We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Honu'ea International Hostel Kauai

4532 Lehua Street, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746 (Formerly Kauai International Hostel)
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Honu'ea International Hostel Kauai
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Honu'ea International Hostel Kauai
Honu'ea International Hostel Kauai
Honu'ea International Hostel Kauai
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    19
    15
    7
    8
See reviews for
1
4
51
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (85)
  • Mar-May only
    (24)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (15)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (18)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (28)
All months
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Bathroom was disgusting and not clean, really a imposition. bed all nosy, could feel every move from my neighbor upstairs. 6 ppl in one room and the other room was so located that another 6 ppl had to walk through our room, very poor designed. also only one bathroom for 12 ppl. owners very unfriendly, i dont know why they... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
GM_Honuea, General Manager at Honu'ea International Hostel Kauai, responded to this review

Mahalo for leaving a review. We are sorry our lovely, little, family owned, family operated, hostel on the Garden Island of Kaua`i, was not up to your standards. We are more sorry that you choose to ignore our policies and we had to remind you that you were here well past the check out time of 11am. We do not... More 

Leominster, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hostel is exactly what I needed for my 2 day trip. perfect location, clean, cosy, safe, friendly, peaceful. i was worry if i will get a good night sleep but was incredibly perfect. after 8:30 i only hear cars passing in the street, no people talking loud and or disrespectful. i really love this place and recommend 100%

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
GM_Honuea, General Manager at Honu'ea International Hostel Kauai, responded to this review

Wow! Mahalo nui loa for such a glowing review!! We do try hard to make sure our small, family owned, family operated hostel is clean and in good working order for our guests. We are happy you noticed and even more happy you took the time to acknowledge it by leaving a review online. It does make it all worth... More 

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A super lovely, family run hostel right in the heart of Kapaa town. Prefect location for shops, the beach (right across the street) & the bus stop. It's a clean, peaceful haven with a cozy and friendly atmosphere that welcomes all. Plus the staff are awesome!! The ideal place to stay while enjoying your visit to Kaua'i.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
San Francisco, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2015

This hostel is exactly what I needed for my week holiday: perfectly cosy, nice, clean, safe, allowing all the people of the hostel to meet, share, chat and even plan trips together. The family owning the hostel and the staff are very pleasant, helpful, and know a lot about what Kaua'i has to offer. I had an amazing time also... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2015

I had a fabulous time in the hostel, the staff and owners where extremely friendly and knowledgeable about the area and activities. Autumn the owner cares about hostel goers experience and wants them to enjoy the island. I made friends instantly with the guests at the hostel as they were also super inviting. Autumn is a stickler about the rules... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2015

Autumn and her family and her staff are the best and friendliest bunch ever :) They were helpful in every way possible and my 10 day trip in Kaua'i was amazing because of them :) The energy in the hostel is a perfect balance between serenity and excitement. The location in Kapaa is perfect because Kapaa is a beautiful beautiful... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Waikiki, Hawaii
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2015

I stayed in a private room with shared bathroom for $70. Pricey but considering that the cheapest hotel is $200+, it was a steal. Friendly staff, mother and son running the place. It was clean, quiet, and filled with respectful people. Excellent location, walking distance to the beach, bars, and stores.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2014

nice, friendly staff. Very helpful and kowledgable about the surrounding area as well. relaxed and low key. parking available. close to a few bars and the "downtown"...I would stay again if i was in the area

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GM_Honuea, General Manager at Honu'ea International Hostel Kauai, responded to this review

Mahalo for your review! We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again soon, when we visit you in Spain!! Aloha :) More 

Streefkerk, The Netherlands
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2014

We stayed a few nights in a private room. This was small but allright. At 10 in the evening it had to be quiet. That was nice. There was enough space to park your car. The kitchen was good and well equipped. The garden is spacious. But we did not like the atmosphere. The hostel is run by a family.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
GM_Honuea, General Manager at Honu'ea International Hostel Kauai, responded to this review

Just like any other thing in life, you get what you give out. No one steals groceries here, we have more food than we know what to do with. We do have up to 34 people using the fridges. All we ask is put you name and check out date on ALL food items. We do go through the refrigerators... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2014

Absolutely loved this hostel, the best I've stayed in. The family of staff are so friendly, helpful, fun and genuine. The rooms are clean and you have everything you need. The only thing I'd say is the chickens/roosters that roam the island can be a bit noisey depending on where you sleep but I only had dreams about them on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GM_Honuea, General Manager at Honu'ea International Hostel Kauai, responded to this review

Mahalo for your review! We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again soon, when we visit you in Austrailia!! Aloha :) More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

29 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Other (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question