We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Lokahi Lodge (Chalet Kilauea Collection)

2.5 of 5 19 4178 Wright Road, Box 998, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785
Click for phone number
Hotel website
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Lokahi Lodge (Chalet Kilauea Collection)
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Lokahi Lodge (Chalet Kilauea Collection)
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    43
    10
    6
    3
See reviews for
33
56
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (108)
  • Mar-May only
    (26)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (22)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (28)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (32)
All months
Flushing, New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My friends and I stayed one night at the Chalet Kilauea during our week long stay on the Big Island. The Chalet was simple and bare bones but fit our needs. We reserved two rooms in the Lokahi Lodge a few mile drive from the main office. We had the Naupaka Room for three of us and the Mohalapua room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2014

This lodge is on a quiet street in a rainforest area. It is about a 5 minute drive to Volcanos National Park. We stayed in the Naupaka room. It has two beds (one king and one queen), which was great for our family of 2 adults & 2 kids. There is a dining table, two couches, and a TV.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Lokahi Lodge (Chalet Kilauea Collection), responded to this review

Aloha and thank you for reviewing Lokahi Lodge with Tripadvisor. We are glad that you had an enjoyable stay with us. We apologize for the heat of the room. However, 99% of the time, because of our elevation, it is almost always cold here. We recently had some unusual heat waves pass through and we are again back to our... More

Jupiter, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

We stayed for one night this summer while visiting Volcanos National Park, and it could not have been a more perfect place to stay. We stayed in the Lokahi Lodge in the Naupaka Room which is a large room on the top floor that has two queen beds, a lving room, kitchenette and dining table all in one open space... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Lokahi Lodge (Chalet Kilauea Collection), responded to this review

Aloha! It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Lokahi Lodge. Thank you for taking the time to provide your comments on Tripadvisor. We are happy that you found our location to be most convenient for your itinerary needs. Also, Naupaka room is definitely one of the best and most convenient rooms available for families and... More

Stony Brook, NY
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

Stayed here three nights. Room was very comfortable. Our only complaint was breakfast which was so-so. One morning the milk was rancid and the service was terrible. I will say the coffee was delicious. I would recommend this place because for the money, you just can't beat it.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Lokahi Lodge (Chalet Kilauea Collection), responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing Lokahi Lodge on Tripadvisor. We appreciate your comments and feedback! To address the rancid milk, we have never had this problem before and I can assure you that we will be bringing this to the attention of our suppliers, as the milk had just been dropped off in a shipment. While our breakfast is not for... More

San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
48 hotel reviews
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Stayed here with a group of friends and found the rooms and beds comfortable with good amenities. We loved the rainforest surroundings and hot tub plus the doors onto the lanai. Only a mile from the volcano national park, we could come and go easily any time of day. The reception desk was efficient and helpful. We didn't bother with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Lokahi Lodge (Chalet Kilauea Collection), responded to this review

Aloha and thank you for taking your time to provide comments of Lokahi Lodge on Tripadvisor. I see that you are a returning guest (per a previous review in 2010) and we thank you for coming back to visit!! We are pleased to hear that you and your friends had an enjoyable stay with us and found the rooms to... More

San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
20 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

The lodge is a little ways outside 'downtown' Volcano, in a wooded area and surrounded by lovely flower gardens. Two doors open the room to an indoor hallway and to a patio surrounding the lodge -- a great place to take the kids when one or more adults want to sleep late. The rooms were comfortable and well equipped. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Lokahi Lodge (Chalet Kilauea Collection), responded to this review

Aloha and mahalo for your review of Lokahi Lodge. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found the location to be most convenient for your travel plans. Lokahi Lodge is definitely great for families traveling with children! Also, we are happy to know that you found your room to be accommodating for your stay with us.... More

NH
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

My daughter and I just finished a wonderful 4 night stay in the Pamakani room in the Chalet Kilauea's Lokahi Lodge. Our room was large and beautiful with a bathroom 'to die for' (all tile, double sinks, double rain head shower). The place was spotless and well-maintained. We had our own private entrance AND lanai area. In addition, we had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Lokahi Lodge (Chalet Kilauea Collection), responded to this review

Aloha and mahalo for taking your time to review Lokahi Lodge on Tripadvisor. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our Pamakani Room. It's one of our new renovations and definitely a favorite of all!! Also, we agree that our location in the rain-forest makes our hotel a unique experience from typical island resorts, and... More

Savannah, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We stayed 2 nights in the Napauka room at Lokahi Lodge. What a pleasant experience! The room is large and well equipped, and the breakfast was good and filling. It took just a few minutes to get to the park, and you could easily go back and forth through-out the day. Lunch at Cafe Ola was extremely good. Lava Rock... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Lokahi Lodge (Chalet Kilauea Collection), responded to this review

Aloha and thank you for providing your review of Lokahi Lodge. We are pleased to know that you had an enjoyable stay with us in the Naupaka room. It's definitely one of the most spacious rooms in our collection. We are also glad to hear that we made your granddaughter's day and were able to get her stuffed animal back... More

Erie, Colorado
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

I have previously stayed in volcano and its a lovely town. As you arrive enter your room from the outside, we walked through the main door and it felt that we were in a converted office. For the price paid we received poor overall value. The window blinds which were broke should be replaced. The beds were the hardest of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Lokahi Lodge (Chalet Kilauea Collection), responded to this review

Mahalo for taking your time to review Lokahi Lodge on Tripadvisor. We appreciate your comments and feedback. It is unfortunate that you had anything less than an enjoyable experience with us. We did check into the blinds situation after seeing your comments and they seem to be in working order. However, sometimes guests do have a difficult time with using... More

Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

This is a truly unique small hotel in Volcano.... if you want to see the National Park I would recommend this place. Our suite was lovely and the continental breakfast was very nice and offered wonderful coffee each morning. Staff were very helpful/ I would recommend to friends. PS-- the Lava Rock Cafe is a bit local, but fun to... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Lokahi Lodge (Chalet Kilauea Collection), responded to this review

Aloha and thank your for your review of Lokahi Lodge. We are pleased that you had an enjoyable stay with us and found your suite to be exactly what you needed. It's great that you enjoyed our house blend coffee and breakfast and found our staff to be helpful while making your plans. Come back and visit us if ever... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Lokahi Lodge (Chalet Kilauea Collection)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lokahi Lodge (Chalet Kilauea Collection)

Address: 19 4178 Wright Road, Box 998, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Volcano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lokahi Lodge (Chalet Kilauea Collection) 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Lokahi Lodge (Chalet Kilauea Collection) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lokahi Lodge (Chalet Kilauea Collection) Hotel Volcano
Lokahi Lodge (Chalet Kilauea Collection) Volcano, Hawaii

84 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (58)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay