noise issues. During the busy weeks, when children are out of school, we can have more noise than usual. So we apologize for any... More 

Asheville, NC
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2015

This was our first time staying go at the Makai Club in Kauia. We booked our stay based on then high rating from Tripadvisor reviewers. The posters were accurate as the rooms and service were top notch. We checked in late on Easter Sunday and were very pleased to be in a newly remodeled room that met all our needs.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Julie D, General Manager at Makai Club, responded to this review

Bobby McGee, We were happy to hear that you took the advice from some of our other happy travelers who stayed at The Makai Club. Our focus is to ensure your have the best vacation possible! We will look forward to your return and work to ensure you have an even better vacation next time! Mahalo nui loa, Julie More 

Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2015

Makai Club is located in north Kauai in Princeville - rainy, cloudy side of the island. The area has a number of beaches and hiking trails, a camp ground or two and, of course, some amazing scenery. The resort is small and quiet which suited us perfectly. Quiet is a relative term, one the chickens don't understand as they begin... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Julie D, General Manager at Makai Club, responded to this review

Nana_N2623, What a great review-thank you! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and enjoy our little resort. I agree, it is great to be able to have the lanai to enjoy mornings. We are surrounded by trees and the birds are incredible this time of year. The chickens do get some getting used to! They add a fun... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

84 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (74)
Viewed
Room/suite (27)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities