We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 15 Kapaa accommodations

Honu'ea International Hostel Kauai

4532 Lehua Street, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746 (Formerly Kauai International Hostel)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Honu'ea International Hostel Kauai to your Saves list
Honu'ea International Hostel Kauai
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
45%
Ranked #9 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Kapaa
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Philip K Bothell, Washington
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    21
    15
    7
    51
See reviews for
3
20
65
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bothell, Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hostel was ok. Not great, but not bad either. Some things I wish I had known: If your stay is under $100, you need to pay with case. No AC - but that's ok. If you're staying in a hostel, you should expect to rough it. Mosquitoes, if mosquitoes tend to like you, they'll love you here. Doors are... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
4 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hostel was an ordinary one. Its greatest hi-lite was the big , beautiful spider sitting in the middle of its huge web in the front garden ! I took two pics of this. I have them in my phone camera, but cant get em on tmy pc. There was nothing else good about this hostel, and wont go there... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Montreal, Canada
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

This hostel is perfectly located; in the center of Kapaa, 2 minutes from the beach. Great staff, devoted, helping travellers and keeping the house under control. Between the main house and the dorms, there is a terrace with a big table where everybody meets every morning and every night to socialize and plan trips together. Best way to meet people... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Everything about this hostel was awesome. I've made such a great experience. The staff was always friendly and the location is great. The beach right across the street and bars and restaurants just around the corner. Met all these amazing new people. Rooms are good and clean. Will definitely come back.

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
Toronto, Canada
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

It's unfortunate to see some of the negative reviews of this hostel. We stayed for 6 nights this April and it was an excellent experience overall!! We arrived quite late the first evening and were still met with friendly staff who showed us to our dorm and gave us a run-down of the place. We had a great arrival, but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 11
Saba
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

If you are looking for a nice/clean hostel with friendly staff than do NOT go to Honu'ea International Hostel in Kauai! The worst thing about this hostel is all the unfriendly staff. There are not helpful and really unfriendly. They have all these rules for the guests but they do not obey those rules themselves. Besides this the rooms/bathrooms are... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
GM_Honuea, General Manager at Honu'ea International Hostel Kauai, responded to this review

Mahalo for your review. We are very sorry you had such an unpleasant experience with us. We have reviewed your dates of stay and have found that there were no men scheduled to be in your dorm. So the only conclusion I have come up with is that we have male work/trade staff that are required to clean and remove... More

Miami Beach, Florida
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

This hostel is the best! From the vibes to the most amazing people on this planet! This hostel rocked my world! I always have been a family oriented type of person, soo I knew it wouldn't be hard to make freinds, little did I know that I was going to be introduced to family :) every one there was absolutely... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Jersey, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
21 hotel reviews
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

Met with suspicion upon arrival, which is unusual for somewhere in the hospitality business, and the staff are quite inflexible if you want to change your arrangements. Experienced a very uncomfortable discussion between the manager and a guest, due to a simple request which was not only refused but led to the guest being demeaned and being told to pack... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
GM_Honuea, General Manager at Honu'ea International Hostel Kauai, responded to this review

Mahalo for your comments. I apologize if you were made to feel uncomfortable during a private discussion with a guest. Luckily we have very few issues and are full most of the time. Arriving during business hours 11am-9pm will most certainly get a big ALOHA! This it the first we have heard of one of our 6 showers being a... More

Wailua, Hawaii
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

From the moment we were greeted we felt the aloha!! As a small family, we weren't sure how this place would work out for us, but it was great!! We had a comfy private room, full use of the kitchen & living area & a semi-private bathroom. Everyone we met was very kind and helpful and understanding of the fact... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Portland, Oregon
1 review
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Where do I even begin with this hostel?! First, I was told I needed a ticket off the island to even check-in (which almost didn't happen). I've never been asked about a return ticket at a hostel, even while traveling all through out Europe. I watched quite a few people get turned away when they said they didn't have a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 14
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Honu'ea International Hostel Kauai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Honu'ea International Hostel Kauai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honu'ea International Hostel Kauai

Address: 4532 Lehua Street, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746 (Formerly Kauai International Hostel)
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Honu'ea International Hostel Kauai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kauai International Hotel Kapaa
Honu'Ea International Hostel Kauai Kapaa

38 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (22)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Other (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Kapaa with
any amenities