We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 19 Volcano accommodations

Lokahi Lodge (Chalet Kilauea Collection)

2.5 of 5 Lodge   |   19 4178 Wright Road, Box 998, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Lokahi Lodge (Chalet Kilauea Collection) to your Saves list
Lokahi Lodge (Chalet Kilauea Collection)
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
81%
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 5 days ago
kirstine2013 Los Angeles, California
  • Reviews (103)
  • Photos (79)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (8)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

103 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    45
    39
    10
    6
    3
See reviews for
29
55
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
39 hotel reviews
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Stayed here with a group of friends and found the rooms and beds comfortable with good amenities. We loved the rainforest surroundings and hot tub plus the doors onto the lanai. Only a mile from the volcano national park, we could come and go easily any time of day. The reception desk was efficient and helpful. We didn't bother with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Lokahi Lodge (Chalet Kilauea Collection), responded to this review

Aloha and thank you for taking your time to provide comments of Lokahi Lodge on Tripadvisor. I see that you are a returning guest (per a previous review in 2010) and we thank you for coming back to visit!! We are pleased to hear that you and your friends had an enjoyable stay with us and found the rooms to... More

San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The lodge is a little ways outside 'downtown' Volcano, in a wooded area and surrounded by lovely flower gardens. Two doors open the room to an indoor hallway and to a patio surrounding the lodge -- a great place to take the kids when one or more adults want to sleep late. The rooms were comfortable and well equipped. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Lokahi Lodge (Chalet Kilauea Collection), responded to this review

Aloha and mahalo for your review of Lokahi Lodge. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found the location to be most convenient for your travel plans. Lokahi Lodge is definitely great for families traveling with children! Also, we are happy to know that you found your room to be accommodating for your stay with us.... More

NH
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My daughter and I just finished a wonderful 4 night stay in the Pamakani room in the Chalet Kilauea's Lokahi Lodge. Our room was large and beautiful with a bathroom 'to die for' (all tile, double sinks, double rain head shower). The place was spotless and well-maintained. We had our own private entrance AND lanai area. In addition, we had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Lokahi Lodge (Chalet Kilauea Collection), responded to this review

Aloha and mahalo for taking your time to review Lokahi Lodge on Tripadvisor. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our Pamakani Room. It's one of our new renovations and definitely a favorite of all!! Also, we agree that our location in the rain-forest makes our hotel a unique experience from typical island resorts, and... More

Savannah, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed 2 nights in the Napauka room at Lokahi Lodge. What a pleasant experience! The room is large and well equipped, and the breakfast was good and filling. It took just a few minutes to get to the park, and you could easily go back and forth through-out the day. Lunch at Cafe Ola was extremely good. Lava Rock... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Lokahi Lodge (Chalet Kilauea Collection), responded to this review

Aloha and thank you for providing your review of Lokahi Lodge. We are pleased to know that you had an enjoyable stay with us in the Naupaka room. It's definitely one of the most spacious rooms in our collection. We are also glad to hear that we made your granddaughter's day and were able to get her stuffed animal back... More

Erie, Colorado
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

I have previously stayed in volcano and its a lovely town. As you arrive enter your room from the outside, we walked through the main door and it felt that we were in a converted office. For the price paid we received poor overall value. The window blinds which were broke should be replaced. The beds were the hardest of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Lokahi Lodge (Chalet Kilauea Collection), responded to this review

Mahalo for taking your time to review Lokahi Lodge on Tripadvisor. We appreciate your comments and feedback. It is unfortunate that you had anything less than an enjoyable experience with us. We did check into the blinds situation after seeing your comments and they seem to be in working order. However, sometimes guests do have a difficult time with using... More

Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

This is a truly unique small hotel in Volcano.... if you want to see the National Park I would recommend this place. Our suite was lovely and the continental breakfast was very nice and offered wonderful coffee each morning. Staff were very helpful/ I would recommend to friends. PS-- the Lava Rock Cafe is a bit local, but fun to... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Lokahi Lodge (Chalet Kilauea Collection), responded to this review

Aloha and thank your for your review of Lokahi Lodge. We are pleased that you had an enjoyable stay with us and found your suite to be exactly what you needed. It's great that you enjoyed our house blend coffee and breakfast and found our staff to be helpful while making your plans. Come back and visit us if ever... More

San Diego, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

We stayed two nights in the Makalapua room in the Lokahi Lodge in the second week of April. This lodge is about a mile from the main lodge and closer to the park, which was fine with us. We had a king size bed and were pleased with room and lodge. It was a little cool at night, so the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Lokahi Lodge (Chalet Kilauea Collection), responded to this review

Aloha and thank you for choosing to review Lokahi Lodge on tripadvisor. We are happy to hear that you had a wonderful stay and were able to see what Volcano village has to offer. The glow at Jagger museum is definitely worth checking out so I'm glad that you got to see that while you were here. I'll have to... More

Wolfville, Nova Scotia, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

Great place - we had a nice big room (Naupaka) in the top of the Lokahi Lodge right in Volcano village. very comfortable and spacious. Beds were comfy and huge. In the morning we opted to visit the main lodge for the contintental breakfast - the staff was friendly, very accommodating and we had some wonderful conversations with them and... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Lokahi Lodge (Chalet Kilauea Collection), responded to this review

Aloha!! It is so great to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us and were able to check out the gardens and koi pond. I bet your 3 year old enjoyed feeding the fish!! We are pleased that you found the Naupaka room to be accommodating and comfortable. Please come back and visit again and maybe try the... More

Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
5 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

We stayed in Lokani Lodge in the Pamakani room. Very beautifully decorated! Our only complaint was no AC. We stayed there in the middle of May and with only 1 window, the room did not cool down until 2am. The room had a ceiling fan. Other than that, it was very convenient to VNP and we enjoyed our stay. Our... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Lokahi Lodge (Chalet Kilauea Collection), responded to this review

Mahalo for taking the time to review Lokahi Lodge. It is great to hear that you enjoyed the Pamakani room and your stay with us. We apologize that it may have been a little warm that day. (Very unusual for Volcano) We don't provide air conditioning because it's very rare that we ever need them here. Actually, you will find... More

Cranbrook
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Stayed overnight in Volcano and upgraded my original booking to the recently renovated room. Cant rememmber the name of the room. Had a nice stay, close to Volcano Park and a couple descent restaurants.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Lokahi Lodge (Chalet Kilauea Collection), responded to this review

Aloha and thank you for leaving your comments on Lokahi Lodge. I definitely have to agree with you that maybe one night is not sufficient for exploring the volcano. There is soooo much to do here!! It's really great to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us and please come back and visit again. Mahalo and Aloha!! More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Lokahi Lodge (Chalet Kilauea Collection), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Lokahi Lodge (Chalet Kilauea Collection)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lokahi Lodge (Chalet Kilauea Collection)

Address: 19 4178 Wright Road, Box 998, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Volcano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lokahi Lodge (Chalet Kilauea Collection) 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Lokahi Lodge (Chalet Kilauea Collection) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lokahi Lodge (Chalet Kilauea Collection) Hotel Volcano
Lokahi Lodge (Chalet Kilauea Collection) Volcano, Hawaii

79 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (53)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (2)

Amenities

Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
5

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer