We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 30 Poipu accommodations

Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows

3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   2253-B Poipu Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Fall for Hawaii
Save Saved
You added Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows to your Saves list
Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
83%
Ranked #13 of 30 Specialty lodging in Poipu
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014
FrequentTraveler005 Beverly Hills CA
  • Overview
  • Reviews (537)
  • Photos (1,032)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (161)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

537 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    242
    198
    59
    25
    13
See reviews for
152
275
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
There are newer reviews for Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows
See the most recent reviews
Beverly Hills CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

WE had unit 94 in building 16 managed by Castle. Equipment was excellent. Kitchen was fully equipped and we had no problems with any of the appliances. There were only two of us, and for that the unit was spacious. Negatives: mosquitoes or no-see-yums. We recommend you go heavy on the Deet. And the unit is close to the road... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

This review comes a little late as we stayed here in October last year. The accommodation was great, simple and clean, which suited our needs. The decor was a little dated, but this didn't bother us. The grounds of the property are beautiful and well maintained, with lovely gardens and large lawned areas. The beach was stunning, I was really... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Surprise, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We had a two story unit that was just beautiful. The windows were open the entire time with a warm breeze morning and night. I'm not one to stay in a very modern place when going to an island - they just don't go together. This place was very comfortable for our family of 4, we had plenty of room,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

We spent two full weeks at this resort; it was our second visit this year. Both visits we had an ocean view condo and both times, it was great! We stayed in an upper unit the first time; the second time was ground level. We enjoyed having the lanai just a short walk to the beach and used it a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
spokane, wa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Our condo was a Garden View on the ground level. Unit was a bit dated but nice and clean. It smelled a bit musty for the first day or so but got better. My biggest complaint is the lack of a pool on the grounds, yes, they have a pool across the street up a hill. The pool is not... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Glendale
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

When we arrived, the girls working the front desk seemed rather bored and unfriendly. Our room was all the way to the back of the complex; none of it looking like the photos online. . The room was very, very worn down. Yes, it had everything it was supposed to have, but it was all old and outdated. The bathroom... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
KiahunaGM, General Manager at Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows, responded to this review

We are very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay here at Kiahuna. If your room was located at the back of the property, you must have booked a Garden View Category. For others reading this post, I suggest that you consider our Garden Paradise category. These units are located in the center of the property, much closer to... More

Weatherford, Oklahoma
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

We stayed in the Castle Resort portion of KPBB in Building 26 at the end of May. KPBB has beautiful grounds, and the 1 bdrm condos are great for 2 people. We moved after the first day because we were put on the very back top side in 39, which was hot (no air conditioning or floor fans) and noisy... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
KiahunaGM, General Manager at Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows, responded to this review

Mahalo for your visit, and your nice comments about our property. We appreciate it very much! Call me if I can ever be of assistance when you return. Aloha, Roy Thompson General Manager More

Kansas City, Missouri
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

We are coming to the end of our stay here. In 167. Our condo is very nice and updated. There is no air conditioning in these units but it really hasn't been an issue, there is a nice breeze and the ceiling fans are worth their weight in gold. It is my understanding that they are all privately owned so... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
KiahunaGM, General Manager at Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows, responded to this review

Mahalo for your stay! Yes, unit 167 is very nice. We hope that you come back and stay with us again very soon. Aloha, Roy Thompson General Manager More

Petaluma, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

We returned to this beautiful resort again as it is our favorite accommodation on Kauai. The grounds are lush and the views of the ocean spectacular. All the staff is wonderful and helpful especially since I was on crutches this trip. The condo itself was very quiet and fully equipped. You don't feel like you are at some typical hotel,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
KiahunaGM, General Manager at Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows, responded to this review

Awesome! We are so pleased when folks return to our property regularly. I am so sorry you were on crutches, but pleased that our staff were able to assist you. Please feel free to contact me if you require assistance for your next visit. Aloha, Roy Thompson General Manager More

Littleton, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

We just spent the first week in June at the Castle Kiahuna on Poipu Beach - our first time in Kauai, and had an excellent time. All of the staff were friendly and professional, our condo was very clean and well appointed, and the grounds are beautifully kept. It took us a couple of nights to get used to the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
KiahunaGM, General Manager at Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows, responded to this review

Mahalo for your first visit to Kauai, and we are so pleased that you chose Kiahuna Plantation to be your home away from home. It is no secret that I share your fondness for the happy hours at those two shopping centers. Maybe our paths crossed! Please do come back soon, and let me know if I can assist you.... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Hotel Summarization (Beta)

What travelers say

  • Very nice(5)
  • Shopping center(4)
  • Ocean views(4)
  • Full kitchen(3)

Additional Information about Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows

Address: 2253-B Poipu Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Kiahuna Plantation & Beach Bungalows Hotel Poipu
Castle Kiahuna Plantation And Beach Bungalows
Castle Kiahuna Plantation Beach Hotel
Kauai Bungalows
Castle Kiahuna Plantation Beach Resort
Beach Bungalows Hawaii
Kiahuna Plantation
Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows Kauai/Poipu

1,032 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (272)
Viewed
Room/suite (47)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (58)
Viewed
View from room (26)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (55)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (73)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (727)
Viewed
Amenities (39)
Viewed
Beach (54)
Viewed
Children's Pool (7)
Viewed
One-bedroom garden view (75)
Viewed
One-bedroom ocean view (70)
Viewed
Pool (42)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (48)
Viewed
Standard Room (153)
Viewed
The Hotel (111)
Viewed
Two-Bedroom Oceanfront Suite (128)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (34)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in
any neighborhood
in Poipu with
any amenities

Amenities

Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Kiahuna Plantation and The Beach Bungalows is on a sandy beach amid 35 acres of lush, landscaped grounds, including Moir gardens. One- and two-bedroom suites offer garden or ocean views and full kitchens. Amenities include barbecues, a restaurant, resort-style pool, jet spa, tennis courts, and a beach activity center. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
333

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer