We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows

2253-B Poipu Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    216
    65
    30
    13
See reviews for
171
304
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (590)
  • Mar-May only
    (151)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (123)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (167)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (149)
All months
There are newer reviews for Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows
See the most recent reviews
LA area
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2011

Our beachfront condo had a tremendous view...spectacular, really, and right on the water. The grounds were nicely maintained, beautiful trees and lawn and the staff was always pleasant. We did have some issues with our condo and I thought that at the rate we were charged it should have been as great as the grounds. The kitchen, especially, was very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
KiahunaGM, General Manager at Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent stay! We are glad that you enjoyed yourself. As to your comments on the unit, we will check it out and see what needs attention. We don't have many beachfront units, so it should be easy to figure out where you stayed. We hope that you come back soon - feel free to contact me... More 

Mountain View, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2011

We came back in May after spending a week in January. Same building and room. It was another wonderful stay at Castle Kiahuna. The grounds are immaculate and the front desk folks very friendly. We hope to return one more time this year in October. Thank you for giving us a memorable vacation!

Was this review helpful? Yes
KiahunaGM, General Manager at Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows, responded to this review

Wow - we are happy that you come here often! Feel free to contact me any time I can be of assistance. I was pleased to see that you found our staff to be friendly - we are proud of our team! Mahalo, Roy Thompson General Manager More 

Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
21 hotel reviews
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2011

This is a resort condo type of place. We got an upper-floor condo on a corner (good for ventilation). Clean and pleasant unit. Nice to have kitchen for cooking and snacking. There are several restaurants in the area, but more convenient to do our own food for breakfast, lunch, touring. Close to shopping, espresso, etc. Golf, pool, beach available, but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
KiahunaGM, General Manager at Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows, responded to this review

We are very pleased to see you enjoyed your visit! Mahalo, Roy Thompson General Manager More 

Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2011

My husband and I just returned from spending a week in Kauai and staying at Kiahuna Plantation and we loved it. We stayed in unit 52 in Building 10, it is an updated one bedroom unit that had a fully stocked kitchen and very comfortable furniture. We did not encounter any bugs in our unit and everything was clean. We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
KiahunaGM, General Manager at Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows, responded to this review

Unit 52 is indeed nice - and we do really recommend the Garden Paradise category. It is not as pricey as our Ocean View and Beach Front, but you are still very close to the beach and overlook the Great Lawn. Please come back and visit us again soon! Aloha, Roy Thompson General Manager More 

Seattle, Wa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2011

We are completely happy with our stay. We had a beachfront condo with a beautiful view. The condo was modern, clean, and very comfortable. They provide daily room service. We will be back. As far as some of the issues others have written about: Chickens - They got loose during a huricanne in the 80's. If you don't want to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
KiahunaGM, General Manager at Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows, responded to this review

Thank you so much for a Great Review! It was very complete, and addresses in detail many of the issues that are written about in both the forum area and the review section. If there is any assistance I can offer when you are ready to return, please feel free to contact me directely. Mahalo and aloha, Roy Thompson General... More 

Queen Creek, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2011

The view from our back sliding door was gorgeous, as we were in building 4, room 16. It was a little noisy since the windows were louvred shutters, so you couldn't get a sound tight seal. Also made for a little apprehension as far as security.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
KiahunaGM, General Manager at Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent visit. #16 has been nicely renovated recently, and in addition we are, as of this writing, upgrading the bathroom as well. We hope that you will come back and visit us again soon! Aloha, Roy Thompson General Manager More 

Springfield, Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2011

Staying at the Plantation is always a great stay. Rooms are decorated different, by owner’s choice, some better than other, but all are clean and well taken care of. The grounds are very nice and well taken care of, the staff is excellent. They accommodate me every time I visit. I probably come out to Kauai about 5-6 times a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
KiahunaGM, General Manager at Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows, responded to this review

Aloha and mahalo for your recent stay with us! Wow! You come here a lot! Please feel free to contact me personally if I can ever be of help to you. We do sincerely apprecate a many time returnee such as yourself. Best regards, Roy Thompson General Manager More 

Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2011

We booked our condo through VRBO and we were very happy with our choice to stay in Condo #24 at the Kiahuna. Our condo had recently been remodeled and was clean and beautiful inside. Granite counters in the kitchen and bathroom and nice furnishings throughout. The main bedroom king sized bed and the queen sized pull out sofa were both... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
KiahunaGM, General Manager at Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows, responded to this review

We are so happy that you enjoyed yourself here in paradise! #24 is indeed beautiful. I am pleased that our staff was responsive to your needs as well. We hope to see you back very soon! Mahalo and aloha, Roy Thompson General Manager More 

Gunnison, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2011

Upon arrival we were upgraded to an Ocean View room! The condo was very clean, modern and very cozy. We enjoyed many mornings on our Lanai. The grounds are immaculate and much pride in their resort is shown through beautiful landscaping and wonderful garden paths. The office staff is very attentive and the groundskeepers were always polite. The sandy beach... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
KiahunaGM, General Manager at Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows, responded to this review

You were the beneficiary of our running out of your contracted category, so I am happy to hear that you appreciated the fact that we upgraded your view! Your kind comments about my staff will be passed on. We hope to see you back soon! Aloha, Roy Thompson General Manager More 

Laguna Niguel, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2011

Problems started when we first checked in - we were not told that this facility had no elevators (we stayed on the 2nd floor) and have difficulties walking. There was no air conditioning in the suite and it did become very hot while we were out touring. The kitchen was a disgrace! The "fully equipped" kitchen was awful; only one... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
KiahunaGM, General Manager at Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows, responded to this review

We apologize that your stay was not perfect. I private messaged you to find out your unit number so that I can follow up, but as of this writing I have not heard back from you. Since you state that you booked through a travel agent, I was surprised to hear that you were not aware that we do not... More 

Hotel Review Summarization

What travelers say

  • Very nice(5)
  • Shopping center(4)
  • Ocean views(4)
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

1,045 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (293)
Viewed
View from room (30)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (61)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (60)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (50)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (77)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (717)
Viewed
Amenities (39)
Viewed
Beach (54)
Viewed
Children's Pool (7)
Viewed
One-bedroom garden view (75)
Viewed
One-bedroom ocean view (70)
Viewed
Pool (42)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (48)
Viewed
Standard Room (153)
Viewed
The Hotel (109)
Viewed
Two-Bedroom Oceanfront Suite (120)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (35)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (16)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question