We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Kauai Inn

#7 of 11 Hotels in Lihue
Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
2430 Hulemalu Rd, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Kauai Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Kauai Inn
The Kauai Inn
The Kauai Inn
Add Photo

281 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    106
    131
    30
    9
    5
See reviews for
43
166
16
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (281)
  • Mar-May only
    (75)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (55)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (73)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (78)
All months
Honolulu, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Hotel near Menehune pond and Nawiliwili harbor. 10 minutes from Rice street (main street). Rooms are dated, but comfortable. In room microwave and mini refrigerator. Daily continental breakfast served. Quiet and rustic surroundings. Lots of chickens roaming property (and the island). Helpful and friendly staff. Maid service available. Free parking. There is a coin operated laundry room. No restaurant on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We chose this hotel based on previous reviews, the proximity to the airport and the quiet location. We were at the end of our vacation and just needed a room for two nights. The hotel is older and didn't seem to have many guests which made us wonder in hindsight why we were put in a room next to an... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

If you're looking for chic modern conveniences then the Kaiuai Inn isn't for you. But if you want a comfortable bed in a large, clean room with private bath/shower, a/c and ceiling fan, amazingly relaxed booking in and welcome on arrival - "you can sort the paper work out in the morning" - and wake up to a beautiful setting... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We needed a one night hotel and did not want to spend a lot of money so the Kauai Inn seemed to fit the need. The reviews are pretty amazing so we felt confident in our selection. We were certainly disappointed. The grounds are very well kept. Upon arriving, I asked to confirm that we had requested a late check... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Wailua, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2015

Kauai Inn staff is amazing. They are friendly and willing to help you with almost anything! The place is a little off the beaten track, but offers an affordable and quiet vacation spot. Located in Lihue, it is easy to get to anywhere on the island that you want to get to.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Point Pleasant, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2015

Beautiful spot! Close to the airport close to restaurants (Dukes was my fav) rented a car and was in a good location to drive all over the island! Nice view of the mountains I loved the rooms and the privacy! BBQ area in the back where we bought some tuna stakes and enjoyed a night in! I loved kauai and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
St. Catharines, Canada
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
23 hotel reviews
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2015

I stayed here solo the night before hiking the Napili Coast's Kalalau trail. My room was clean, the bed comfortable and the overall feeling was of a quiet 2-3 star accommodation. The rates were very good for my needs. No complaints or disappointments at all. After my hike was done I needed a room for another night and had no... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wanganui, New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2015

We stayed at the Kauai Inn for 6 nights. While exploring the rest of the island we concluded the Kauaii Inn was the best location as a base to see the rest of everything. It was close to both the Kuku Grove shopping centre, which has everything you need - and Walmart as well. The Inn was in a nice... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Kaunakakai, Hawaii
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2015

Well kept and comfortable budget inn. Unfortunately, my jewelry bag, including treasured items, was missing from the room on the second day. I have to assume it was hotel staff, since the room was locked (and tidy) when we returned. The office was notified and promised to check into it, but no one ever got back to me. There was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
MegKauaiInn, Manager at The Kauai Inn, responded to this review

Dear TripAdvisor Listing Owner, Thank you for taking the time to write a management response on TripAdvisor. Unfortunately, we cannot publish your response because it does not meet the following guideline(s): *Non-commercial No promotional material of any kind, including URLs that are irrelevant to the review in question. We reserve the right to reject any URL. Please consider resubmitting a... More 

Richmond, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015

Although there wasn't much to do within walking distance it was very clean, comfortable and convenient fro travelling around the island. The wifi barely worked, even though it was free it was frustrating, we had to stand with our device often next to the office. However the staff are incredible, we loved all of Bud's assistance and friendliness!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

121 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (90)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (24)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (19)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (31)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay