We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
You added Kapaa Sands to your Saves list
380 Papaloa Rd., Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746
Hotel amenities
Kapaa Sands
Ranked #4 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence 2014
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kapaa
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    29
    5
    5
    3
See reviews for
23
63
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (109)
  • Mar-May only
    (29)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (24)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (29)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (27)
All months
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We have been coming to Hawaii for over 35 years and have stayed on all the islands. No place is as convenient, beautiful and peaceful as Kapaa Sands. We stayed in unit #24 a two bedroom townhouse. It was a great unit, light and sunny and had everything we needed. Free parking, free high speed wifi and no resort fee.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
michigan
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Older place but very well maintained. Grounds are beautiful. Great location. Right on the ocean. Not a swimming beach but it's a short distance to several that are. Looking forward to going back soon. Staff are friendly and accommodating. Excellent value.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newburgh, Indiana
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
25 hotel reviews
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here in 2008 for the first week of our honeymoon. We decided to return this year and are so glad we did. We stayed in Unit 2, one of the oceanfront two-bedroom units with 1.5 baths. This unit looks like it has been recently upgraded with new appliances. The complex is small (only 24 units), quiet, and a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
North Vancouver, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

As a regular visitor to the Hawaiian islands, I highly recommend Kapaa Sands. My husband and I stayed in Unit #10, oceanfront studio, for 5 nights in January 2015. We were pleasantly surprised to find our unit to be extremely well maintained, clean and very charming, from the well-equipped kitchen to the comfortable murphy bed that folded down to reveal... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2015

I made a reservation at this condo complex for Thanksgiving week, 2014. I cancelled this reservation over 90 days in advance. None-the-less, they hung on to $25 of my money. I was not told, over the phone, that there is a $25 fee, whether or not you ever stay at their property. I tried to get this money refunded over... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
KS_BoD, President of Kapaa Sands at Kapaa Sands, responded to this review

I am sorry that this guest was upset at not receiving the full refund. Unfortunately, this guest knew the cancellation policy in advance. On both the web site, and in the guest's confirmation letter, it states that cancellations more than 30 days in advance will receive a full refund less a $25 processing fee. There is a credit card processing... More 

Mount Pleasant, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2014

This was a quiet, beautiful little resort. We thoroughly enjoyed our (somewhat outdated, but perfectly functional) ocean-front studio. As someone with a special diet, eating out was out of the question while on vacation. This unit was equipped with more than enough kitchen ware for our stay. Our unit unfortunately did not have any outdoor leisure equipment, as other reviewers... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
california
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2014

Just insane-- we booked with PacificCondosKauai and we are still in a magical trance over the magnificence of this place, our stay and this condo. Enough said -- all I can say is Thank you the most memorable vacation in paradise EVER....

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Pasadena, California
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

My husband and I stayed here at this beautiful little condo. Kapaa Sands is a really special place. So quiet with the beach right out front. We stayed in Unit 14 which was so comfortable and had everything we needed. We like to get up early and sit on the beach to welcome the day. All we had to do... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Akeley, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2014

We stayed a week in unit 7, top floor, right in the middle of the resort. As soon as we opened the door, the view! The view, the view, the view. Unbelievable. We were thinking of doing nothing but sitting on the lanai watching the waves and listening to the ocean but there is so much to do. The owner... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
WORCESTER
Top Contributor
401 reviews 401 reviews
33 hotel reviews
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014

First off the property is terrific, ocean front with lots of lush vegetation. Unfortunately the condo units or the management match it. There is NO A/C which we thought would be fine given the ocean breezes. However we were unable to leave our slider door open through the night as when we checked in we were given notices that stated"... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Kapaa Sands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kapaa Sands

Address: 380 Papaloa Rd., Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 22
Also Known As:
Kapaa Sands Hotel Kapaa
Kapaa Sands Kauai

112 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (111)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (23)
Viewed
Room/suite (19)
Viewed
View from room (25)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay