We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 19 Volcano accommodations

Volcano Hale (Chalet Kilauea Collection)

2.0 of 5 Lodge   |   19-4178 Wright Road, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Volcano Hale (Chalet Kilauea Collection) to your Saves list
Volcano Hale (Chalet Kilauea Collection)
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
77%
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
Erika R
  • Overview
  • Reviews (135)
  • Photos (61)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (20)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

135 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    47
    54
    15
    15
    4
See reviews for
16
64
21
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My fiancé and I stayed at the Chalet for one night only, we were highly pleased. The place is really cute and very clean, not to mention the price that can't be beat! We will definitely stay there again, and have already been telling people about it.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Volcano Hale (Chalet Kilauea Collection), responded to this review

Aloha and thank you for your great recommendation of Volcano Hale to your friends. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. It's always great to hear that our guests talk about us after they leave :) We strive to make accommodations in Volcano as affordable, comfortable and clean as possible so we are happy that you had... More

Romford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here for 1 night whilst visiting the volcano park. We had the Volcano Hale part of the chalet in the Hala room which was off site & built in 1912 was a quaint room, clean, tidy and amenable. Shared bathroom which was very clean & stocked with toiletries & fresh towels. When we arrived the room was very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Volcano Hale (Chalet Kilauea Collection), responded to this review

Aloha and thank you for taking your time to provide comments and feedback of Volcano Hale. We are happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and were able to visit the National Park. Generally, it gets quite "chilly" here and usually not hot. However, we have had a few days this summer that were unusually warmer than most... More

Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Can't beat the price. Comfy bed, plenty of bathrooms (never had to wait.) Warm, attentive service at the front desk. Beautiful grounds, comfortable room, tasty continental breakfast. On our last morning, I accidentally left my handbag in the dining room, and a staff member scooped it up and chased me down! So grateful to Volcano Hale. We'll be back if/when... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Volcano Hale (Chalet Kilauea Collection), responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide comments and feedback on Volcano Hale. We are so happy that you had such an enjoyable experience in Volcano and found all the provided amenities to be just what was needed for your stay. Come back and visit us on any future trips to the Big Island of Hawai'i! Mahalo and Aloha!! More

Coatesville, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
11 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

This small little gem is located right outside of Volcano National Park in a quiet little town set in a beautiful rain forest. The building we were in had 4 rooms and 2 shared baths with a single kitchen. Everything about the place was clean and there were no real issues with the place. Parking can be a little tight... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Volcano Hale (Chalet Kilauea Collection), responded to this review

Mahalo for reviewing Volcano Hale on Tripadvisor. It is great that you enjoyed your stay with us and also that you were able to experience Volcano National Park. We are pleased that you noticed the cleanliness of our rooms. We have great housekeepers that take pride in keeping our rooms "as clean as possible" for our guests. Again, thank you... More

New York City, New York
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
27 hotel reviews
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

This is not the main hotel. It's almost like a hostel but no parties. It's a good option if you are looking for something cheap to be near the park. It's clean, has plenty of towels in the bathroom but maybe not enough bathrooms given the amount of rooms on each floor. I stayed in a room on the main... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Volcano Hale (Chalet Kilauea Collection), responded to this review

Mahalo for taking the time to provide feedback on Tripadvisor for future guests. We are pleased that you found Volcano Hale to be sufficient for your traveling needs. Usually, the amount of bathrooms and seating areas are just what is needed for our guests. We do understand that during busy seasons, it may get slightly crowded, so we are looking... More

Burnaby, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

Rooms small but adequate, shared bathrooms never an issue for us or our friends (another couple) Clean, quiet, tricky to find in the total darkness. Enjoyed the hot tub, and the breakfast was awesome - so enjoyed the fresh fruit and the local bakery breads. Eating off china plates with silver ware was an added bonus. Our friends first trip... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Volcano Hale (Chalet Kilauea Collection), responded to this review

Aloha and thank you for choosing Volcano Hale for your stay. We are pleased that you had an enjoyable stay with us and were able to share your vacation with friends. It's great that you were able to enjoy the breakfast and the china that's provided during breakfast. We hope that you had a great vacation on the Big Island... More

Waikoloa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

This is a property remotely managed by someone completely off site. Everything as far as bath and kitchen are shared. Woke up one morning to dirty under ware and socks spread across the community dining table. Really, I am all about peace, love and happiness, but dirty hippies should stay in a tent. When we told the girl at the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Volcano Hale (Chalet Kilauea Collection), responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time to review Volcano Hale on Tripadvisor. We apologize that you did not have a great experience with us. Unfortunately, it sounds like you had some neighbors that did not have very good manners. We are sorry to hear that however, it is something that is very much out of our control. I believe that... More

Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

I had seen Volcano Hale advertised on Tripadvisor before I got to Hawaii but wasn't sure what day I would be at Volcano. The day I got there I hadn't booked accommodations before I got to the village of Volcano. I was in need of a place to stay, so I looked up the address of Volcano Hale, and got... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Volcano Hale (Chalet Kilauea Collection), responded to this review

Aloha and mahalo for reviewing Volcano Hale on Tripadvisor. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found all the provided amenities helpful on your vacation here. As for the price, you are correct. There are different sizes of rooms with different sizes of beds at Volcano Hale so each one is priced accordingly. It is great... More

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

I am usually not a fan of places with shared facilities, but in the case of the Volcano Hale it was just fine. The Volcano Hale is one a few places that belong to the same "collection". You check in at the Chalet Kilauea, and get directions to the Volcano Hale. The building is 102 years old, and absolutely gorgeous!... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Volcano Hale (Chalet Kilauea Collection), responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide comments and feedback for Volcano Hale on Tripadvisor. It's always great to hear about our guests' experiences while they were here and we are pleased that you had an enjoyable experience with us. Unfortunately, noisy neighbors are never fun so we apologize for any disruptions or inconvenience on their behalf. We definitely... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Volcano Hale (Chalet Kilauea Collection), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Volcano Hale (Chalet Kilauea Collection)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Volcano Hale (Chalet Kilauea Collection)

Address: 19-4178 Wright Road, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Volcano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Volcano Hale (Chalet Kilauea Collection) 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Volcano Hale (Chalet Kilauea Collection) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Volcano Hale (Chalet Kilauea Collection) Hotel Volcano
Volcano Hale (Chalet Kilauea Collection) Hawaii

61 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (50)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Amenities

Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
(Formerly Volcano Bed & Breakfast) Cute budget property for travelers in search of comfort at a great value! Charming, cute, historic, fully renovated property with 3 floors, 6 bedrooms (cable TV), and 2 clean, fully-stocked common bathrooms. Perfect for travelers with an independent spirit in search of eco-friendly accommodations! Uniquely provides the smallest impact upon the surrounding rainforest ecology. Back to Mother Nature, low-impact vacationing. 1 minute from shops, restaurants, and Hawaii Volcanoes National Park. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
6

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer