We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Volcano Village Lodge

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
19-4183 Road E, 19-4183 Road E, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785
Special Price
30% off room rate
Volcano Village Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ranked #6 of 31 Volcano B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
Joshua B Reno, Nevada
Add Photo Write a Review

594 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    531
    45
    13
    5
    0
See reviews for
105
431
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (594)
  • Mar-May only
    (168)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (172)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (132)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (122)
All months
Reno, Nevada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We had a great time at the Volcano Village lodge and somewhere we would definitely try again ! Its definitely tucked away amongst the jungle but very convenient to both food and the National park. We had a great cottage and it rained most of the afternoon so it was a perfect setting for a night away !

Was this review helpful? Yes
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Stayed in one of the 6 Cottages at the Volcano Village Lodge. Loved it. Worth every penny. 5 minute drive to the village for restaurants and shops. 10 minutes away from Volcano National Park. Cottages were clean and cozy. Trees and plants are thick enough that you cant see your neighbours. Parking spots for each cottage. Breakfast is included, which... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
emmaspencerliving, Manager at Volcano Village Lodge, responded to this review

Mahalo nui loa for taking the time to review our property. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at Volcano Village Lodge. Volcano Village Lodge has 5 rooms or cottages that are all secluded, private, and romantic. The lush, native rainforest allows anyone to relax and unwind. Breakfast is included in the room rates and is set-up in... More 

Ventura, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We came to Volcano Village Lodge to celebrate our 15th wedding anniversary. Unfortunately, my husband got sick on the plane to Hilo. He needed an ambulance the first morning when we woke up. Kelsea couldn't have been more amazing. She went the extra mile and helped us in so many ways. The other gals, Jen and Meghan, were wonderful too.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
emmaspencerliving, Manager at Volcano Village Lodge, responded to this review

Aloha and Mahalo for writing a review of our property. Again we are so sorry for the unfortunate events that occured to your husband while you were vacationing. All of our guests are treated like ‘Ohana (family) and our innkeepers will go above and beyond for everyone. It’s the least we can do, especially during a medical emergency. We are... More 

Boston
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We loved our night at Volcano Village Lodge - so much we wished we had booked two. We stayed in Mauna Kea which was just beautiful. We had our 8 year old daughter with us and she loved her special "fainting couch" bed. We knew our unit was connected to another, but inside and even going back and forth to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
emmaspencerliving, Manager at Volcano Village Lodge, responded to this review

Aloha and thank you for writing a review of our property. We are sadden you only got to spend one night with us. Most of our guests spend two to three nights with us! Mauna Kea is a beautiful room, shaped like a octagon, that sits a little higher up than our other buildings. Like the reviewer stated, Mauna Kea... More 

Rye
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed in the Mauna Loa cottage. Excellent size for families. Staff was great and knowledgeable and made customizations for food restrictions. Breakfast was excellent and snack basket was great!! Loved it and plan to stay again! We stayed for 2 nights but definitely could've spent 3-4 nights there. Kids loved the loft area! Very unique, comfortable, peaceful place to stay... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
emmaspencerliving, Manager at Volcano Village Lodge, responded to this review

Mahalo for taking the time to write a review of our property. We are glad you “loved” your stay. Mauna Loa is our biggest suite and is great for families. We are pleased to hear that our staff provided you with their world-class hospitality. Our guests are strongly encouraged to let the staff know their dietary restrictions or preferences, so... More 

Lihue, Hawaii
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2015

I'm born and raised on the island of Kauai and its fantastic to visit a neighboring island that have such amazing Aloha Spirit. Our stay of Volcano Village was for a celebration to welcome the new year. It was perfect. Literally. The weather, the check-in, the room, amenities, and the nature seemed to be all in sync and magical. Our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
emmaspencerliving, Manager at Volcano Village Lodge, responded to this review

Mahalo nui loa for the kind review. Our staff lives Aloha and it reflects in their work. We are so glad you had a fantastic stay with us! The rooms at Volcano Village Lodge are beautiful and have a zen-like vibe, as well as, connecting one to the native, Hawaiian rainforest. We hope to see you again on your future... More 

Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
20 hotel reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2015

Tranquil and a home away from home. From the fireplace to the amazing breakfast in our rooms, I can not say enough about how wonderful this little spot was. Privacy and comfort! The staff was courteous and helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
emmaspencerliving, Manager at Volcano Village Lodge, responded to this review

Mahalo for taking the time to write a review of our property. We are so happy to hear that you “loved” your stay with us. Volcano Village Lodge was designed to be a peaceful and relaxing retreat while still offering luxurious accommodations. Our staff strives for five and are thankful they exceeded with their world class hospitality. A hui hou!... More 

Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2015

This was a great two days in a nice relaxing location. The location was very quiet with a nice breakfast, gas stove and even a shared hot tub. Would definitely stay again. Movies available for in room DVD players. Spent two nights here while visiting the volcano area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
emmaspencerliving, Manager at Volcano Village Lodge, responded to this review

Mahalo for writing a review. Volcano Village Lodge is located only a few miles from Hawaii Volcanoes National Park in the heart of a native Hawaiian rainforest. Guests enjoy our lush greenery and songs of the native birds while sipping their Kona coffee. We’re glad to hear you left relaxed and we can’t wait to see you again. Mahalo, The... More 

Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2015

We were meant to stay in Haleakala (which looked so beautiful) but unfortunately another party "accidentally" checked themselves into our lodge. We arrived at 10pm at night - it would have been too much trouble for the occupants to move to their correct lodging which was the Hale Kilauea. As my husband and I were only there for 1 night... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
emmaspencerliving, Manager at Volcano Village Lodge, responded to this review

Aloha for writing a review of our property. First off, please accept our sincere apologies for this unfortunate mishap. Accidents do happen and we are sorry that your lodging experience with us wasn't perfect. At Volcano Village Lodge we strongly recommend our guests to check-in prior to 6pm. For guests that cannot make it prior to 6pm are instructed about... More 

Chicago
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2015

My husband and I were a little hesitant to spend so much on a room but our friends persuaded us it would be worth it and they were right! My husband didn't read through the confirmation all the way so we were a little worried because we were going to arrive after the front desk was closed (so read the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
emmaspencerliving, Manager at Volcano Village Lodge, responded to this review

Mahalo for writing a kind review of our property. We’re happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and had a hassle free check-in process. Volcano Village Lodge is situated in the native Hawaiian rainforest close to Hawaii Volcanoes National Park. Our lodging is truly unique and we are glad we could accommodate your needs. We look forward to seeing you... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

309 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (286)
Viewed
View from room (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (47)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (76)
Viewed
Dining (24)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Other (105)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay