We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Honu'ea International Hostel Kauai

4532 Lehua Street, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746 (Formerly Kauai International Hostel)
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Honu'ea International Hostel Kauai
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Honu'ea International Hostel Kauai
Honu'ea International Hostel Kauai
Honu'ea International Hostel Kauai
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    20
    16
    9
    8
See reviews for
2
5
53
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (90)
  • Mar-May only
    (29)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (15)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (18)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (28)
All months
Los Angeles, California
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Is this Kauai or Cleveland? The hostel is located in an industrial district, and cut off from the coast by the island's most congested highway. I was disappointed to find that the hostel is next to a roofing material warehouse, a storage unit, and the city's public works yard (where its garbage trucks are kept). The area looked run-down and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

At the time of the review, there was only two hostel on Kauai. I loved that one. If you can go with their rules, wich are stricts for an hostel but great for outdoor traveller. Quiet time starts at 10 pm. Makes a great night of sleep. The owner were kind and really funny. Spent great evenings talking with them.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2015

So stayed here after booking a private room. Below are a few observations: Check in is stated for 11am - but you should keep in mind that it means that the "office" itself isnt open until then, we found ourselves stuck because of this oversight on our part. But no real issues, had a friendly check-in and a rather strict... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Dallas, Texas
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2015

Location in Kapa'a is nice because it's a good balance between being too far north or too far south and a lot of great areas are easily within reach. The hostel's facilities are decent. There's a nice common room and a garden with plenty of space for hanging out and room to store food. The dorms themselves are mediocre at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
GM_Honuea, General Manager at Honu'ea International Hostel Kauai, responded to this review

You and your 3 friends were not guests here. We asked you all politely to wait outside the gate for the one person who was a guest to come out. For the safety of our family and of our paying guests, unregistered guests are not allowed on property. All we ask is for people to have respect for the rules.... More 

Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2015

Bathroom was disgusting and not clean, really a imposition. bed all nosy, could feel every move from my neighbor upstairs. 6 ppl in one room and the other room was so located that another 6 ppl had to walk through our room, very poor designed. also only one bathroom for 12 ppl. owners very unfriendly, i dont know why they... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
GM_Honuea, General Manager at Honu'ea International Hostel Kauai, responded to this review

Mahalo for leaving a review. We are sorry our lovely, little, family owned, family operated, hostel on the Garden Island of Kaua`i, was not up to your standards. We are more sorry that you choose to ignore our policies and we had to remind you that you were here well past the check out time of 11am. We do not... More 

Leominster, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2015

This hostel is exactly what I needed for my 2 day trip. perfect location, clean, cosy, safe, friendly, peaceful. i was worry if i will get a good night sleep but was incredibly perfect. after 8:30 i only hear cars passing in the street, no people talking loud and or disrespectful. i really love this place and recommend 100%

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GM_Honuea, General Manager at Honu'ea International Hostel Kauai, responded to this review

Wow! Mahalo nui loa for such a glowing review!! We do try hard to make sure our small, family owned, family operated hostel is clean and in good working order for our guests. We are happy you noticed and even more happy you took the time to acknowledge it by leaving a review online. It does make it all worth... More 

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2015

A super lovely, family run hostel right in the heart of Kapaa town. Prefect location for shops, the beach (right across the street) & the bus stop. It's a clean, peaceful haven with a cozy and friendly atmosphere that welcomes all. Plus the staff are awesome!! The ideal place to stay while enjoying your visit to Kaua'i.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
San Francisco, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2015

This hostel is exactly what I needed for my week holiday: perfectly cosy, nice, clean, safe, allowing all the people of the hostel to meet, share, chat and even plan trips together. The family owning the hostel and the staff are very pleasant, helpful, and know a lot about what Kaua'i has to offer. I had an amazing time also... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2015

I had a fabulous time in the hostel, the staff and owners where extremely friendly and knowledgeable about the area and activities. Autumn the owner cares about hostel goers experience and wants them to enjoy the island. I made friends instantly with the guests at the hostel as they were also super inviting. Autumn is a stickler about the rules... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2015

Autumn and her family and her staff are the best and friendliest bunch ever :) They were helpful in every way possible and my 10 day trip in Kaua'i was amazing because of them :) The energy in the hostel is a perfect balance between serenity and excitement. The location in Kapaa is perfect because Kapaa is a beautiful beautiful... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

29 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities