We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Chalet Kilauea

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
19-4178 Wright Road, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785
Special Price
10% off room rate
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chalet Kilauea
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Chalet Kilauea
Share an Experience

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    70
    21
    15
    15
See reviews for
30
151
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (228)
  • Mar-May only
    (56)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (53)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (61)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (58)
All months
Salt Spring Island, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We booked a room with shared bath. We were not told when we booked that this hotel actually has at least 3 different properties, spread out over the town. Our group was put in two different properties. We had one vehicle and the properties were about a mile apart. We ended up in Volcano Hale. Do not stay here! The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Liege, Belgium
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great place to stay when visiting the Hawaian Volcanoes National Park. Clean, comfortable and 5 minutes away. A bit pricey but not a lot of other choices. No breakfast, just fresh papaya, coffee/tea and oats. Fridge, microwave, plates, glasses, cups and cutlery available in rooms. Hot tub on the deck.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Chalet Kilauea, responded to this review

Mahalo! It is also awesome that you took the time to provide your comments for Tripadvisor readers! We are glad that you had a great experience and found all the room's amenities to be what was needed for your stay with us. Thank you for the review on Chalet Kilauea and we hope you had a great rest of your... More 

Rutland, Vermont
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We spend a lot of time out doing things and not a lot of time in the room. It was just what we needed. The room looked newly renovated. The bathroom was brand new and the outside kitchenette was great. (Jade Room) It was everything we needed. Close to the national park with a little village up the road (Volcano)... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Chalet Kilauea, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to review the Chalet Kilauea. It's great to hear that you had an enjoyable experience and found everything to be just what was needed for your stay. We hope you will come back and visit us again. Aloha and mahalo!! More 

Heerlen
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The small hotel is situated in a realy beautifull garden with a lot of flowers. It's very close to the national park and that was the reason to stay here. Alle rooms have a special name and we stayed in the Africa room. There were many many items in the room form Africa and that made it special. We must... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Chalet Kilauea, responded to this review

Aloha and mahalo for providing your comments on Tripadvisor. We are pleased to hear that you had a great stay with us amongst the flowers:) It's always good to hear what our guests enjoyed or experienced while they were here. Thank you again and we hope you will come back and visit on any future trips to Hawai'i. Mahalo! More 

msp
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
29 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here because our reservation at another B &B could not be honored. Having visited the first place and seen what could have been, this place a disappointment and way more expensive. Typical weird layout for B & B. No breakfast, and coffee only after the lobby opened.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Chalet Kilauea, responded to this review

Aloha and thank you for providing feedback on Tripadvisor. It is unfortunate that you had anything less than a great stay with us. We only advertise as a hotel in Volcano, so I can see why you may have been disappointed in your experience (no breakfast) as it seems you were expecting a B&B. I hope you had a great... More 

Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2015

When we were looking for places to stay while visiting Volcano, my family and I decided on Chalet Kilauea because of how fun the rooms looked. We stayed in the Jade Room and the Bamboo Room, and both of the rooms were great and I highly recommend them!! There is plenty of space for two people in each room. We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Chalet Kilauea, responded to this review

Mahalo for taking your time to review the Chalet Kilauea. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay in the Jade and Bamboo rooms and were able to enjoy the National Park as well. As for the breakfast, unfortunately, we did not have a general demand for breakfast and therefore had to phase it out of what we... More 

Bellaire, Michigan
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2015 via mobile

This was our second visit. No longer is there a lovely great room and breakfast area in the lodge No longer a B and B as in our first visit. We stayed in the Limo room which is small and warm during the day. But my main complaint is that there is only one chair even though it it a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Quad Cities, Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2015

We stayed for two nights with another couple (two rooms). I made the reservations for both rooms, based upon the reviews and pictures provided. However, when we arrived, I was really taken back. I was embarrassed to tell the other couple that this was where we were staying. The ceilings were very low and it was damp with dehumidifiers being... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Oakville, Canada
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
58 hotel reviews
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2015

Fun place to stay. We felt that we really were in Hawaii. The Continental is very large and comfortable. We slept like logs. Bring food for breakfast. The restaurants around here are expensive (even for Hawaii) and run on island time. The parking spots are a bit narrow but we had no problems.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Chalet Kilauea, responded to this review

Aloha and thank you for reviewing the Chalet Kilauea on Tripadvisor. We are happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay in the Continental room! We hope you had a great Hawaiian vacation and please come see us again on any future trips to the Big Island. Mahalo and Aloha! More 

Rotterdam
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
33 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2015

After arriving we were quickly checked in, although the reception was said to be closed at around 5 PM (and we were about 30 minutes later) there was still someone present. We resided in the 'Java' room. Not the biggest but we don't really bother about that. I can imagine people complain about the edges of the bet (foot-end) sticking... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Chalet Kilauea, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review Chalet Kilauea. We are glad that you enjoyed the Garden room and found the complimentary WiFi and coffee to be a welcome amenity during your stay. It's great that you were able to enjoy the National Park and hope that you will come stay with us again if ever in the area.... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

117 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (87)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (27)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Other (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (30)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question