We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Honu'ea International Hostel Kauai

4532 Lehua Street, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746 (Formerly Kauai International Hostel)
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Honu'ea International Hostel Kauai
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Honu'ea International Hostel Kauai
Honu'ea International Hostel Kauai
Honu'ea International Hostel Kauai
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    16
    13
    5
    8
See reviews for
1
4
42
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (71)
  • Mar-May only
    (19)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (15)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (18)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (19)
All months
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This is a small hostel with a very cosy setting, in a garden with fruit trees and hammocks and there is comfy sofas and shaded spots to eat and chill. The beds were comfy and clean though having just one bathroom between quite a few people was an inconvenience on occasion :p Slow paced and easy going feeling but that's... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I ended up there for 4 nights , largely due to lack of planning on my part, they had space at the moment and location was central and price OK. The good-bedding is washed and smells clean (if stained) and the place is generally clean. They have WiFi that works in shared area and sometimes in the dorms. The guests... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Connecticut
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014

Stayed in a private room for six nights. Nothing special but everything was clean, not noisy, and it was cheap! Within walking distance of restaurants and the ocean. I would recommend for anyone who is coming to Hawaii and not going to spend much time in the room.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014

I had a great stay at this hostel. I was traveling alone for the first time and very nervous, but when I got to the hostel the staff were so friendly and inviting. They tell you right off the bat everything you need to know about the hostel and the rules were very clear (A different hostel I stayed at... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2014

When I arrived here I was surprised seeing a small car parked at the entrance of the hostel with a few young guys smoking weed, nothing against it but it called my attention as I had never have suck a particular welcome! It was weird. Then I checked in after being requested in an unhippie way for my departure tickets... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Germany
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2014

There is a weird vibe to this place, and all reviews I've read so far have some validity to them. I don't doubt that you can enjoy your stay here, but sadly I can relate more to the bad reviews. The first thing that struck me about the staff, was how unprofessional some of them were. And it didn't help... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
GM_Honuea, General Manager at Honu'ea International Hostel Kauai, responded to this review

Yes we are 'unprofessional', we are a family. The boys you speak of are our kids. I am sorry if you were expecting a resort style staff. We are a small family owned, family operated hostel with inexpensive lodging on the most beautiful island in the world. It is true we do not offer tour services, but 'my boys' were... More

Bothell, Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2014

This hostel was ok. Not great, but not bad either. Some things I wish I had known: If your stay is under $100, you need to pay with case. No AC - but that's ok. If you're staying in a hostel, you should expect to rough it. Mosquitoes, if mosquitoes tend to like you, they'll love you here. Doors are... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
5 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

This hostel was an ordinary one. Its greatest hi-lite was the big , beautiful spider sitting in the middle of its huge web in the front garden ! I took two pics of this. I have them in my phone camera, but cant get em on tmy pc. There was nothing else good about this hostel, and wont go there... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Montreal, Canada
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

This hostel is perfectly located; in the center of Kapaa, 2 minutes from the beach. Great staff, devoted, helping travellers and keeping the house under control. Between the main house and the dorms, there is a terrace with a big table where everybody meets every morning and every night to socialize and plan trips together. Best way to meet people... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Everything about this hostel was awesome. I've made such a great experience. The staff was always friendly and the location is great. The beach right across the street and bars and restaurants just around the corner. Met all these amazing new people. Rooms are good and clean. Will definitely come back.

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Honu'ea International Hostel Kauai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honu'ea International Hostel Kauai

Address: 4532 Lehua Street, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746 (Formerly Kauai International Hostel)
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Honu'ea International Hostel Kauai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kauai International Hotel Kapaa
Honu'Ea International Hostel Kauai Kapaa

27 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (11)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Other (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay