We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
4534 Lawai Beach Road, Kalaheo, Kauai, HI 96741
Hotel amenities
Hale Hoku
Ranked #6 of 10 Kalaheo B&B and Inns
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kalaheo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Write a Review

17 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    1
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
6
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Georgetown, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

My family was fortunate enough to get to spend 7 days in Kauai and Hale Hokuu Too was a beautiful place we stayed at while there. The home is amazing and the views outstanding. We have no complaints other than we couldn't stay longer! Gale has a beautiful home and garden and the pool was a great place to cool... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Westfield, NJ
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

Agreed that this location cannot be beat. Beautiful views each and every day. The owner loves her home and is quite proud of it. There are a lot of cobwebs etc., but feel that it would be difficult for the gardener to control most of that, unless he was onsite every day.However, there are some issues. Confirming the previous poster... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gkramer, Owner at Hale Hoku, responded to this review

In Hawaii there are times that it can be warm due to either very little or no trade winds blowing. We do offer Air Conditioning in all the bedrooms. We were changing cleaners at that time. The dirty floor problems have been rectified. The master bathroom in my opinion is quite lovely. We have double sinks, a large walk in... More

Scottsdale
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

We rented this home with another couple and loved almost every aspect of the home and location. First the good: 1. The location, views and privacy are absolutely amazing. We spent every evening in the lounge chairs by the ocean watching the sunset and every morning watching the sunrise. It was like being in a Corona commercial. 2. Master bedroom... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gkramer, Owner at Hale Hoku, responded to this review

I would like to thank kmanct for visiting Kauai and staying at Hale Hokuu Too and hope they return in the future. I would like to address some of their "Not-so-Good " comments. My gardener Wilson takes great pride in keeping our yard beautiful. Yes we are very lush and enjoy having lots of privacy. During certain times of the... More

Jacksonville, FL
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2010

We spent twelve days at Halehokuu too with my daughter, her husband, and my two grandchildren. The house wad perfect from amenities to location. It is exactly as represented by the pictures and Gale was great to work with. I cannot imagine there is a nicer house on the South Shore area of Kauai. We typically went to one of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Southern California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2008

My wife and I just returned from a week in Kauai after searching the internet for that very special property- condo, house, etc- that we all aspire to. Well, we found it! Hale Hoku is the completely private lower (pool, garden, and ocean) level of a beautiful home on the quiet, high-end residential, ocean front Lawai Rd that dead ends... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2008

My wife and I stayed at Hale Hoku for our 25th wedding anniversary. We felt like we were in our home away from home. The setting was absolutely breathtaking. The Ocean roar we heard everynight and morning was a pleaseant sound to hear rather than all the hustle and bustle from our home in New York. The whole ground floor... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Santa Fe, NM
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2008

We rented this home based on the photos and description on the internet site, www.homeaway.com. (http://www.homeaway.com/vacation rental/p151278#unitAmenities) The owner, Gale K., was diligent in getting her money up front, way in advance, which was fine as the home looked wonderful The pictures were great and the description enticing…all except, the pictures did not at all represent where we'd be staying.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gkramer, Owner at Hale Hoku, responded to this review

This review is without merit. You can go to our web site and view a movie video and picture tour showing exactly what we offer. Just ask us for the web page info and we would be happy to send it to you. We would also be happy to offer you names and phone numbers of previous guests and current... More

Dallas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2006

Hale Hoku was by far the best overall accomodations we've had in 4 trips to Kauai, especially for our family of 4 with 2 children for 12 days! We made our reservation 10 months in advance, and the owner, Gale Kramer, was good communicating at various stages leading up to the trip about deposit, and payments (our deposit was also... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
san diego, ca
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2006

We throughly enjoyed our stay at Hale-Hoku.. Mrs. Gale Kramer is the ultimate hostess. She is available if needed, otherwise, you may maintain your privacy. The views are to "die for." We loved the scenery of the "spouting horn" (visible from our lanai area), and the pool was throughly enjoyed by all.. Now, granted the furniture is not brand new,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2006

My family stayed at Hale Hoku over Christmas vacation '05 We were thrilled with the facilities and location..the view is to die for. Yes, there are some BEAUTIFUL harmless spiders in the garden, occasional bugs and geckos...it's the tropics! The owner was very helpful, called us to make sure we arrived OK, helped us out with the (new) washer/dryer and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2

Been to Hale Hoku? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hale Hoku

Also Known As:
Hale Hoku Kauai/Kalaheo
Address: 4534 Lawai Beach Road, Kalaheo, Kauai, HI 96741
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kalaheo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Kalaheo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hale Hoku, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hale Hoku to your Saves list