We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 29 Poipu accommodations

Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows

3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   2253-B Poipu Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Fall for Hawaii
Save Saved
You added Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows to your Saves list
Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
83%
Ranked #12 of 29 Specialty lodging in Poipu
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2010
hms999 Los Angeles, California
  • Overview
  • Reviews (537)
  • Photos (1,025)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (161)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

537 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    242
    198
    59
    25
    13
See reviews for
152
275
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
There are newer reviews for Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows
See the most recent reviews
Los Angeles, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2010

We were initially booked into a room near the main road and could not sleep because of the noise of cars. The next day we were able to get moved into a FANTASTIC unit in building 27 and the cost was only about $30 more thanks to a last minute special. The staff was gracious about this and very accommodating.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
KiahunaGM, General Manager at Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows, responded to this review

I am pleased that our staff was responsive to your needs. Your kind comments will be passed on to them. Great that you will be coming back to visit us again! Feel free to contact me if I can be of assistance. We truly appreciate and value your continued support. Mahalo, Roy Thompson General Manager More

Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2010

My wife and I went to Kauai to celebrate our 10th anniversary, and we chose Kauai as the destination for our first time to any of the islands based on tons of feedback from other people. We will never regret that decision. It was by far one of the best vacations she and I have ever been on. We knew... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
KiahunaGM, General Manager at Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the great review! That unit is in our Garden Paradise category, and as I have commented on other reviews, the GP units are a great deal! You don't pay the premium price for an Ocean View, yet are still close to the water and they feature fantastic views of our Great Lawn. Please come back... More

Denver
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2010

Pluses: Nice beach Some oceanfront units have sunset views good snorkeling a walk away condo with kitchen basics Minuses: Big groups common Can hear everything; cell phones, music, TVs, people at night Smoking allowed on open lawn Large rowdy group below us Management wouldn't change our room ("private rental") We forfeited prepaid rental to move elsewhere

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
KiahunaGM, General Manager at Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows, responded to this review

We do remember your recent visit, and are sorry that you did not enjoy yourself. We did offer quite a few options on room moves, but you declined. You are right - Kiahuna is not for everyone! But it is for most. Best regards, Roy Thompson General Manager More

Ashland City, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2010

My husband and I stayed in unit #55 in building 10 for 5 days on our honeymoon. It was a second floor one bedroom "Garden View Paradise class". The fact that it was on the second floor probably helped a lot with the air circulation, because we could keep the sliding doors open the whole time. While it was a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
KiahunaGM, General Manager at Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows, responded to this review

Aloha and Mahalo for your nice review! #55 is indeed a beautiful unit, and as I have commented on other reviews, we do love the Garden Paradise category. It is much less expensive than our Ocean View and Beachfront categories, but still has a fantastic view of our Great Lawn and is only a very short distance from the beach.... More

california
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2010

This is a pretty nice complex of individually owned condos, I think the location is great and the hotel does its best to provide. However their is only one downside and thats no a/c. If your on one of the upper floors its probably a bit better because you can leave the slider open in the living room but if... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
KiahunaGM, General Manager at Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. It can indeed get hot here at certain times of the year. I know that the past couple of weeks we have been missing our normal trade winds. And yes, the pool is across the street - but remember, while it is not near the beach like other hotels, we have the GREATEST beach in... More

Palatine, Illinois
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2010

Good condo with location right on the beach. Close to restaurants. Be sure to walk thru the Moir Gardens on the property.

Was this review helpful? Yes
KiahunaGM, General Manager at Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows, responded to this review

Mahalo for your positive review! Come back and see us soon. Aloha, Roy Thompson General Manager More

Scottsdale, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2010

Situated on nice beach. Big lawn filled with people. Young folks spent days hanginging out drinking and playing. Large groups congregating around BBQ. Heard TVs, music. laughing, late night stumbling, etc. through walls. Reminded us of college dorm days. Even saw a naked kid. Not for everyone. Castle Reosrts Office sits between the laundry and the dumpsters. Outrigger by Plantation... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
KiahunaGM, General Manager at Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows, responded to this review

Aloha - We apologize that you did not find our resort to your liking. We most definately do have a lot of children here at times during the year! Please feel free to check out our property map - we are located several buildings away from the on site laundry and garbage area. We hope that you will visit us... More

Seattle
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2010

We honestly did not know quite what to expect when we arrived at the Castle Kiahuna Plantation- and were very pleasantly surprised. Our 2 story ocean view condo overlooked the pond and bordered a lovely orchid garden. We had covered lanais on both floors- the lanai off the master bedroom had chaise lounge chairs and the top story had several... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
KiahunaGM, General Manager at Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows, responded to this review

Mahalo for the great review! We sincerely apprecited it. As you point out, we are blessed with a great beach, and a fabulous location. We do hope that you will be able to visit us again soon, and look forward very much to assisting you in any way. Aloha, Roy Thompson General Manager More

Seattle
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2010

Open windows meant lots of noise; crying babies, construction, others' music, etc. Rooms stuffy without the open windows.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
KiahunaGM, General Manager at Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows, responded to this review

We were very sorry to see that you did not enjoy your recent stay with us. Our pool location is indeed a short distance away as you note. We hope that you will find the opportunity to stay with us again, and should that be the case, please feel free to contact me directly for assistance. I will do my... More

Mililani, Hawaii
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2010

The property was stunning and located right on beutiful Poipu Beach. The room was very clean and newly upgraded. The kids loved the pool especially because it had a waterslide. The staff was quick in bringing extra towels and blankets when requested. Would love to go back and stay longer.

Was this review helpful? Yes
KiahunaGM, General Manager at Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows, responded to this review

Mahalo for your review! We were pleased to see that our staff responded promptly to your requests and that you enjoyed our pool. Come back and visit us soon! Aloha, Roy Thompson, GM More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Hotel Summarization (Beta)

What travelers say

  • Very nice(5)
  • Ocean views(4)
  • Shopping center(4)
  • Full kitchen(3)

Additional Information about Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows

Address: 2253-B Poipu Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Amex, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Kiahuna Plantation & Beach Bungalows Hotel Poipu
Castle Kiahuna Plantation And Beach Bungalows
Castle Kiahuna Plantation Beach Hotel
Kauai Bungalows
Castle Kiahuna Plantation Beach Resort
Beach Bungalows Hawaii
Kiahuna Plantation
Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows Kauai/Poipu

1,025 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (275)
Viewed
Room/suite (50)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (58)
Viewed
View from room (26)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (55)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (73)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (717)
Viewed
Amenities (39)
Viewed
Beach (54)
Viewed
Children's Pool (7)
Viewed
One-bedroom garden view (75)
Viewed
One-bedroom ocean view (70)
Viewed
Pool (42)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (48)
Viewed
Standard Room (153)
Viewed
The Hotel (109)
Viewed
Two-Bedroom Oceanfront Suite (120)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (34)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in
any neighborhood
in Poipu with
any amenities

Amenities

Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Kiahuna Plantation and The Beach Bungalows is on a sandy beach amid 35 acres of lush, landscaped grounds, including Moir gardens. One- and two-bedroom suites offer garden or ocean views and full kitchens. Amenities include barbecues, a restaurant, resort-style pool, jet spa, tennis courts, and a beach activity center. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
333

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer