We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 15 Kapaa accommodations

Kauai Kailani 1

2.5 of 5 Condominium   |   4-856 Kuhio Highway, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Kauai Kailani 1 to your Saves list
Kauai Kailani 1
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
40%
Ranked #13 of 15 Specialty lodging in Kapaa
  • Overview
  • Reviews (15)
  • Photos (45)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (6)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

15 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    5
    2
    3
    4
See reviews for
7
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Stayed there for 2 days. Newly remodeled and selling units for hotel pool. Nice but no A/C so what is a person suppose to do on a hot humid day???? So for the price I would find a better place and they have a lot there

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Hanalei, Hawaii
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Too terrible to describe. The hotel itself was off of some dirt road and under construction! Cancel your reservation! It could ruin Hawaii for you. Fortunately, we were only there for one night and checked into our timeshare the next day. Think of your worst slasher movie and that's it -- furniture that's 50 years old, NO phone, cinder block... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Cranbrook, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Had a good experience with Castle Resorts on Maui so tried the Kaui property - a bit of a shock! The bargain price should have been the clue. Half of the place was under renovation. The buildings are old but adequate, nice pool and great location, close to beach, shopping and dining and central for excursions to both the north... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Sarasota
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

This construction site should not even be renting to anyone!!! The "resort" is in the process of remodeling everything, and only a few units are evewn open. THEY SHOULD NOT BE OPEN, AND SHOULD CLOSE DOWN. STAY AWAY! Luckily, we only we at this place for one night inbetween timeshares.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Gresham, Oregon, United States
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

After going to Kauai Kailani for many years, we just returned and you cannot imagine our disappointment. I don't know how Castle can even call this a resort. There is construction everywhere. You get to spend your vacation days listening to equipment, hammering, demolition and your nights listening to construction workers (who by the way are staying in the rooms... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
CastleKonaBaliKai, General Manager at Kauai Kailani 1, responded to this review

Aloha, I would like to apologize for you not enjoying your stay with us and for the inconveniences of the renovation work going on. I am sorry but I do not remember talking with you but we have had problems accommodating people due to the renovation. Those that we were not able to get a room for here were put... More

Oregon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

In May I booked 8 nights at this place for Jan 2013. It was taken over by Castle resorts some time in the last 7 or so months. It is a huge construction site..the view from our lanai was the complete remodel of the other units including their lanais in the complex. Our "ocean view" was of construction and orange... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
CastleKonaBaliKai, General Manager at Kauai Kailani 1, responded to this review

Aloha, I am sorry that the construction put a damper on your vacation. I realize that most people do not travel thousands of miles to to see a construction zone. I do remember talking with you and I did point out that we have not received the deposit you paid the old owners. I have not forgotten this but we... More

Kauhava, Finland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Kailani apartments (Castle Kauai Kailani). We arrived in this Kailani apartments property with disappointment. The place is not a resort and does not belong to paradise. It is a construction site. When we faced the manager at Mokihana main reception (different building), he was unpolite and should be kept only in the back office. The housekeeping left our door at... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
San Diego, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

Most important is to know how to get checked in. No office here. Must check in at Mokihana (hotel containing Bull Shed restaurant) and before 9 pm. 808-822-3971. We arrived at about 7 pm after a delayed flight and had no idea how to check in as the "rooms" are really small apartments at Kauai Kailani. Again, there is no... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mansfield, Missouri
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

For the price, location it is hard to beat. True, they are doing construction but it was quiet over Thanksgiving holiday. In fact, it is a VERY quiet place. Had a monk seal come ashore and wasn't that a treat! Housekeeping was attentive and very good. You check in at the office at one location, but look for the little... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lexington, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

This property is being renovated, so you are vacacationing at a construction site! The beach access is curtailed by this construction. Although we booked several months in advance, we were not notified about current conditions. On a positive note - the maid service was excellent. This is a value property that offers comfortable but not posh accommodations plus a good... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Kauai Kailani 1, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Kauai Kailani 1? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kauai Kailani 1

Address: 4-856 Kuhio Highway, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kauai Kailani 1 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Kauai Kailani 1 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kauai Kailani 1 Kapaa

45 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (26)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Amenities

Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Kauai Kailani is conveniently located oceanfront on Kauai's sunny eastern shore and along the famous Royal Coconut Coast. Guests can choose from newly renovated garden view, ocean view, or oceanfront condominium suites. All suites are comfortably furnished and feature fully equipped kitchens, private lanai, and FREE wireless internet access. Enjoy a tropical, casual Hawaiian vacation in one of Kauai's most scenic locales. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
57

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer