We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kauai Banyan Inn

Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Hotel website
3528 B Mana Hema Place, Lawai, Kauai, HI 96765
Kauai Banyan Inn
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    27
    6
    5
    0
See reviews for
4
224
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (273)
  • Mar-May only
    (86)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (52)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (53)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (82)
All months
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2015

This comfortable location was also extremely convenient and quiet. We were able to do lots of wonderful day trips and then come back to relax in this beautiful and tasteful inn. Lorna, our host, was so helpful regarding restaurants, things to do and places to go. We happily tried many of her suggests and enjoyed the experience so much. This... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2015

What an amazing place! Well thought out, well constructed, beautiful views, wonderful service. Only ten minutes from Poipu Beach and a few others on the South side of the island. Also very close to many wonderful restaurants of all types.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Madison, Wisconsin
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2015

This B&B was the perfect place to stay on the south side of Kauai, away from all the busy resorts. Lorna went out of her way to make us feel welcome and answered all our questions and gave us great advise on what to do and where to go. Our room, the Pueo, was just as shown in the photos,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Watertown, Massachusetts
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2015

This little inn is nothing like the big, sterile-looking hotels and resorts near the shore. It's 10 minutes away, past fields of livestock, and up a narrow, switchbacking road, in a funky neighborhood with both mansions and bungalows tucked into the sides of the hills. We loved our unit, which had a kitchen and a lanai with a view of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alexandria, Virginia, United States
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2015

Lorna the owner of the B&B was very welcoming and made sure I was felt welcomed. The inn is located near poipou not to far from the excellent living foods store where I got my dinner and supplies. The bed and room were spacious and comfortable. I also had a lovely balcony overlooking the sea. They have umbrellas and the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Crescent City, California
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
36 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2014

We loved our three nights at Kauai Banyan Inn! The setting is perfect--a 20 minute drive from the airport, just a few miles from the blow holes, from Old Koloa Town, from Poipu, and with easy access to highways for traveling east or west. The view the property offers is spectacular: right across the fields and down down down to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lorna H, Owner at Kauai Banyan Inn, responded to this review

Aloha Thank you for the wonderful review and presenting me with the Trip Adviser pin for outstanding service. What a wonderful surprise and honor. I still have to take my picture with the pin. I was happy to hear that the heat wave we were experiencing on Kauai did not dampen your stay. As I mentioned in several reviews it... More 

Irvine, California
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
19 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2014

Kauai Banyan has many plusses; it is centrally located; very close to Koloa, Lihue, Poipu with easy access to Hanalei, Port Allen, Waimea, Wailua, and points north. In room kitchenettes save the need to find someplace to eat breakfast. It's isolated from the mega condo- and hotel- crowds, so you don't feel like a tourist, even if you are one.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Lorna H, Owner at Kauai Banyan Inn, responded to this review

Aloha and Mahalo for your review. I was pleased to hear that our "heat faze" did not interfere with your stay. Kauai Banyan has double insulated walls, 15 foot ceilings and windows and doors in all units with screens. We do not have A/C but rely on the cooling trade winds. Unfortunately there were no trade winds during your visit.... More 

NJ
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2014

While the location of this property was ideal and the provisions nice to have, I felt it was a misrepresentation to call this inn a B&B. We arrived to our 3 day stay to find packaged yogurt, 1/2 dozen eggs and Dole fruit cups with a few miscellaneous items thrown in. Truly a disappointment when you expect a typical bed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Lorna H, Owner at Kauai Banyan Inn, responded to this review

Aloha Paul, I am sorry Kauai Banyan did not meet up to your expectations, however, my Website is very detailed on what you are to expect. In fact Kauai Banyan offer's guests more services than what is on the website. To answer your comment that Kauai Banyan is not a true B & B--you are correct. However I mention that... More 

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

Lorna made our 4 day visit one of the best so far; she is a kind and hardworking lady. The room was spacious and has some excellent views. One of the things we would change is the pre-packaged yoghurts and fruit, even though it is complimentary. Maybe some yoghurt in a jar, granola, fresh fruit and some cookies would be... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lorna H, Owner at Kauai Banyan Inn, responded to this review

Aloha Niek t, Thank you for your review. Since you were staying at Kauai Banyan during our long hot days, I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay on Kauai. I thank you for your suggestions on food items that would be a good alternative in my welcome basket and refrigerated welcome tray.. I do often add cookies, macadamia nut... More 

2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

Perhaps we had misaligned expectations, and people do truly love this Inn, but this was not the right place for me. First and foremost, these rooms DO NOT have A/C. Although the website clearly states a ceiling fan is in the room (never claims to have A/C), our room never dipped below 80F for our entire two night stay --... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Lorna H, Owner at Kauai Banyan Inn, responded to this review

Aloha Garrett, Thank you for your review. I am sorry that your two night stay in the Nani Loa did not meet with your expectations. Unfortunately arriving at Kauai Banyan after 10 pm and having no relief from the heat would be disappointing. I don't believe anyone was sleeping. The residents on the Island did not expect to have 4... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

199 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (170)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
View from room (24)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (33)
Viewed
Room/suite (51)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
2:36
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (48)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (29)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Other (20)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities