We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 15 Kapaa accommodations

Kauai Kailani 1

2.5 of 5 Condominium   |   4-856 Kuhio Highway, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746
Hotel amenities
Kauai Kailani 1
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
You added Kauai Kailani 1 to your Saves list
Ranked #10 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Kapaa
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
SpursFan90 San Antonio, Texas
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
See reviews for
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
  • Mar-May only
  • Jun-Aug only
  • Sep-Nov only
  • Dec-Feb only
All months
San Antonio, Texas
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed in Kauai Kailani in November right after the completion of the construction. Maybe it was just timing or great luck but we stayed in the building closest to the ocean. Our unit, 203, had a million dollar view. We were pleasantly surprised as this condo far exceeded our expectations. It was completely renovated with new tile, granite and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Santa Ana, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This was a totally new place, The reviews, pictures and stories are not this property. All I can say is that we walked into a beautiful condo. The Lanai was incredible with Big ocean views and the breeze just about knocked us down when we stepped into the unit. The travertine floors, granite counter tops, completely renovated to be one... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I have read all the past reviews for Kauai Kailani and they just did not make sense since now the entire complex has been redeveloped and sold off as individual condos. There are two buildings and the reviews do not reflect as they are completely different from each other. The A building 203 is where I stayed and it was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Morrison, Colorado
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014

We have been coming to this resort for nearly 30 years. It was sold a couple of years ago and has undergone a total renovation. The B Building is complete and although the ceiling fans help the air flow, the units can become quite hot depending upon the weather. The front building KKA has never needed A/C. Our particular unit... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Honolulu, Hawaii
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2014

It's too bad, because these places are newly remodeled, nice furniture and TV. But NO A/C? This is Hawaii, that's insane. Oh, and got wacked with a $60 cleaning fee. But no maid service, they clean after you leave. Isn't a clean place something that you would expect?

Was this review helpful? Yes
Honolulu, Hawaii
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Stayed there for 2 days. Newly remodeled and selling units for hotel pool. Nice but no A/C so what is a person suppose to do on a hot humid day???? So for the price I would find a better place and they have a lot there

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Hanalei, Hawaii
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Too terrible to describe. The hotel itself was off of some dirt road and under construction! Cancel your reservation! It could ruin Hawaii for you. Fortunately, we were only there for one night and checked into our timeshare the next day. Think of your worst slasher movie and that's it -- furniture that's 50 years old, NO phone, cinder block... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Cranbrook, Canada
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Had a good experience with Castle Resorts on Maui so tried the Kaui property - a bit of a shock! The bargain price should have been the clue. Half of the place was under renovation. The buildings are old but adequate, nice pool and great location, close to beach, shopping and dining and central for excursions to both the north... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

This construction site should not even be renting to anyone!!! The "resort" is in the process of remodeling everything, and only a few units are evewn open. THEY SHOULD NOT BE OPEN, AND SHOULD CLOSE DOWN. STAY AWAY! Luckily, we only we at this place for one night inbetween timeshares.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Gresham, Oregon, United States
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

After going to Kauai Kailani for many years, we just returned and you cannot imagine our disappointment. I don't know how Castle can even call this a resort. There is construction everywhere. You get to spend your vacation days listening to equipment, hammering, demolition and your nights listening to construction workers (who by the way are staying in the rooms... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
CastleKonaBaliKai, General Manager at Kauai Kailani 1, responded to this review

Aloha, I would like to apologize for you not enjoying your stay with us and for the inconveniences of the renovation work going on. I am sorry but I do not remember talking with you but we have had problems accommodating people due to the renovation. Those that we were not able to get a room for here were put... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Kauai Kailani 1? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kauai Kailani 1

Address: 4-856 Kuhio Highway, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kauai Kailani 1 2.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Kauai Kailani 1 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kauai Kailani 1 Kapaa

45 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

All traveler photos (26)
View from room (4)
Hotel & grounds (2)
Pool/beach area (11)
Room/suite (1)
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All management photos (20)
Hotel & grounds (1)
Pool/beach area (3)
Room/suite (11)
Bathroom (1)
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay