We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   4180 Lei O Papa Road, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722 (Formerly Wyndham Makai Club)
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Makai Club
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Makai Club to your Saves list
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Princeville
GreenLeadersBronze level
A recent review
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    35
    14
    5
    4
See reviews for
33
55
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (109)
  • Mar-May only
    (26)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (21)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (31)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (31)
All months
Hereford, Arizona
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I would highly recommend this resort to anyone who is looking for a place that truly cares about their guests. My husband was hospitalized during our stay and the staff was so caring an made certain that all my needs were met and then some. I was alone but I never felt that I had a worry in the world.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
california
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We decided to go back to this property July, 2012. Very nice property after the renovations. The rooms are clean, the kitchens are fantastic. I highly recommend trying this property. Don't waste your time with the timeshare presentation, its a big waste of time on your vacation. Excellent location for rest and relaxation!

Was this review helpful? Yes
jdaronco, General Manager at Makai Club, responded to this review

pestlie, We are so glad that you decided to give us a second chance! We are have worked hard to create a wonderful vacation experience for our guests. We don't have a timeshare presentation on site, which has been a welcome change for our guests. We look forward to your next visit! More 

Milwaukee, WI
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
11 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

First of all, the Makai Club is different from Makai Club Cottages; however, when I try to review Makai Club Cottages, Trip Advisor brings up this screen. This review is for the Makai Club Cottages...both trade as timeshares or can be rented outside of a timeshare trade. We've stayed several times at the Makai Club Cottages (most recently this January)... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
jdaronco, General Manager at Makai Club, responded to this review

Whinny2, We appreciate your review and taking the time to share your experience. We apologize for the cool weather, such a rarity here! We actually have 5 heaters that we have for guests who may be cold on some of our cooler nights. We are reevaluating the number we have, to ensure no one else has your experience. We are... More 

Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The location is amazing, but what makes this resort so special are the people who work there. They were gracious, available and extraordinarily helpful. Every question we ever had was answered with great kindness. We have stayed at resorts with higher ratings before, but this resort under promises and over delivers. The 2 bedroom stand alone unit we stayed in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
jdaronco, General Manager at Makai Club, responded to this review

middB, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience at The Makai Club. We do sincerely care about your vacation experience, and we love what we do! Please come back and we promise that you will have an even better experience! We are also glad that you enjoyed the puried water. We are passionate about ensuring... More 

Wasilla, Alaska
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2014

We were treated like we were the only people they had to take care of. Any ?s or concerns were answered promptly Everyone was so friendly it was like being with all you're friends. We had a wonderful time and everyone was very helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
jdaronco, General Manager at Makai Club, responded to this review

Hi Winnie1940, We're thrilled to learn that our staff provided you with excellent service and were able to provide you with all the resources you needed to enjoy your stay. Come back soon for another great time. More 

San Francisco
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2014

Yes, the exterior is vintage 1980, but interiors have been remodeled to current standards (all the granite you could want.) Very quiet location, well off the highway and adjacent to a golf course. Strong, reliable wifi in the unit - not a given in much of Hawaii. Grounds are meticulously maintained and there is plenty of space between buildings. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
jdaronco, General Manager at Makai Club, responded to this review

Hi Mr_DownTowner, Thank you for your review. We're happy to know you enjoyed a quiet time and found our facilities beautiful. We'd love to welcome you back for another great time. See you soon! More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2014 via mobile

From the moment we arrived, which was closer to midnight than our originally-scheduled midday reservation, we were treated wonderfulily. The night manager was very helpful. Other staff we encountered were very friendly. The resort itself is located on a beautiful area and was very peaceful - exactly what we were looking for. I highly recommend this resort.

Was this review helpful? Yes
jdaronco, General Manager at Makai Club, responded to this review

Hi Hautebusiness, Thank you for reviewing your stay at Makai Club Cottages and recommending us. We're thrilled to hear that our staff assisted you with everything you needed to enjoy your time here. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon! More 

Orange, California
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
7 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2014

Stayed 7 nights in a 1 bedroom suite, rooms are very spaciouse and yes tye can use some updating. Rooms are very clean with some updating inThe kitchen and bath. The property is perfectly Landscaped for that Hawaii feel, but there is no ocean view. You are 5 minutes away from the Princeville shopping center and less than 10 form... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
jdaronco, General Manager at Makai Club, responded to this review

Hi JIM B, Thank you for providing us with feedback and travel tips. We're happy to know that you had the opportunity to explore the area and that you were pleased with your accommodations. Come back soon for another fun time! More 

Burbank, California
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2014

We rented a two bedroom cottage and Loved it! It had so much charm with towering vaulted ceilings, louvred windows and a petite deck on the golf course. Both bedrooms were quite large and had their own attached bathroom and dressing area. The living room is huge ! It had a separate kitchen with all the appliances and fully stocked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
jdaronco, General Manager at Makai Club, responded to this review

Hi Bonnie V, It's so great to hear that you will be coming back. We're happy to have been able to provide you with great accommodations and that you found many amenities. Thank you for posting your review. We look forward to your return. See you soon! More 

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2014

We have stayed in many timeshares in the past and the advantages of small kitchens and larger space is great. We stayed at Makai Club 7 days and I would have to say it's average. Advantages: Close to northern island activities, close to grocery store and Princeville center. TV in living room is large. They provide beach chairs and coolers... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
jdaronco, General Manager at Makai Club, responded to this review

Lita T, We were sad to hear that you did not have an extrodinary experience at the Makai Club. Our guests either love or hate the local roosters. Having the green area (woods) right up to our buildings is great for appearances, but unfortunately there are chickens that live in that area and they like to visit our resort too.... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Makai Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Makai Club

Address: 4180 Lei O Papa Road, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722 (Formerly Wyndham Makai Club)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Princeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Makai Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Makai Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Makai Club Hotel Princeville
Makai Club Princeville, Kauai

142 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (69)
Viewed
Room/suite (25)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (73)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (18)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (27)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay