We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kamuela Inn

Hotel website
65-1300 Kawaihae Rd., Waimea, Island of Hawaii, HI 96743
Kamuela Inn
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    39
    33
    9
    11
See reviews for
13
46
14
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (103)
  • Mar-May only
    (27)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (25)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (25)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (26)
All months
Bend, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here for three days last week and couldn't believe the terrible condition of my so-called "penthouse 1" - The chairs were filthy and stain spotted, the bed was soft and in dire need of needing replacement. The morning girl at the front desk would hardly look at you - let alone with a smile acknowledging that you were a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
KamuelaInn, General Manager at Kamuela Inn, responded to this review

this guest's comments, while distressing, are accurate. this property is 50+ years old, and we have been slowly renovating the rooms as money is available. the furnishings in this room were scheduled to be changed out over the summer. we will move this room to the top of the list! thank you for the wake-up call. the team here works... More 

Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I booked a night at the Inn despite reading less than flattering reviews as it looked charming. It was a dump. Cockroaches were crawling around, there was noise all night, and breakfast was terrible. I stayed all around the island with my sister and friend and every where we stayed was wonderful except for this place. Was very disappointing AND... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
KamuelaInn, General Manager at Kamuela Inn, responded to this review

This guest was upset because at check-in it was explained to her for a second time that we do not accept personal debit cards as a form of payment. When she booked the room by phone and paid her deposit, she was asked if the card she was using was a debit card or a credit card. She was informed... More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

4-day business trip which started and ended at the Kamuela Inn. A little tricky to find, just need to do your homework before you get there. Need to request or pay for basic amenities but they do provide a scrumptious continental breakfast. Quaint and rustic, you can hear everything.

Was this review helpful? Yes
South San Franc
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We arrived in Kono and drove to Hilo, but needed a place to stay as we wanted to visit a few places in between. This was perfect for that. It`s an older property, but well kept and clean, with a VERY friendly staff.

Was this review helpful? Yes
North Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2015

We arrived after dark and really hard to find. Not visible from road. But the next day, and after spending 7 days here, it's easy. We had the $119 room # 7, next to office. Room is Very basic, dated, BUT CLEAN, AND COMFORTABLE BED (IMPORTANT) . A bit noisy when people check out at 6:00am, being next to office.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lancaster,PA
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2015

Not sure what to say about this place, it’s nice BUT stingy for a full price room.. Our experience wasn't a bed & breakfast; it was ala carte lodging at all you can eat prices. Wanted to camp but a cloud enveloped us in rain so got a regular room here last minute. The room was ‘cute’, but built for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
west marin, CA
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2015

We went for a Makana concert and were thrilled to see one of the musicians stayed at the Inn, too. He came down to breakfast where everyone was chatting and he autographed our program. We had the Kitchenette Suite which was packed with conveniences, except a coffee pot. This room slept 3 with a door separating the sleeping areas. Management... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
New Glarus, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2015

Staff at Kamuela Inn are very friendly and helpful. The rooms are roomy and clean. While it is old it is well maintained. There is little soundproofing but for the most part it is quiet. It is a good compromise between price and comfort. It is located near several good restaurants and only a 15 minute drive to a great... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Woking, England
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
58 hotel reviews
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2015

I had a standard room on the ground floor. The room and the bathroom were a reasonable size and everything was clean though showing signs of age. The bed was reasonably comfortable but I didn’t like the plasticky mattress cover which rustled when I moved. I don’t think I could have done any better for the price in Waimea but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
KamuelaInn, General Manager at Kamuela Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay at the Kamuela Inn. Feedback from our guests guides our efforts to continually improve the guest experience. Recent figures released by the Hawaii Tourism Authority show that the average cost of a one-night stay in a resort hotel on the Big Island of Hawaii is now $350.00... More 

Pully, Switzerland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2014 via mobile

We stayed only 1 night on the way from Mauna Kea to Waipio valley, and would not have stayed longer. The place felt more like a motel than a hotel. The room was old and shabby, old stained carpet on the floor, walls could do with some fresh paint. No heating, no air con (heater and extra blankets available at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

27 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (19)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question