We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation

3.0 of 5 2253 Poipu Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Special Offer
Use Promo Code & Save Now
#18 of 29 Hotels in Poipu
656 Reviews 4 of 5 stars
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    244
    77
    50
    27
See reviews for
221
289
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fullerton, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation had everything we needed for a great vacation. I had the Garden View unit 16, room 99, on the third floor and had a good view of the ocean from the balcony. The unit was only a short walk thru the plantation gardens to the beach. The lack of A/C is not a problem as the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMofOutriggerKiahuna, General Manager at Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation, responded to this review

Dear BruttoPorco, Thank you for the great review. Hope you are able to return soon. e Malama Pono, Chris Gampon General Manager More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My sister and I were visiting, and she left a much treasured necklace in the dresser. We discovered it missing a few days later and called the Outrigger right as we were heading for our red-eye flight back to the mainland. It was late at night, so we left a message. The staff called us RIGHT back, and after we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMofOutriggerKiahuna, General Manager at Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation, responded to this review

Dear Linda M, It was our pleasure to return your necklace. Thank you for the great review. Unfortunately, roosters are part of the Kauai charm. Warmest Aloha, Chris Gampon General Manager. More

San Diego
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We requested Unit 195 in Building 30, which we last visited in September 2010 and minutes after arriving on property jumped into our suits and into the water for some late afternoon snorkeling in the water below our oceanfront unit. Aloha! A wonderful beginning to an awesome week on Kauai. There was a swell, some waves, sometimes stirring up sand... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Boston
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed at Kiahuna Plantation while I was in the process of relocating to Kauai. I was in a ground floor unit immediately to the left of the entrance that also takes you to Waiohai and Koa Kea. The unit itself was reasonably nice, with comfortably sized rooms, a nice kitchen and a great lanai. The bathroom was split into... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GMofOutriggerKiahuna, General Manager at Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation, responded to this review

Dear BostonTravellers, Thank you for your detailed review. It is unfortunate that you had so many critters in your unit. Summertime brings them out of hiding. The weather at this time of year is almost always hot and humid. We hope that you have settled into you new island home. e Malama Pono, Chris Gampon General Manager More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I ARRIVE AND HOTEL GUESTS ARE SITTING ON BALCONIES. LOBBY AND RESTAURANT DOORS ARE WIDE OPEN. This property DOES NOT have Air Conditioning. I check in and out on the same day Early September, I sat in the hotel room for 1 hour sweating, changing clothes, and drinking tons of water to stay hydrated. The management refuse to refund the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GMofOutriggerKiahuna, Manager at Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation, responded to this review

Dear liz b, We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your experience. We apologize for any confusion. You should have received a refund after you checked out. If you have not, please do not hesitate to contact me directly. Mahalo, Gana Maheshwaran Assistant General Manager More

TX
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is the first time for our family to stay. It has beautiful landscaping, short access to the beach. Nice location. Plenty of space for a family of 4-5. Two bedrooms, upstairs living and kitchen. Shortcomings are no A/C, we had to open windows and were waken up very early by roosters. The room is not very clean. We saw... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
6 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I have been coming to Kiahuna for about 15 years now and have never had a bad time here. I give them four stars and not five because many things look the same from 15 years ago and some things could use some updating. However, the service and scenery keep me and my family coming back year after year. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Camas, Washington
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Just finished a two week vacation at the Kiahuna Plantation. This was my 5th time there since 1997. I've been there as a teenager, a young married couple, and a family with two young kids. As much as we overall have enjoyed this condo and the beautiful grounds in the past, this past trip was a little frustrating/disappointing. Pros: -Has... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 11
Bartlett, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

This is a condo unit located on the southern part of Kauai. You are close to Poipu Beach which is only a 15 minute walk. The hotel also has a nice beach which is good for swimming. This is good as the hotel does not have a pool. Our room was very comfortable but does not have air conditioning. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

It is hit or miss here... I give 5 stars to the rooms we had in the past that were well stocked with dishes, washer and dryer, laundry soap, coolers, salt and pepper... All the little details that help make a place like home. The last few trips we got rooms with the bare minimum. Be sure to ask what... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Hotel Summarization (Beta)

What travelers say

  • Ocean views(11)
  • Very nice(9)
  • Full kitchen(5)
  • Great Place(5)
  • Parking lot(4)
  • Short walk(4)
  • Grounds were beautiful(3)

Additional Information about Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation

Address: 2253 Poipu Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Orbitz, HotelsClick, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation Hotel Poipu
Outrigger Hotel Kiahuna Plantation
Outrigger Hotel Koloa
Outrigger Poipu
Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation Kauai/Poipu

1,204 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (403)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (56)
Viewed
Room/suite (92)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (60)
Viewed
View from room (60)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
1:18
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (109)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (786)
Viewed
Amenities (70)
Viewed
Beach (79)
Viewed
Children's Pool (6)
Viewed
One Bedroom Suite -- Garden View (152)
Viewed
One Bedroom Suite -- Ocean View (68)
Viewed
One Bedroom Suite -- Royal Garden View (88)
Viewed
Pool (48)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (34)
Viewed
The Hotel (121)
Viewed
Two Bedroom Suite -- Ocean View (120)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in
any neighborhood
in Poipu with
any amenities