We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Chalet Kilauea

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
19-4178 Wright Road, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785
Special Price
10% off room rate
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chalet Kilauea
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Chalet Kilauea
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    72
    22
    14
    15
See reviews for
29
157
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (235)
  • Mar-May only
    (63)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (53)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (61)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (58)
All months
devon, uk
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
32 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

this suited us just fine ... clean, everything worked and attractive. much of volcano seemed quite expensive but this very good value and within easy reach of the park.can recommend to anyone for a couple of nights.

Was this review helpful? Yes
The South
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

We stayed in the separate volcano hale building not the main hotel. The room was nice and it was good to have a fully equipped kitchen and meet other travelers. The only downside was the paper thin walls which meant you didn't get a lie in if you were near the kitchen, but otherwise really enjoyed our stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kaunakakai, Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My wife and I were greeted with tropical foliage and a gurgling koi pond. Lush path winded through the grounds. We rented the Garden Room and we struck by its charm and luxury for such a remote location. Great garden patio/lanai. We would've stayed two nights but it was already booked. Love this place. Would definitely stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed two nights in April 2015 in the Bamboo room, having found it on Tripadvisor. It was perfect for what we needed. I think we may have had the nicest room although we didn't see them all. The room is new and actually not listed on their website. They were in the process of creating a newer room that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
San Francisco, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2015

I stayed at the Volcano Hale one of 3 properties owned by Chalet Kilauea. It seems that the room you stay in can greatly affect your experience due to noise level. The room I stayed in was Hala room which was upstairs and facing the street. The room itself was small, the doorway was a little cramped, but for one... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
west australia
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
28 hotel reviews
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2015

Our room was wonderful and has a very comfortable bed and pillows. Only issue was that the door to the lanai had a window....that would let in early morning sun! So we had to cover it with a towel so we would not be woken too early. Also....we never saw fruit at the reception! Only tea and coffee. The hotel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Liege, Belgium
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2015

Great place to stay when visiting the Hawaian Volcanoes National Park. Clean, comfortable and 5 minutes away. A bit pricey but not a lot of other choices. No breakfast, just fresh papaya, coffee/tea and oats. Fridge, microwave, plates, glasses, cups and cutlery available in rooms. Hot tub on the deck.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Chalet Kilauea, responded to this review

Mahalo! It is also awesome that you took the time to provide your comments for Tripadvisor readers! We are glad that you had a great experience and found all the room's amenities to be what was needed for your stay with us. Thank you for the review on Chalet Kilauea and we hope you had a great rest of your... More 

Rutland, Vermont
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2015

We spend a lot of time out doing things and not a lot of time in the room. It was just what we needed. The room looked newly renovated. The bathroom was brand new and the outside kitchenette was great. (Jade Room) It was everything we needed. Close to the national park with a little village up the road (Volcano)... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Chalet Kilauea, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to review the Chalet Kilauea. It's great to hear that you had an enjoyable experience and found everything to be just what was needed for your stay. We hope you will come back and visit us again. Aloha and mahalo!! More 

Heerlen
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
29 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2015

The small hotel is situated in a realy beautifull garden with a lot of flowers. It's very close to the national park and that was the reason to stay here. Alle rooms have a special name and we stayed in the Africa room. There were many many items in the room form Africa and that made it special. We must... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Chalet Kilauea, responded to this review

Aloha and mahalo for providing your comments on Tripadvisor. We are pleased to hear that you had a great stay with us amongst the flowers:) It's always good to hear what our guests enjoyed or experienced while they were here. Thank you again and we hope you will come back and visit on any future trips to Hawai'i. Mahalo! More 

msp
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
29 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2015

We stayed here because our reservation at another B &B could not be honored. Having visited the first place and seen what could have been, this place a disappointment and way more expensive. Typical weird layout for B & B. No breakfast, and coffee only after the lobby opened.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Chalet Kilauea, responded to this review

Aloha and thank you for providing feedback on Tripadvisor. It is unfortunate that you had anything less than a great stay with us. We only advertise as a hotel in Volcano, so I can see why you may have been disappointed in your experience (no breakfast) as it seems you were expecting a B&B. I hope you had a great... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

121 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (91)
Viewed
Room/suite (28)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (17)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (30)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities