We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Chalet Kilauea

3.0 of 5 19-4178 Wright Road, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785
Hotel website
Special Price
10% off room rate
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Chalet Kilauea
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Chalet Kilauea
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    70
    21
    14
    15
See reviews for
29
151
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (226)
  • Mar-May only
    (54)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (53)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (61)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (58)
All months
Rutland, Vermont
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We spend a lot of time out doing things and not a lot of time in the room. It was just what we needed. The room looked newly renovated. The bathroom was brand new and the outside kitchenette was great. (Jade Room) It was everything we needed. Close to the national park with a little village up the road (Volcano)... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Heerlen
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The small hotel is situated in a realy beautifull garden with a lot of flowers. It's very close to the national park and that was the reason to stay here. Alle rooms have a special name and we stayed in the Africa room. There were many many items in the room form Africa and that made it special. We must... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
msp
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
29 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here because our reservation at another B &B could not be honored. Having visited the first place and seen what could have been, this place a disappointment and way more expensive. Typical weird layout for B & B. No breakfast, and coffee only after the lobby opened.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

When we were looking for places to stay while visiting Volcano, my family and I decided on Chalet Kilauea because of how fun the rooms looked. We stayed in the Jade Room and the Bamboo Room, and both of the rooms were great and I highly recommend them!! There is plenty of space for two people in each room. We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bellaire, Michigan
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This was our second visit. No longer is there a lovely great room and breakfast area in the lodge No longer a B and B as in our first visit. We stayed in the Limo room which is small and warm during the day. But my main complaint is that there is only one chair even though it it a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Quad Cities, Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed for two nights with another couple (two rooms). I made the reservations for both rooms, based upon the reviews and pictures provided. However, when we arrived, I was really taken back. I was embarrassed to tell the other couple that this was where we were staying. The ceilings were very low and it was damp with dehumidifiers being... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Oakville, Canada
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
59 hotel reviews
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Fun place to stay. We felt that we really were in Hawaii. The Continental is very large and comfortable. We slept like logs. Bring food for breakfast. The restaurants around here are expensive (even for Hawaii) and run on island time. The parking spots are a bit narrow but we had no problems.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Chalet Kilauea, responded to this review

Aloha and thank you for reviewing the Chalet Kilauea on Tripadvisor. We are happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay in the Continental room! We hope you had a great Hawaiian vacation and please come see us again on any future trips to the Big Island. Mahalo and Aloha! More 

Rotterdam
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
33 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2015

After arriving we were quickly checked in, although the reception was said to be closed at around 5 PM (and we were about 30 minutes later) there was still someone present. We resided in the 'Java' room. Not the biggest but we don't really bother about that. I can imagine people complain about the edges of the bet (foot-end) sticking... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Chalet Kilauea, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review Chalet Kilauea. We are glad that you enjoyed the Garden room and found the complimentary WiFi and coffee to be a welcome amenity during your stay. It's great that you were able to enjoy the National Park and hope that you will come stay with us again if ever in the area.... More 

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2015

Chalet Kilauea was a lovely inn. There isn't a prepared breakfast, but plenty of oatmeal, coffee, and papaya- giving it a bed and breakfast type of feel. The location was ideal for visiting Volcaoes park, as well as Hilo and many locations on the windward side of the Big Island. The inn had lovely rooms, set in a rainforest. Try... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Chalet Kilauea, responded to this review

Aloha and thank you for providing your comments and feedback on Tripadvisor. We are glad to hear that you had a lovely stay and were able to enjoy some of the local restaurants (Thai Thai) while you were visiting. We hope you will come back and visit on any future trips to the Big Island of Hawai'i. Mahalo and Aloha! More 

Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2014 via mobile

Its a beautiful, spacious, comfortable room with wall to wall windows to the garden, a huge bathroom and a shared jacuzzi steps away under a gazebo. The bed was comfortable for both of us... We like different firmness levels and the room looked and smelled clean throughout. We upgraded after having booked a different room in their nearby property which... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Chalet Kilauea, responded to this review

Aloha and mahalo for reviewing the Chalet Kilauea on Tripadvisor. We are very happy to hear that you had an enjoyable experience in the Bamboo room. It's great that you were able to make use of the jacuzzi while you were here! We hope you will come back and visit on any future trips to the Big Island of Hawai'i.... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Chalet Kilauea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Kilauea

Address: 19-4178 Wright Road, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Volcano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chalet Kilauea 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Chalet Kilauea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Volcano (Chalet Kilauea Collection) Hotel Volcano
Chalet Kilauea Volcano, Hawaii

117 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (87)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (27)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Other (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (30)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay