We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kapaa Sands

Certificate of Excellence
380 Papaloa Rd., Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746
Kapaa Sands
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    71
    30
    5
    5
    2
See reviews for
24
65
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (113)
  • Mar-May only
    (32)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (25)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (29)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (27)
All months
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2015

I have been to the island many times. I like to stay in a condo so I have a kitchen. This is my second stay at Kapaa Sands and I am always going to stay there if I can. I was in Unit #14 again. Oceanfront studio. They keep the place up so well. It was spotless and the kitchen... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Hopkins, Minnesota
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2015

We rented a top floor, studio unit (#9) from Hula Now. Kapaa Sands consists of six buildings with four units in each (two upper/two lower) for a total of 24 units in this wonderful little hidden gem. Hula Now manages two of them and the balance are managed by Kapaa Sands. KS9 is an oceanfront unit right in the middle... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2015

This place is every bit what other viewers say it is. Quiet, comfortable small group of condos, not the big resort feel. There is nothing more I can add that others haven't already said. As a previous viewer said, I hate to give such a good review for fear it will be difficult to book again. We stayed in unit... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Gambier Island, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2015

Nice, comfortable little place. Feels like visiting a small community of friends, with only 22 units that people come back to year after year. The staff are wonderful. Our studio unit with a peekaboo ocean view was nicely appointed, and in a beautiful hawaiian garden. Good free parking. We are definitely going again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2015

We have been coming to Hawaii for over 35 years and have stayed on all the islands. No place is as convenient, beautiful and peaceful as Kapaa Sands. We stayed in unit #24 a two bedroom townhouse. It was a great unit, light and sunny and had everything we needed. Free parking, free high speed wifi and no resort fee.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
michigan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2015

Older place but very well maintained. Grounds are beautiful. Great location. Right on the ocean. Not a swimming beach but it's a short distance to several that are. Looking forward to going back soon. Staff are friendly and accommodating. Excellent value.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Newburgh, Indiana
Level Contributor
94 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2015

We stayed here in 2008 for the first week of our honeymoon. We decided to return this year and are so glad we did. We stayed in Unit 2, one of the oceanfront two-bedroom units with 1.5 baths. This unit looks like it has been recently upgraded with new appliances. The complex is small (only 24 units), quiet, and a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
North Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2015

As a regular visitor to the Hawaiian islands, I highly recommend Kapaa Sands. My husband and I stayed in Unit #10, oceanfront studio, for 5 nights in January 2015. We were pleasantly surprised to find our unit to be extremely well maintained, clean and very charming, from the well-equipped kitchen to the comfortable murphy bed that folded down to reveal... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2015

I made a reservation at this condo complex for Thanksgiving week, 2014. I cancelled this reservation over 90 days in advance. None-the-less, they hung on to $25 of my money. I was not told, over the phone, that there is a $25 fee, whether or not you ever stay at their property. I tried to get this money refunded over... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
KS_BoD, President of Kapaa Sands at Kapaa Sands, responded to this review

I am sorry that this guest was upset at not receiving the full refund. Unfortunately, this guest knew the cancellation policy in advance. On both the web site, and in the guest's confirmation letter, it states that cancellations more than 30 days in advance will receive a full refund less a $25 processing fee. There is a credit card processing... More 

Mount Pleasant, Michigan
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2014

This was a quiet, beautiful little resort. We thoroughly enjoyed our (somewhat outdated, but perfectly functional) ocean-front studio. As someone with a special diet, eating out was out of the question while on vacation. This unit was equipped with more than enough kitchen ware for our stay. Our unit unfortunately did not have any outdoor leisure equipment, as other reviewers... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

113 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (112)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (23)
Viewed
Room/suite (19)
Viewed
View from room (25)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities