We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 2 Volcano hotels

Chalet Kilauea

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19-4178 Wright Road, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Chalet Kilauea to your Saves list
Chalet Kilauea
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
76%
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Volcano
Certificate of Excellence 2013
A recent review
  • Reviews (165)
  • Photos (97)
  • Prices
  • Amenities
  • Room tips (21)
  • Back to top
Write a Review

165 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    75
    50
    17
    13
    10
See reviews for
18
111
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We only spent one night here, but it was a quaint and funky (in a good way) place to stay while we were visiting the park. We stayed in the Garden Room which was very quiet and the staff was very friendly. The grounds are lush and green. These aren't luxury accommodations, but the room rates are comparatively reasonable and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We recently returned from the big island, where we had a 2 nights stay at Kilauea Volcano Accommodations (name as found in Expedia). Simply to say, that it was my favorite lodge during our Hawaii trip. The atmosphere there was very cozy, artistic and all the rooms were very clean. The wi-fi was great, full connection up to our entire... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
upstate NY
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed in the Hapu'u Bungalow for 2 nights. Staff is very friendly and we thought the breakfast was fine (the sweet breads are yummy). Wifi worked well. A couple of hints (1) there's a blanket stored in the ottoman in the living room area. You'll need it, especially if you're not comfortable with space heaters while you're sleeping (that's... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Prescott, Arizona
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

We and our son and daughter-in-law stayed here for two nights and found the staff very pleasant and helpful, the rooms clean and comfortable, and the setting delightful. They stayed in the Jade Room and we stayed in the Garden Room. The continental breakfast is $6 per person, plentiful, tasty, well presented, and a good value. They offer local fresh... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Chalet Kilauea, responded to this review

Aloha and thank you for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor. We appreciate all the wonderful comments you gave the Chalet Kilauea and particularly the Garden Room. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and were able to make use of all the provided amenities in your rooms. We hope you had a wonderful vacation... More

Hilo, Hawaii
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

My husband and I stayed at Chalet Kilauea over the weekend. It was a wonderful visit. The first night we stayed in Volcano Hale and the next night we stayed in Chalet Kilauea. The room at Volcano Hale had a wonderful skylight and we could see the stars at night and then in the morning we could watch the clouds... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Chalet Kilauea, responded to this review

Aloha and thank you for reviewing us on Tripadvisor. We are so glad to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and were able to stay in two of our properties! We hope that you will come back and visit again. Thank you and have a great day!! More

hilo
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

Just really neat! Breathe the air and appreciate where you come from. It was a great place to stay when spending special time with my fiance. The area is close to outdoor areas and not very populated!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Chalet Kilauea, responded to this review

Aloha and mahalo for taking the time to review Chalet Kilauea. We are pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us. It is great that you were able to immerse yourself in the surrounding beauty of Volcano and the serenity that our village offers. We hope to see you again on any future vacations to the Big... More

Leuven, Belgium
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

We do not normally comments hotels unless extraordinarily good; this will be our 1st exception, thanks to the rudeness of the manager on duty overnight. After (and before) quite some snorkeling/hiking/diving, we decided to spoil ourselves a bit for 1 night and get a room with Jacuzzi; price: 140$ (30$ more for the Jacuzzi inside). We arrived there a bit... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Chalet Kilauea, responded to this review

Aloha and mahalo for taking the time to review your stay on Tripadvisor. Unfortunately, there was a misunderstanding during a conversation you previously had with an employee here at Chalet Kilauea. We do in fact have jacuzzis in SOME of the rooms we offer. However, the guest did not book that category of rooms with Orbitz and we kindly tried... More

Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

We stayed in the bungalow and loved it, we really wish we could have stayed for more that one night. There is a nice patio outside with a chiminea which sadly we couldn't get to work. The room is lovely with a little kitchenette with a microwave and seating area. Not a major grumble as they do have heaters in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Chalet Kilauea, responded to this review

Aloha and thank you for reviewing Chalet Kilauea on Tripadvisor. We appreciate any comments and/or feedback that you may have. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. I agree, it's a bit cooler here, considering that we are at a higher elevation. We always try to provide guests with everything they may need, including the provided... More

Escondido, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We were in the fern forest chalet and enjoyed it immensely! Spacious and charming inside and out! King-size bed, Jacuzzi tub, waterfall shower surrounded by forest, large living room, tv, small kitchenette and very close to Volcanoes National Park.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Chalet Kilauea, responded to this review

Aloha and thank you for reviewing Chalet Kilauea! We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our charming Hapu'u Bungalow and all it has to offer. Hapu'u is one of the favorites of past guests, and we receive many compliments for the little "touches," such as the custom waterfall shower. We hope to see you again... More

San Jose, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

This B&B was just right for two days of exploring Volcanoes National Park. It's a five-minute drive from the visitor center, and the staff was very helpful with information about park and the few dining and grocery shopping options in the very small town of Volcano. We stayed in the Continental suite, which has a minifridge and a few plates... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Chalet Kilauea, responded to this review

Mahalo for taking your time to review Chalet Kilauea on Tripadvisor. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in the Continental room and that our staff was able to help you with activities in the area. I would agree that the Chalet Kilauea Hotel is unique and quaint like a B&B, and we appreciate your lovely comments... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Chalet Kilauea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Chalet Kilauea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Kilauea

Also Known As:
Inn At Volcano (Chalet Kilauea Collection) Hotel
Inn At Volcano (Chalet Kilauea Collection) Hotel Volcano
Chalet Kilauea Volcano
Chalet Kilauea Volcano, Hawaii
Address: 19-4178 Wright Road, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Volcano
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Volcano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chalet Kilauea 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Chalet Kilauea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

97 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (67)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (30)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Best prices for your stay

Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotels.com Booking.com Travelocity
and 4 more sites!

Amenities

Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
6

See which rooms travelers prefer

Sorry, our search service is down. Displaying the most recent room tips below.