We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Honu'ea International Hostel Kauai

GreenLeadersSilver level
4532 Lehua Street, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746 (Formerly Kauai International Hostel)
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kapaa
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Honu\\
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

104 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The facilities are clean and well maintained. Location is solid, few blocks away from the worthwhile part of town. Very clean kitchen and tons of supplies to use. Attracts a really good crowd, meeting people was awesome here. Rooms can get a bit stuffy. The dorm we were in could sleep up to 11 people ("luckily" the most we had... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Wilson T
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My experience here was mostly pretty good but there's some small things that added up to make me not want to come back. After staying for 9 nights we were not allowed to hang out in the common area after checkout with the friends we had met at the hostel unless we paid an additional $15 each for late check... More 

Helpful?
Thank David D
GM_Honuea, General Manager at Honu'ea International Hostel Kauai, responded to this review

Mahalo for the extra time and effort you went through to leave us this review. We understand not everyone will be happy about our new policy of $15 late check out fee. Hopefully, more will be able to use this to their advantage than not. There are multiple bathrooms for use on property and our staff should take the time... More 

Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed 3 weeks in Hawaii in Oahu, Maui and Kauai and this hostel was sadly my worst experience of my whole stay. I am not a picky traveller and I have been to many hostels. But this is definitely one of the worst hostels I have ever been to. -dorms: I stayed in a crowded 10 bed dorm with... More 

Helpful?
Thank GUrkensalat90
GM_Honuea, General Manager at Honu'ea International Hostel Kauai, responded to this review

Kalamai you did not enjoy your stay. We hope your future travels are more to your liking. We wish you aloha and mahalo you for your busines. Autumn & Bill More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2015

Stayed here recently and it was perfectly functional. We stayed in one of the private rooms (so I can't comment on the state of the shared rooms), at times it became quite stuffy the bed was a bit small and we did notice a few roaches sneaking in but overall the room was fine. The bathroom was clean throughout our... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Jared A
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2015 via mobile

we found a big, loving family in this hostel! staff, long term guests, short term guests and pets all living together in harmony :) chatting, cooking, drinking tea, watching tv and smiling! the whole place is one big artwork! beautiful paintings on every wall, ceiling and whatever can be painted :) plus they take great care of the flourishing garden.... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank anothermonkey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2015 via mobile

Honu'ea hostel is like a home away from home. I was travelling solo and stayed here four nights.. And had a lovely time! Staff were helpful & friendly, the owners were kind and always had a smile and a 'hello'. The other guests here were also so lovely. Location was excellent, great for exploring the north shore of Kauai and... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank sarahthemermaid7
GM_Honuea, General Manager at Honu'ea International Hostel Kauai, responded to this review

Mahalo, mahalo! You are great! A hui hou! Autumn and Bill More 

Burlington, Vermont
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2015

I stayed at Honu'ea for a little over two weeks, and it easily felt like a home away from home. Immediately I was greeted by staff and guests alike, that embodied the aloha spirit! This hostel is also one of the most clean I've ever stayed at. You can really tell they care because everything is in great condition. The... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Lauryn R
GM_Honuea, General Manager at Honu'ea International Hostel Kauai, responded to this review

Mahalo Nui! We miss you! Come back, soon! Aloha!! Autumn and Bill More 

Brighton
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2015

This is a very different type of hostel than other hostels I have encountered. This is a family home AND a hostel. So the kitchen and communal seating area is shared with the owners, Autumn and Bill, who live there. They are absolutely lovely, and extremely knowledgeable about Kauai! However, the feel of the hostel, consequently, is quieter than others.... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank MissySherlock1
GM_Honuea, General Manager at Honu'ea International Hostel Kauai, responded to this review

Mahalo! We do hope to see you both again soon! Aloha oe! Autumn and Bill More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2015 via mobile

First off I've never stayed in a hostel before. Girls in and out all hours, only 1 bathroom to share with anywhere from 5 to 7 girls, irritating shower head and very low water pressure at sink. Hot room with no fan and no cross ventilation from tropical breeze, even with windows open, til late at night. People generally ok... More 

Helpful?
10 Thank RiaGayle
GM_Honuea, General Manager at Honu'ea International Hostel Kauai, responded to this review

Mahalo for taking time to leave a review. For someone who has 'never stayed in a hostel before' you have kind of missed the point. Hostels are geared for young travelers on a budget. (hence the cheap price $25/nt and the shared accommodations) That is not to say our older travelers, such as yourself, don't enjoy saving quite a bit... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2015 via mobile

Kaua'i was the most magical place and I couldn't have asked for a better place to stay while I was there. Honu'ea embodies the spirit of kaua'i in a beautiful way...a lovely space, good vibes, near the ocean and town, great people who are up early and want to explore....I couldn't have asked for anything better. While reading in the... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank FCBennett
GM_Honuea, General Manager at Honu'ea International Hostel Kauai, responded to this review

Mahalo for your awesomeness review ;) We loved having you! Come back, soon! ALOHA! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

42 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapaa
1.8 mi away
Aston Islander on the Beach
1.9 mi away
Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Coral Reef
Hotel Coral Reef
#7 of 12 in Kapaa
4.0 of 5 stars 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#5 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 stars 1,848 reviews
8.5 mi away
Garden Island Inn
Garden Island Inn
#2 of 11 in Lihue
4.5 of 5 stars 550 reviews
1.6 mi away
Plantation Hale Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities