We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel

#9 of 12 Hotels in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Hotel packages
420 Papaloa Road, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746
Special Offer
Book Now and Save 15%!
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel
Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel
Panoramas (5)
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

268 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Service desk is the worse I have seen from any where I have stayed at. We asked the front desk the night before to check out an hour later because of our plan. They said it should be fine just call and let them know in the morning. The Phone did not work from our room so we have to... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Hong H
Hilmy D, General Manager at Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for being our guest. I am sorry to hear that the front desk staff were unable to grant you a late check out. The last couple of days we were completely sold out and housekeeping had to turn the rooms for all the new arrivals. However, we do store luggage and have a refrigerator to hold perishables. Hope... More 

Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed one night with our 15-month-old son. Registration took forever, other than that, this hotel was good and comfortable enough for us to relax and enjoy ocean. We had view of the next building though, beach was very close so it was ok not to have ocean view. Free breakfast went out fast, you might want to get it... More 

Helpful?
Thank Keerio
Hilmy D, General Manager at Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for being our guest. Now that we have moved to the new building and have three terminals, our check in process has been quick. The morning snack was offered during the renovation of our restaurant. Now that the restaurant is completely in operation, they serve breakfast, lunch and dinner everyday. Please visit us again and enjoy the new... More 

Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Hotel was nice for our girls trip. They have a wristband room key which was very cool and very handy. Two pools at the hotel. Pool views cost more so we did a garden view and it was lovely. Very few roosters roaming the property so we were never woken up by them. You get a free mai tai coupon... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank SimonieC
Hilmy D, General Manager at Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for being our guest. Appreciate all the great comments. The roosters are part of Kauai's scenery and a bit of a charm. I am happy you enjoyed them. Look forward to your next visit. Mahalo More 

Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel is quiet, kitchy and totally adorable. We loved our stay at Kauai Shores. The rooms were nice and quiet and offered an excellent view of one of the pools, as well as close proximity to several other area hotels and beaches. The lobby is a little out-dated, but it kind of added to the excitement of this property.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Cory N
Hilmy D, General Manager at Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for being our guest. I am happy that you enjoyed the room and the view. The lobby is completely renovated and a few items to be added soon. Please visit us again and enjoy the added amenities. Mahalo. More 

Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here with a friend for a mini vacation away from oahu. The rooms have been fully renovated and the lobby and restaurant were being renovated during our visit. We had an ocean view room over looking the pool area. The staff here are friendly and knowledgeable. The beach fronting the hotel was perfect, not to much reef and perfect... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alika K
Hilmy D, General Manager at Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for being our guest. We have now completed our lobby, front desk and restaurant renovations. Look forward to your next trip here at the Kauai Shores., Mahalo More 

Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
126 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed there a few days early January. The hotel is renewed, but the rooms (of a decent size and comfortable) are still paper thin, and the quality of your sleep will depend entirely on the quietness of your neighborhood (that was ok for us). The hotel charges a resort fee of $15, mainly for wifi and parking (so overcrowded... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank OneAdvisedTraveller
Hilmy D, General Manager at Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for being our guest. Yes, we have complimentary bell and valet services for our guest and restaurant patrons. The resort fee covers, wifi in all the rooms and around the property, unlimited DVD rentals, three days of Yoga classes, business center and parking. We will be placing Keurig coffee brewers with a couple of k-cups in all the... More 

Colorado
Level Contributor
135 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel was in its final stages of a multimillion dollar renovation. It is in a very good location on a nice beach and not far from the airport. From this location you can easily drive to the North Shore (Princeville) or the South Shore (Poipu). There are nearby restaurants in Kapaa. There is also a new,very nice but pricey... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank 2skidivers
Hilmy D, General Manager at Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for being our guest. We have completed our lobby, front desk and restaurant renovations. As a new amenity we will placing Keurig coffee brewers in every room beginning February. Please visit us again when you are in Kauai, Mahalo, More 

Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This priceless location has just received huge renos after being acquired by Aqua Hotels. The rooms are clean, well appointed and quite large with balconies. Hotel staff are great as usual and the new Lava Lava Club is right there on the beach. A nice stay, once again. Thank you to mgmt. and staff at Kauai Shores.

Helpful?
1 Thank Ken F
Hilmy D, General Manager at Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for being our guest. Appreciate all your great comments. I will pass them to our staff. Look forward to your next visit with us, Mahalo More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My wife and I stayed 6 days in this nice little hotel and we were very happy with our stay. Pro's *Nice beach to sit at and relax but not to swim. *Rooms are very clean and comfortable with a nice screen TV with many channels. *Small little continental breakfeast. (Donuts, Coffee, Banana's, Etc..) *Very Friendly Staff. *Walking distance to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rey P
Hilmy D, General Manager at Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for being our guest. Please visit us again as we have a new lobby, front desk and restaurant. the restaurant serves breakfast, lunch and dinner 7 days a week, The restaurant is right across the beach and has beautiful sunrises. Look forward to your next visit here. Mahalo More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

370 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (135)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (28)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Other (54)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (191)
Viewed
Beach (14)
Viewed
Double Room (42)
Viewed
Junior Suite (44)
Viewed
King Room (38)
Viewed
Main Pool (22)
Viewed
Pool (11)
Viewed
The Hotel (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (44)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (20)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (21)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapaa
0.0 mi away
Aston Islander on the Beach
3.0 mi away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 stars 1,857 reviews
0.3 mi away
Plantation Hale Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Garden Island Inn
Garden Island Inn
#2 of 11 in Lihue
4.5 of 5 stars 550 reviews
0.5 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach
15.6 mi away
Hanalei Bay Resort
Hanalei Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Princeville
4.0 of 5 stars 1,386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay