We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kiahuna Plantation Resort

Hotel website
Hotel deals
2253 Poipu Road, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756
Special Offer
Book Best Available Rate
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kiahuna Plantation Resort
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Kiahuna Plantation Resort
Add Photo Write a Review

1,368 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    568
    507
    154
    96
    43
See reviews for
436
660
17
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (396)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1368)
  • Mar-May only
    (358)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (340)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (320)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (350)
All months
Level Contributor
93 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

So my parents were very kind to pay for a vacation for my family to Kauai, however, that meant they made all of the reservations. We are fairly picky about where we stay, and needless to say, I would not have chosen this location had we been paying for it. The best part of it by far is that the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
KiahunaGM, General Manager at Kiahuna Plantation Resort, responded to this review

I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay, however, I am not sure why this review shows that you stayed with Castle Resorts. It should have shown Outrigger, as they do not provide daily maid service, which Castle does. I hope that TA fixes this issue, as your review does not reflect the excellent service that my company provides... More 

Sacramento, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Kaihuna Plantation by Outrigger has a lovely location on Poi'pu. The grounds are gorgeous, the beach beautiful (though a little rough for my five year old). Beach chairs and towels are easy to come by and there's lots of space. Poi'pu is noticeably less crowded than Maui which we liked. The front desk staff was very pleasant and Bart the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GMofKiahuna, General Manager at Kiahuna Plantation Resort, responded to this review

Dear adorchien, Thank you for the review. We apologize that the the faulty screens caused a damper on your vacation. Hopefully, your son has fully recovered from all his bug bites. It sounds like it could have been the perfect vacation in the perfect location minus the mosquitos. We hope that you will give us another chance at Kiahuna Plantation... More 

San Diego, California
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Things started off very nice. Unfortunately, we had the pleasure of finding cockroaches in the unit and in my daughter's bed. Since the Owner lives in CA, we immediately called the Front Desk. Unfortunately, no one answered since it was in the evening. We left a message for the GM and never received a return call. We also had two... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMofKiahuna, General Manager at Kiahuna Plantation Resort, responded to this review

Dear cberman1, Thank you for your review. We apologize that your stay at Kiahuna did not meet your expectations. We hope you are willing to give us a second chance. Please contact me directly if you would like to return. We will make sure your next stay is flawless. e Malama Pono, Chris Gampon Outrigger General Manager More 

Fresno, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was my first trip to Kauai. I did not do enough research to determine the best part of the island on which to stay. However, I was very fortunate and booked my stay at the Kiahuna Plantation Resort. I had a one bedroom condo that was more than adequately furnished. Cooked almost all my breakfasts and a few dinners... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
KiahunaGM, General Manager at Kiahuna Plantation Resort, responded to this review

Mahalo for your kind comments. I hope that you come back again soon! Aloha, Roy Thompson General Manager Castle Resorts & Hotels More 

Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Kiahuna Plantation consists of two or three story buildings with condo's on the first or second floor. Most units are owned by individuals, so even if there are decorating differences for each unit, the layouts are basically the same. One side is managed by Outrigger and the other by Castle Resorts. If you reserve through Outrigger you may not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
KiahunaGM, General Manager at Kiahuna Plantation Resort, responded to this review

Mahalo for choosing Castle Resorts & Hotels! We appreciate your business. Just a small comment for anyone reading this that might not be familiar with our beautiful property. The review states "one side is managed by Castle and the other side by Outrigger". While is is correct that both companies operate on site, the units each manages are scattered around... More 

Carpinteria, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here 3 nights in June. Beautiful grounds, scenery, and right on the beach. However, the condo we stayed in had no AC, and the hideabed was terrible. The decor is showing its age. However, the location is great- literally on the beach. Well managed, good welcome even though late at night.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GMofKiahuna, General Manager at Kiahuna Plantation Resort, responded to this review

Dear carped8ta, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Our beach, grounds and service are what makes Kiahuna so special. Unfortunately, there is no AC. There are only a handful of days that we we wish we had that. Normally, the tradewinds keep everything cool. We continue to try to encourage our owners to keep their units... More 

El Granada, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

So we are obviously great fans of Kiahuna. We were married here too in 2006 so I can speak to that experience as well. Our most recent visit was at the end of June, 2015. My review and rating are for this most recent 9-night stay in Building 7. Kiahuna Plantation Resort is a fantastic family destination. We have stayed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
KiahunaGM, General Manager at Kiahuna Plantation Resort, responded to this review

What a great review! Very detailed and full of helpful tips for future guests. And, thank you for the 5 stars! Please come back soon, and feel free to contact me at any time should you need assistance. Aloha, Roy Thompson General Manager Castle Resorts & Hotels More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here for 10 days in room 25. It was recently updated, has all of the amenities we needed and has a wonderful ocean view. The condo comes with an activity closet- bikes, boogie boards and paperbacks. Especially loved the ocean breeze in the afternoons. There is on site laundry and beach towels available. Looking forward to coming back!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
KiahunaGM, General Manager at Kiahuna Plantation Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much! We look forward to your return as well. Sincerely, Roy Thompson General Manager Castle Resorts & Hotels More 

Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This place was super awesome! Everything we hoped for! We have saved so much by grilling and eating in. The beach was close and the condo is equipped with everything we needed like boogie boards! Would recommend this place ... It a the right place for the right price

Was this review helpful? Yes
KiahunaGM, General Manager at Kiahuna Plantation Resort, responded to this review

Super Awesome? Wow! Mahalo! We do hope that you return soon, and look forward to meeting you. Aloha, Roy Thompson General Manager Castle Resorts & Hotels More 

Corona, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We have stayed at the Kiahuna Plantation Condos two times and we have also stayed at the Koa Kea Resort Hotel right next door. There are pluses and minuses to the condo stay. The obvious plus is that you have a full kitchen that can save you lots of money from eating out every meal. We stocked up on food... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
KiahunaGM, General Manager at Kiahuna Plantation Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the review. Building 3 has a great location, and I am leased that you enjoyed it. Please do come back soon. Aloha, Roy Thompson General Manager Castle Resorts & Hotels More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

1,549 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (743)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (141)
Viewed
Room/suite (145)
Viewed
View from room (96)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (124)
Viewed
Dining (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
1:18
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (196)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (786)
Viewed
Amenities (70)
Viewed
Beach (79)
Viewed
Children's Pool (6)
Viewed
One Bedroom Suite -- Garden View (152)
Viewed
One Bedroom Suite -- Ocean View (68)
Viewed
One Bedroom Suite -- Royal Garden View (88)
Viewed
Pool (48)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (34)
Viewed
The Hotel (121)
Viewed
Two Bedroom Suite -- Ocean View (120)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Kauai Beach Resort
#5 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 stars 1,695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Koloa
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay