We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Honu'ea International Hostel Kauai

4532 Lehua Street, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746 (Formerly Kauai International Hostel)
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Honu'ea International Hostel Kauai
Management photos View all
Browse nearby
Honu'ea International Hostel Kauai
Honu'ea International Hostel Kauai
Honu'ea International Hostel Kauai
Add Photo Write a Review

94 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    39
    22
    16
    8
    9
See reviews for
2
5
53
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (94)
  • Mar-May only
    (30)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (18)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (18)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (28)
All months
Burlington, Vermont
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed at Honu'ea for a little over two weeks, and it easily felt like a home away from home. Immediately I was greeted by staff and guests alike, that embodied the aloha spirit! This hostel is also one of the most clean I've ever stayed at. You can really tell they care because everything is in great condition. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brighton
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2015

This is a very different type of hostel than other hostels I have encountered. This is a family home AND a hostel. So the kitchen and communal seating area is shared with the owners, Autumn and Bill, who live there. They are absolutely lovely, and extremely knowledgeable about Kauai! However, the feel of the hostel, consequently, is quieter than others.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2015 via mobile

First off I've never stayed in a hostel before. Girls in and out all hours, only 1 bathroom to share with anywhere from 5 to 7 girls, irritating shower head and very low water pressure at sink. Hot room with no fan and no cross ventilation from tropical breeze, even with windows open, til late at night. People generally ok... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GM_Honuea, General Manager at Honu'ea International Hostel Kauai, responded to this review

Mahalo for taking time to leave a review. For someone who has 'never stayed in a hostel before' you have kind of missed the point. Hostels are geared for young travelers on a budget. (hence the cheap price $25/nt and the shared accommodations) That is not to say our older travelers, such as yourself, don't enjoy saving quite a bit... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2015 via mobile

Kaua'i was the most magical place and I couldn't have asked for a better place to stay while I was there. Honu'ea embodies the spirit of kaua'i in a beautiful way...a lovely space, good vibes, near the ocean and town, great people who are up early and want to explore....I couldn't have asked for anything better. While reading in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
GM_Honuea, General Manager at Honu'ea International Hostel Kauai, responded to this review

Mahalo for your awesomeness review ;) We loved having you! Come back, soon! ALOHA! More 

Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2015

At the time of the review, there was only two hostel on Kauai. I loved that one. If you can go with their rules, wich are stricts for an hostel but great for outdoor traveller. Quiet time starts at 10 pm. Makes a great night of sleep. The owner were kind and really funny. Spent great evenings talking with them.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2015

So stayed here after booking a private room. Below are a few observations: Check in is stated for 11am - but you should keep in mind that it means that the "office" itself isnt open until then, we found ourselves stuck because of this oversight on our part. But no real issues, had a friendly check-in and a rather strict... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
GM_Honuea, General Manager at Honu'ea International Hostel Kauai, responded to this review

Mahalo for your review. Lets clear up some misinformation for future guests: Firstly, our office is open from 11am-9pm (island hours). Second, our check in hours are from 3pm-9pm (the 3pm is fairly new, used to be 1). Thirdly, we have 6 bathrooms on the property, please ask if you are not sure. Last, our reservation system on our website... More 

Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2015

Location in Kapa'a is nice because it's a good balance between being too far north or too far south and a lot of great areas are easily within reach. The hostel's facilities are decent. There's a nice common room and a garden with plenty of space for hanging out and room to store food. The dorms themselves are mediocre at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
GM_Honuea, General Manager at Honu'ea International Hostel Kauai, responded to this review

You and your 3 friends were not guests here. We asked you all politely to wait outside the gate for the one person who was a guest to come out. For the safety of our family and of our paying guests, unregistered guests are not allowed on property. All we ask is for people to have respect for the rules.... More 

Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2015

Bathroom was disgusting and not clean, really a imposition. bed all nosy, could feel every move from my neighbor upstairs. 6 ppl in one room and the other room was so located that another 6 ppl had to walk through our room, very poor designed. also only one bathroom for 12 ppl. owners very unfriendly, i dont know why they... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
GM_Honuea, General Manager at Honu'ea International Hostel Kauai, responded to this review

Mahalo for leaving a review. We are sorry our lovely, little, family owned, family operated, hostel on the Garden Island of Kaua`i, was not up to your standards. We are more sorry that you choose to ignore our policies and we had to remind you that you were here well past the check out time of 11am. We do not... More 

Leominster, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2015

This hostel is exactly what I needed for my 2 day trip. perfect location, clean, cosy, safe, friendly, peaceful. i was worry if i will get a good night sleep but was incredibly perfect. after 8:30 i only hear cars passing in the street, no people talking loud and or disrespectful. i really love this place and recommend 100%

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GM_Honuea, General Manager at Honu'ea International Hostel Kauai, responded to this review

Wow! Mahalo nui loa for such a glowing review!! We do try hard to make sure our small, family owned, family operated hostel is clean and in good working order for our guests. We are happy you noticed and even more happy you took the time to acknowledge it by leaving a review online. It does make it all worth... More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2015

A super lovely, family run hostel right in the heart of Kapaa town. Prefect location for shops, the beach (right across the street) & the bus stop. It's a clean, peaceful haven with a cozy and friendly atmosphere that welcomes all. Plus the staff are awesome!! The ideal place to stay while enjoying your visit to Kaua'i.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

29 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay