We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel

Hotel website
Hotel packages
420 Papaloa Road, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel
Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel
Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel
Share an Experience

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    44
    15
    5
    3
See reviews for
17
52
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (109)
  • Mar-May only
    (11)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (15)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (32)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (51)
All months
Winnipeg, Manitoba
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We just needed a place to clean up and sleep after doing a 3 day hike. We stopped at this hotel, it was reasonably priced, the room was clean and they had rooms available. We had the limited breakfast included in the morning and left for our flight right after. WiFi worked The place is right on the ocean, beautiful... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Fairbanks, Alaska
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Great staff, atmosphere and room. We stayer here last year for 8 nights, we are going back this year for 16 nights we loved this place so much. Open lobby right at the ocean with free coffee, bananas, water, daily beach towel, pastry's and much more. This is a budget friendly place and well worth the money. The have yoga... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hilmy D, General Manager at Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha and thank you for being our guest. Yes, we are a boutique hotel on the beach and away from the highway and traffic noise. Very soon we will have a new lobby and a restaurant. Please visit us again and enjoy the new amenities. Mahalo. More 

China
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Rooms have been renovated and are great. Only unfortunate thing is that the rooms are not soundproof. If no one is staying above you, however, all is good! There is a DVD player (PlayStation) in the room with unlimited DVDs available to borrow. Hotel grounds are on a decent beach - lots of room to suntan and nice to swim... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hilmy D, General Manager at Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for being our guest. we are currently renovating the restaurant and we should have a full breakfast, lunch and dinner service, seven days a week. With the restaurant we will be renovating the lobby too. In a few months we should have fully renovated hotel and a brand new restaurant. Please visit us again and enjoy the new... More 

A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Very nice rooms, renovated, clean...comfy beds, nice bathroom. Did get a chance to snack on small breakfast treats every day. Renovations in the lobby just started. ...will be really nice once finished. .. 2 pools, clean, but never swam, a bit too cold....but plenty beaches to go to:) AC/heat box didn't work but was able to get a blanket on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hilmy D, General Manager at Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha and thank you for being our guest. Yes, all of us are looking forward to our renovations and hope to have a new restaurant and lobby in a few months. It is definitely a great addition to all the renovated rooms and new landscaping. I am sorry, the A/C is only for cooling. We do not have heaters in... More 

Indiana
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

It's a great hotel if you are on a budget. The hotel grounds and rooms are clean, nice pool and the beach is a nice way to relax in the morning or evening. Lacks in food service but from what I heard they were renovating their restaurant. Their breakfast option is really not breakfast so I advise those to eat... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hilmy D, General Manager at Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha and thank you for being our guest. We are now renovating our restaurant. The morning refreshments. the coffee, tea and juice are complimentary. It's a great start for the morning. Once our restaurant is open in a few months, we will be serving breakfast, lunch and dinner, 7 days a week. Look forward to your next trip to the... More 

Asheville, North Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This was our first visit to Kauai. this hotel had everything we needed at a very reasonable price. The room was comfortable and clean, A/C worked well, and the grounds were well kept and made for a very peaceful and relaxing environment. The beach location is excellent, with perfect beach vantage points for great photography, looking to the right at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hilmy D, General Manager at Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha and thank you for being our guest. It's great to provide the best service we can and help our guests enjoy and relax on their vacations. Look forward to see you on your next trip to the islands. Mahalo. More 

Marseille, France
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

When our 10 pm flight from Kauai to Phoenix broke down, Usair and their now ultra cheap company American Airlines, did its usual incompetent best of refusing to handle the problem. First, it took from 10 pm until 4 am to locate a hotel with rooms, we had two young Children age 8 and 9, were given no water, blankets,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hilmy D, General Manager at Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for being our guest. I am glad we were able to accommodate you at 4:00am. All the restaurants are generally open from 6:00am to 9:00pm. We had our coffee and tea service from 6:00am to 10:00am and we also provided a morning snack till 9:00am. All the restaurants were in the proximity of a 5 minute walk. Your... More 

Los Angeles, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great beachfront property, scenic shoreline, and peaceful setting. Our kitchenette suite was spacious and well appointed, nicely renovated in modern and bright decor. Comfortable beds and very sharp LCD television (free DVD rental). BBQ facility at both pool side areas were handy. Pool and beach towels were in good supply. Appreciate the courteous staff and Manager Hilmy.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Hilmy D, General Manager at Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha and thank you for being our guest. Yes, we do offer a lot of amenities at our beach front boutique hotel. Look forward to your next visit with us. Again, thank you for taking the time to complete the survey on TripAdvisor. Mahalo. More 

Lake Oswego, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The room was spartan but comfortable and my boyfriend loved the mid century modern affectation. The outlet in the bathroom and the blowdryer didn't work. The hotel does not serve breakfast, though they charged a "hospitality fee" that is meant to cover that. Instead they serve coffee in the lobby--get there early if you want cream in your coffee. At... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Hilmy D, General Manager at Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha and thank you for being our guests. Our maintenance staff checked the outlets and found the GFR switch turned off. But the outlets work. During the renovation, we added two outlets on the lamps on the night stand for your cell phones and I pads. Hope they were helpful. Regarding your continental breakfast, yes we offered it during the... More 

Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We booked online and the website we used (which was the hotel's site, not a broker site) promised amenities which were not offered. We booked this place partly because it said they offered free continental breakfast, free yoga, and daily newspapers and coffee and tea in the lobby all day. They offered us a $30 per night upgrade which gave... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Hilmy D, General Manager at Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha and thank you for being our guest. Per your completed survey, I understand that you did have a complimentary continental breakfast, wifi in your room, Coffee and tea services were provided from 6:00am to 10:00am also we did provide the yoga services three days a week. In addition you were provided an upgrade from the standard room, to a... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

86 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (58)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (19)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (28)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (18)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question