We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kamuela Inn

Hotel website
65-1300 Kawaihae Rd., Waimea, Island of Hawaii, HI 96743
Kamuela Inn
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    11
    40
    35
    10
    12
See reviews for
14
48
14
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (108)
  • Mar-May only
    (29)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (28)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (25)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (26)
All months
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This motel is a clean, basic property. The rooms are clean and decent. Most of the rooms open to the parking lot, which can be noisy as customers leave early mornings. Management seems to be in transition, as breakfast is no longer offered. The nearest option is a half mile away or so in town. This is a good option... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2015

This motel is under new management that has changed several policies. Some of the earlier reviews refer to amenities no longer available. We made our reservation based on the earlier reviews and our own experience differs. First, the good parts: the motel is very clean, the bed is comfortable, and the room has plenty of drawer space. Now, the not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
NYC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2015

Not seen from the main road (take the driveway by the small hotel sign) , we got the efficiency next to the office. We checked in at 6 PM, put on pretty much every article of clothing we brought and drove an hour or so up to the Mauna Kea visitor center at 9200 feet, which has guides and telescopes... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
San Diego
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2015

I'm sorry I have to write this review which will be pretty much all complaints. I booked a room here for one night because we wanted to walk to dinner at Merriman's Restaurant. We were in room 2, a small room in a back corner. Although the exterior of the property looks fine, room 2 is a terrible room. It... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2015

Stayed here for three days last week and couldn't believe the terrible condition of my so-called "penthouse 1" - The chairs were filthy and stain spotted, the bed was soft and in dire need of needing replacement. The morning girl at the front desk would hardly look at you - let alone with a smile acknowledging that you were a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cindra M, General Manager at Kamuela Inn, responded to this review

this guest's comments, while distressing, are accurate. this property is 50+ years old, and we have been slowly renovating the rooms as money is available. the furnishings in this room were scheduled to be changed out over the summer. we will move this room to the top of the list! thank you for the wake-up call. the team here works... More 

Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2015

I booked a night at the Inn despite reading less than flattering reviews as it looked charming. It was a dump. Cockroaches were crawling around, there was noise all night, and breakfast was terrible. I stayed all around the island with my sister and friend and every where we stayed was wonderful except for this place. Was very disappointing AND... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cindra M, General Manager at Kamuela Inn, responded to this review

This guest was upset because at check-in it was explained to her for a second time that we do not accept personal debit cards as a form of payment. When she booked the room by phone and paid her deposit, she was asked if the card she was using was a debit card or a credit card. She was informed... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2015

4-day business trip which started and ended at the Kamuela Inn. A little tricky to find, just need to do your homework before you get there. Need to request or pay for basic amenities but they do provide a scrumptious continental breakfast. Quaint and rustic, you can hear everything.

Was this review helpful? Yes
South San Franc
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2015

We arrived in Kono and drove to Hilo, but needed a place to stay as we wanted to visit a few places in between. This was perfect for that. It`s an older property, but well kept and clean, with a VERY friendly staff.

Was this review helpful? Yes
North Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2015

We arrived after dark and really hard to find. Not visible from road. But the next day, and after spending 7 days here, it's easy. We had the $119 room # 7, next to office. Room is Very basic, dated, BUT CLEAN, AND COMFORTABLE BED (IMPORTANT) . A bit noisy when people check out at 6:00am, being next to office.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lancaster,PA
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2015

Not sure what to say about this place, it’s nice BUT stingy for a full price room.. Our experience wasn't a bed & breakfast; it was ala carte lodging at all you can eat prices. Wanted to camp but a cloud enveloped us in rain so got a regular room here last minute. The room was ‘cute’, but built for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

27 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (19)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waimea
8.6 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
9.8 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel
13.0 mi away
Villages At Mauna Lani
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
33.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
0.7 mi away
Jacaranda Inn
Jacaranda Inn
#5 of 11 in Waimea
4.0 of 5 stars 66 reviews
10.3 mi away
Paniolo Greens Resort
Paniolo Greens Resort
#5 of 12 in Waikoloa
4.0 of 5 stars 596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities