We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kamuela Inn

Hotel website
65-1300 Kawaihae Rd., Waimea, Island of Hawaii, HI 96743
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Waimea
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Kamuela Inn
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

118 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I stayed during The last part of Jan 2016, for 5 days, while part of the Inn was under construction, and I knew that would be the case. Noisy too early in the morning, and my room was one that certainly has seen some wear. But new king bed, good maid service and a pretty good continental breakfast made it... More 

Helpful?
Thank Joyce R
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Set way back from the road the charming Kamuela Inn embodies all the positives of small town hospitality. Every one from the innkeeper down were friendly and helpful. The room complete with small kitchen was comfortable, romantic even. Waimea clearly is in a different climate belt to the rest of the Island with cooler evenings morning dew With in walking... More 

Helpful?
Thank keithf772
Vancouver, WA
Level Contributor
86 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2016

Yep, this is an old school motel, with doors facing the parking lot. Walls are very thin, so you will hear the neighbors walking by or talking on their phones. TVs are ancient, with tiny screens. Bathrooms are like your old college dorm. Wifi is VERY spotty. But, hey, breakfast is nice and the staff is friendly and, besides, you... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank LetsGooooooo
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2015

I stayed here over Thanksgiving with my husband and daughter and it was completely amazing. The staff are friendly, the rooms beautiful and inexpensive ($89/night), and the location peaceful and near several locally acclaimed restaurants (Red Water, Merriman's, Waimea Coffee Co, Hawaiian Style Café, etc). Waimea is really hard to visit without a car, but the inn's location is shockingly... More 

Helpful?
Thank Asia N
Level Contributor
76 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2015 via mobile

This is an older hotel but for the price I didn't expect to freeze at night! The walls are single wall construction so when the winds blow- the room was so cold we literally put all our clothes on the bed to keep warm! (I'm from Oahu so 50 degrees us cold!) you can hear your neighbor next door and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Donna L
KamuelaInn96743, Manager at Kamuela Inn, responded to this review

Aloha Donna! It appears your review was based on your stay in December 2014. I encourage you to revisit us as we are now under new ownership and management. We have brand new Simmons Felicity pillowtop beds, down alternative duvets and allergen-free pillows to give you a nice warm night's rest. Wake up in the morning to our daily complimentary... More 

Travelers are raving about these Waimea hotels

Honolulu, Hawaii, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2015

The first room I was given smelt badly of mold. The carpet was soaking wet and looked very old and dirty. I complained and was given another room. The TV remote did not match the TV so didn't work. There was a nice breeze, so it was cool for sleeping - there is no air conditioning so you need to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Richard W
KamuelaInn96743, Manager at Kamuela Inn, responded to this review

Thank you Richard for your honest review. Unfortunately our renovations are not moving quickly enough to improve our guest's satisfaction ratings. However, when any issues are brought to the attention of my staff, we are quick to remedy the situation. I'm happy to see you were immediately re-accommodated with a clean and comfortable room. Please re-visit us soon, perhaps requesting... More 

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2015

The first room they put us in was quite small and there was a problem with the toilet leaking, so they upgraded us to a much nicer room -- fairly large, well-maintained, and clean with a very comfortable bed. Since we were there for 4 nights, we really appreciated the larger room and would consider reserving the same size if... More 

Helpful?
Thank Egstra
KamuelaInn96743, Manager at Kamuela Inn, responded to this review

Thank you Egstra for your honest review. I'm glad my staff were able to provide an upgrade and helped to make your 4 night stay better. We'll be adding a bluetooth sound system to add serene background music to make the breakfast ambience more comfortable. However, I must say, our sporting fanatics enjoy the television and ample room provided in... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2015

New owners just acquired this Inn. It is located very close to town, in easy walking distance. The new owners are replacing windows, bedding, updating bathrooms and thus thoroughly updating the classic Inn. The new manager is on site and personally observes and guides each detail of the operation. Soon it will be a great place in Waimea.

Helpful?
1 Thank Ernst G
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2015

It is a shabby chic old plantation style place in the high hills of the Big Island. The staff is fun, helpful, polite, and no intrusive. The grounds are beautiful and well maintained. It is a little hard to find but well worth the search

Helpful?
Thank Kelly B
KamuelaInn96743, Manager at Kamuela Inn, responded to this review

Aloha Kelly B. Thank you, but it appears your low rating of us doesn't coincide with your wonderful review. We are continuing to renovate and make improvements along the way, while always listening to our guest's comments and concerns. It is our desire to keep Kamuela Inn the quaint country home away from home that it is. Please consider visiting... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2015

We spent 2 nights here en route to Kona from Hilo. Small sign on roadside is due to legal limitations in that respect apparently. Friendly staff, good sized and comfortable room. We upgraded to have the 'lanai' but this was a rather odd arrangement with any view of the farm machinery graveyard next door obstructed by a wrap around lattice... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank mazzaintazza
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

27 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (19)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waimea
9.8 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
9.8 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
14.2 mi away
Honoka'a Club
Honoka'a Club
#1 of 1 in Honokaa
3.0 of 5 stars 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Villages At Mauna Lani
0.7 mi away
Jacaranda Inn
Jacaranda Inn
#7 of 11 in Waimea
4.0 of 5 stars 74 reviews
13.0 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities