We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Makai Club

GreenLeadersBronze level
3.5 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel packages
4180 Lei O Papa Road, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722 (Formerly Wyndham Makai Club)
Special Price
10% Off Entire Stay!
Makai Club
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ranked #1 of 2 Princeville B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersBronze level
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
ljcarrll Kennesaw, GA
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    39
    14
    5
    4
See reviews for
38
62
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (121)
  • Mar-May only
    (34)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (21)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (31)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (35)
All months
Kennesaw, GA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We've been owners at this property for almost 20 years. The first impression of entering the resort was how great the grounds had been kept. The staff was extremely helpful in coordinating our activities with 4 family groups and several different activities on the same day. The was a huge effort and made our stay that much easier. The units... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pasadena, California
Top Contributor
198 reviews 198 reviews
47 hotel reviews
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The pros: great location, affordable, kitchen, laundry, and comfortable settings. Cons: the resort conducts routine spraying on its grounds. The very large roaches run indoors during these sprayings. Understandably, these critters are part of Hawaii, and they are slow enough to easily capture. However, I would avoid ground level condos if at all possible. Despite the roaches we still enjoyed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manteca, California
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We had the best view of the mountains from our lanai The only disappointment we had is the water was too cold. Not freezing but we like it a but warmer. The weather was perfect. Between 75-82 degrees and great trade winds. Aloha!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Grand Ledge, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We have stayed at the Makai cottages twice now and love it. It is a great north shore location in a quiet part of princeville. The cottage is huge a great space for two couples. Very clean, great layout.Check in staff is super nice and worked hard to help us with an early check in. If you can get this... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Johnson City, Tennessee
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were close to everything and traveled most of the island. The rooms are not very sound proof but that would be my only complaint. Great suite with beautiful view. Staff was amazing and very accommodating!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Julie D, General Manager at Makai Club, responded to this review

carrie m, Aloha! We always appreciate our guests taking the time to share their experience. Our staff is our secret, each of us are here to ensure you have the best vacation! We apologize for the noise issues. During the busy weeks, when children are out of school, we can have more noise than usual. So we apologize for any... More 

Asheville, NC
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This was our first time staying go at the Makai Club in Kauia. We booked our stay based on then high rating from Tripadvisor reviewers. The posters were accurate as the rooms and service were top notch. We checked in late on Easter Sunday and were very pleased to be in a newly remodeled room that met all our needs.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Julie D, General Manager at Makai Club, responded to this review

Bobby McGee, We were happy to hear that you took the advice from some of our other happy travelers who stayed at The Makai Club. Our focus is to ensure your have the best vacation possible! We will look forward to your return and work to ensure you have an even better vacation next time! Mahalo nui loa, Julie More 

Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Makai Club is located in north Kauai in Princeville - rainy, cloudy side of the island. The area has a number of beaches and hiking trails, a camp ground or two and, of course, some amazing scenery. The resort is small and quiet which suited us perfectly. Quiet is a relative term, one the chickens don't understand as they begin... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Julie D, General Manager at Makai Club, responded to this review

Nana_N2623, What a great review-thank you! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and enjoy our little resort. I agree, it is great to be able to have the lanai to enjoy mornings. We are surrounded by trees and the birds are incredible this time of year. The chickens do get some getting used to! They add a fun... More 

Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

As a family of 6 we had one of the two bedroom cottages. It was very spacious and had all the amenities you would need to cook, sleep and stay for an extended time. The beds were comfortable and the kids loved all of the deck space to hang outside. The only complaint would be how tiny their pool is.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Julesbybeach, General Manager at Makai Club, responded to this review

GJL 1993, We are so glad that you had a great stay at the Makai Club. We agree that our pool is small, but we do help our guests find all the gorgeous beaches on Kauai! We also have an incredible concierge who will line up boat, helicopter and all the fun activities on island. We hope to see you... More 

Whitefish, Montana
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

Check in was a breeze and the staff pleasant. Our unit was much more private than I would have expected. Clean and airy with a well furnished kitchen and a large screen TV. We spent time on the balcony and enjoyed the varied bird calls and tropical foilage. It would be nice if the unit had an Ipod player but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
jdaronco, General Manager at Makai Club, responded to this review

atrippin 101, We are so glad you had an enjoyable and relaxing stay with us. We also appreciate your suggestions on how to make Makai Club even better! We are in the process of purchasing a product for your smartphone to use as a radio. And the toaster oven is a great idea! The WiFi is in the process of... More 

Kauai, Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

Our check -in took a whole 4 minutes and we were in our room 4 minutes later. We opened the doors and went wow. We live here and never been to this propoerty before and booked it just by chance and we were so happy we did. I love the open feeling you get when walking in and the cleanliness... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
jdaronco, General Manager at Makai Club, responded to this review

Kawika 2015, Thank you so much for the kind words! Our Front Desk Team works hard to balance giving you just enough information without delaying the start of your vacation. Please come back for another staycation. We look forward to seeing you soon! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

84 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (74)
Viewed
Room/suite (27)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question